OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

zone 1 apartment 5 min to Thames, Westminster London Eye Sth Bank

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 538 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Sunny, clean 2 bed apt sleep 4, near Waterloo, Vauxhall, + Westminster tubes

Located near Lambeth Palace, this comfortable and elegant, fully equipped apartment is ideally situated for anyone wanting to experience central London and the West End. All the excitement of Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Leicester Square, shopping on Oxford St... all only a short 15 minutes bus trip away, with bus stops at your door step. 10 minutes walk along the Thames or 5 minutes in a taxi, and you are at the London Eye, a bit further and you have a choice of many restaurants, the National Theatre or the British Film Institute, another 10 minutes and you are at Borough Market, London Bridge, and Shakespeare's Globe. In the other direction it is 10 minutes to the Elephant and Castle, where shopping, restaurants and entertainment is available.


Owner
Jennifer
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, German, Dutch
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
3 December, 2017

About Jennifer

I was born in Auckland New Zealand, educated at Auckland University. married a Londoner, settled for 30 years in the Manning Valley NSW Australia, taught senior English at Taree College of TAFE. Came to London 2004, currently living in and enjoying London, worked past 4 years in the House of Lords Westminster.

Jennifer purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Jennifer chose Lambeth

I inherited the property from my mother, bless her....and I love it because she lived here 28 years...it is south facing and sunny...you can lie in bed and not see a building when you look out the window

What makes this apartment unique

good bus services to major attractions nearby, walking distance to Houses of Parliament, London Eye and Tate Britain.

this apartment is overlooks a park, it is quiet and well located for Westminster and West End theatres and galleries

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Lambeth in London

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 538 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Computer Available
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Flask
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • shower over the bath the toilet is in a separate room
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot , The 2 single beds can be put together to make one large king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • a cot is available
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
Notes:
There is a lift to the 2nd floor where the apartment is located. We ask smokers to respect the fact that they are welcome to smoke on the balcony, but please not in the apartment as the smell of nicotine is not pleasant for non-smoking clients who may come after you. There is no wheelchair access into the shower as the shower is over the bath. We love animals but there is no garden and the apartment is on the second floor. please note that there is a £20 administration fee to alter a booking that reduces the length of stay. If you increase the length of stay there is no administration fee. If the length of stay is reduced up to 3 months or more in advance of arrival, and a vacancy results that is less than 5 days, 50% of the cancelled dates is refundable. If the cancellation of part of the booking occurs within 3 months of arrival date which creates a vacancy of less than 5 days, the caneclled dates are non-refundable, because most bookings are made 6 months in advance

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(43 traveller reviews)

79% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
zone 1 apartment 5 min to Thames, Westminster London Eye Sth Bank
average rating of 4.7906976 based on 43 reviews
4

Nice flat in perfect surroundings close to Big Ben and the Parliament

  • 4 of 5

We have enjoyede our stay in this cosy flat

  • Review Submitted: 21-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Hanne very happy you and your family enjoyed your second stay at my place. Thanks for leaving your review. with best wishes Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The best place to stay when visiting London!

  • 5 of 5

Simply put, you can't beat staying at this flat if you are exploring London. Here are a few of the reasons:

1) The owner is incredibly responsive ahead of the trip, answers questions and makes sure everything is well prepared.

2) The neighborhood is great. It was a quiet little neighborhood where we could walk to get groceries, food or whatever we needed. Most importantly :), there is a great neighborhood pub (The Windmill) just around the corner. The area always felt safe. You have a nice view of the gardens from the balcony.

3) I was not sure if we were too far out of the main tourist attractions or not before we arrived. But as long as you enjoy walking and are comfortable with public transportation, this is great. I had thought we'd be taking the tube constantly but the bus is the way to go. Bus stops are within a 3-4 minute walk from the flat and they get you everywhere. (Go to the TFL site and download a Lambeth North Spider map.) If you need the tube, the stop is maybe 10 minutes but we only used Lambeth North once. We used the tube for other trips within town but always ended up on the bus or walking to the flat. But even better is you can walk along the Thames on a nice walking area with views of Parliament, Big Ben, etc. to get up the London Eye area. It's maybe a 20 minute stroll if you are taking your time.

4) The flat itself is perfect. We are two adults and 8 and 11 year old boys. Perfect setup. Separate beds for each boy in one bedroom and a bed for my wife and I in the other. Nice living room with places to chill, place to eat and functional kitchen. Sure, some of the fixtures within the flat are not the most modern but I couldn't care less as they work just fine. But the decision on this is simple -- pay 1 1/2 - 2 times as much for a basic hotel room or have room to spread out and not have your family on top of each other and stay in this awesome flat.

5) London itself is just awesome. I could write pages on how much we love this city. The only problem is doing everything you want in the short time there. It's worth it if you're doing the traditional tourist things to do the London Pass. DO NOT waste money on its competitor the London Explorer Pass -- it only allows you into a few places and you can get into those cheaper on site (i.e. the London Eye).

In summary, there is no better option for visiting London than staying here. Book this without any concern, you will love it!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kevin I am pleased that you had a great experience in London and enjoyed staying in my apartment. thank you for your enthusiastic review, I am glad you loved the location and my place, because I do too! Every time I walk along the Embankment (past that terriffic café on wheels with the always smiling and friendly staff), I marvel at how kind life has been to me. It always makes me feel good seeing the Houses of Parliament, it's such a beautiful piece of architecture. wishing you all the best Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfy and reasonable

  • 5 of 5

It's a comfy little flat, reasonably priced, and close to public transportation. Our little family of four enjoyed our one week stay there. Jennifer was accommodating in allowing us to check in a little before the scheduled time. In addition, she was always there to answer questions when we emailed her. A few suggestions I would add are: place a trash bin in each room, provide a larger drying rack (or dryer would be even better), place blow dryer in an open space (we didn't find it until the day we left because it was in a drawer), and update wifi name and password on PDF file (but Jennifer was prompt in responding when we needed her help). Overall, those minor suggestions are merely that. Not having those amenities did not impede on the way we felt about the flat. We truly enjoyed our stay. Thank you!!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Theary many thanks for your lovely review. i'm very glad you had a happy time in my flat and in London. Thank you also for the suggestions regarding the dryer. I have updated the pdf file. I wonder, did you notice the updated wi-fi details in the attachment titled 'key box and wi-fi code' which I sent a week before your arrival? I'm in the process of de-cluttering the apartment to make it more spacious, so Im not sure about a trash bin in each room...but all your other suggestions I will act upon. thanks again for choosing to stay at my place, it was always a pleasure communicating with you kindest regards Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
missouri
4

Great location, very comfortable without any fussiness

  • 4 of 5

Jennifer is a very accessible and helpful host.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to visit London downtown. Anytime again

  • 5 of 5

Great place to visit London downtown. Anytime again

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful Chez Guinevere! This was our second visit...and definitely not our last...in this most perfect flat. The location is ideal and it has everything anyone would need for a comfortable stay in this amazing city. Jennifer is a most informative and gracious host and has recommended excellent places that most of us would miss. We will return and would absolutely recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Karen I am so glad you and your sisters had a great time in London and the apartment. You are wonderful guests, I love your enthusiasm and your positive communication. Really, it is a joy to have you to stay with best wishes Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Train
800 Metres
Westminster, Vauxhall, Waterloo Lambeth North

It's possible to book shorter stays if there is a vacant period that suits you, between other bookings.The apartment is close to the tourist centre of London. A 10 min. walk to Tate Britain. The # 3 bus from the corner is 5 minutes to the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and White Hall, (stroll from here through St James' Park to Buckingham Palace); 5 -10 minutes on to Trafalgar Square, the Strand, China town, Covent Garden Market, the West End, and the Haymarket; Shaftesbury Avenue's theatres, the cinemas of Leicester Square, Soho's night life, Picadilly, Regent St, and the miles of Oxford St shops.

In another direction take the 360 bus to the King's Road Chelsea, Sloane Square and the High Fashion of Sloane St; the Victoria and Albert Museum, the British Museum, Harrods, Royal Albert Hall, Lady Diana's Kensington Palace and within walking distance to South Kensington High St and Notting Hill, where Charity shops are a treasure trove of designer labels.

Bus 507 + C10 on the embankment take 10 minutes to Victoria Station, (the Gatwick Express) more theatres + shops.

Other Activities: Theatre, film, parks, museums

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Lambeth, England

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
winter 2017 -2018
1 Dec 2017 - 28 Feb 2018
5 night minimum stay
£625
for 5 nights
From
£125
£850
 
 
March
1 Mar 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£675
for 5 nights
From
£135
£900
 
 
Easter 2018
30 Mar 2018 - 2 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
£600
for 4 nights
From
£150
£950
 
 
Spring 2018
3 Apr 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
5 night minimum stay
£725
for 5 nights
From
£145
£950
 
 
Summer 2018
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,120
for 7 nights
From
£160
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£625
for 5 nights
From
£125
£850
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

if there is a gap between existing reservations, it is possible to book for the period that is available even if it is below the requirement of the minimum night stay, I think you would need to send me an email as the website will advise you that it is below the minimumnumber of nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable