Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Newer Lake Home located near Turtle Lake/ Cumberland area

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Space 1,480 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

3 Bdrm 1 & 1/2 Bth Log Home with 200 ft. private Lakeshore

We are delighted to offer our newer lake home nestled in the trees for your enjoyment. Home has 1 king size bdrm, 1 queen, and triple bunk room, pull out sleeper couch and/or futon, and can sleep a total of 8 comfortably. There is a full kitchen with lots of space and cabinetry. Nice large fridge, stove, microwave, and new dishwasher. Home has 1 1/2 bathrooms with a beautiful tiled shower, and granite vanities. A Three season porch allows plenty of breeze, and a wrap around deck. There are huge windows overlooking the lake and master vaults, with a gorgeous stone wood burning fireplace. Home has 200 feet of nice lake shore with a sandy rock swimming area. It is a more private quite option, with all the lake activities. Lake is 67 acres, with a mean depth of 17 ft and max of 44 ft. There are plenty of bass, crappie, sunfish, perch, and northern. Amenities include a 25 ft. dock to park your boat, 4 seat paddle boat, 2 premium kayaks, swimming dock, & floatation devices included in your base rent. A pontoon for $75.00 per day if desired (see notes on boat rental). Boat access is located close by. Home is located a short 10 minute drive to Cumberland and Turtle Lake. Plenty of restaurants, and championship golf nearby, not to mention the Comstock cheese factory. Many large recreation lakes nearby to try out as well. Call 612.210.2660 with questions.

Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2018

About Tom

Home built by owner in 2011 by lots of friends and acquaintances pitching in to perfection. Our family loves the view and location and use it all the time when it is not enjoyed by you.

Tom purchased this house in 2011

Why Tom chose Comstock

We chose this property because it is private, wooded, scenic, great fishing, and the more quite type of experience.

What makes this house unique

You will love the large wrap around deck and nice stair case to the lake. Home has a 23 ft. stone wood burning fireplace and large vaulted loft area with beautiful views to the lake.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Comstock in Johnstown

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1480 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 27
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • No loud noises or parties. Noise amplifies all around the lake. subject to loss of deposit if sheriff is dispatched. Do not use jet ski.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , large tiled shower with bench. no tub
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , toilet and 5' granite vanity sink
  • large tiled shower on the main level.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Bunk Bed , bunk is triple
    4 season porch - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , futon is double
  • Bunk is triple.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
recommend that you bring your own shampoos, water, and ice. but we have complimentary portions. We have a back up water cooler. Water is treated with double tank conditioner. Very healthy and new water coditioner put in but should bring drinking water.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
29% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newer Lake Home located near Turtle Lake/ Cumberland area
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 27 reviews


  • 5 of 5

everything you could want and more! Our family loved it, such a large beautiful cabin! and then had the pontoon,paddle boat and kayak's for fun for the weekend.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really enjoyed our stay.

  • 5 of 5

Owner was really helpful and everything was as expected. We had a great time. Pontoon was fun, and the lake is beautiful.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place. Pontoon and kayaks are really nice. Kids' room is a little iffy.

  • 4 of 5

First, I saw some prior reviews say the pontoon didn't have tarp for sun protection. As of last weekend (5/28/18), there was a tarp on the pontoon and it is nice.

The pontoon is basic but we don't have a boat nor do we have access to a boat so basic is still amazing.

Also, the two kayaks are in good shape and the dock is nice. We used the pontoons and kayaks most waking hours. We enjoyed taking the boat out onto the lake a dropping the anchor and swimming for an hour or two.

The lake is small. This time of the year (spring) is perfect for the small lake. There couldn't have been many lakes that you could swim in but this one was great. The top 5-6 feet were warm but if you stuck your foot down, you could feel the much colder water.

The house is well maintained. The master bedroom on the main floor has a nice king sized bed. The 3/4 bath is on the main floor. The 1/2 bath is on the 2nd floor. The second bedroom with a queen sized bed is upstairs and is also comfortable. There is also a porch on the main floor with a queen sized futon which is comfortable.

There is a kids' bedroom upstairs that has a triple bunk which is solid and creatively done. The third level is pretty high and is at the highest point in the house so I bet it gets hot later in the summer. The kids' bedroom was not quite up to par with the rest of the house. My daughter slept okay there for 3 nights. My son tried it and wasn't able to sleep so I gave him my spot in the master bedroom. I then tried the bunkbed and also didn't like it. I am a big guy but that wasn't really a big deal. The mattress and support are uncomfortable. So if your kids are light sleepers you might think about the futon on the main floor instead of the kids' room.

The water is okay for showers but tastes bad so bring your own water.

The garage is a nice room for pingpong with a screen that covers the space when you open the garage door.

Tom, the owner, was quick to respond to all my questions.

The kids' room was not a deal breaker. I would go back and I would recommend it for friends.

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place - Best enjoyed during the warmer months

  • 4 of 5

We just returned from a weekend at this property (early October, 2017). Newer construction and very clean. There is sleeping for at least 8 (we counted up to a dozen) and certainly enough living space if you're going to spend a lot of the day outdoors, however, it rained most of the time we were there so we were inside. The 3 of us (me, my mom, my 6 y/o) found it to be plenty of space. You'll have to be the judge if it would be for your family or group. The beds and linens were comfortable and there are plenty of extra blankets if you're a freeze baby like I am.

As clearly stated, they provide enough bath towels/wash cloths for the number of people staying. For our weekend, this was plenty but as there is no laundry, we would have needed more towels or a way to wash them had we stayed for the week. The lake is beautiful and the fall colors were close to peak. It's very quiet. The public boat launch was not a problem - only a couple vehicles in and out and no one was bothered in the least. The owner, Tom, is very responsive both before and during your stay.

If the weather had cooperated, we planned to use the paddle boat. After seeing it, I'm not sure we would have. There are no peddles on one side and it was very dirty from all the rain and falling leaves. There were life jackets available and both the pontoon and kayaks looked like they were in good shape. I'm sad we didn't get to use the firepit - too wet - but it was set up nicely just off the back deck overlooking the lake.

I would follow Tom's advice and bring drinking water. We did and were glad for it. The kitchen is adequately stocked with dishes, cups, utensils, and pots & pans for cooking. The pots and pans are older and not in great shape but we made due. Foil and ziplocs are provided which was nice.

My only disappointment was not having working internet. Tom phoned me just before check-in to let me know it might be out but he wasn't sure. Unfortunately, it was not working and did not work the entire weekend. I normally wouldn't have minded except we had a 6 y/o with us and due to the rain, didn't spend much time outside. I tried to use my phone as a mobile hot spot for her iPad but cell service is almost nonexistent (Verizon customers be warned!). We did watch some TV but the reception is via antennae and highly affected by the wind and rain we had most of the weekend. There is a pretty big supply of DVDs.

Overall, very happy with the property!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

A perfect, quiet, relaxing getaway! Perfect size for two small families. Loved the kayaks and pontoon to explore the lake. Wonderful place!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Girls weekend adventure

  • 3 of 5

Property was nice. We we disappointed with the pontoon that wouldn't start, lack of bathroom hand and bath towels, and juice and milk glasses. The house was decorated nicely and the yard, firepit, beach, and kayaks were a lot of fun.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Future guests will be glad to know the electric starter is fixed. It was unfortunate the pontoon electric start was not working for you as things do sometimes breakdown out of owner control. The starter went out for a couple of guests and had to be ordered from out of state. The motor can pull start just as well but can be a little tricky. But I'm glad you were able to have it start though albeit with some effort and enjoy a couple gallons of fuel for some of the visit, as well as a full refund. Future guests can be assured a new starter has been installed. Please see new notes on boat rental for full disclosure. In regards to linens, we have been supplying I bath towel and wash cloth per person, and approximately 3 hand towels. Several dish cloths are provided for each rental group, not to mention plenty of paper products. This has worked well for 3 years as we don't want to have to charge for extra laundering services, but we will continue to monitor our supply. This information is clearly mentioned in the agreement and it meets the rental code. For future renters please note that a special request can be made in this area and we will cheerfully accommodate. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
County Line
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
County Line
Car: necessary

Convenient 90 minute drive from the Mpls/StPaul area. Located on Long Lake 15 minutes equally between Cumberland and Turtle Lake WI. Plenty of Night life at the Turtle Lake Casino, restaurants and Bars to choose from in Cumberland or Turtle Lake. Several local golf courses to choose from. Movie theater located in Cumberland. ATV and hiking trails nearby. ATVs are allowed an dirt roads, but check with local statues. Boat launch within walking distance. contact Tom 612.210.2660


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Comstock, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
4th of July week
30 Jun 2018 - 7 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £28 per night, per additional guest
fall 2018
20 Sep 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
21 Dec 2018 - 20 Mar 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
Spring 2019
21 Mar 2019 - 19 May 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £28 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £188.72
cleaning fee £94.36 + Tax

Notes on pontoon rental: Pontoon is available for $75.00 per night. What we do is there is a minimum of one day rental for 2 day stay, 2 day rental for 3 nights stay, 3 day rental for 4 nights stay, $375 for one week's stay, etc. This includes 6 gallons of fuel. These rate range between $50-$60 per day with fuel. The boat is an older model but runs well. It has brand new replacement seats, 18hp engine, 21ft, seats up to eight, and has electric start. It is priced nearly 1/2 of other rental boats, so if you expect a brand new pontoon for this price please do not rent, as this is just an option. You can rent from local businesses for much more. We also have an old fishing boat for $25 per day as another option with a 9.5hp pull start. Guest is responsible for excess fuel. Pets may stay in your own enclosed kennel in finished garage/rec. room for no additional charge. Bring firewood purchase in Turtle Lake, or Cumberland. Clean fish outside. $125.00 cleaning fee assessed. $35 per person per night over 4 people. 4th of July is $260.00 per night base. Tax rate of 5.5% not included in rates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question