OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

An extraordinary beach house with one of the best views in the world

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Property

Updated: 27-Mar-2017
  • Sleeps 12
  • 7 Bedrooms
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

About the property

7 bedrooms villa on Bloubergstrand's rocks with the best view of Table Mountain

The Windrose is 480 sqm wide. On the ground floor are two very big lounges, a dining table for 12 people, a breakfast table that sits 8 plus a kitchen and a small kitchenette for breakfast. Two poster refrigerator, ice maker machine, two microwaves, an electric oven. The right handed lounge have a 42' flat screen TV with the sound system having amplifiers in all the ground floor. Both lounges have air con and fire places. A fully equipped separate utility room, 2 guest toilets and 2 double garages.The furniture is of an outstanding level and the area spacious enough to easily entertain guests. Plenty of outdoor space with 3 furnished decks with 1 built-in braais, on one of the decks we just built an heated swimming pool. On the first floor 7 bedrooms (3 of them en-suite)plus two other bathrooms can easily host 12 people. 5 rooms open onto big decks looking at the sea. At the top of the house there is a nice studio.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Virginia
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, Italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
27 March, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Virginia



I am sorry I haven't emailed you before now but we only got back from SA yesterday.



I just wanted to say your house is utterly amazing. My family and I loved every moment we spent their and we will have memories of it for many years to come.



Thank you so much.



Best

Helen
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 4

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Virginia



I am sorry I haven't emailed you before now but we only got back from SA yesterday.



I just wanted to say your house is utterly amazing. My family and I loved every moment we spent their and we will have memories of it for many years to come.



Thank you so much.



Best

Helen
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 4

20 Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

5

it is a great house with perfect service

  • 5 of 5

From day one everything was perfectly arranged, the vieuws are the max. the decorations off the house are very tastefull. the kitchen is well equiped. so we hat a greet time.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house with the sea just out side.

  • 4 of 5

We loved every thing about the property but I did mail with complaints about the plumbing with you have not replied to so can you please do that. and send the deposit as well. Thankyou

  • Review Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! Unfortunately I never receive an email regarding the plumbing and I did send you a request for your bank details in order to send back the deposit, I never had a replay from you. Please be so kind to send me your bank details and the email of complainants about the plumbing. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wow, an amazing home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures on the website do not do this home justice.

Every person in our group was delighted by the property from the minute we walked in. The home is beautifully and tastefully decorated The attention to detail was noticeable, I particularly liked the fresh flowers, so thoughtful. There were basic supplies to keep us going until we were able to get to a shop. The property is a home rather than a house, everything we needed, and more, was there.

The location right on the beach was superb and having a decent restaurant right next door proved useful. If you're too lazy too make your own coffee in the morning you can simply go next door to the 'hole in the wall' for a decent cappuccino or espresso!

The staff were charming and accommodated all our needs.

I hope that we can return in the not too distant future to enjoy a glass of good South African wine while sitting on the outdoor patio, fire blazing and waves crashing against the rocks!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I am really happy that you enjoyed The Windrose and I look forward to hosting you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was amazing! We can't wait to return!

  • 5 of 5

The property was fantastic. We were welcomed by the property manager who was thorough and helpful. The views were amazing! Food and light shopping are available within walking distance. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review! I hope to be able to host you and your family again! Virginia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5

This home left us breathless. Fantastic location, exquisitely furnished, warm hospitality from the host. You will do yourself the biggest favor by booking this marvelous property. Just give yourself enough days as you will not want to leave. We will without a doubt stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your fantastic review! I hope you will enjoy again The Windrose!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

The Windrose is everything you could wish for - it is beautiful, spacious, well equipped and comfortable. It was perfect for our family group with plenty space to enjoy our break together and every one of us would love to come back some day.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review, I hope to have you back sometimes!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Cape Town International at 35 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Petit Fours at 300 Metres Nearest Golf : Milnerton Golf Club at 10 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : On the Rocks at 20 Metres Car: necessary

Bloubergstrand has a long white sandy beach on the Atlantic ocean, with a few rocky outcrops where black mussels are found. The water is cold due to the cold Benguela Current but the beach is popular with surfers. The bay on the west side of Bloubergstrand, known as 'Big Bay' has become a very popular kite surfing spot due to the constant trade winds bringing a 1-3m surf for a majority of the year. Big Bay Beach is also well known for the ease with which White Mussels (a species of the family Donax) can be extracted from the sand by a process locally known as 'jiving'.

Other Activities: Kite-surfing

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Peak
16 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,171
for 3 nights
From
£724
 
 
Whale
1 May 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,258
for 3 nights
From
£419
 
 
Shoulder
1 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,688
for 3 nights
From
£563
 
 
Peak
1 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,290
for 3 nights
From
£763
 
 
High Peak
16 Dec 2017 - 15 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,617
for 3 nights
From
£872
 
 
Peak
16 Jan 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,290
for 3 nights
From
£763
 
 
Whale
1 May 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,402
for 3 nights
From
£467
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £312

Rates are based on 7+ pax. Please contact the owner for the rates for 6 pax and under
A maid service, 6 days per week, is included in the rates.
Arrival between 3pm and 6pm unless prior agreement with the property manager.
Departure between 9am and 12pm unless prior agreement with the property manager.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 27-Mar-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • villa

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Luxury

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Printer
  • Safe
  • Scanner
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool

Onsite Services

  • Daily Maid Service
  • Staff

Suitability

  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village

Attractions

  • bay
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 490 m²

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 5 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure

Bedrooms

  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 6 - 1 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 7 - 1 Single Bed
  • On the first floor are 7 bedrooms (3 of them en-suite), (5 double and 2 single) plus two other bathrooms can easily host 12 people. All the rooms are furnished with the best that you can find in South Africa with plenty of cupboards. Five bedrooms open onto big decks looking at the sea, where you can lie in the sun or watch for whales or dolphins. At the top of the house there is a nice studio.

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Decking
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • We just added a heated swimming pool on one of the decks where you can bathe in front of the sea, a real luxury!!

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot