OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spectacular Beach Front Location ( Refurbished June 2016 ) - Maxwell Beach Apartments



Updated: 25-Oct-2016
Prime Location Apartments only 15 metres from the sea

Our recently refurbished ( June 2016 ) apartments are set in a spectacular location. The property comprises of four self contained apartments. Three are budget priced studio apartments with en suite shower room and each with their own separate adjoining kitchenette, and the fourth is our flag ship spacious two bedroom en suite apartment with a large kitchen and living room leading to a sea view balcony. All the apartments have air conditioning in the bedrooms. The two ground floor studios have recently been refurbished ( June 2016 ) and new A/C units and mattress's have been installed.

Within walking distance are shops, pharmacy, bank and restaurants, and also the famous fishing village of 'Oistins' renowned for it's week-end Fish Fry

All the apartments have fast wireless internet connection.

The property is ideally suited for weddings (the ceremony can take place in front of the beach) , wedding blessings or an anniversary party, whereby all the apartments can be rented accommodating up to 15 people. Stay and play golf deals can be arranged.

The studio apartments are also ideal for single guests.

More Details

Details for holiday apartment Maxwell Beach Apartments, 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3, 1 Bathroom

These three 1 bedroom studio apatments are located on the right hand side of the property when viewed from the sea.

Each apartment has a king-size bed (or twin) with en-suite shower room and toilet, and each unit has a small, but well equipped adjoining kitchenette. There are two ground floor apartments each with a small patio, and one first floor apartment with balcony.

A laundry service (excluding ironing) can be provided for $10 US per load.

A fold-away bed or cot can also be provided at an additional £15 per night.

  • Sleeps 3
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Speaks English, Spanish, Danish

46 Reviews

based on 46 holidaymaker reviews


A vacation that I will never forget

  • 5 of 5

Maxwell Beach Apartments in Barbados is a perfect destination for sun, relaxation, water sports, friendly people, great food and for the night life. Maxwell Beach Apartments was everything I dreamed it was.

I stayed at Maxwell Beach Apartments for 1 month and I could not ask for more hospitable people as in Peter and Shenna. They made my stay in Barbados safe, fun and exciting. They took great care of me. The apartments are right on the beach, which Peter keeps manicure on a regular basis. Shenna, keeps the apartments very clean and well equipped with the basic amenities and will take care of all your needs and wants. The destination is perfect for walking to Oistins and the

St. Lawrence Gap. Buses run on a regular basis therefore getting to Bridgetown or beaches is very easy to do. Maxwell Beach Apartments is the place to experience going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves. What A Dream !

Thank you, Peter and Sheena

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were pleased to be able to accommodate a single lady traveller so that they felt safe and comfortable at our apartments. We have placed great emphasis on safety and security and are pleased this was appreciated. We very much look forward to her return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
58 0

Great location!!!!!

  • 4 of 5

Awesome stay we were there for two weeks and when we arrived I noticed the coffee pot was a one cup at a time machine well being from canada and LOVING are coffee I'm thinking oh man brewing in the morning 5-6 cups nightmare sooooo asked peter if he had a bigger one. Couple hours later there it was. We asked for more beach towels and they were left at are door for us well we were out. Anything you need peter will do for you. He's a great host. Beautiful beach at your door step, beach loungers out front you can put on the beach if you want. Peter was out chatting with everyone during the day asking how everything was going. Any info you needed he was there to help. Plus he has a new puppy so that was a lot of fun watching him learn to swim

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Shannon for your kind words. We are delighted you had an enjoyable time on the island with us. Our main objective is you get the most of your holiday and as I say to all or guests upon arrival and during the stay, " Please just ask if you need anything". We hope to see you again soon. As a note to our future guests the two ground floor studios have been refurbished including new A/C units and mattress's.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Five star island, shabby accommodations...

  • 2 of 5

Okay, first off, Barbados is far and away the best of the seven Caribbean countries we've visited. It's a visually stunning island, with a safe, well-developed society, while still retaining the charm of the Caribbean. Barbados is rich in history, with a vibrant tourism economy. Most importantly, the Bajan people are kind, and helpful. They really understand hospitality, for which we're most grateful. The island was brilliant!

That said, Maxwell Beach Apartments is rather like a seedy motel: It's clean enough, but the kitchenettes are very poorly outfitted - scant and mismatched cutlery, glasses, etc., like hand-me-downs, and absent ordinary requirements like a beer bottle opener! We asked for a blender a week prior to arrival. It never happened, despite repeated promises. One of our two patio chairs broke while simply sitting on it. No issue - seaside things rust over time, but it took three days to get another. The beds are ridiculously uncomfortable - felt like a lumpy 4" camp mattress on top of plywood. The aircon worked sufficiently but sounded like a freight train. They claim a barbecue is included, but then try to charge $5 US per use, and removed it off property for three days, for staff use. Toilet paper was an ongoing joke: They told one couple it was included, and others it was not. What a ridiculous thing to not provide. The wifi was down for four days running, and it's a crucial tool when on island - for maps & directions, restaurants reservations, phone calls (voip) etc. They didn't seem at all concerned. The staff was simply unavailable most of the time, when things came up, and when they did answer, they were not friendly at all, acting as if it was a bother. One, in particular, was downright unfriendly. In contrast, Jenna, the maid, was wonderful, warm, just plain sweet.

Commenting on the latest foolish deficiencies became a daily laugh amongst all the renters. We met eight couples during our two weeks, and each was disappointed and displeased with a similar array of things, and all had the same frustrating experience trying to deal with the staff.

We met several other Canadian couples just down the beach, and discovered there are far nicer and better rental values to be had, on the beach. All in all, we made the best of it. The location is perfect. The place itself could be acceptable with some simple care and attention (and a hospitality course). As it stands, it's just plain shabby.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to do our best to help you have a wonderful holiday in Barbados. The kitchenettes are fully stocked with fridge/ freezer, gas oven and hob, microwave, kettle, coffee machine, toaster, pots and pans, crockery, glassware and utensils. There should have been a bottle opener, alternatively there is one on the can opener. There should be everything you need, if not please just ask. The crockery is a little mismatched due to breakages but certainly not hand me downs. We are in the process of changing all the crockery and glassware so it is more pleasing to the eye. Regarding the blender, I had asked it to be placed in your kitchenette prior to arrival. Apologies for you not getting it. The ground floor studios have been refurbished ( June 2016 ) including repainting, new A/C units and new mattress's. As stated on homeaway and our own website we ask for $5 to cover the gas and wear and tear. As I recall I gave you the use of the BBQ for free prior to your arrival as a gesture of goodwill as you were unhappy about the fee. I do believe you damaged the BBQ while using it. It was taken off site for a friends 40th, this was an error on our part. We are self-catering apartments. As mentioned in the pre arrival email I send and when we greet you on arrival, items such as toilet paper, shampoo, washing up liquid etc are provided for your arrival but once gone it is up to you. Of course we would never leave you short of toilet paper. I ask all future guests to please read the pre arrival email thoroughly as it is full of useful information and avoids confusion. The WIFI should be on 24/7 it does sometimes need to be rebooted. Please just inform us if it is down. I am actually waiting for fibre ( 25 megs ) to be installed. We try to provide a professional service and great value for money. We ask that guests let us know if there are things they need. Please do not leave it to the last day when we cannot rectify the situation. We will always try to rectify problems asap. We do not tolerate abusive or threatening behavior towards staff or other guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3

Great location, below average accommodations

  • 2 of 5

Cant beat your own beach steps away from where you sleep. Location 10 mins to grocery shopping and fish market/restaurant. When coming from airport take a taxi, easy to get and only $15 US and is 2 doors east of Butterfly Beach hotel.

Pictures are misleading, the upper beach has grown in and is not maintained. Not enough beach chairs at full capacity. No hammock chairs as described, removed due to getting dirty we were told.

Wifi was down for half our stay, therefore we couldn't get in contact with Shenna as wifi is used for phone calls, as well to call taxis, make reservations, look at maps, and keep in contact with our young children back home, huge inconvenience.

The apartment was clean, towels and bedding get musty due to humidity after 4 days and should be offered to be changed sooner than the fifth day. Bedding is horrible to sleep on, very hard and the pillows are filthy and uncomfortable.

Slow coffee machine, limited cooking supplies but you can work with what you got.

BBQ on grounds for guest use as listed in amenities and was removed off property for personal use. Unacceptable when it is provided for guests. Therefore we were unable to BBQ any fish.

Aircon leaked and was not efficient, let Che know and he was aware.

We couldnt access our safe and when Shenna finally got home in the evening she was not plesant and it seemed I was a bother to her, instead of greeting a new guest that arrived.

The ocean has some big rocks, etc. Not as sandy as some other reviews listed. Cant control mother nature though.

This place could be a gem if people cared do the location. But it is getting run down and needs some upgrades in the rooms such as bedding, aircon.

I got the feeling that once they get your money then that is it. The few issues we had, and the attitude of Shenna is a direct reflection of that feeling.

If you are on a budget then this place would be acceptable if you really dont care.. If you are wanting to relax and get sleep dont count on a good sleep do to the hard beds and horrible pillows.

Think of it as a motel, more than an apartment rental. 2 out of 5 stars, and those are because of the beach front location and the price, but I would gladly pay more to have something better than this. There are options up the beach for a few dollars more way nicer.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry your expectations were not met during your stay with us. Helping you have the best holiday possible is our goal. We have refurbished the ground floor studios ( June 2016 ) upgraded the A/C units and have new mattress's. Our gardeners come by once a week, I am sorry you felt the garden is not maintained. We restock our linen yearly which is much more frequently than most places and our room cleans are every four days. The pillows have also been changed. As you mentioned the hammock chairs were being cleaned but should have been replaced in a much more timely fashion. As with the BBQ. It was used for a friends 40th ( which was an error on our part ) and should have been returned the next day and not 2 days later. As a side note the BBQ was damaged by a guest but not mentioned. We ask that any damages are relayed to us so we can take the appropriate measures to rectify things. I do urge guests to let us know if they need anything at all. We are here to help you make the most of your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2

Great, relaxing beachside stay!

  • 5 of 5

Visited Barbados in August 2014 for Crop Over and had a wonderful stay at this property. Nice facilities and how can you get better than your backyard being the beach?! Great location as it was easy to get around and access the main roads with your own vehicle but there is public transport right out the front door if you need it too. Supermarket only just down the road and a few minutes one way to St Lawrence Gap and Bridgetown and a few minutes the other way to Oistins.

Great communication by Martin when booking and Peter was very helpful throughout my 10 day stay!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Pure and sensational Home-style Island Bliss!

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking to shed your stress, put on your flip flops, ride the waves and totally enjoy the soul and beauty of island life - then look no further! This is it! Peter and his wife are gracious, happy, caring and amazing hosts of this beautiful property. We are no strangers to Barbados and this is a slice of ole time hospitality charm and bliss. The upstairs 2 bedroom apartment is our little oasis. Peter, we can't wait to come back! My son and friends (20yr olds) loved it! No hoopla, just good ole fun and frolic. Yes ! this is a uniquely awesome experience! Thank you for offering a 'non cookie-cutter' experience and choosing to be positively pure and sensational. See you again very soon. Tara, David, Jeffrey and the gang

  • Review Submitted: Nov 19, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tara et al, Thank you so very much for your kind words and gracious comments. As I say each time we have such a glowing review, it is so rewarding to know that our guests have enjoyed their holiday and it is so gratifying when they take the time and effort to tell us. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed (both generations) our no frills approach and have an understanding and appreciation of island life and the Bajan culture. It goes without saying we all look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados. With all good wishes and kind regards, Martin, Peter and Sheena
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Barbados International at 10 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Hotel next door at 100 Metres Nearest Ferry : Bridgetown at 10 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Barbados Golf Course at 3 Kilometres Nearest Beach : The grounds of the property lead to the beach at 15 Metres Car: not necessary

Centrally located on the Maxwell Main Road, 15 minutes from the Airport and 15 minutes to the capital Bridgetown. Within walking distance to the fishing village of Oistins which is well known for the week-end 'Street Party' and 5 minute bus ride to St Lawrence Gap which is the social centre of the south coast, crammed with bars, restaurants and clubs. There is also a Bank, Shopping Centre, Pharmacy and Petrol Station all within easy walking distance.

Set in it's own private grounds the property has a fabulous beach side location, literally 15 metres from the sea.

Other Activities: Golf deals available, International Cricket


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
9 Aug 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
christmas/new year
16 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
7 Jan 2017 - 15 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
16 Apr 2017 - 24 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
crop over
25 Jul 2017 - 8 Aug 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please note the above prices are subject to 10% local tax.
A 20% deposit is required to confirm booking which is non-refundable. The balance must be paid at least 42 days prior to departure. Cancellation up to 28 days of departure 50% of the balance will be refunded, there will be no refund for cancellation of less than 28 days. Payment by credit card can be accepted through PayPal, but please note there is a 3% surcharge to share the transaction charges. Payment can also be made by online banking or by cheque to my home address.
Check in time is from 3pm and check out time is no later than 12am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Updated: 25-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • apartment


  • Budget
  • Sports & Activities


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • waterfront


  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 350 sq. ft.


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure


  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, 1 Child Bed
  • The king size double bed can be made into twin beds if required. A fold away bed can be provided for a third person or a child, or a cot for a baby.


  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Although these apartments are on the right hand side of the property, the sea can still be seen from the balcony and part of the patio area and is only 15 metres from it.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot