OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Whernside Cottage - family and pet friendly in Horton-in-Ribblesdale

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Newly renovated holiday cottage situated in the heart of Horton-in-Ribblesdale

This cottage is perfectly located for the legendary Yorkshire Three Peaks challenge, as the walk traditionally starts and ends in Horton in Ribblesdale village. Horton itself is ideally situated for walking breaks in the Dales. The house is a few moments' walk from the village train station and benefits from stunning views across to Pen y Ghent.

The cottage was lovingly restored and enhanced over winter 2015/16. Owners Amos and Anne are keen walkers and so the house is as hiker-friendly as can be!

There is a well equipped kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher, plenty of boot storage space, large sitting room and dining conservatory overlooking Pen y Ghent, two generous twin bedrooms and one double, plus house bathroom. Well behaved dogs are welcome.

Amenities include: LPG gas central heating, with multi-fuel stove; electric cooker; microwave; fridge/freezer; TV with FreeSat and built in DVD player; selection of books DVDs and games. Bed linen, towels, kitchen towels all included in rent. Cot available on request. Enclosed patio garden with views to Pen y Ghent and garden furniture.

Settle, the nearest town, is 6 miles away with supermarkets, shops, banks, chemist, post office etc. The nearest pub is 3 minutes walk.

More Details

Owner
David Brierley
Member since: 2016
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Horton in Ribblesdale in Horton in Ribblesdale

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • caves
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • caving

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Whernside Cottage - family and pet friendly in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
average rating of 4.0666666 based on 15 reviews
5

Cosy cottage, great location.

  • 5 of 5

Well equipped cottage, nothing wanted for. Lovely log fire ideal after long walks in the typical Yorkshire weather.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oxford, United Kingdom
4

Great location, beautiful view, comfortable cottage

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. The beds and linens are great. The village is charming and well located for exploring the Dales. We enjoyed our stay. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the door to the conservatory was broken and we could use it. The landlord has ordered a new door so this won't be a problem in the future. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Ideal location for walking weekend .

  • 3 of 5

Adequately equipped and furnished, heating and stove made for extremely cosy evenings!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Rude owner/manager doesn't make up for ok property

  • 1 of 5

The property was nice without being extraordinary (and a little pricey, but I guess that is what you get in August). In particular, it is a good base for walkers. The view from the living room is very good as well. However, none of that made up for the owner/manager's rudeness. The first time we spoke to him regarding a not so clear parking sign he just appeared odd. His grumpiness was confirmed when he called us at 11:05 am on our day of departure (we were in the parking space getting a 3 month old baby, grandparents and a dog into the car) asking us why we hadn't left and telling us never to book his property again. The designated checkout time was 11 am. Happily, I can confirm we will never book the property again.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, I'm sorry your trip to Horton didn't live up to your expectations. Its difficult to respond to bad reviews without appearing foolish but I will try to outline the reasons I asked you politely not to book again. You parked on a neighbours drive. You rang me very late at night to ask how to switch the boiler on which is in your information pack and on the owners direct website. You had more people in the property than is allowed. You asked for a late check out which I couldn't accommodate due to a very tight turn round time which you blatantly ignored meaning my cleaner didn't have enough time to get the property ready for the next guests (later that day). Again, thanks for your review as it has highlighted a few issues which we will endeavour to deal with.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Really Nice House

  • 4 of 5

A well equipped house with everything you could need. A good location for doing the 3 Peaks.

The only thing I would change is the light shade in the lounge [sorry!!] not enough light.

Would definitely recommend and hopefully we will return

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A house with a brilliant view !

  • 4 of 5

Brilliant house which would comfortably sleep 6. The house was well equipped and very warm. The power shower is brilliant to warm you up after a long walk in the hills. Horton is a lovely little village and the accommodation was ideal. We would stay there again on our next visit to the dales. :-)

  • Review Submitted: 17-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Train
0.1 Kilometres
30 seconds walk from Horton in Ribblesdale station
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Horton in Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
oct-dec 17
30 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£188
for 3 nights
From
£62
From
£117
Fri,Sat,Sun
£375
 
 
xmas 17
22 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
From
£133
Fri,Sat,Sun
£700
 
 
Jan/Feb low season 18
8 Jan 2018 - 8 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£188
for 3 nights
From
£62
From
£100
Fri,Sat,Sun
£375
 
 
Spring half term 18
9 Feb 2018 - 25 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£262
for 3 nights
From
£88
From
£117
Fri,Sat,Sun
£450
 
 
feb-mar 18
26 Feb 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£188
for 3 nights
From
£62
From
£117
Fri,Sat,Sun
£400
 
 
easter 18
30 Mar 2018 - 15 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£262
for 3 nights
From
£88
From
£125
Fri,Sat,Sun
£500
 
 
apri-may 18
16 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£262
for 3 nights
From
£88
From
£125
Fri,Sat,Sun
£500
 
 
summer half term 18
25 May 2018 - 3 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
From
£133
Fri,Sat,Sun
£650
 
 
jun-jul 18
4 Jun 2018 - 12 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£262
for 3 nights
From
£88
From
£133
Fri,Sat,Sun
£500
 
 
summer hols 18
13 Jul 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
From
£133
Fri,Sat,Sun
£700
 
 
sep-oct 18
3 Sep 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£262
for 3 nights
From
£88
From
£125
Fri,Sat,Sun
£475
 
 
oct half term 18
26 Oct 2018 - 4 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£262
for 3 nights
From
£88
From
£125
Fri,Sat,Sun
£550
 
 
nov-dec 18
5 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
From
£117
Fri,Sat,Sun
£375
 
 
xmas 18
21 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
From
£133
Fri,Sat,Sun
£700
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Weekend (Fri-Sun inclusive) and mid-week (Mon - Thurs inclusive) bookings are welcome.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable