Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

A Cottage on the shore of Isleornsay Bay with Spectacular Mountain and Sea Views

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking


About the property

A cosy cottage just 20 mins from Skye Bridge and 15 mins from Armadale Ferry

3 bedrooms - 1 Bathroom

Tides Reach is a cottage suitable for up to 6 people although also well suited for couples looking for a special break away in more spacious surroundings.

Tides Reach stands just along the bay from Seawrack House, with which it shares parking (two spaces for each property), but retains its total privacy. Situated just yards from the shoreline, the house has the most incredible panoramic views across the Sound of Sleat to the mountains of Knoydart on the mainland.

The cottage is reached by a short steep private driveway leading to a parking space for two cars from which there is an easy footpath leading 100 yards to the cottage. Its perfect position sitting alone just a few yards above the water's edge on the rocky shore of the bay affords a seclusion and sense of adventure that many will love.

On the ground floor there is a comfortable sitting room with a wood-burning stove with spectacular views, a kitchen also with views through the entrance/boot room, a twin bedded room as well as a bathroom which is situated off the sitting room. Upstairs there is a double bedroom and a twin bedroom.

The cottage is a short 5 minute walk from the Eilean Iarmain Hotel which has its own Pub, the Am Praban Bar which serves good food and has live music/ceilidhs most weekends. Meals can also be taken in the more formal setting of the Hotel Restaurant.

The Prabann na Linne Gaelic Whisky Company can be found next to the hotel along with the Floraidh Boutique Clothes Shop and the Tallah Dearg Art Gallery.



Sitting Room with wood burning stove, TV/DVD & i-Pod dock

Kitchen/Dining-room - Electric hob/oven, fridge-freezer, dishwasher, microwave, & washing machine, etc

Bootroom/Entrance Hall - Tumble Dryer

Twin Bedroom

Bathroom with Shower, WC and wash basin


Double Bedroom

Twin Bedroom

More Details

Mike & Sue Ross
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 June, 2018

About Mike & Sue Ross

We live just outside London. When we are not working, we love to be out walking.The Isle of Skye is our favourite place to walk. We are currently working our way though the book; 40 Coast and country Walks on the Isle of Skye. Only 8 to go! We spend as much time as we can in this beautiful part of Scotland,

Mike & Sue Ross purchased this cottage in 2009


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Isle of Skye in Highland

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Garden
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
40% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A Cottage on the shore of Isleornsay Bay with Spectacular Mountain and Sea Views
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews

Beautiful location.

  • 4 of 5

Nice property and garden. Would have given 5 stars however there is a concern; the garden is excellent for children with a large climbing tree, only problem is there are 3 high voltage cables that run through the tree and at one point my son was around 1 meter from them. This should be addressed or at least a sign on the tree carrying a warning similar to that on the existing electricity poles, otherwise excellent property.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Stunning location !

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous holiday ! Will return ... Very cute cottage, clean and everything we could ask for was provided. Very steep entrance into the property and my very old van struggled up the hill. A little slice of heaven.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Would go there again

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful location, nice cottage, stunning views from lounge. Easy walk to good pub with excellent (not cheap) food.

Driveway in is steep.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owners have lost interest?

  • 3 of 5

As other guests have noted, this property is in a stunning location, and the view of the bay is mesmerising. For the most part, the cottage is comfortable and nicely decorated, and the kitchen has good quality fittings. It is a great place for peaceful relaxing. We discovered the property is for sale, and I wonder if this led to diminished interest from the owners. Points of concern absolutely do include the scalding water in the kitchen and bathroom (not just a concern for children!), woeful ancient garden furniture that snags and stains clothes (we actually had sunshine on a couple of spring days!), and the fact that despite prior guests leaving notes in the guestbook (and notes on the kitchen table) about missing lightbulbs, there were three missing out of seven in the kitchen alone! On a 'welcome' note, most places we have stayed have provided rudimentary first day things like a fresh wiping cloth, a starter sachet of laundry powder and a dishwashing tablet, and some provide a wee container of milk and a few teabags, and maybe a salt and pepper. None of the above here. Plan accordingly. Also, if you are intending to arrive after dark (or are coming back from dinner after nightfall), bring a torch. There is absolutely no lighting to guide you along the path from the carpark.

Local tip - definitely do go to the Am Praban bar at the Eilean Iarmain Hotel. Your closest place for telephone signal and internet! They are super friendly and the food is wonderful!

  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We hope you really enjoyed your stay, and like the previous guests similar comments, it would be great if you would alert us directly when matters are not to your satisfaction. That way we can deal with the problem quickly for both you and the following guests. As soon as we read the review about the water being too hot, we got that fixed the same day by the local plumber. With respect to the garden furniture, it is a constant battle to keep it looking good, the weather is not kind to outdoor furniture but point taken and we will renew this again very shortly. For things such as leaving milk for guests, this would involve a 20 mile round trip the shop for the housekeeper, we do make it clear in the Welcome letter that you can pick up your shopping on your way onto the island. Tea bags? Well you were unlucky, almost everyone leaves teabags for the next guest. Not sure why you didn't find the cloth and dishwasher tablets, I will investigate. We're not trying to make excuses, fair enough if something is not right it needs attention. Reviews are a great thing, but they really should play a secondary role to.good old fashion prompt direct communication so that issues where possible can be dealt with to your satisfaction.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

needs a good spring clean light bulb not working or water dangerously hot for children.

  • 4 of 5

a beautiful island. would return next year .lots of craft fairs and locally made jewellery etc.

  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review although we're really sad that you didn't bring these points directly to our attention so we could act quicker. As soon as we saw your review, we immediately alerted the plumber who visited the property the same day to adjust the water. I'm very sorry a light bulb was missing, it does happen, there are spares in the kitchen drawer. As for the cobwebs, it can be a constant battle in an old cottage to keep these at bay however I did speak to you subsequently on the phone and it appears the cobwebs were behind a sofa. That doesn't make it right, but I really hope that didn't spoil your holiday. As I say, no excuses here, but please do let us know directly at the time and we will get anything fixed that needs doing immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A wonderful cottage in a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a Christmas getaway and we certainly were impressed with Tides Reach. Warm and cosy with the log burner burning whilst the winter winds were blowing outside. Watching the otters, ducks and herons from the couch. When the winds calmed down we explored the island. Hikes in the winter sun followed by a couple of pints in the local, by the fire. Were home almost four days now and I still imagine waking up and opening the bedroom curtains of Tides Reach. THE VIEW!!

The admin.. Easy to book. Excellent directions and access. Heating was good and the shower excellent. The Kitchen appliances are good and the bed comfortable.

Spoke with Mike recently regarding left items and he’s extremely helpful.

We would love to return someday.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
97 Miles
Nearest Barpub
400 Metres
Am Praban Bar at the Eilean Iarmain Hotel
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Kyle of Lochalsh
Nearest Restaurant
400 Kilometres
Eilean Iarmain Hotel
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Isle of Skye, Scotland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Early Summer 2018
2 Jun 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Summer 2018
30 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Summer 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 21 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Autumn 2018
22 Sep 2018 - 12 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Autumn Half Term 2018
13 Oct 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Winter 2018
27 Oct 2018 - 14 Dec 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Christmas & New Year 2018
15 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £200
Pet Fee £15

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question