OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cosy barn in orchard setting, Nr Holt, sea one mile.

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Single storey barn with double bedrooms opening out onto sunny terrace.

Apple Tree Barn nestles into the southern side of North Norfolk's chalk ridge. This both shelters from wind and provides a sunny aspect. The barn itself has been decorated with a varied selection of artwork. This includes some of the owners pieces, providing a more unique atmosphere for guests

The cottage is both child and dog friendly: with a secure garden. Within the garden is a greengage tree (green plum). During the summer months guests can enjoy the delicious fresh fruit.

The local area has facilities to suit most holiday makers. There are several gastro pubs and restaurants close by. This includes Wiveton Cafe and the Anchor pub; both with excellent local produce, and are child friendly. The National Trust runs several stately homes, which run events during the summer for all the family, as well as caring for the coastal areas which are a delight for walkers and bird enthusiasts.

The coast is just a mile away at Morston where there is a sailing and water sports school, they also hire bikes.

Baths: 1ensuite and 1 separate shower room

Beds: Two doubles with french doors onto E/W facing terrace, 1 twin

Sitting room: wood burner, leather sofas, TV/DVD, freeview internet, games and music system

Kitchen/diner: opens onto SE facing terrace, washing machine dishwasher and microwave

Garden: Secure dog friendly, overlooking orchard,garden furniture, parking for 2 cars

Linen and towels provided - no beach towels

Change over day Saturday arrive 4pm Depart 10pm

More Details

Owner
Milly Welby
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 November, 2017

About Milly Welby

I was brought up in Nottinghamshire and moved to Lincolnshire when I married, where I lived for 25 years. I have three children now in there twenties.

In between having my children I trained as a Montessori nursery teacher and helped set up and teach in a local school. When they grew up I went back to uni to do a visual arts degree. I discovered stone sculpture at this point and continued my training with the resident sculptor at Burghley House near Stamford. I now work from home.

Milly Welby purchased this barn in 2011

Why Milly Welby chose Blakeney

I chose to move to Norfolk after my divorce and have not regretted it. The area is stunningly beautiful and everyone is incredibly welcoming and friendly. I find the marshes and beaches are an inspiration to my work and I decided that i wish to share my home and the delight's of North Norfolk with others, so I developed Apple Tree Barn.

What makes this barn unique

I love Apple tree Barn for it's orchard. The trees in full blossom are stunning and they and the wild flower meadow beneath them provide wonderful habitat for many varieties of butterfly. The property itself nestles into the hillside which protects it from the north wind and creates a micro climate that seems to be much warmer than the rest of the village. It is quiet and secluded spot.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn in Blakeney in North Norfolk District

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Double bedroom s open out onto E/W facing terrace.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
We highly recommend the local restaurants/pubs, especially our local village pub the Blue Bell and the new boutique spa hotel that is opening in Langham spring. Shopping in Holt is a pleasure, do not miss Bakers and Larners the rural department store with its wonderful food hall, or Verandah a collective of local artists and designers run by textile designer Annabel Grey.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Cosy barn in orchard setting, Nr Holt, sea one mile.
average rating of 4.3703704 based on 27 reviews
London, UK
3

Nice, secluded, could do with a bit of updating

  • 3 of 5

We had a lovely holiday in Norfolk staying at the barn. It's well located, close to nearby attractions and a short walk from a lovely pub, The Bluebell. The property is secluded and quiet, and the garden is secure - a big plus as we had our 18 month old with us. She loved picking apples and pears from the tree and seeing the ducks and hens in the field next door. The apple juice and plum jam on arrival is a nice touch. Everything works fine - showers, oven, etc. - beds are comfortable, there are a huge amount of books to read, but my relatively minor complaint is that the it does feel a little jaded. Small examples - none major. The high chair is fine but stained, the microwave is ancient, the towels are a little threadbare. There's lots of cutlery, but little of it matches. Also, while no-one taking a self catering holiday expects a fully stocked kitchen, I found it surprising that there was no salt, a virtually empty bottle of washing up liquid, a dirty and again, almost empty bottle of sunflower oil, no guest soaps, just 2/3 tabs for the dishwasher. There are lots of DVDs, but there'll all about 15 years old and many of them are empty/scratched. This isn't a cheap rental, so a small bit of investment would go a long way. Finally, the check out time is 10am on Sunday. We were hurrying to get out and were in the middle of packing up the car, but with a toddler, that's not the easiest. Literally, at 10:04, the cleaners came in and started busying themselves, which left us with a rushed feeling. We had a lovely time in the area, and the property is spacious and conveniently located.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Emily, Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you had an enjoyable comfortable stay and the ducks and orchard entertained your toddler so well! I am sorry that you felt rushed when you left on Saturday and that your toddler slowed you down, but my cleaners are instructed to come in and politely get on with their job regardless of whether guests have left, for the simple reason that they have finite period of time to clean and ready the property for the next guests each change over day. The high chair was bought this year and with use over the summer has become stained. It is cleaned thoroughly with disinfectant and bleach after each visit, but some stains are stubborn. The microwave is basic but only two years old. We stock the property with toilet paper, kitchen roll and a few cleaning products, the rest is up to the guests to bring, anything found in the cupboard has been left by past guests and if it is useful we leave it for future guests. The sunflower oil should have been removed. Now it is the end of the season I will remove the damaged DVDs and tired towels. I do not add to the collection as DVD's have been replaced by downloads, most guests seem to prefer their own film entertainment. Thank you again for your comments Best Wishes Milly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, cosy and cute

  • 5 of 5

Well equipped, cosy, comfortable, great location for exploring the beautiful North Norfolk countryside and coast and a very private place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Croft Cottage, Litton, Yorkshire Dales
4

Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Spent a relaxing week at Apple Tree Barn - there were certainly lots of apples! Very comfortable cottage and a lovely garden. A great location for exploring North Norfolk.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Apple Tree Barn

  • 5 of 5

A great family holiday. Apple Tree Barn was lovely and peaceful, with fabulous walks on the coast only minutes away. A super location for relaxing or exploring North Norfolk.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An enjoyable week with family and grandchildren

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week at the beginning of August. The weather was mixed but we found plenty to do in easy reach. In the event of bad weather the owner had provided games and books etc.

The property was well maintained and all the facilities we required were provided. The children enjoyed playing in a large safe and secure garden. The owner was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this property to others.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We just had a lovely week's stay here with our 3 young children. Cottage is cosy and thoughtfully equipped, with some nice homely touches. The area is has some great days out on the doorstep and this is an ideal base for exploring the North Norfolk Coast as its right in the thick of it, but tucked away in a quiet location. Fabulous fruit trees in the garden that we were encouraged to take advantage of, and did! It would be cosy in the winter months as well as having a sunny garden for the summer. Would recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Maggie, Thank you for your wonderful review. We close at the end of October and re open at the beginning ofMarch, however with your recommendation I will definitely rethink and maybe open for more of the winter months so that those cosy fires can be taken advantage of! Best wishes Milly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Stanstead
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Anchor Pub
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Felixstowe
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Sheringham Golf Club
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Sheringham
Nearest Motorway
50 Miles
M11
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Morston Hall
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Cley-next-the -Sea
Car: necessary

Stately Homes - Blickling, Felbrigg and Holkham ( check websites for activities)

Pensthorpe Wildlife Gardens

Holt Market town for shopping

Local restaurant/pubs - The Anchor Morston, The Wiveton Bell, The Wiveton Cafe, Dun Cow Salthouse, Cookies

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday barn in Blakeney, Norfolk & The Broads

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
mid season
1 Mar 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£742
 
 
peak season
31 Mar 2018 - 6 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
 
high season
7 Apr 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£870
for 7 nights
£870
 
 
mid season
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£742
for 7 nights
£742
 
 
peak season
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
 
high season
2 Jun 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£870
for 7 nights
£870
 
 
peak season
14 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
 
high season
1 Sep 2018 - 28 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£870
for 7 nights
£870
 
 
mid season
29 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£740
for 7 nights
£740
 
 
peak season
20 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£995
for 7 nights
£995
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£870
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed. No smoking. Maximum of two dogs. Dogs must be kept out of bedrooms, off furniture and beds and the garden cleaned of any deposits. Guests are liable to a deduction in their deposit if these terms are not met.

Please be advised there £200 damage deposit payable when a booking. I will send a payment request when the booking is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable