OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

spacious 6 bedroomed house with stunning views on private Highland Estate

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking


About the property

An Acail is a very comfortably furnished light and spacious house set on a private Highland Estate which dates back to 1347. The views across parkland often filled with red deer at dawn and dusk toward the loch in the distance are stunning, with glimpses through the trees of the romantic Scots Baronial castle built in 1855 for the last Clan chief of the Robertsons ( Clan Donnachaidh) The second largest remnant of ice age forest in scotland is to the rear of the property. Abundant in wildlife this location is the ideal base for enjoying outdoor pursuits or a base for exploring the highlands. Please read all property notes especially in the facilities before booking.

Julia James
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
16 December, 2017

About Julia James

We moved to this location because we were stunned by the beauty and silence of the area. Our children were privileged to grow up here. We have caretakers that look after the holiday houses but we live here too so have a good knowledge of the local area and are on hand if needed.

Julia James purchased this house in 2002

Why Julia James chose Pitlochry

This is a lovely spacious family sized house with stunning views. Abundant wildlife to see especially the wild red deer that come down to graze every morning and evening. The property is very well equipped and home from home is what we want to offer guests.

What makes this house unique

The house is warm and comfortable and the views are stunning, very condusive of a relaxing holiday. Minimum booking 3 nights for weekend or mid week breaks


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Pitlochry in Perth and Kinross

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Upstairs
  • Please note the water pressure is not high so don't expect a power shower.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Downstairs front bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Downstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Upstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , Upstairs
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Single Bed , Upstairs
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Upstairs
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • limited accessibility
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Conservatory with tv and lovely views. All properties on the Estate are served by a private Spring. The water is untreated and tinted brown with natural peat. EU regulations stipulate we display boil water notices for guests to observe. Private drainage so nothing that would cause a blockage to be flushed down the toilets.Elecric charged by meter reading 18p a unit. Timed oil heating included, additional heating oil can be provided at cost in winter. Free wifi. Please note a cleaning charge will be taken from the good housekeeping deposit if the property is left in a dirty condition. Cleaning is £35 per hour. Check out is at 10am.


Good! 3.9/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

37% Complete
37% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
spacious 6 bedroomed house with stunning views on private Highland Estate
average rating of 3.875 based on 8 reviews


  • 3 of 5

Property is very big and situated in a beautiful location..! We enjoyed our 4 nights stay there but property is not very clean..as it's charging 200£ per night it can kept a little more cleaner especially utility,kitchen& toilets. No toaster in the kitchen only one burner works properly in the cooker..otherwise all good..surrounding area is beautiful for walks..!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad the guests liked the house and area, however the comments about the price and cleanliness are a bit unfair to post since neither were brought to our attention during the stay. This property has wifi and landline so contacting the owner should be the first post of call if theres any problem. We do have a toaster in the property but theres also a grill in the top oven, we are not aware that any of the hobs are not working, this will be checked. The house is thoroughly cleaned after each departure, if anything has been missed we should be contacted so that the issue can be resolved. We feel that at peak holiday season that £200 a night for 10 persons including linens is very reasonable, being £20 per person, you couldn't stay at a B + B or even youth hostel for that. Overall most guests staying love the stunning area and beautiful wildlife all around, and having a spacious nicely furnished house to theirselves at such a reasonable price is also a great reason to book this property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious accommodation ,peaceful and tranquil stay

  • 4 of 5

Stayed 3 days and wish it was more.The place is large and tasteful with views that the photos don`t reveal.It is on a private estate with an absurdly picturesque renovated castle/house and so is very secluded and tranquil with ancient woodland walks from the house The house has ample large windows so is light with scenic views and very tastefully furnished.Found the cooker hard to operate at first and would have liked a toaster though the oven had a grill The area is not in the higher mountains of the West but local mountain/hill walks reveal these mountains in the distance.The place was difficult to describe to companions arriving separately but the entrance , a private road has the Dall estate sign on it Though it`s just 2 hours from Edinburgh it`s a long way from London but would love to return

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Private and Peaceful Get Away

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday with friends. The home is set in almost a quaint village that is no longer active with an old fire station building, post office, stable etc. It is very peaceful, offers gorgeous views and is wonderful for short walks near and around the loch. The landlord was very pleasant and keeps the property in great condition. The home was cozy and the stay was enjoyable. I could not have asked for more. We would recommend this home!

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thats great you enjoyed your stay and the property and surroundings were appreciated. We try to make the cottages homely and comfortable for guests to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery right outside the windows of this amazing setting.We hope to see you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious, homely and amazing views

  • 5 of 5

The house was warm and inviting and the location stunning. Deer on the parkland every night after dusk. Just the right place to restore peace to your mind and get away from it all. Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone. Loved it!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is just the thing we wanted to offer to guests, thanks for the great review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great place to spend Hogmonay

  • 5 of 5

Myself and 6 friends stayed at An Acail over new year and had a wonderful time. The house is as advertised with large bedrooms and very comfy beds, a huge living room to get together in the evening around the fire and a spacious well-equipped kitchen. For hiking it is a great spot as there are lots of Munros and Corbetts nearby to explore as well as lower level walks if the weather isn't ideal and the Black Wood of Rannoch is right behind the house for a stroll. The stars at night are stunning on a clear night as the property is in an AONB and the Loch is 10mins walk from the house if you fancy a swim!

There is a drying room at the back, which is handy, but we definitely needed to put the heating on too to get things dry as we had very wet weather!

We have been going away together for Hogmonay as a group for the last 7 years to a range of properties around Scotland and found An Acail easy to get to, very convenient for hiking and a comfortable and relaxing house for a get away.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your honest and kind review. We are sure this will give other visitors a good idea of what the property and location has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very poor property. AVOID

  • 1 of 5

We had booked for 3 nights but left the property after a night stay. Poor hygiene of the property. Website information of this property insufficient as no mention of Lymes disease. The landlady had put a notice on the entrance door. This information should be on the website. We would have never booked this property if this information was available to us. Mosquitos in abundance. Very bad smell throughout the property. Has CCTVs and the lady infiltrates privacy of the guests. Went as a family of 10 with kid and elderly and were very concerned about Lymes disease. The landlady was least bothered and kept on praising her property which we regarded as very poor. We will be reporting her to the relevant authorities for running a business with deceitful information and pictures on website.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a very unfair review and truly false on many points. We have got good reviews of this property and have let it for many years, only this season going into ownersdirect. The property was thoroughly cleaned between lets, there is no cctv in or around this property and I only go to the property as courtesy to let everyone staying know where everything is and make them feel at home. We cannot be in control of midges, and I did say whilst there that the Windows should be shut that are open as they come in as most people will know that visit the highlands. I disagree that I should put Lymes disease warnings on my website, I put information about it in the properties, no on the door as falsely said, but in the visitor information because I feel that not all people are aware of the ticks in the Forests and areas where deer are present. Lymes diseas is not a localised problem, it is present anywhere where there are deer and sheep, so to suggest that I need to put a warning on the website about my property is absurd I'm sure all accommodation providers would agree. This family unfortunately was looking for any opportunity to downgrade the accommodation to get a discount and wanted to use the Lymes disease as an excuse to have a refund for the 2 nights.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Nearest Barpub
5.5 Miles
Kinloch Rannoch Macdonald Hotel
Nearest Golf
26 Miles
Aberfeldy or Pitlochry
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Rannoch station
Nearest Restaurant
5.5 Miles
Kinloch Rannoch Macdonald Hotel
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Loch front
Car: necessary

Although rural, central location makes touring Scotland very accessible. 12 miles from Rannoch Station daily sleeper train direct to London via Glasgow. 2 hours drive to Inverness airport and Glasgow and Edinburth 2 hours by car. Perth city 1 hour 15 minutes.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Pitlochry, Scotland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
23 Dec 2017 - 26 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
31 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
3 Jan 2018 - 22 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Private water supply and drainage. Water is untreated and tinted brown from the natural peat. Boil water notices are displayed to comply with drinking water regulations. Electric charged by meter reading. Timed heating included in price. Linens and towels included in price. A cleaning charge will be deducted from the security deposit if the property is left in a dirty condition.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question