OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Amazing apartment with outside space, ideally situated, w/ easy access to all DC

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,030 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Overview

About the property

Lovely spot, where residential neighborhood meets bustling Mt. Pleasant Road

Steps from central Mount Pleasant and the Saturday farmers' market, the available apartment is the in-laws' suite below our "Grande Dame" townhouse on historic Lamont Street. The apartment has its own entrance off Lamont Street, and is not directly connected to our residence. A cozy, well appointed apartment in great location, is a delightful alternative to staying in a hotel but with all the same amenities, ideal for business travel or family vacation. Private entrance off street, shaded patio in tranquil back yard. Easy walks to Zoo, Rock Creek Park, and Metro. HABLAMOS ESPANOL. PARLONS FRANCAIS.


Owner
Kelly Willis
Member since: 2016
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

About Kelly Willis

My husband and I bought this house just last year, and decided not to rent the basement, so that we have plenty of space when the grandparents visit! So we left it furnished and with none of our personal clutter, and are happy to share it with travelers who want a nice (and more economical) alternative to a hotel.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mount Pleasant in Northwest Washington

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1030 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
Theme:
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Can add an air mattress on request.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

67% Complete
32% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing apartment with outside space, ideally situated, w/ easy access to all DC
average rating of 4.678571 based on 28 reviews
Mauldin, South Carolina
5

It was absolutely perfect for two couples visiting DC for a 3 day weekend.

  • 5 of 5

The property was perfect for our purposes. One couple had lived in DC in the last century. The property is in the heart of a thriving neighborhood and easy access to other popular neighborhoods in DC, Adams Morgan, DuPont Circle and others. We used Lyft and Metro buses for transportation. Both worked well. Our primary purpose was visiting museums and the short ride by Lyft to the mall maximized our time in the museums.

The beds were comfortable, the towels were thick and soft. We wanted to use the patio but never seemed to have time. Kelly was accommodating of a couple of special needs we had. She said it was because she and I are from Michigan State, but I believe she just wanted us to enjoy ourselves with the least amount of effort. We did. Next time I visit DC for any reason, I would want to stay in this Amazing apartment in Kalorama, Washington, DC.

* Wi Fi was strong

*washer and dryer was easy to operate

*Patio is covered

*Neighbors were friendly

*Rooms and furniture are comfortable

*voice activated cable TV

  • Review Submitted: 05-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure to have you! Anyone reading this should do whatever they can to have Bernard and his wife as guests... they left the place in pristine condition (maybe even cleaner than I left it?!?) and on top of that left me a beautiful house plant that will remind me of the Scott's and the Johnson's every time I look at it!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Historic home

  • 4 of 5

This is a basement 2 bedroom 2 bath in mt. Pleasant neighborhood. Owner was very nice and the place had many nice features. Kitchen was well supplied with all you would need and even had food basics in the refrigerator. We were also allowed to leave our bags there while we toured the park and zoo.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place- great location!

  • 4 of 5

Perfect for our family. Enough space to hang out when needing a rest and loved the neighborhood- restaurants close, the zoo, a perfect walk. Glad we found you!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hickory, nc
5

Very cozy & convenient apartment!

  • 5 of 5

Our party of 5 stayed at this apartment for 3 nights. It was very comfortable and we had plenty of space. Kelly was great to work with us & accommodated all requests that we made. The only possible negative & it’s a miniscule, is that there was no microwave. It would have been nice to have to reheat leftovers but no biggie.

Totally & highly recommend this apartment!!!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kathy, thanks for your review. I'm so sorry about the microwave - it was in the kitchen pantry, but I should have let you know! I hope you all enjoyed the visit, and remembrance of your father and his military service. Come back another time! - Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice place, well kept, and well placed for seeing the city

  • 5 of 5

We did not meet the owners which was fine. They did answer all of our questions in a timely manner and parking was easy. The apartment let us enjoy the stay more like being home and experience d.c. like a local instead of a traveler. Highly recommend this property. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5

This place was an overall great experience. An ideal place for a small family or two couples looking for something outside the hotel experience. Kelly is wonderful, we had no issues if we had to contact her or needed anything extra. In fact, she kindly let us stay past our check-out since our flight back to Chicago was canceled. This apartment is efficient, in a safe neighborhood and conveniently located near a convenient store and a variety amount of restaurants to choose from.

The only negative thing I would say about this apartment is the wi-fi. The connection was so slow that only one person had luck when trying to access anything service necessary. Since we were having such a great trip the WiFi was not an issue.

In conclusion, you will not be disappointed when staying here. Would highly recommend as well as stay at this location for future DC trips!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kathy - thanks for the review! I am sorry you had problems with the internet - I've never had that feedback before - wish you had called me! I'm always here to take care of problems if they arise.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Washington National Cathedral
Rock Creek Park
Meridian Hill Park
The Wonderland Ballroom
Smithsonian National Zoological Park
The Coupe
Capital Bikeshare
Beau Thai
Each Peach Market
Dos Gringos A Mount Pleasant Cafe
Room 11
Maple restaurant and bar
Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens
El Chucho - Cocina Superior
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £55.7
Pet Fee £73.52
Damage Insurance £43.81

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable