OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

House with large enclosed garden, 200m from sandy beach

Overview

Property

Updated: 08-Jun-2017
  • Sleeps 9
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair access

About the property

Self-catering rental in unspoilt rural Normandy

Old traditional Norman village house, with large enclosed garden (lawned), including patio and barbecue. The house is situated minutes from beautiful south-facing Jonville beach on the bay of Saint-Vaast-La-Hougue. The bay is ideal for watersports. Kayaks, boats and windsurfs can be rented from the Jonville sailing club, who will also provide lessons. Horseriding, tennis and golf are all available locally.

Jonville is situated between two of the most beautiful villages on the Normandy coast (Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue and Barfleur). Both villages have a number of fantastic seafood restaurants. The coastline boasts some of the most beautiful unspoilt beaches in Normandy.

Jonville is an ideal base to visit the D-Day landing beaches, museums and cemeteries.

Local area:

The nearest village is Reville, where there is a restaurant, baker's, butcher's, grocer's. Reville is a 5-minute cycle ride or 20 minute walk. A baker's van delivers bread, croissants and stops virtually outside the door every morning at 8.15. The fishing village of Saint Vaast, where there are many restaurants and shops is 10 minutes by car. A local market is held here on Saturdays. There is also a local market in Quetthou (15 minutes by car) on Fridays. Cherbourg is 25 minutes by car. Here you will find many shops, restaurants and several hypermarkets. There is also a bowling alley, large cinema complex and swimming pool. Excursions can be made to Mont St Michel and Bayeux easily in a day. Further afield, Paris is 2 - 3 hours by train. The D-day landing beaches are all closeby. There is an 18 hole links golf course within easy reach, and, for horse lovers, a pony club round the corner, which organises great treks along the beach and roundabout at good rates.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Pat Newman
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
8 June, 2017

About Pat Newman

My husband and I are francophiles, having both studied French at university and then lived in Paris for two years. Even if we could not live there permanently, we wanted to own a little patch of France, so that we could indulge in the language and culture once or twice a year.

Pat Newman purchased this house in 1999

Why Pat Newman chose Reville

We chose this property because the region is beautiful and unspoilt. There is very little development and commercialism, and very few English tourists. We bought the house when our children were 2 and 4, and it has been perfect for them. They had plenty of space to play safely outside, and it was close to the beach. The beach is ideal for young children, with lots of rock pools to explore at low tide and shells to collect. We have been going back every year since then, and they still love it. Now, as teenagers, they enjoy kayaking and windsurfing off the local beach. The fact that there is no internet is fab because they are forced to rely on their surroundings for entertainment!!

What makes this house unique

The location and proximity to the beach. Also the large enclosed garden.

The views across to Tatihou island from the local beach are beautiful. Every day, with the changing tide, and colour of the sky, the view is slightly different, but always lovely.

As you walk down the little path leading to the beach, you get a glimpse of the bay before stepping onto the beach - my favourite moment. The bay is also great for water sports.

Please note that you cannot see the sea from the house (apart from in the bedroom on the top floor where you can catch just a glimpse!)

12 Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

5

Nice House - Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

Lovely house in an amazing location. Great garden for the kids and an amazing beach just across the road. We had great weather too so didn't need to venture far all week!

Easy to find from the main motorways.

The owners are very helpful and respond very quickly to enquiries.

We will certainly be coming back to Jonville :-)

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday, Pat and Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful holiday home, brilliant location

  • 5 of 5

We hadn’t realised what a brilliant location this house was in. We had been looking in the centre of Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue but were so glad that we chose to stay here because of the beach and the large enclosed garden. Jonville has an amazing long white sandy beach that is just a 2-3 minute walk away and because it is south-facing it felt much warmer than it actually was. The house itself is bigger than it looks in the pictures, is tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. Mobile coverage isn’t great in the area so it was good to have broadband.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you liked the beach. Even better in the summer when you can swim!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles
5

Just a wonderful stay and beautiful location.

  • 5 of 5

I would stay here again. The property is ideally located with short walks to beaches and a quick drive or bike into town. Spacious rooms and living areas. Wonderful yard. I really can't recommend it enough. If I go back to Normandy I wouldn't bother looking for any other place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cambridge
3

Great location, basic house

  • 3 of 5

The house is brilliantly located, close to a sandy beach which was enjoyed by both families. The broader location is also great with lots to see and do. We liked the simple French style of the house - the kitchen particularly was lovely. However the house was not up to standard in some basic but important areas. Two of the three bathrooms lacked light bulbs, there is no clothes storage in the double bedroom on the top floor (and no hanging space at all on the top floor), the pillows were really flat and the mattresses were near the end of their lives. The house could be really stunning but does need a bit of TLC.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your comments. We really appreciate your feedback. We will be carrying out an inventory now the high season is over, and we change the pillows at the end of every season. We have already bought one replacement mattress, and we will check the others now that you have brought it to our attention. Hanging space would be a good idea in the top bedroom although there is a large built in cupboard with shelves. We will definitely look into this. Of course, light bulbs are normally always replaced, and there should have been replacements in the house. We will certainly check that these are replenished. Thanks again for your comments. PS Feb 2015 We have now bought a new wardrobe for the upstairs bedroom!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely house in a great location

  • 3 of 5

Very easy to find and a relaxing location just a tiny walk to a brilliant south facing beach. Area is great, and we took our bikes (although there's two there already) so it was great cycling to local places, and out for our bread each morning. The restaurant 'Le Panoramique' up at La Pernelle was fantastic. Local seafood is terrific. A boat trip to visit the fortified island out in the bay was a good idea. Great friendly owners, brilliant information provided about the place and district. Nice and clean. Loved the holiday, and we'd go again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Pat and Mark Newman
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

It's perfect for families with so much go do

  • 4 of 5

House is basic but completely adequate for what we needed , it is much bigger than the photos suggest we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived .

Excellent for two famines as the bedrooms are split over 2 floors with separate toilets , the garden is very basic but large and very safe so ideal for letting the young ones run wild .

The main attraction is the beach which is a 5 minute walk , it provided hours and hours of fun for the children ( also tired then out ) , however good night sleeps were in short supply as at 5.30am regularly a caravan of tractors came thundering past every morning which woke the children and any light sleepers and if it wasn't the tractors it was the refuse collectors at 6 am ( twice a week)

The kitchen was very rustic but beautiful and we spent every evening cooking lovely food and drinking the well priced local wine . If you like seafood then You'll be in heaven with fresh fish available at your finger tips from either of the local harbours at Saint vaas or bonfleur ( both 5/10 minutes drive )

We drove via Calais and although it was slightly cheaper than going via Cherbourg on the ferry the drive was quite long (6 hours from Calais) , also traffic around le harve is terrible with delays around the Pont de normandie , we would go via Cherbourg next time .

Mark and pat have a lovely holiday home and I can see now why they love the area so much .

No wifi and very little signal (EE or Orange) which isn't a bad thing but be prepared to be cut off from the outside world !

The house is basic , but beautiful in its own way we had a lovely holiday .

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a good holiday. Sorry to hear about the tractors. It must have been a busy harvesting week! 01/05/2016 We have now installed wi-fi in the house for those who want to stay 'connected'!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

We chose this property because the region is beautiful and unspoilt. There is very little development and commercialism, and very few English tourists. We bought the house when our children were 2 and 4, and it has been perfect for them. They had plenty of space to play safely outside, and it was close to the beach. The beach is ideal for young children, with lots of rock pools to explore at low tide and shells to collect. We have been going back every year since then, and they still love it. Now, as teenagers, they enjoy kayaking and windsurfing off the local beach. The fact that there is no internet is fab because they are forced to rely on their surroundings for entertainment!!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Paris at 350 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : L'Estaminet at 1 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Cherbourg at 30 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Quineville at 12 Kilometres Nearest Train : Valognes at 18 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : Valognes at 18 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Au Moyne de Saire at 1 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Jonville at 200 Metres Car: recommended

Jonville is small hamlet strung out along the south-facing peninsula which forms one side of the Bay of Saint Vaast. Wherever you are along this strip of coast there are wonderful 360 degree panoramic views, with the island of Tatihou sitting peacefully in the middle of the bay. It is a photographer's dream. Even in August you will not find hoardes of tourists spoiling the views. There are so many sandy beaches on this peninsula that you can always find your own stretch of sand. Saint Vaast, just five minutes away, with it's lively marina offers plenty of restaurant choices and tasteful gift shops. Further afield you can visit the World War II landing beaches, cemetries and museums, and Bayeux and Mont Saint Michel offer more energetic day trips. See information for reviews of Omaha beach and cemetery

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Mid season
27 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£362
for 3 nights
From
£101
£750
 
 
High Season
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£859
for 7 nights
£859
 
 
Mid season
2 Sep 2017 - 4 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£387
for 3 nights
From
£109
£750
 
 
Low season
5 Nov 2017 - 23 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£362
for 3 nights
From
£101
£665
 
 
Christmas
24 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£413
for 3 nights
From
£118
£859
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£362
for 3 nights
From
£101
£691
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £58.95
Refundable Damage Deposit £168.44

Duvets, pillows and blankets are included
Bed linen (sheets and pillow cases) is available for hire - 10 euros per person per stay. Guests are welcome to bring their own bed linen. Please bring own towels. Cleaning is 70 euros payable to local agent.

* Weekly rental in school holidays in low season is 750 euros. Please contact owner for dates

Short breaks possible in low season - 4 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Avg/night
Updated: 08-Jun-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

The location and proximity to the beach. Also the large enclosed garden. The views across to Tatihou island from the local beach are beautiful. Every day, with the changing tide, and colour of the sky, the view is slightly different, but always lovely. As you walk down the little path leading to the beach, you get a glimpse of the bay before stepping onto the beach - my favourite moment. The bay is also great for water sports. Please note that you cannot see the sea from the house (apart from in the bedroom on the top floor where you can catch just a glimpse!)

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Family

General

  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library

Suitability

  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 140 m²

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, washbasin

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed, 1 Child Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed

Outside

  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 1 deck chairs

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only