OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

'Hamilton', a stylish renovated house in Hanseatic medieval centre



Updated: 19-Oct-2016
living room, kitchen, large bedroom with ensuite, cosy attic bedroom,

Hamilton, a delightful, stylish house situated within easy walking distance of the market place and the historical, gastronomic and cultural highlights of Bruges is located in amongst the canals of the 15th century Hanseatic area of the city.

The recent restoration - a successful marriage of the old and the new - created a peaceful environment, recommended for a two-to-four persons luxury holiday, or for a family with up to three children. With a little bit of luck, there is a parkingplace (4 hours free with blue disc) in front of the house, but a car is not necessary to enjoy Bruges and his surroundings.

Two bikes are provided for your enjoyment, and both walking and cycling in Bruges, and the surrounding areas is easy and fun. The seaside is easily accessible by road or train, or by bike for those with a little more stamina. You have the entire house at your exclusive disposal. Further information and pictures available on our website. Address of the property ; 8000 Bruges, Krom Genthof number 9.

Included: bed-, bath- and kitchen linen, water, heating, electricity, cleaning, taxes, internet connection, child's highchair or cot two bikes and free internet connection.

Kitchen :

Equipped with electric cooker, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee machine, boiler.

The necessary kitchen utensils for 6 persons.

Further details about Bruges: Krom Genthof, 9 (name of the street) is situated on the city map of Bruges on F 7 (in the middle above).

More Details
  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch

Guestbook comments from the owner

After 5 weeks of travelling trough Germany, Spain and France, it was so relaxing to stay at Hamilton House. We booked on the net for 4 days, extended to 1 week, and then to 2 weeks, and have enjoyed every day. We have walked our legs off sightseeing in Brugge and Damme. Have caught the train to Oostende, Lille, Antwerp, Brussels Rotterdam and Gauda. The tour to Ieper and Flandern Fields was very memorable, the 11 th November (Remembrance Day) each year will mean so much more now. R&R Stanley, Kalumunda, Western Australia.

We have stayed in many guest houses and apartments in Europe and North America over the years and your lovely house is by far the most beautiful and comfortable. V&D Kaplan, Eliot& Serena, Kent, Ohio, USA.

This is a well-equipped house in a convenient location. We where surprised at how well-stocked your kichen cupboard is. We shall remember Bruges for its massive Saturday market, chocolate, beers, chips with mayonnaise...The Kan family, High Wycombe, Bucks,UK.
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1

30 Reviews

based on 30 holidaymaker reviews

Weston-super-Mare, UK

Birthday spent in Bruges

  • 4 of 5

I have to compliment the owner of the house for the warm ambience it provided for what turned out to be a very cold weekend. After visiting Bruges many times, and staying in many locations, this has to be one of the best used. The location was in a very quiet area, and so close to the main square. Nothing was left wanting as the house was so well equipped. I am sure a return will be made. The owner on visiting to ensure we were alright had useful information on places to see, and even after so many visits provided us with some new distractions. As my partner was celebrating a Birthday, this was just an ideal place. Many thanks to the owner.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks to mister P. for the kind words. It gives us the punch to give all renters the maximum comfort the pay for.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
Orange County, California

Highly recommended lovely, tastefully decorated home in quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

We three thoroughly enjoyed our 9-day stay in Bruges. Hamilton House was exactly as described, a tastefully decorated three-story home, with comfortable beds, a fully equipped kitchen with modern appliances, and located in a quiet neighborhood, a 10-minute walk to the Markt or city center, as well as to the windmills. Raphael provided all the information about Bruges one could need - and more!

No need to pack your hair dryer as one is provided.

The one toilet with sink is on the second level. The shower, sink, and washer/dryer are accessible through the second floor bedroom. Third floor or attic bedroom is spacious and has additional rollaway bed in the closet.

Modern kitchen is equipped with electric stove, microwave/oven, coffee maker, electric kettle, toaster, refrigerator, dishwasher, pots and pans, place settings for at least a dozen or more.

After being out and about in the bustling center of town, it was a joy every night to come back to HamiltonHouse to relax in peace and quiet.

Thank you again, Raphael, for being such a good host!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Hamilton House Brugge

  • 4 of 5

A very well equipped and comfortable house. Raphael the owner was easily contacted if needed and responded quickly. He called to check we were happy but unfortunately we were out. Wi Fi was good and the house was in a good position. Just a short walk into town. Beds were extremely comfortable and we were able to choose if we wanted large double or twin beds. Two bikes were also provided if wanted. We had a wonderful short stay and would recommend Hamilton House to anyone looking for self catering accommodation in the beautiful city of Brugge.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are (Always) welcome, Brexit or not !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Traditional house with a sense of history, plus modern amenities to make it comfortable & convenient

  • 5 of 5

Wherever we go on holiday we like to stay in a traditional house in a quiet part of the city, and in this respect we weren't disappointed in Hamilton House. It was comfortable and clean and a pleasant place to spend time in. There is a tiny courtyard with greenery in pots, and when the patio doors are open, you have sense of sitting in a garden. It is only a few minutes walk from the centre of town, and a few minutes in another direction to the moat and windmills. We enjoyed an excellent week there and hope to come back again some time .

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A house full of character in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Before our trip all my emails and questions were answered quickly by Raphael and he was at the house to meet us on arrival. We weren't sure what time this would be so there were also arrangements for a key box if we were delayed which was reassuring after a long international flight and train trip.

The house is very cosy and atmospheric. It was lovely and warm which was very important for us arriving in a European winter from Australia! It blends the old and the new very well - love the old but appreciate a hot and powerful shower and a comfy bed!

The location was perfect for us. Very quiet and yet just a quick stroll from the centre for the Christmas market, the restaurants and the shops.

We didn't cook apart from breakfast, however the house is very well equipped if you wanted to do more cooking. There are bakeries within five minutes walk for the morning bread. Coffee and tea are all provided which was very welcome.

I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a break in lovely Bruges.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pesciu September 2015 Holiday

  • 5 of 5

The house is very beautiful, superb, comfortable, clean with all the accessories and optional you need; the position near the city centre is fantastic for your holiday, the owner, Raphael, is very kind, also available to give you all the information for a great holiday in Bruges, reccomended for everyone. Thank you Raphael for your kindness. Paolo and Cinzia, Giulia and Alessandro from Italy

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Grazie mille !
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Brussels at 100 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Zeebrugge at 15 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Damme golf and country club at 14 Kilometres Nearest Train : Brugge at 1 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : Brugge exit 9 at 5 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Knokke at 15 Kilometres Car: not necessary

Other Activities: cultural and gastronomic events


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
2 Sep 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas & New Year
16 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Minimum stay: 3 nights over the weekend or 4 nights Midweek, except during Belgian school holidays, when minimum stay is 1 week.
Price includes: bed - ,bath - and kitchen linen, heating, taxes, cleaning, internet connection, two bicycles.
Rentals are always of the whole house, for two or more people.
Away from home, but at home, don't forget your slippers, neither your favourite tea bags!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 19-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • house


  • Historic
  • Luxury


  • Broadband Access
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • city centre
  • near the sea


  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • horse riding
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • hospital

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 96 m²


  • Toilet - Toilet
  • Bathroom - Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom is located via the master bedroom. Toilet is separate from both bedrooms and accessed from the main landing.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • master bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, can be converted in 2 twins
  • attic bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Child Bed, 1 Cot, can be converted in 2 twins
  • 2 doubles (can be converted in 2 x 2 twins), 1 childrens bed or cot.


  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace


  • Self-catering


  • The king size bed in the master bedroom and the double bed in the attic room can be converted in twin beds. One additional childrens'bed or cot on request. There is no dedicated parking with the house itself - however local street parking is available using free parking permits provided (4 hours free parking during the day ; always free from 1900 to 0900; several underground car parks are available within the city for short term parking ; 24 hour parking with free shuttle service to the city center is available at the main railway station for 2.50 euro per day.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot