OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

4 stars villa In Chania, Private Pool, Gardens, FREE Wifi, TV & Close To Beaches

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 968 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Luxury Villa Sleeps Up To 6 With Sea And Mountain Views, close to great beaches

Apsida villa is a new for 2016, luxury rental property in the village of Chorafakia (or Horafakia) and is closeby to the historic city of Chania. It is located on the beautiful Akrotiri peninsula in Western Crete which is known for its fantastic golden sandy beaches. It is set within a small prestigious development of 5 individual villas right inside the village, and all having their own swimming pool and gardens.

The villa has lovely sea and mountain views. It has 2 bedrooms upstairs both sharing a tiled shower room and has a lovely curved balcony overlooking the sea and white mountains. The main bedroom has a wonderful open pitched wooden roof and a double bed. The second bedroom has 2 single beds. Each bedroom has built in wardrobes with hangers.

The ground floor has an open plan living area and kitchen, toilet and shower room. There is a sofa bed in the living room area which easily allows 6 people to stay at the villa. The house is fitted with air conditioning in all rooms, insect screens on the windows and doors, fireplace, washing machine, iron and ironing board and a fully equipped kitchen.

Outside there is a covered terrace with dining area, private tiled swimming pool with childrens section, charcoal BBQ, shower and private parking area.

The villa has FREE WiFi internet and satellite TV.

We also provide a welcome pack on your arrival including wine and fruit. Full villa cleaning and towels and bedding change are completed once per week.

The villa is available for year round rental and has full central heating and a wood burning fireplace in the lounge.

The villa is a 20 minute drive from the historic Venetian city of Chania, also known as 'little Venice' and a 15 minute drive from the airport.

Chorafakia is a beautiful unspoiled Cretan village. It boasts amazing sunset views across the bay of Chania and the Aegean sea with numerous quiet, 'blue flag awarded' golden sandy beaches nearby. The beautiful beaches of Tersanas, Kalathas and Stavros are a few minutes away from the villa and all have lovely fish restaurants and beach bars. Stavros is a beautiful cove with a small harbour where the Oscar winning 'Zorba the Greek' movie was filmed. The area is perfect for relaxing and has many monasteries and caves waiting to be explored in the mountain range which runs along the length of the peninsular. There are plenty of local supermarkets, restaurants and bars offering local and international cuisine as well as places for horse riding, sailing and scuba diving nearby.

Surrounded by a unique unspoiled nature, Apsida Villa is the perfect location for relaxing or a base for making daily excursions.

Official Tourist License from EOT: MHTE 1042Κ91003187701

More Details

Property Manager
Kostas Lambrou, property manager at Euroland-Crete
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Greek
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
13 December, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We would definitely recommend this house. We temporarily house our senior officers and staff at this villa when they are visiting or arriving at the island. The standard and quality is a lot higher than other villas. Quiet area, good internet and close to restaurants.
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Chorafakia in Chania Region

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 968 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , shower room and toilet on ground floor
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Shower room and toilet on first floor
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sofa bed in living area to sleep up to 6
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Further to our standard cleaning and laundry schedule, we can provide additional cleaning or laundry service (7/7) at extra charge. Please contact us for full details.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
4 stars villa In Chania, Private Pool, Gardens, FREE Wifi, TV & Close To Beaches
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 11 reviews
United Kingdom
5

Superb Villa!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at the Villa and as soon as we entered, it felt like a home from home. The property was exactly as it was portrayed on the Euroland website, absolutely spotless and very light and airy. The weather was in the mid 30's during our stay, but the villa stayed cool throughout. Even at night, we didn't need the airconditioning, due to the insect screens fitted to the windows, wich allowed us to have the windows fully opened in the bedrooms during the night. The pool was fantastic for cooling off during the hot sunny days, and if you have children, there is a shallow part for the kids to enjoy and the sunbeds were very nice, and in very clean condition. We brought beach towels, but Kostas and Elaine provided these too, so no need to bring your own.The kitchen area had everything you would need to enjoy your home cooked meals if you wish. The village has several tavernas within easy walking distance and two supermarkets and a pharmacy, also a coffee shop/snackbar.Stavros beach is 4km away, which we walked to, quiet a walk but well worth it.....absolutely beautiful. We hired a car and toured the western part of the island, and i must say a car would be recommended if you want to get around easily. There is a car hire business in the village with very cheap rates and friendly service. I cannot praise the villa enough and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody.

Thank you Kostas and Elaine for a fabulous holiday!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Theank you very much for your kind words and really glad you enjoyed the villa and the village! It will be a pleasure to see you again in the future. Wish you all the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful villa

  • 5 of 5

This was an extremely comfortable villa with amenities close by which allowed us to relax and make the most of our week's visit to Crete. The villa is exactly as it is represented in its advertising on the website. The area around the pool is ideal for relaxing in the sunshine. All the rooms were light and airy and the whole property well furnished and beautifully clean. The wonderful view of mountains in the distance was a bonus.

There are two supermarkets and several tavernas within a short walking distance of the property - all very friendly and helpful.

A trip into Chania by taxi cost us €15, which was really good value.

Kostas and Elaine were extremely helpful prior to and during our stay.

We would definitely recommend the villa and area to anyone wanting a completely relaxing break.

  • Review Submitted: 23-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was really nice meeting you and thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Modern well maintained villa which is well designed and thoughtfully furnished. Ideal for families.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Villa Apsida from 8-20 September 2016.

Chorafakia is close to Chania but still retains a largely unspoilt Cretain charm. The villa is on a small development but by considered design the outside areas and pool feel private. The pool is not large but certainly fine for family fun. Whilst we were there it was well maintained, decorated and furnished to a good standard and very clean. The villa would suit a party of 4/6 persons comfortably. Equipment was a good order and the kitchen was well stocked. The whole house was very clean on arrival and there is an information pack giving plenty of advice about the location as well as points of interest.

Euroland ( the owners) proved very helpful with the booking process and provided clear directions on how to get to the villa. They also made a point of visiting during our stay to ensure all was well.......many thanks Elaine and Kostas, this was appreciated.

There are two small but adequate supermarkets within 500 metres and a few tavernas also within easy walking distance. The whole area is littered with lovely bays which have sandy beaches, beautifully clean sea and safe bathing.

In terms of observations it must be said that leaving the development by car can be tricky as the junction exit onto the road is blind to oncoming traffic. Euroland are aware of this issue but there attempts to cure the problem have not been permanent. An additional small point is that whilst the villa is well stocked with candles etc, if there was a power failure there were no matches.

Overall are great place to stay and we were very sad to leave. Thanks Euroland.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect escape for a week of sun!

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a comfortable villa with amenities close by which allowed us to relax and make the most of our week's visit to Crete. We weren't disappointed in any way at all. The villa was very comfortable, private enough, and well represented in its advertising on the website. Having a private pool is a essential for us. Rooms were light and airy and the whole property well furnished and beautifully clean. Wonderful views of the surrounding villages/towns and the spectacular mountains in the distance. Sea views as well!

Small supermarkets and several tavernas within a short walking distance of the property - all very friendly and helpful. Car hire available in the village too at a very reasonable price. We hired a car for the day, drove up into the foothills and discovered valleys of orange groves and stumbled across the Botanical Gardens of Crete - a real treat with amazing views. The Akrotiri peninsula has plenty of interesting locations to visit. Would definitely recommend the villa and area to friends and family wanting a completely relaxing break.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tessa, We are really happy that you enjoyed your holiday and stay in Apsida Villa and thank you for the positive comments. It was a real pleasure having you as our guest and hope to see you again in the future. Warm regards from Chania!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Classy villa

  • 5 of 5

Villa is lovely, really well furnished and equipped but we spent most of the time outside.

Lost count of the number of times each day that we used the pool. It must have averaged at least 5 times per day. It was lovely to wake up with a dip and cool off after a hot day on the beach or in Chania.

Great views too from the outside and upstairs terraces.

Only minor criticism, it would have been great to have a table on the upstairs terrace so that you could enjoy a drink or snack while taking in the view.

However, that is only a minor quibble, the villa is gorgeous and we all agree that we would love to return in the near future.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jeffrey, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the villa and that you managed to make good use of the pool. Thank you for pointing out about the lack of a table and chairs on the upstairs balcony. We will arrange for some to be placed up there for the enjoyment of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Very disappointed - issues with villa let us down

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at Apsida Villa for 10 days. It was very clean and comfortable, as you would expect when paying so much to stay there. The first 3 days were fine however on the fourth day (Monday) we lost total power to the villa. Ms Davies, to her credit, was quick on the scene and restored the power to most of the villa but was unable to restore power to the swimming pool filters etc. rendering the pool unusable. She and other workmen spent most of Tuesday trying, but failing, to figure out what the problem was. On Tuesday evening I switched on the air con and the electrics blew again. That night we were left without the pool and the air con - not nice in 35+ degree heat!

On Wednesday we had several workmen in the villa. The pool guy replaced the pump for the pool believing, wrongly, it was the cause of the power outage. Later, we were told that changing the pump hadn't resolved the problem and that it was in fact due to issues with the air con units. We were then told we would be without the air con until Friday as they had to order parts for them. It was only on Wednesday night, after Ms Davies had to virtually beg on the phone with the electrician to return to the villa that the power outage saga was finally resolved. The explanation we were given by Ms Davies for the outage was that the problem arose because of condensation build up in one of the pools electrical units and this was causing the power outage in the villa. The 'power surge' was therefore caused by the pool system, not by any external factor, as has since been claimed by the owner. We eventually got access to the pool again Thursday afternoon, after the pool guy had ensured it was safe to use.

Whilst I would acknowledge that efforts were made to rectify matters it should not have taken so long to sort out. Being without key facilities like the pool and air con for so long a period, plus the inconvenience of having workmen around for 3 days is not how we envisaged spending our hard earned holiday. We fully expected the owners would recognize this and offer compensation. We have now approached the owners on 3 occasions with our concerns and requests for compensation but sadly each time we've received the same response - the owners "do not feel that your complaint warrants any form of compensation."

All I can say is, if you encounter any issues with the villa don't expect a sympathetic ear from the owners...or any compensation!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are extremely sorry that you felt that your 10 day holiday at Apsida villa was disappointing. As we informed you whilst you were here, on your 4th day there was an unusual power surge from the local electric company which caused the electrics in the villa to malfunction. As you mentioned we attended to the villa immediately and restored the power to the villa but the air conditioning units and the swimming pool machinery were still affected. Our swimming pool engineer, electricians and air conditioning engineer attended the house immediately to try to rectify the problem. Unfortunately we could not correct the problem with the air conditioning that night so we provided you with fans to use in the house as a temporary measure. However the swimming pool was completely safe and was always available to be used every day throughout your stay. The nature of the electric problem was discovered the following day and it was found to be caused by the initial power surge from the electric company and was not down to anything being incorrectly or badly maintained at the villa. The air conditioning units and everything else at the villa were checked and were perfectly functioning for the rest of your stay. We are truly sorry that you felt disappointed. We attended the villa immediately that we were informed of the issue and we did our upmost to rectify the problem as quickly as possible. The electrical power surge was completely beyond our control. Even though we were not responsible for the cause of the problem, as a gesture of goodwill we did offer you a substantial discount on any future booking due to the temporary inconvenience it may have caused. This offer is, of course, still available to you if you wish to contact us and we hope to see you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Chania
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Irenes tavern
Nearest Ferry
10 Kilometres
Souda bay
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Irenes tavern
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Kalathas
Car: recommended

Apsida villa is in the village of Chorafakia (or Horafakia), on the beautiful Akrotiri peninsula in Western Crete. It is set within a small prestigious development of 5 individual villas right inside the village, all having their own swimming pool and gardens.

The villa is a 20 minute drive from the historic Venetian city of Chania, also known as 'little Venice' and a 15 minute drive from the airport.

Chorafakia is a beautiful unspoiled Cretan village. It boasts amazing sunset views across the bay of Chania and the Aegean sea with numerous quiet, 'blue flag awarded' golden sandy beaches nearby. The beautiful beaches of Tersanas, Kalathas and Stavros are a few minutes away from the villa and all have lovely fish restaurants and beach bars. Stavros is a beautiful cove with a small harbour where the Oscar winning 'Zorba the Greek' movie was filmed. The area is perfect for relaxing and has many monasteries and caves waiting to be explored in the mountain range which runs along the length of the peninsular. There are plenty of local supermarkets, restaurants and bars offering local and international cuisine as well as places for horse riding, sailing and scuba diving nearby.

Surrounded by a unique unspoiled nature, Apsida Villa is the perfect location for relaxing or a base for making daily excursions.

Chania

The stunning prefecture of Chania is offering you so much more than just the chance to relax under the Greek sun. With a very rich and extraordinary history and cultural heritage, you will find in Chania a great variety of monuments of exceptional cultural interest worth visiting during your stay. Monuments from the Byzantine period, the Venetian period, the Ottoman period as well as the modern History are worth seeing. Museums like the Nautical Museum of Crete, the Archaeological Museum of Chania, the house of El. Venizelos, the War Museum of Chania will help you explore the rich history of this blessed island.

Popular for its vibrant nightlife and cosmopolitan lifestyle, Chania is considered a top holiday destination for tourists from all over the world.

Chania Town is the heart of the island, with all the major events taking place there and some of the most popular beaches and the most amazing restaurants, taverns, bars and cafes give this amazing city a different vibe. Chania will undoubtedly cast a spell on you whichever type of holidays you prefer. Feel the local hospitality at every step of your way in a place that will offer you the most amazing beaches with exotic waters like Elafonissi and Balos to the most amazing beaches in south Crete and beaches in the prefecture of Chania like Platanias, Agia Marina, Maleme, Elafonissi, Falasarna, Kasteli and so many more.

One of the most picturesque corners in Crete, and obviously in Chania town itself is the Venetian Harbour. Walking around the harbour and its promenade is a must with many spots for some great photo snaps on each side.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Chorafakia, Crete

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
October 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£679
for 7 nights
£679
 
 
May
1 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£803
for 7 nights
£803
 
 
mid
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£971
for 7 nights
£971
 
 
high
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,412
for 7 nights
£1,412
 
 
high
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 7 nights
£1,050
 
 
mid
1 Oct 2018 - 30 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
£679
for 7 nights
£679
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£618
for 7 nights
From
£88
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable