OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Simple peace retreat boasting private pool & delightful garden on wine route



Updated: 30-Nov-2016
8 sleeps, private pool, terrace, garden, Agrigento, wineries, sandy beach, WiFi

Villa degli Eremiti is a charming villa with private pool and a perfect retreat if you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful holiday close to the sandy beaches of Porto Palo di Menfi and a short drive from many famous Sicilian wineries.

There are several lounges, a bright living area, a covered terrace that remains cool and shaded throughout the day and a garden with a private pinewood.

The villa is located on an strategic position just outside the village of Santa Margherita di Belice, a town with an intriguing history, first destroyed by the 1969 Earthquake and then reborn in the 70s in accordance with the dictates of futuristic architecture. From the villa you can easily reach gorgeous sandy beaches ( the magnificent beach of Porto Palo di Menfi at 15 km, for instance), the cute old town Sambuca di Sicilia and archaeological sites of Selinunte, Segesta and Agrigento, and world famous wineries such as Planeta, Feudo Arancio and Donnafugata, where you can enjoy a Sicilian wine tasting.

Villa degli Eremiti has 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and it is suitable for group of friends and families. The first and second bedrooms have both an en-suite bathroom. One of these bedrooms has also an extra entrance from outside. The third bedroom is a bright room with 2 single beds and a mezzanine with a forth bedroom, a bathroom and access to the enormous roof terrace.

All bedrooms have air-conditioning.

The gorgeous private pool of Villa degli Eremiti (size 14x7 m., depth from 1.60- 2.20 m.) is open from early April until early November.

More Details
  • Sleeps 9
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Manager

We have been with Homeaway since 2006, proposing houses that are able to unfold Sicily's colours and charm at best.

Houses with quality furnishing in unique locations, with incredible views or with a pool, always accurately selected in order to satisfy our main wish: to see you falling in love with Sicily just like we did.

We provide you with transparent information and true pictures. What you see is exactly what you get. We will advise you as much as we can about travel info, transfers and car rental.

Dinners in villas and other extra services can also be arranged. Finally, our prices are final rates! There are no hidden additional costs. We are flexible with your arrivals and departures and if you need a late check-in this is usually possible.

Call Manager
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch

Guestbook comments from the manager

Wij vinden Casale degli Eremiti een compleet en heel ruime vakantie verblijf waar het bijzonder goed toeven is, een klein ressort maar dan helemaal voor je zelf. Alleen de keuken is aan de kleine kant. Ook de ligging is mooi waarbij je geniet van de rust en privacy. De eigenaar is vriendelijk en de ontvangst was hartelijk en spreekt tevens prima de Engelse taal.

De omgeving van Santa Margherita di Belice biedt een afwisseling aan natuur, cultuur en diverse leuke dorpjes en stadjes, de afstanden naar o.a Selinunte, Salemi, Sciacca en Corleone zijn kort en zijn tevens aanraders, maar ook het museum in Santa Margherita di Belice over de aardbeving in 1968 is interessant (Dichtbij het museum zijn de restanten nog te zien ). Kortom, je bent er niet snel uitgekeken. Belangrijk is wel om een auto te huren.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 1

10 Reviews

based on 10 holidaymaker reviews


Nice pool, shame about shambles of the villa

  • 1 of 5

We found no adaptions to this former restaurant that made this property into a "comfortable and relaxing" villa, far from it!

The photo's are accurate to a point, but very deceiving as 3 of the bedrooms were clustered together and interlinking with little or no privacy. The bedrooms were all quite dark and dingy with the bathrooms being of a very poor standard.

Despite the size of the accommodation, there was nowhere that felt comfortable to relax indoors,the tatty sofa's being too small for anyone other than a child! (not all as in the photo's).

The kitchen was very very disappointing too, very sparce and lacking enough pots and pans store cupboards that were not locked up etc... the old gas oven kept turning itself off, making cooking quite a chore.

The list of bad or poor points is endless, this villa needs a complete 'renovation' to be considered as fit for purpose. Honestly, I would not recommend anyone to come to this villa or the local town.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very sad to receive this review, because it really doesn’t do justice to this property. Villa degli Eremiti, thanks also to the commitment of Giuseppe who welcomes warmly all the guests, has received only 4 and 5 stars reviews in the past years. The last guest who gave us a review stayed in July this year and states that he '[I] can really recommend renting this property!'. Between July and October we also had other guests staying at the villa. They did not write us a public review, but they also did not report any problem. How can a villa being from recommended to a complete catastrophe worth it of 1 star within 2 months? All the pictures of the villa are recent and true to reality. Many are the photos of the living spaces also from different angles. The same goes for the bedrooms. The kitchen is actually very well equipped since we know that many of our guests like to cook. The bathrooms are basic, nothing fancy, but clean and working. The villa is not brad new and furnitures are in Sicilian style, which is not modern. But this is also clear from the photos. Perhaps this guest had a complete different idea of the villa and got disappointed. I could not find another reason other than that to justify such a bad review. To our future guests, please note that both Giuseppe and the gardener are available to solve any problem you might have during your stay. These guests during their 12 nights stay they have only notified the problem of the gas (the bottle was empty) which has been solved in 6 minutes (by simply changing the bottle).
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

DO NOT be fooled by the photos..... this place is the worst ever !!

  • 1 of 5

We came here on a family holiday with a group of people who had all holidayed pleasantly before and we wanted to recreate that experience.

From the images and promises on the web site we foolishly chose this as our destination.

The town itself is not nice and the "villa" lies on a scruffy, littered street with empty houses guarded by barking dogs that kept us awake all night.

After meeting Guisseppe (GSP), the owner, he briefly showed us how to put the pool lights on, told us where to put the rubbish and to sort any problems with the gardener (who spoke not a word of English). This was the last we saw of GSP although we had numerous complaints of which some could have been sorted.

Our initial shock at the run-down state of the place was compounded as we decided where we would all sleep. My two sons were expected to sleep in a bedroom which was overlooked by my fiance and my balcony and their room was also the access for my nephew and girlfriends next door room. They had no bathroom and would have had to share with one of the lady's en-suite bathrooms. In the end we converted a sitting area to a bed area so that they had some privacy.

There were 3 padlocked doors in the "villa" which when you created a gap in the door jamb emitted the most disgusting smell of sewage . There was no mention from GSP of these doors whatsoever.

The place was probably once quite grand but has been allowed to fall into a delapidated and dirty mess. A radiogram from the 1930's, old sideboards, no DVD player, broken CD player, a TV of which you would find better in your local Council tip. There was no spare gas bottle although the gardener did go to renew it next morning.

The place was infested with flies and mosquitoes and all of us were bitten to pieces.

Sadly my eldest son had had enough and went home a week early and the rest of us all considered it at various stages. When it rained heavily, the place leaked like a colander with water pouring over electric lights and switches (some of which were not even fixed flush to the wall.

There was so much wrong with this shabby place that I have compiled 8 short videos which I intend to make Owners direct aware of.

The "piece de resistance for the place turned out to be behind the locked doors. As the smell and mosquitoes was quite intense, we decided to investigate the locked rooms.

What we found was three lavatories (prabably once the old restaurant) with dry water traps and a sink with brown toilet paper. DO NOT GO !!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A very nice house with a friendly & helpful owner

  • 4 of 5

The house is a former restaurant and very big and spacious. The surrounding garden with the large pool and shaded terrace are also well kept and very pleasant! We received very good service upon arrival late at night and also got a number of helpful suggestions from the very friendly and helpful owner Guiseppe. I can really recommend renting this property!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Comfortable homely Arabic style villa

  • 5 of 5

We were 2 families with grown up teenage children. The pool was very well maintained and wonderful for lengths or pool games. The house is characterful and with an intriguing history. We spent most of our days at the house and cooked most days. A dishwasher was missed initially but we soon forgot about it! The internet access was reasonable and importantly met the young people's expectations! The owner is charming, friendly and helpful with local suggestions. The nearest bakery was fabulous to bring home breads for breakfast. The town of Santa Margarita is sleepy hit a must to go around the ruins resulting from the earthquake.the beach at Porto Palo is a must. Calm clear waters good for safe swimming and not hugely crowded at all when we went. Highly recommended property .

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice property

  • 4 of 5

This property is nice, it has an amazing garden and pool. The only thing is that it needs to be remodelled, specially some of the furniture. Mr saladino was very kind and helpful. I would certainly recommend this to a friend.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very welcoming and interesting villa with pool

  • 5 of 5

Very welcoming and interesting villa. Good secluded position, spacious and clean accommodation, lovely pool and grounds, friendly cat and interesting wildlife. Good situation for touring and exploring sites. The nearby town had plenty of small shops to cater for needs.

Giuseppe was very friendly and helpful with advise on where to eat and site seeing worth while and a quick tour of the villa before leaving us too it.

Would recoommend it to anyone interested in exploring the west of Sicily or just looking for an interesting and relaxing place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Palermo / Trapani airport at 75 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Santa Margherita di Belice at 1 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Palermo at 70 Kilometres Nearest Train : Menfi at 15 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : Menfi (ss115) at 15 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Santa Margherita di Belice at 800 Metres Nearest Beach : Porto Palo di Menfi at 20 Kilometres Car: necessary

Agrigento, Selinunte, Segesta and Sciacca: Day trips from S.M. di Belice include Agrigento (85 km), Selinunte (35 km), Segesta (45 km) and Sciacca (30 km). Agrigento is a major tourist center due to its extraordinarily rich archaeological legacy. At the Valley of the Temples, the Classical world comes alive. The temples are the largest and best-preserved ancient Greek buildings outside of Greece itself. They are listed as a World Heritage Site. An ideal first glimpse of the temples is by night, during a drive along the Strada Panoramica. Segesta is one of the most romantic classical sites. The Greek theatre on the hill offers a wide view. Selinunte is a huge and very interesting site, left in splendid isolation, flanked by rivers and ancient ports. Sciacca is a working fishing town with a well preserved historic centre and some shops and good restaurants. The coast around Sciacca is sprinkled with excellent sandy beaches.

Visit premium wine producer Planeta: In the country side of Sambuca di Sicilia,, a historic Arab-Norman town, the premium wine producer Planeta can be visited. Original home of the family and the business, the 17th century farmhouse stands between the ruins of an Arab castle, the Arancio lake and a mountain range. The vineyards 'Ulmo' and 'Maroccoli' extend over a total of 95 hectares, surrounding the first Planeta winery where the quality white wines; Alastro (Chardonnay and Grecanico), Chardonnay and Cometa (Fiano) are produced.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 2017
25 Mar 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 2017
17 Jun 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 2017
15 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 2017
29 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 2017
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 2017
2 Sep 2017 - 4 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rates include use of air-conditioning, central heating, use of internet USB key, bed ware, towels, final cleaning, electricity, gas and water. There are no hidden extras.
Security deposit: 250 Euro.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 30-Nov-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • chateau / country house


  • Away From It All
  • Historic


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room


  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...

Onsite Services

  • Staff


  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Floor Area

  • 350 m²


  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Outdoor Shower


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Single Bed
  • Bedrooms have air-conditioning and en-suite bathroom (shower, toilet). The first bedroom has an independent entrance from the outside. There is access to the kitchen from the second bedroom. This bedroom consists of two single beds and a double bed on a gallery floor. On the gallery floor is the bathroom and the access to the roof terrace.


  • Deck Chairs
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 8 deck chairs


  • Self-catering


  • Villa degli Eremiti has limitless WiFi The first restaurant is at 800 meters from the villa. Other restaurants and shops are in Santa Margherita di Belice at about 1 km.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot