OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

EXPERIENCE AVELLANAS HOUSE #1 >>>> Best Choice In Avellanas <<<<

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,610 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

House 3/3... fully equipped with swimming pool a short walk to Avellanas Beach.

Our unique location makes for a great base to visit many well known beaches such as: Negra, Junquillal, Marbella, Grande and Brasilito to name a few. Each house sleeps 6 comfortably. Upstairs you have 2 bedrooms each with private bath. Both have queen size bed, cable tv and air conditioning. The rooms lead out onto a spacious balcony overlooking the tropical gardens and swimming pool area. Below you have a dining room, kitchen and bedroom with double bed, cable tv, air conditioning and full bath. The kitchen is totally equipped for all your cooking needs. Each house has own covered parking space. The homes were constructed with teak wood right here in Guanacaste which makes for a cooler, rustic living style. The property is totally enclosed and very secure. All guests have access to pool area and BBQ. There is WI-FI for everyone on property.

We are surrounded by wildlife and tranquility. All our guests will experience these and much more. There are beaches, places to eat, many activities, food and souvenir shopping not far away. Not to mention turtle nesting and beautiful sunsets.

We have on-site management to assist you with anything you need. We offer canopy, sunset sail, fishing, golf and many other activities.

There are covered parking spaces, an outdoor shower, and a large common garden area that is well maintained with lots of green foliage, where you can relax in the swimming pool and enjoy the BBQ pit.

Our wonderful property is located only 15 minutes away from Playa Tamarindo, a well developed beach town, where you can do your grocery shopping and enjoy many activities, such as sailing, fishing, dining, gift shopping, yoga, surfing (great spot for beginners) and a great night life.

We are also located right beside ( 1km ) Hacienda Pinilla Resort which has a world class 18 hole Golf Course designed by Mike Young, and an amazing 5 star Beach Club for your pleasure.

Kick back and relax or fill your days with endless activities. Begin your morning with the sound of the tropical birds. Later on the howler monkeys will light up your day with the sound of their voices. Read a book, take a swim, and let the mystical wildlife enchant you, while you enjoy a glass of wine during a magical sunset. Let us take you away from your home to our stunning slice of paradise.

More Details

Owner
Jeffrey McLaughlin
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 December, 2017

About Jeffrey McLaughlin

HAVE BEEN LIVING IN COSTA RICA FOR 30 YEARS. HOOKED UP WITH SOME GREAT PEOPLE AND HAVE BEEN ADMINISTRATOR OF EXPERIENCE AVELLANAS FOR LAST 3 YEARS WHEN WE STARTED OFFERING HOUSES FOR RENTAL. ORIGINALLY FROM SOUTHWEST MIAMI WITH COSTA RICAN MOTHER AND LOTS OF CR FAMILY. I AM RIGHT AT HOME DOIN WHAT WE LIKE TO DO.

Jeffrey McLaughlin purchased this house in 2008

Why Jeffrey McLaughlin chose Tamarindo

I HAD PURCHASED THIS PROPERTY ABOUT 15 YEARS AGO AND MET BEST BUDDY/OWNER WHO FUNDED THE CONSTRUCTION OF WHAT WE HAVE NOW. I HAVE BEEN ADMINISTRATOR SINCE THE GET GO. BEST DECISION I EVER MADE.

What makes this house unique

WE LIVE IN AN ABSOLUTELY POSITIVELY PARADISE HERE IN AVELLANAS. THERE IS NOTHING MORE ONE COULD ASK FOR. HEARING THE WAVES FROM MY BALCONY AND BEING SO CLOSE TO MANY BEAUTIFULL SPOTS MAKES ME A VERY HAPPY CAMPER.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Tamarindo in Cantón Santa Cruz

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 1610 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • near the sea ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • ALL SHOWERS COME WITH TEMPERED GLASS
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • ALL BEDROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING, FLATSCREEN SATELLITE TV AND CEILING FAN.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski pass optional
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
WE HAVE WI-FI SIGNAL FOR ALL OUR CLIENTS AND LIVE-IN GUARD/CARETAKER TO FULFILL ALL OUR CLIENTS NEEDS.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(48 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
EXPERIENCE AVELLANAS HOUSE #1 >>>> Best Choice In Avellanas <<<<
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 48 reviews
5

A peaceful paradise.

  • 5 of 5

This is my second stay at this house and the experience was as wonderful as the first. The house and surrounding property was very clean. The kitchen has all the basic amenities to prepare meals. This is the perfect place to enjoy a sunny day by the pool or walk / drive a shirt distance to indulge in the Avellanas beach experience. The night sky is so clear. You sit by the pool and admire the beauty. Francisco was very friendly, helpful and always greeted us with a smile.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Alexandra...we love having you visit us the last 2 years. I would be gratefull to have all clients like yourself. And I'm sure we will see you next year. Thank You for your true and kind comments...Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
‎Salerno, Italy
5

Great property, excellent attention!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 4 days back in April, and the experience was great!

The kids loved the pool, and the house itself was very modern and fully equipped.

Francisco was very helpful and friendly, and even got us a great recipe to cook costa rican gallo pinto!

The beach is not far, and there are great nearby options to eat out.

In sum, great property, and the attention we received was excellent.

  • Review Submitted: 03-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Anselma.....we do appreciate your comments as we work hard for our guests to enjoy their stay with us...see you next trip to Avellanas...Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, New York
5

Great week at this property!

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything we expected. We found this property online and booked it after comparing it to similar houses from the area.

The property is close to many amazing local beaches, and there are some great eateries nearby (we loved Lola's)...

Francisco was very helpful, through and through! He gave us a hand with the bbq and made sure everything was ok... We spoke to Jeffrey when we arrived, and he gave us some local tips about cool spots to visit...

Definitely a really nice experience, great hosts, not expensive at all...

  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jared...we do appreciate your comments as we work very hard to make sure our guests have a nice stay...see you all soon... Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
long beach, ny
1

Beware at all Cost "Complete Misrepresentation of Property description"

  • 1 of 5

This was the worse experience of an attempt at a supposed 5 star luxury villa rental of any vacation rental in my entire 30 years of taking vacations. To start, the property is listed to sleep 6 people. The property only slept 3 people. On immediately arriving at property and discovering the problem. The caretaker contacted the property owner for our party of 5 and his resolution was for us to carry a pull out couch from another unit, two of us hurt our backs, we should of contacted the authorities immediately, but things don't happen like that in Costa Rica.Upon pulling the mattress out of the couch it was full of mice poop and the mattress was springs covered in a sheet, the owners next resolution was to carry another couch in, which resulted in the same situation but even more disgusting. After drawing straws, two of the party had to sleep on the floor with no AC. The other lucky three that got a bed were fortunate enough to receive bed bug bites every where, we wish homeaway had an option to upload disgusting pictures. Of course in Costa Rica, there is not a laundromat on every corner. We contacted the property owner back immediately the next day and informed him this was unacceptable and we were leaving to find another habitable accommodations and feel free to rent it to some other victims. His response was, "do what you have to do." Later we found out the owner did in fact rent the Villa we had paid for. Be careful leaving to find other accommodations as the care taker has sticky hands, we noticed numerous valuable items missing that we had to firmly confront him to give back to us, him saying no hablo english, lucky for us I spoke spanish and he did give us our items back. Also, don't be misled as a walk to the beach, unless you like taking a 45 minute long walk in the hot sun to arrive at the beach completely exhausted. Oh, by the way, don't think about taking a bike ride on the bikes listed in rental for use, as there were none. We filed a complaint with homeaway, they informed us this was unacceptable and to leave the premise immediately and that they would escalate this and we would receive a refund. Of course that has not happened as of yet. Homeaway is now working on trying to resolve the unacceptable misrepresentation and problems the homeowner has left. I would never recommend this property and encourage all renters to stay away from this property at all cost. It deserves no stars and a red flag.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response I will say, as you know HOMEAWAY has resolved your claims and there will be no refund... thus the review... HOMEAWAY and ourselves have moved on and I'm sure our present and future clients can decide for themselves...P.S. After reviewing cameras on the day you returned for your belongings we see no sign of any confrontation at all between Benito and your group...another false claim...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bavaria, Germany
5

A really nice property!

  • 5 of 5

The house was quite spacious, with lots of light, and very private.

Very modern, with many details, yet, it features a "rustic cabin" style that fits great with the landscape.

We visited lots of nearby beaches! All of them unique in their own way, and Jeff, our host, also booked a boat trip for the whole family.

Everything was great, and everybody really enjoyed themselves, especially the kids at the pool!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jorg....and we enjoyed having you and your family stay with us....always welcome...the kids really seem to love that pool....see you all soon...Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dublin, Ireland
5

A memorable vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We rented a 4wd vehicle at the Liberia airport, and made the trip to Avellanas, where the house is located.

There, we were met by one of the on-site managers Esteban. He showed us around, and even took us for a drive to Tamarindo! Really nice guy!

Jeff, the other host, came by the next day. He was also very nice and helpful, and booked some golf lessons for us at a nearby resort.

The house is very open, and the bedrooms all had air conditioning. We didn't do much cooking, but the kitchen is packed with everything you need to prepare your meals.

There's also a great pool, which we used only once as we spent a lot of our time outside the property, vising the amazing local beaches.

Thanks for a very memorable vacation!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dan...and next time we will play golf together...glad you had a nice time and look forward to seeing you soon. Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
LIBERIA INT'L AIRPORT
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
LOLA'S ON THE BEACH
Nearest Ferry
100 Miles
NARANJO FERRY
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
HACIENDA PINILLA RESORT
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
RESTAURANT BLU
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
AVELLANAS BEACH
Car: recommended

AVELLANAS AND NEGRA BEACH ARE A MUST FOR ANY SURFER.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £18.77
Damage Deposit £187.7

RATES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE AT ANY MOMENT....FAMILY ENVIRONMENT

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable