Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Large, private beautiful house with tennis court

People11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8 - 11

This large secluded Victorian house has breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside towards Rye. Inside rooms are light and airy. The property has just undergone a total restoration and refurbishment. Period features have been lovingly restored and the ambiance of the family home maintained. The house is surrounded by three quarters of an acre of enclosed gardens and in addition there is a fenced, hard tennis court. The south facing brick paved terrace is a gorgeous suntrap with lots of flexible seating. The driveway provides parking for at least four cars.


Owner
Harriet Holdsworth
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 June, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had at The Highlands. My elderly parents particularly enjoyed it as they were able to access everything easily having the downstairs bedroom and bathroom. The house was comfortable and family friendly and we were lucky to have good weather and take advantage of the use of the tennis courts and the lovely sheltered garden. We would definitely consider returning to this property and have already recommended it to several friends.

Thank you
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Iden in Rother District

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Luxury
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • The two newly refurbished bathrooms contain power showers. Provided for guests are a selection of fragrances for the whirlpool bath in the downstairs bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 3 Single Bed
  • Two bedrooms have glorious views over the countryside. The downstairs bedroom (3 single beds) is immediately opposite the downstairs bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • 11 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • museums
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
All bedding is low allergen, the floors have been restored and rugs have been used rather than carpets.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
15% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Large, private beautiful house with tennis court
average rating of 4.65 based on 21 reviews
4

Tranquil surroundings, relaxing holiday house

  • 4 of 5

A lovely house, with plenty of space for the 10 people staying, ranging from grandparents to 4 year olds.

So peaceful and quiet, with a gorgeous garden wrapping all the way around the house. We were so lucky with the weather and used it a lot. The owner sorted out the problem we had with a missing shed key, meaning we couldn't access garden furniture cushions and parasol.

The house was lovely and tidy, great toys, books and games for the kids too. Perhaps would have been good to have a TV in the lounge with a DVD player?

We will be booking again next year and would recommend this house to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: 21-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An excellent family house

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for large family group plus dog,a casual relaxed house with garden and tennis court for family to play on. It is surrounded by footpaths, excellent for the dog and walking distance of pub and village shop.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyable location, lovely stay

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed staying in this lovely house for a family get together and celebration. The kitchen was well appointed and we loved playing tennis and football in the large garden, spotting rabbits in the mornings in the lawn was great! We explored the local area and enjoyed pony riding at the near by stables, the bell served delicious Sunday roast. Also explored Rye and went for a day trip to camber sands, all highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Ideal space and tranquillity for a family gathering

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at The Highlands to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday, with 6 adults, 4 children and dog. The space to relax. play tennis, explore the garden or simply chill out round the log fire was idyllic. At the same time, the location was close enough to visit nearby Rye and Hastings and we enjoyed a fabulous Sunday lunch at the King's Head in Playden. I think a fire guard would be a sensible addition to the open fire though. Would definitely book again.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. Absolutely re fire guard. I will get one ASAP. We’ve always had one as it’s essential with children. It must have gone walk about. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Unfortunately there were some issues

  • 3 of 5

We were two families ranging in age from 6 months to 93 years, here for a week over Xmas 2017.

The condition of the metal entrance gate gave a dreadful first impression

on arrival and the two industrial waste bins were equally unattractive.

It was not helped by the very poor condition of the external paintwork and

the outside light not working, making it very difficult at night.

The kitchen was well equipped, but three out of six ceiling lights were blown and lighting under the cabinets was not working. The fridge was certainly not big enough for the claimed maximum of 11 people.

A loud noise like a fog horn in the water pipes occurred after flushing the downstairs bathroom toilet, which was heard throughout the house and woke people up when it was used at night. The bathroom was cold all of the time as the radiator never worked, nor did the flat heating panel above it. (The owner did try to find a plumber to come and fix things, but unfortunately no one was available)

The downstairs bedroom was also cold most of the time. The single radiator in the bedroom was covered by the headboard of a bed so the heat couldn’t radiate properly, and it’s a large room.

The fire in the sitting room had no fire guard, which was a serious safety

hazard with an open fire, or for young children. There was also a lack of

comfortable seating even for 9 in the sitting room.

Paint was flaking paint off the wall near the shower in the upstairs bathroom. The blind was badly stained and a ceiling lamp bulb was blown over the mirror making it difficult to see to shave or apply make-up etc.

On the positive side we found the house very clean when we arrived and the beds and pillows were comfortable. Apart from the items above, everything else worked.

I am sure the house is better for a large group during the summer months when the heating and inside seating issues would not be such a concern, but we really felt quite disappointed with our stay and had been so looking forward to it for a long time. Perhaps things will be put right in the future....just be aware if you are considering this house.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m really sorry you were so disappointed. The toilet noise and radiator in downstairs bathroom were fixed on the day of your departure and you were compensated for the inconvenience. Unfortunately getting plumbers in the Christmas week is so difficult. As discussed the external paintwork is being done this year in early summer, after being let down last year. Thanks for your feedback, we will endeavour to make improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house for a big group

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for a surprise 50th weekend away. It was in great condition, really clean and a very well stocked kitchen. Wish we had have been there in the summer to utilise the gorgeous garden, bbq and tennis court! Thanks for having us :)

  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Ferry
28 Miles
Folkestone
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Rye
Nearest Motorway
21 Miles
M20 jct 8
Car: necessary

Iden is a pretty and picturesque village with a pub renowned for its food, and post office/general stores within an easy walk of the house. The historic town of Rye, one of the Cinque ports, is less than 3 miles away with its charming winding lanes, interesting harbour and the wonderful sandy beaches of Camber Sands beyond. Rye boasts some excellent restaurants, a weekly Farmers market, and a range of local shops including world famous Rye pottery. The house is well placed, between Hastings (10 miles) Tunbridge Wells (15 miles) and Tenterden (8 miles). The castles of Battle and Bodiam are also within easy reach. Ashford is 15 miles to the north with its International Station for a quick trip to France.

The Hythe to Dymchurch Light Steam Railway is also well worth a visit as it winds its way from Dungeness to Hythe all along the coast - take a picnic and stop off on the way!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20
Damage Deposit £250

Short breaks are calculated as follows: 2 nights = 65%, 3 nights = 70%, 4 nights = 75%, 5 nights = 85%

A refundable damage deposit of £250 is payable with all bookings.

We accept bank transfer, cheques or paypal.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable