OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Art Deco Apartment Right on Krakow's Central Square

Overview

Property

Updated: 10-Dec-2016
Spacious, comfortable apartment right on the doorstep of the central square

This spacious, newly furnished apartment sits right above Europe’s most stunning central square. Whether it’s a trot around Market Square or a visit to the City’s celebrated, Medieval Cathedral, everything is no more than a hundred metres from our front door! But, situated on the fourth floor within an historic bank building, facing away from the Square, the apartment offers amazingly peaceful accommodation - with the best of Krakow’s attractions and nightlife just a lift-ride away. The apartment provides free wireless internet throughout, and has been recently renovated to a high standard - a mixture of modern design with classic charm, provided by traditional art deco furniture, perfectly in keeping with the apartment’s early 20th century origins. Its spacious rooms, two bathrooms and fully equipped kitchen make it well adapted to parties of up to six. The main bedroom has a huge and dazzling bay-window that catches the morning sunshine, and also offers its own en-suite toilet and shower.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Anna and Ed are two journalists who work for the BBC in London. We have three children and regularly visit Krakow, one of our favourite cities.

Call Owner
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Polish

Guestbook comments from the owner

Greately enjoyed your comfortable apartment and its fantastic location! Your restaurant recommen
Sep 2009
  • 1 of 7

20 Reviews

4.9
based on 20 holidaymaker reviews

4

Great location in heart of town.

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kraków at the apartment. The apartment is on the fourth floor only a few steps from the main square. It is convenient to all of the charming shops, restaurants and tourist sites in old town. The owners were very responsive and the information provided was helpful. One thing people should be awAre of is that there is no parking close to the apartment. If you are driving, you will have to park about a 15 minute walk away....not too bad, but in bad weather, a bit of a slog. However, you can have a taxi drive in with your luggage from the parking area to drop it off which was not explained to us. There is a washing machine but no dryer...so you really can't do laundry. A dryer would be helpful. overall, it was a very nice experience. We would stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable flat in great location

  • 5 of 5

The flat is very spacious and perfect for two couples -the 2 bathrooms are a real bonus. Lots of hot water and possible for both showers to be used simultaneously.We were there at the end of September and the municipal central heating system was just starting so the flat was very warm and cozy -by the time we were leaving we could see that the radiators were all beginning to heat up so I could imagine the flat would be lovely and warm even in mid winter.

Just down in the lift and a few steps and you are in the Rynek Glowny so the location could not be better. Eds communication and organisation was first class -he organised a taxi for us and Andrew met us as planned at the flat and told us everything we needed to know .We got the train back to the airport from the main train station which was only a 10 minute walk - this was a great service and only cost 8 zlotys each !.Ed recommended Gullivers restaurant in Ulica Bracka and we went several times - lovely food in a quiet relaxed setting and amazing prices .We also liked Marmalada restaurant in Ulica Grodska and the Europanski cafe in the Rynek - lovely to sit there in the sun for breakfast !.

Would highly recommend the apartment if you want a comfortable base in a very central location.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Alexandria, VA
5

A PERFECT POLISH PROPERTY

  • 5 of 5

We usually stay in HomeAway properties when traveling, and this apartment is clearly among the best we've experienced. The owner and local agent were wonderfully responsive and helpful in both the reservation process and check-in. The property description is completely accurate, and our group of four had no surprises whatsoever. In addition to the basic information provided here, once you make a reservation the owner provides you very thorough and detailed additional information about the arrival process, apartment amenities, and local resources (markets, ground transportation, money exchange, etc).

As others have said, the unit's location can't be beat, which puts virtually all of Krakow's main tourist attractions within an easy walk. We had no reason at all to use public transportation at any time during our four day visit. The highlights of our trip are too numerous to recount, but there are two that deserve special mention.

First, during a walking tour of Warsaw the day before our arrival in Krakow, the tour guide recommended Pierogarnia Krakowiacy on ul. Szewska in Krakow as the best restaurant for pierogies. She was absolutely right. They were awesome.

Secondly, if you want to line up a private car and driver for a tour of Auschwitz and Birkenau, I strongly suggest reserving through krakowtrip.com. They provided door-to-door service at a reasonable price with a very professional driver.

And, as a point of general interest, if you tour the Schindler Factory Museum you'll find a display of old black & white photo albums in one of the first rooms. One of those albums has a couple of 1940's vintage photos of the art deco apartment building in which this apartment is located. Seeing this gave us the feeling that we were really experiencing a piece of history by staying there.

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What kind words and also what brilliantly helpful suggestions for eateries and Auschwitz transport. Great to have you. Do come again! Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Krakow Central Square Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We spent 6 days in Krakow and had a great time. Very nice apartment which made our stay even more fantastic. The location could not have been better for a tourist in Krakow. The apartment entrance is within a few yards of the Central Square (Rynek Glowny) but because of the orientation of the apartment, it was very quiet, both from street noise and from neighbors. From the apartment, nearly all tourist sights were within walking distance. We never had to use public transportation or taxi except to the train station when we left. We could have walked but it was raining so we took a cab.

The apartment itself was on the 4th floor and there was a good elevator. Security was very good, in fact, too good as it took 3 locks to open before we can get into the apartment. We never felt any danger in Krakow in any case so that was not a concern. Furnishing was fine. We did not use the kitchen much since the food options was so great and so close but the kitchen looks serviceable. If you plan to cook a lot, this kitchen may not work. There was a flat panel television though we never watched it. There was two bathrooms which was great for us since there was just the two of us. One bathroom had a tub and the other had a great walk in shower. Both bathrooms were very clean and well appointed. The master bedroom was huge. The bedroom windows had "vintage" Venetian blinds (which meant they hardly worked). Our only complaint but not a problem really. We did not use the other bedroom but it looked very cozy and private as it was closed off from the main living area. The apartment looks like it would be ideal for two couples.

Highly recommend this apartment and Krakow. Come before Krakow becomes inundated with tourists! Given how great the city has become, it will definitely become much more popular and prices will invariably go up as well.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. It was great to have you. Come again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Magical stay in a magical place

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this special city in this really special property.

We were not sure of what to expect, going to Poland as we had never been, and also travelling there in December, but the beautiful city, the charming and friendly people, the delicious food and drink, exceeded our expectations.

The location is so convenient, yet quiet and private.

The apartment is spacious, immaculate, and with every comfort.

We were welcomed at the apt, and given a very thorough explanation of the home and also a very helpful orientation of the areas' features and activities. We were fortunate to have timed our December visit with the Christmas Market in the old sqare.

The entire rental process and communication were excellent and much appreciated.

We would heartily recommend this property to anyone, couple, family, group and really

hope to return soon!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. Remember we do offer discounts to retruning guests, so let us know when you're coming back. We'd love to see you, Ed.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

What a gem of a find - right off the market square

  • 5 of 5

In a perfect location. The building has lost none of its art deco character but still has all the mod cons oyu would need for a break. We were met outside by Andy and given a tour of the apartment. First impressions were good and they lasted trhoughout, Got to admit we never used the kitchen much but it had everything oyu would need if you were inclined to cook - but with so many great places to eat to suit all tastes and great prices we never found the need to bother. Its great to see proper wooden floors made a refreshing change from the noisey tiles you normally get. It was a great base to explore the area and with the tourist information office downstairs it was easy to explore further afield. We managed to save around £80 by using public transport to go to the salt mines despite being worried about knowing where to get off the 20 foot high lettering on the side of the building in English and Polish just before the stop we needed to get off at saying salt mines was a relief. Everyone was really friendly and the language barrier was on our side, most people spoke a lot more English than we spoke Polish I am ashamed to say.

A lovely place we really relaxed and enjoyed it. Do take DVDs though if you have chilldren and you don't plan on staying out all night. There are English channels on the system but its the same as most European countries most are either news or music channels - don't let this detract you from staying here though.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

Born and raised in Poland, Anna treats our base in Krakow as our Polish home-from-home.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Krakow Balice at 15 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Gdansk at 500 Kilometres Nearest Train : Krakow Central at 5 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : n/a at 10 Kilometres Car: not necessary

You simply can't be better placed to explore the charm and romance of this fantastic city. Just a few metres from the central square, the apartment is likewise less than ten minutes' walk from most of Krakow's finest restaurants (we can send guests our personal recommendations). The landmark Cathedral is about 100 metres from our front door, as is the market with all its flower stalls, shops, boutiques and horse-drawn carriages. The city's famous castle and former Royal Palace, Wawel, five minutes to the south, and just beyond it lies Kazimierz, the famous, atmospheric, former Jewish district where Stephen Spielberg filmed parts of 'Schindler's List'. All of the city's other galleries and main monuments are equally close, as well as the bus and rail station. For those wishing to visit the other World Heritage Sites at Auschwitz and the Wieliczka Salt Mines, it's an hour or so by taxi or bus.

Golf: Krakow Valley Golf Club approx 45 min drive from the apartment has an 18-hole golf course, riding stables and its own shooting range.

Ski: Zakopane - Poland's leading ski resort in the Tatra Mountains - is only 100km away. Excellent skiing facilities during the winter months and great walking in the summer.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
1 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£535
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£693
 
 
Winter
4 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£535
 
 
April
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£190
for 2 nights
From
£95
£598
 
 
Summer
1 May 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£250
for 2 nights
From
£125
£787
 
 
October
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£200
for 2 nights
From
£100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£535
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Confirmation by email is required followed by a non-refundable 25% deposit. 10% discount on longer stays (7 nights and over). If payment has to be made internationally via Paypal, we do impose a 4% surcharge to cover costs.
Refundable deposit of 200 zlotys (40GBP) payable in cash to our agent on arrival at the apartment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 10-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

The bay window, the first thing you see as you enter the master bedroom, with its view over the rooftops of the Old Town.

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Basic Soaps
  • Lift ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • city centre
  • town

Attractions

  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks

Leisure Activities

  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • roller blading
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 86 m²

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Both bathrooms have a clean and modern look with white tiles on the walls and smoke grey floors. They both have showers, basins and toilets.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, 1 Single Bed, 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • The very large master bedroom has a huge double bed and offers a stunning view of the city's rooftops. It has been beautifully furnished with an Art Deco bedroom set which apart from the double bed includes a big wardrobe, a period bed-linen cabinet and a charming round table with two upholstered stools. It has an en-suite bathroom with a shower, a basin and a toilet. It also has a big comfy armchair which can be turned into a single fold-out bed for an extra guest. The main living room area has a large sofa which folds out into a double sofa bed. And the second bedroom which also overlooks the rooftops of the Old Market Square has a double bed, a bedside table and a chest of drawers. We also offer a working washing machine, for laundry. We do have a cot but please let us know you'd like to reserve it because we have only one, serving both our Krakow apartments.

Outside

  • Balcony

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • It's a spacious, newly furnished apartment sitting right above Europe’s most stunning central square. Whether it is a trot by horse-cart around Market Square or a visit to the City’s celebrated, Medieval Cathedral, everything is no more than a hundred metres from our front door! The apartment has been recently renovated to a high standard - a mixture of modern design with classic charm, with a range of traditional Art Deco furniture. Its spacious rooms and two bathrooms make it well adapted to groups of up to seven people. It also has its own balcony with great views over Old Square rooftops.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot