OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

available from 1 st March 2018

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking


About the property


.Our detached Villa is situated in an elevated position with unique views of Dolcedo and the Prino Valley. It nestles quietly in 2,500 m of its own beautiful olive groves. The beaches are just a fifteen minute drive away. The Villa is only an hours drive from either Genoa or Nice Airports, which are both well served by a variety of airlines.

Uncrowded beaches, fantastic restaurants, shops, unspoiled countryside and scenery await you.

The Villa is modern and was designed to appriciate the sun all day from its south facing terraces and garden. Our Villa is managed locally by a friendly and efficient team.All ,Bed linen,towels for the bathroom, and utilities are included in the price,so there are no hidden extras to pay!

The Villa is reached by a narrow unmade road and using a automatic sports car or large people carrier to reach the Villa is not advisable.

The Villa is Dog friendly and baby friendly

Dolcedo: The Village of Dolcedo is a gentle 15 minute stroll down the hillside passing through the narrow cobbled streets of Isolalunga. The walk back from the Village is steep and would not be suitable for those with mobility problems. In the Village there are charming Pizzerias and bars offering very reasonably priced meals ,4 persons can dine easily for a total price of 40 euros including wine ! There is also two excellent grocers ,a wonderful bakery with fresh bread and cakes everyday,,two butchers ,an estate agent ,a Pharmacy,and a small playground for young children.

The new Pista Ciccable is now open and you can cycle for 30kms with no cars to disturb you and beautiful views.Bikes can be hired from as little as 5 euros per person for 3 hours.

NB Our Villa is reached by a narrow unmade road (dirt track) we would advise guests NOT to use an automatic sports car or a large people carrier.

Surrounding area.: Both Monte Carlo and San Remo offer a cosmopolitan atmosphere, the shopping here is wonderful. Monte Carlo is approx 40 min by car and San Remo 25 min. (Credit card permitting!)

Imperia is a very interesting city with really good shops and restaurants. (10 min by car)

There are numerous medieval hilltop villages to visit.(time permitting)!

There are lovely public and private beaches (sand) whithin a 15 minutie drive.

Getting There: Nice Airport is very well served by low cost airlines. Easy jet make several flights a day from most British Airports as do British Airways.

The Italian Riviera has one of the mildest winter climates of the whole of Italy. The daytime temperature is usually at least 10c higher than the UK winter.

It is possible to dine outside in February. Thus making it a very affordable and enjoyable winter break. .

More Details

Jane and Brendan Crossan
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Italian, Italian
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
6 March, 2018

About Jane and Brendan Crossan

We purchased our villa in 2006 .we visited Dolcedo for a holiday in 2004 and knew then that We wanted to buy a villa here.

Our children have enjoyed many holidays here .

We make our own olive oil with our local Italian friends and call Dolcedo our 2nd home !

Jane and Brendan Crossan purchased this villa in 2005

Guestbook comments from the owner

Some comments from our 2007 Feedback Forms:

'Thank you for a wonderful stay at a great house' Drew M.

'Thank you for a lovely holiday, we loved the house. We loved it here' Dorraine C.

'Thanks for a great week. House lovely, setting beautiful' John H.

'We had a lovely holiday. It really is a beautiful spot' Vicky B.

'We loved the peace, quiet and views and can see why you fell in love with the place' Teresa S.

E-mail addresses available on request.
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Dolcedo in IM

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Pets considered
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
  • Modern, large and luxurious, toilet, shower, full bath and bidet. Granite work tops. Towels provided. Hair Dryer.Washing Machine.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , lounge
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Lounge
  • 1 king size , 2 twins, 1 cot (travel). Cot Linen included.All bed linen and towels for the Bathroom are included in the price.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • 6 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
On the ground floor there is a Modern Kitchen with integral appliances, Breakfast room, two large double bedrooms and a large Family Bathroom. There are 3 French doors leading to all aspects of the the front Garden. One from each room. Upstairs there is another large bedroom with 2 twin beds and a large terrace. The Kitchen is very well equipped with full oven, grill, Dishwasher,washing machine, Fridge Freezer, toaster, kettle coffee machine etc. For Entertainment there are DVDS and Cd's. TV not satellite or cable. There is an XBOX and games to keep the children amused ! There are also a big basket of Children's toys, games,DVDS, books. For Babies there is a modern travel cot, Highchair, and Maclaren umbrella buggy. Outside there is plenty of garden furniture, a table which seats six and four Sun loungers. There beach equipment such as mats,parasols, games, balls, toys, a beach tent ,buckets and spades which guests are welcome to use.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
available from 1 st March 2018
average rating of 4.3 based on 11 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We went t this lovely villetta for our second honeymoon. We just went for the lovely beach and for shopping and stayed the rest of our holidays in the house. on the terrace with the fantastic view on Dolcedo ad for the rest we stayed a lot in the comfortable bed were we enjoyed the cool breeze coming from the sea during the night. We will defenately book the villetta next year

Dirk e Elena

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2009
  • Date of Stay: March 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 6

Good conversion but attention to detail lacking

  • 3 of 5

Have already communicated our impressions direct to Jane Crossan. We are in the letting business, and we would not leave broken chairs available as outside patio chairs; several lights not working; access road and parking a nightmare (almost impossible even to turn the car round at the foot of the ramp - let alone the top) On arrival, the sheets were draped across a drying frame in the main bedroom. No TV for access to news channels (not even Italian!), or wifi . However, the charge was reasonable for what was provided, and the central heating was excellent. Bathroom basically good, although the shower was fixed too low to stand under comfortably. The situation is obviously spectacular, and for a summer let, taking into account the provisos above, it would be quite attractive, depending on the summer letting rate.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Paddy Thank you for your review Just to note our villa is NOT any form of conversion ( not sure what you mean?) our villa is a 11 year old purpose built 3 bedroomed villa ,it has not been converted from any thing else ??!!! Pre your visit I did inform you by e mail at the time of your booking that there was no tv available and advised you that there was an x box and a DVD player . The reason for this is that we don't usually rent out in the winter season so we don't pay the cable charge ,you understood and accepted this pre your arrival. The linen hanging on the dryer inside was because our cleaner was preparing fresh beds and linen for your family ,it was raining so she bought the fresh linen inside so it didn't get wet . The shower can be adjusted as clearly seen in the photos , our eldest son is 6ft 4 ins he doesn't fit underneath the shower either !! The broken chairs were awaiting collection from the local re- cycling which is just once every two months ,they were placed on the drive ready for collection ,I'm sorry this upset you . The TVs will be connected and showing both Italian and German programmes for the summer season ,the broken sun bed has gone to recycling . Thank you for your review
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Peaceful, tranquil and idyllic.

  • 5 of 5

The villa is set in a stunning location overlooking the beautiful village and onto the Italian mountains. Sitting on the top terrace watching the sunset with a glass of wine and some delicious Italian delicacies couldn't be more perfect. Every evening we strolled down the hill into Dolcedo and tried a different restaurant each night. We can't fault any of them! The food was delicious and there was always a lively atmosphere in every place we went.

Once on the main roads the driving is easy and it takes no time at all to get down to the coast and into the main town of Imperia. My favourite place was Porto Maurizio, where you could watch the big boats come in and out of the harbour whilst sitting in a quaint Italian cafe. There are some lovely beaches that we went to and even though it was the height of summer, it was not overly busy. There are bustling markets held in every town on various days and it is good fun to have a wander around and pick up a picnic for lunch to take with you to the beach.

The villa itself is spacious and clean but it is the view that makes it for me. It is spectacular and there is something very special about this place; perhaps it is waking up with the sun shining in through the window and being able to lie in bed listening to the town below wake-up and seeing my favourite view. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sophie , Thank you for your review . We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our villa . We are very happy to welcome you back Best regards Jane and Brendan
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Steinen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

beautiful, sunny and a spectacular sight

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful place, far away from stress and daily problems,

sitting on the terrace of the villetta have a beautiful view to the surrounding borgos, listen to the sound of the church bells and birds and feel only good. We did not miss anything, washing machine, dish washer, brandnew sunchairs, everything here. Beautiful to watch the sunset with a glass of excellent ligurian wine. And we were lucky: only once in two weeks oncoming traffic - yes it is quiete narrow - but if you don't love your car more than your wife - it is a must to see this nice place and enjoy the dolce far niente -like you can read it on the terrace - just relax.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2011
  • Date of Stay: March 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you feel the same way about our Villa as we do. This Summer almost all our guests are returning for a second or third stay. We look forward to when you return again ,nothing makes us happier than when our guests really enjoy the peace and Beauty of the Villa and its breath taking views.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Not what we had hoped

  • 2 of 5

" We have just returned from our 2 week stay at Villa Cuccarello. Despite what we write we had a nice two weeks in the area and enjoyed good weather and feel fit, suntanned and relaxed.

We make these comments in the best spirit and hope that it can be useful to you.

First the positives:The villa was larger than expected and accommodated 6 easily. We appreciated it's privacy and outdoor space. It was good to have access to a washing machine and to have a kitchen with a dishwasher.

The spacious bathroom had ample supply of hot water

The area is very pretty set amidst olive groves and with lovely views of the valley.

The city of Imperia is full of charm and character and has a fabulous Saturday market.

We appreciated, too, that your home is "pet friendly".

The terraces are wonderful places to eat in the evening and they give that genuine Mediterranean atmosphere.

Now the not quite so positives: The unmade access track to the villa was very arduous and took away from the overall enjyment. 1.5 km of undulating stone, gravel and small sections of tarmac. It was a little steep in parts and had drops to the side. At it's narrowest the track is just 2.6m wide.

Consequently we did not go out at night for the whole stay (two of our group would not have been able to negotiate the steep route back on foot).

Eating in each evening was not exactly part of the plan!

The alternative road up is also very, very steep with tight narrow hairpin bends.

The access road is only suitable for small and medium small cars with a decent ground clearance. Our car was too big to be able to turn at the top of the driveway so we had to reverse down it, 50m, and park at the bottom.

There are 5 churches in the valley and two of them are quite audible on the hour, every hour ,(and half hour) throughout the night.

No shutters, nor dark curtains so the rooms were quite light for sleeping.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: September 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We make every effort to ensure in our description that our guests are aware of the road leading to the Villa.It is not suitable for a people carrier or low sports car.Of course this drive is necessary to meet those wonderful views ! We make it clear that the walk back from the village is steep although my 80 yr old Father manages this in the evenings! As for the church bells ringing ,they have rung since the 12th century and I doubt they will stop just for the comfort of tourists .We feel they are part of the overall romantic feel of this beautiful medieval village . We have however changed the curtains to darker ones following your feedback . We are glad that you enjoyed the villa despite the narrow drive and church bells !
Did you find this review helpful?
6 17

Perfect Holidays

  • 5 of 5

We felt at home at the villa from the first day, We spent 2 wonderful weeks there (at the beginning of June 2009) and we really didn't miss anything. The listing description was accurate regarding everything. The last part of the road to the villa was a kind of adventure, but we soon got used to it and finally we even were able to enjoy it. The children (13,16) liked the nice, comfortable rooms as well as the surroundings. We had a lot of fun there cooking, relaxing, visiting places (Dolcedo, Imperia, Nizza, San Remo, Cervo ...) and we all decided to come back in 2010.

Family H., Nuremberg

  • Review Submitted: 11-Sep-2009
  • Date of Stay: May 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 3


Nearest Airport
70 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
80 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
castellaro golf
Nearest Train
6 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
6 Kilometres
imperia or san lorenzo a mare
Car: necessary

Made up of a number of small hamlets (including Isolalunga) all interconnected by footpaths through the olive groves, Dolcedo is a small country village built around the Prino river. The village center has approx 7 restaurants/ pizzerias, two general stores,two Butchers, a bank, a post office, a pharmacy and a children’s playground. There is a Fabulous Local Horse Riding centre. Dolcedo is only 5 km from the sea. There is a beautiful river running through the village with Ducks ,frogs etc. The nearest airport (Nice) is about 70 km with Genoa about 90km. Dolcedo is well placed and within easy reach of a number of tourist attractions - Imperia 5 km, Sanremo 25 km , Monte Carlo 55 km and Genoa at 80km.Our Villa enjoys a unique view of the whole village of Dolcedo and is therefore reached by a steep driveway or a narrow winding track. We recommend that guests use a manual car and avoid a very large people carrier or a very low sports car.

Golf: There is an 18 hole golf course which is open to the Public at Castellaro, and at san remo ( 30 mins in car)

It is a very friendly place and of course children are welcome. There is also a superb restaurant, tennis courts and a large outdoor pool.

It is approx 30 minute drive from our villa. A round of golf costs approx 40 euros.

There are also two Championship Golf Courses near San Remo (25 Minutes drive away)

There are Tennis courts available for Hire at Imperia Tennis club(10 mins by car)


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Dolcedo, Liguria

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Jun 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Towels for the Bathroom ,final cleaning and bed linen cost 80 euros payable directly to the cleaners on departure.

Balance to be paid 8 weeks before departure

£250 Deposit required at time of booking.(non-refundable).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question