OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Apartments in the centre of old Ceret - Market View

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 430 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine

Overview

Description

Market View

This First floor apartment of 40m2 has a direct view over Boulevard Arago, one of the main streets in the centre of the old town. You can look out the windows over the market on Saturday mornings. It has a separate bedroom (latex mattress 1.60*2.00m), American style kitchen with washing machine, large dining/ living area equipped with music system ( provision for USB stick) and a large, new bathroom with shower. Internet wifi connexion is available on request. The furnishings and decoration are a mixture of old and new. All appliances are new. Parking is available within a 5 minute walk or on Saturdays a further 5 mins. The main advantages are that you are literally in the centre, i.e. restaurants, shops, supermarket, newsagents, the museum of modern art, the night market. At night you can wander to anyone of the many restaurants without having to worry about driving.


About the property

Ceretapartments

Three apartments are available in the main boulevard in the historic centre of Ceret, beneath the wonderful shady plane trees. It's a short walk to almost everything, restaurants, shops, banks, etc. The wonderful Saturday market takes place literally outside the front door.

Ceret is an exceptionally beautiful place to be. It has a long-history of famous artists working in Ceret, its surroundings and to Collioure on the coast -Picasso, Matisse, Soutine, Braque and many more. No doubt one of the highlights of a stay in Ceret is a visit to the Museum of Modern Art.

After a day out to the beach, exploring the local towns or a walk in the forest, how about dinner in a beautiful shaded square, Place des Neuf Jets, a warm terrace or cosy, old-style restaurant. There are over twenty all within walking distance. This is not to mention the many others in the region or in Perpignan (30 minutes) away.

The Region: Ceret lies in the Languedoc-Roussillon region on the lower south east of France nestled in the foothills of the he Pyrenees, 25km from the Mediterranean beaches at Argeles-Sur-Mer and Collioure. The region is also renowned as a spa area with resorts at Amelie-les-bains and Le Boulou.

Collioure is the quaintest of the towns on what is known as the Vermillion Coast. It has also worked its spell on artists for more than a century, writers, poets (Antonio Machado), and painters Picasso, Matisse, Derain, Dufy Chagall, Marquet have all been blessed by its charm. There are approximately 30 galleries in addition to the Museum of Modern Art. It is also famous for its anchovies and a sweet aperitif wine from Banyuls.

The coast is indented with small pebbly or sandy beaches with the background of steep, terraced vineyards.

They are patrolled in summer and are busy but never packed. As there is little industry in this area, the land, air and sea are clean.

Eating Opportunities: Now after a hard day out doing whatever, it’s time to relax a fill up. As you can see from the photos, this apartment is fitted with an American-style kitchen, more than enough to prepare simple meals, (a picnic lunch) perhaps with goodies from the market. If you feel like stepping out, then there is no exaggeration about the restaurants on offer in Ceret. They range from gourmet-style cuisine to wood-fired oven pizza, Vietnamese and the local Catalan/Mediterranean style cuisine. There are twenty-two on the list the majority within a short walk from the front door. See this link to the tourist office for the full list.

There are many more in the region. Perhaps you could check out those recommended in the Via Michelin.

Perpignan: It’s only a short drive to Perpignan, the site of the new TGV Station which will link France and Barcelona, Spain. The city centre with its winding medieval pedestrian area, the Palace of the Kings of Majorca, the winding canals, beautiful open city squares, cafes, bars and restaurants and shopping areas, multicoloured buildings is really delightful. You will also come across the late 14th-century Castillet, Perpignan’s emblem, which was at once a castle, town gate and prison, Cathédrale Saint-Jean-Le-Baptiste (“Saint John the Baptist Cathedral”) and 'Campo Santo' (France’s biggest cloister cemetery), Eglise Saint Jacques “Church of Saint James”, and the Jardin de La Miranda (“La Miranda Garden”).

There is a Saturday morning market in Place de la Republique next to the Theatre and in the midst of the old town with shops which still have a medieval feel. Perpignan is home to festivals in summer of music, dance, theatre, see:

More Details

Owner
Edmond Smyth
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian, catalan
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
10 December, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Edmond,

We are now back in Finland after a splendid holiday.

I just wanted to tell you that we really loved the flat in Ceret. Perfect location and wonderful atmosphere. We really loved the little details (like the massive coffee maker and the big glasses to enjoy local nectar) that contributed to make our stay in Ceret a memorable one.

And last but not least, a special thank you to Jay for her constant support.

Cheers,
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Perpignan
Nearest Train
25 Kilometres
Perpignan
Nearest Motorway
7 Kilometres
Le Boulou
Car: recommended

Ceret is a very international place with many English speaking residents from all over the world, lack of French it should be no problem. A car is advisable if you wish to visit the other delights of the local area. TravelAirports: Perpignan 35 mins, Girona 50 mins, Carcassonne 1hr 45mins. Train TGV from London via Lille to Perpignan 10 hours.. (see links) Ceret is located in the valley of the Tech River known as the Vallespir. It is in the foothills of the Pyrenees about 30 minutes from the beaches near Argeles and Colliure. Apart from its artists, it is particularly famous for its cherries, the first to mature in France around mid-April and the subsequent Cherry Festival in late May early June with a two day cherry market and Bandas festival. From May (Spring) until the end of September ( Autumn), the valley is constantly changing colour under a clear, bright, blue sky (300days sun per year). There are many other festivals - dancing the traditional sardana, bull fighting, music.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Céret in Pyrénées-Orientales

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 430 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • town
  • village
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • There is a good quality inflatable bed available for those who would like to come with perhaps a family member or two. The would occupy the relaxing area as shown in the photo.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
Suitability:
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
29% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Market View
average rating of 4.470588 based on 18 reviews
1

Great location; furnishings bare bones minimum

  • 1 of 5

If you want an apartment for a short stay (2-3 days) to sleep in a great location and do not want to cook anything or spend any time in the apartment this will do. If you self cater and plan to cook you might want to think again. The furniture: bare bones and for two people max. The 2 "dining chairs" are mismatched and not comfortable. There was 1 very low chair and a sofa that had no legs and was too low to sit in. It had a white cloth over it and the base was dirty. There was no place comfortable to sit. The chairs depicted in the photo were not in evidence. The kitchen area had two burner hot plate but no place to put a hot pot without burning the countertop. There were no hot-pads and only 1 dish towel. It also had an under the counter refrigerator that would hold a few things but not enough to make a meal which was too bad because Ceret has a great market and it would have been fun to cook. The bath had adequate lighting. However the base of the shower doors had mildew around the bottom. Finally, the host who lives above has two young children -- one night they were jumping around until almost 11:30 pm which was at best distracting. The other nights they were quiet.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to do the review. It was good to meet you during your stay. Ceret is truly a great location and we are a five minute walk to almost everything, such as the Museum of Modern Art which you seemed to enjoy. We are a little surprised that you did not mention any of these issues to us during the 3 or 4 times we spoke during your stay. They would have been attended to immediately. We enjoy accessing the Ceret market for its wide variety of fresh fruit and vegetables, artisan cheeses, small goods, bread, wine and other items for home meals. It's very easy to buy a large quanitity of food that overfills the larder. Our twin boys are usually very tired after being out and about to the lake a St Jean, swimming at Collioure or on one of the many forest walks nearby. They are usually quiet, sound asleep by 9:30.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cosy home in southern Frace

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed 3 months in this lovely apartment in Ceret. It is located right in the heart of Ceret, on a street with French plantanes, and close to all the highlights of Ceret. During the festival time, we simply open our windows so as to be a part of the festivities. And yet, once the windows are closed, we are privileged of a countryside tranquility. The apartment is well furnished, and we felt completely home during out stay. The last but not the least, the owner is very friendly and responsible for all the help we need during our stay. We would recommend this great place to everyone we know!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to review our apartments. We appreciate your kind comments with the important details you have highlighted.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellently situated apartment in the centre of Céret with a nice bright large kitchen living room.

  • 4 of 5

Entry from the street is via a useful combination code which saves on carrying keys! The shared entrance hall is dark and functional with automatic lighting. There is a stairlift which looks helpful for your luggage at the end of a journey but we couldn't get it to work. Never mind it's only the first floor! The apartment door unlocks to let you straight in to the living dining kitchen room which is bright and airy with two large windows facing the street and its plane trees. There is a small table and two chairs as well as two IKEA chairs and a very low level couch!

The kitchen is basically appointed with microwave, 2 electric rings a new washing machine kettle toaster and coffee filter, and espresso machine in the cupboard. There is no conventional oven. The crockery and cutlery is basic but has four of most items!

The bedroom is adequate and the bed comfortable, with a useful quiet fan for hot weather.

The walk in shower and bathroom work well.

It would have been helpful to have had a wee written guide to welcome and orientate guests. But replies were quick and forthcoming when we had questions. Ceret is a great little art town with a fine modern art gallery and many attractions within easy reach. We had a great time!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Asheville
5

Great stay in a nice apartment in Ceret

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Market Apartment for 12 days. It is a great location--right in the heart of Ceret. We were met by Jay, the manager of the property and she was helpful in getting us situated.

The apartment is as described and looks over one of the main streets in Ceret. You walk out the front door on the Saturday market day, and you're right in the thick of it.

Edmund was very attentive. The apartment was comfortable and had many of the items we needed for our longer stay.

The internet wasn’t working consistently while we were there, but there was a great internet cafe not far from the apartment. The problem was that of the Internet company (not Edmund), and got resolved toward the end of our trip.

We also viewed the other apartment Edmund rents (the Mountain View), and would recommend that one if you’re looking for something a little quieter (as it doesn’t face the street). But we preferred the Market apartment as it had a separate bedroom.

Overall, a lovely place to stay while in Ceret.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: October 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind, accurate review. Apologies again for the problems with the connection, in theory SFR have reprogrammed the modem and all is well. Best of luck and hope to see you again sometime. Edmond
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Sehr angenehmer Aufenthalt

  • 4 of 5

Wir wohnten insgesamt 11 Tage in dem Apartment „Mountain View“ von Edmond Smyth.

Die Wohnung liegt im 1.Stock eines Stadthauses in der Altstadt von Ceret, einem kleinen lebendigen hübschen Ort ca. 25 km von der Küste entfernt.

Wir haben den Aufenthalt dort genossen: das Apartment besteht aus einem ca. 60 qm großen geschmackvoll eingerichteten multifunktionalen Wohn- und Schlafraum sowie einem Bad und Eingangsflur. Da das Apartment mit seinen Fenstern auf der zur Straße abgekehrten Seite liegt, ist es sehr ruhig. Den Blick auf den Garten mit seinen dichten hohen Bäumen und den grünen Bergen in der Ferne haben wir sehr genossen. Für unsere Art der Nutzung (wir waren tagsüber fast immer unterwegs, entweder in den Berge oder an der Küste) war die Wohnung mit allem Notwendigen ausgestattet; es gab die unterschiedlichsten Bücher, ein Cd-Spieler, die üblichen Küchenutensilien (etwas knapp) und sogar eine Waschmaschine.

Ein öffentlicher, kostenloser großer Parkplatz liegt nur zweihundert Meter entfernt. Einen Bäcker gibt es in ganz in der Nähe.

Edmond bezeichnet die Ferienwohnung als für Senioren „ungeeignet“. Wir vermuten, dass sich diese Einschränkung auf das Fehlen eines Fahrstuhls bezieht; man muss zum ersten Stock also etwas Treppensteigen. Für uns (74/70 Jahre) war das allerdings kein Problem.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great property for the two of us

  • 4 of 5

This apartment was perfect for us and although it had a rather dated feel in terms of furnishings it was more than adequate in terms of comfort and convenience.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: June 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your comments. Perhaps this is our favourite apartment with guests. Not surprised it was perfect for you. As you note from the photos, we have tried to maintain and "old feel" with the furnishings, restored tables, chairs, 1970's leather sofa and armchairs, restored green cupboard. The kitchen and bed etc are new. These have been deliberate choices rather than go for off the shelf new furniture. So I guess it's a matter of taste. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos