OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Trenedden Barn, South East Cornwall

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

The Barn offers spacious and uncluttered accommodation in a beautiful setting

Set in a secluded little valley in South East Cornwall, Trenedden Barn offers spacious and uncluttered accommodation in a beautiful setting. Fantastic beaches are only a couple of miles away, and Looe, Polperro, Lerryn and Fowey are all close by.

You will have the whole barn to yourself, together with the large garden. If you chose to you could spend your stay in total seclusion, maybe just hearing, or catching a glimpse of, the neighbours in the old farmhouse next door.

If you like uncluttered and spacious, you’ll like the barn. Living accommodation is upstairs, lots of space, with beautiful traditional oak floors. Bedrooms are downstairs, with slate (stone) floors. Underfloor heating throughout the barn, gives a very comfortable environment.

+ Lounge – Fantastic views over the garden and the valley, and a wood burner for cosy evenings.

+ Kitchen – Fully equipped. Breakfast island with seating for four. Step out of the kitchen directly into the back garden.

+ Dining Room – Large dining table for eight, lounge area with 55″ HD TV.

+ Bedroom 1 – take the spiral staircase down to the master bedroom. Solid oak furniture, with king size bed. En-suite bathroom with walk in shower and whirlpool bath.

+ Bedroom 2 – Solid wood furniture, with king size bed. Shared bathroom with walk in shower.

+ Bedroom 3 – Solid wood furniture, with king size bed. Shared bathroom with walk in shower.

+ Garden - The theme for the garden is wildlife friendly, with lots of things to eat. Down at the bottom of the garden is the wildlife pond in a wetland garden. An orchard has been planted with traditional apple varieties. Around the orchard is a ‘fruiting hedge’, with raspberries, gooseberries, blueberries, and the ‘superfood’ Goji berry. A pair of grape vines are being trained up over the front door – the vision is a leafy canopy to sit under in summer.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
14 December, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn in Looe in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please don't wear outdoor shoes in the house, we recommend bringing slippers or other indoor footwear.
  • Please don't adjust any heating controls, except the room thermostats.
Location Type:
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , En-suite to Bedroom 1 - with whirlpool air bath
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bathroom for Bedroom 1 and 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 (brown) - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 (sage) - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 (violet) - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • There are 3 bedrooms, each with a king size bed. In addition there a 4 fold out guest beds that can be used for children sharing a bedroom with their parents. The fold out beds are light and portable, so they can be setup anywhere in the house.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Trenedden Barn, South East Cornwall
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
5

Beautifully converted barn.

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week in the barn; photos do not do this place justice. Perfect for families with plenty to do in the area. Sad to be leaving.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice review Abigail - we're glad you enjoyed your stay at the barn. Mum and Dad really enjoyed meeting you when they welcomed you, and thanks for leaving the Barn so clean and tidy. Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Our Stay at Trenedden Barn

  • 4 of 5

The Barn was exactly as we expected, it was great, the children loved exploring the gardens, it was a very quiet location, but you were not to far away from all the things we wanted to do.

My only concern, and to be honest I was a little disappointed in what seemed to be different costs stated on the website to the actual costs charged, with no apparent explanation as to why.

How can you state a price on the website, then decide to change to a higher price when booking, When I first contacted Owners direct and explained this they agreed and confirmed that there had been a mistake and I would be due a refund ?

To change prices at such short notice is not what I call fair practice ?

Can I please have your comments.

Phil Smith

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Philip, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the barn, but sorry you are unhappy about the price you paid. When you made your booking on the 8th of July the price listed on the OwnersDirect website was £240 per night (standard summer holiday rate) - and that is what you paid. OwnersDirect allows owners to set different rates for different periods of the year, we were offering the Barn for £240 per night from 15-July to 1-Sept, the 'summer-holiday' period. After your booking the only un-booked week of this period was 26-Aug to 2-Sept, so sometime around the beginning of August I started reducing the price of the the 'summer-holiday' period to secure a booking for that un-booked week - the same as a tour operator reducing prices for the same holiday to get last minute bookings. So I hope I can reassure you, you paid exactly the same as the guests in the weeks before your stay, and you paid what was quoted on the website when you made the booking. The confusion was caused when I reduced the price for the whole summer-holiday period, 3-4 weeks after you booked, to get a booking for 26-Aug to 2-Sept, and your son I think, looked at the website and saw the new lower price. For the owner to change the price charged from the price quoted at the time of booking requires the approval of the guest - if you have the original quote email from 8th July you can confirm the price quoted is what was paid. I'm sorry that the way I managed the pricing caused this confusion, and I guess tainted an otherwise great holiday. Regards Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and spacious

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time at trenedden barn. Perfect for 2 families to share. The property was spotlessly clean and very well kitted out with good quality items - everything we needed for our stay.

Loads to do in the area, plenty of space in the garden to explore with the kids too.

Chris the owner was super helpful. Would definitely stay here again

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely fantastic..everything you would need and a really good rest..the area was so relaxing and the actual barn was stunning and we will definitely be returning

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We were gobsmacked when we saw how beautiful the barn was when we first arrived.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the barn for a week. The barn is beautifully renovated, it literally takes your breath away when you first arrive. It is set in beautiful gardens and surrounding fields with cattle. We even had deer walking across our back garden in the evening, it was truly amazing.

There are plenty of villages around to visit. We found our Tom Tom was a god send! We would recommend Looe Beach which was clean and not too busy with all the shops and glitter tattooes wanted, but my daughter loved Lansallos Bay (she thought the little hidden away cove was exciting and fun) even though the water was freezing! We watched the local stunt show on the Monday evening which was brilliant and well worth the money paid for it. We found a great Chinese restaurant in Liskeard called Hot Wok. One thing I would say, avoid like the plague a restaurant called The Golden Guinea in Looe. The food was terrible. It was poor in taste, warm in parts (not hot anywhere), the sauces/gravy had a thick skin on them and in fact I had to leave the table as the fish I ate had in fact made me feel really sick. Very disappointing.

Apart from that, we found the villages around us beautiful. We found a lovely lake with an ice cream parlour next to it and when the tide went out and the water level dropped we walked across the stepping stones over the lake/stream. The Monkey Sanctuary is worth a visit too, small but lovely.

We found the barn very welcoming and relaxing. We had a bbq using meat we had got from a local farm shop in Pelynt. The owner of the barn very kindly left some crabbing equipment which we used. My daughter went crabbing with her dad and uncle, and she loved every minute of it. We were all so taken with the property that you could almost imagine that you lived there permanently.

A very very enjoyable break, in a property where we had no problems or cause for complaint. We would recommend this barn to anyone. It has ample room and is great for a "back to the country life" kind of holiday. Very very glad we went.

Suzanne Adams

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Suzanne for the fantastic review - I'm glad you liked the barn so much. The deer have been performing well this summer, making regular appearances in the garden (and eating garden plants!). It's good you've included things you did in the review - it's really useful to know what was good, and what was not. Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Barn was exactly as described, fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

Property was very clean, new bedding, comfortable mattresses and plenty of towels available.

The Barn is an upside down house, the views are beautiful, the gardens well cared for, despite the visits from the deer in the evening who were trying to eat the leaves from the trees!

The kitchen is well stocked with equipment, pots, glasses and pans. Even basics like foil and cling film were available to use.

The owner Chris, was very welcoming on our arrival and left contact details stating to contact him should we wish to know about anything. The Barn is located in a rural setting, but in a place that enables easy access to Looe, Polperro, the Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan and other interesting places.

We had a smashing holiday and we will recommend this property to our friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much Leisa for your nice review, I'm glad you enjoyed the barn, and it was a pleasure having you as guests. Yesterday I put up the deer protection, you suggested, around the younger trees - so hopefully there'll be less tree eating going on !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
48 Kilometres
Newquay
Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
Ship Inn - Lerryn
Nearest Ferry
52 Kilometres
Plymouth - Brittany Ferries
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Lostwithiel Golf & Country Club
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Bodmin
Nearest Motorway
115 Kilometres
M5 - Exeter
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Sams, Fore Street, Fowey
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
Lansallos Cove
Car: necessary

BEACHES

The Barn is only 3km from the south coast, as the crow flies, and we're lucky enough to have two of the best beaches in Cornwall right on the doorstep - Lansallos Cove, and Lantic Bay.

Lansallos Cove - A trip to Lansallos cove starts with the walk down the path through the woods that's like a green tunnel when the trees are in leaf. Then cross the meadow, and go through the curious 'smugglers passage' which brings you onto the beach. A family day on the beach is great, but my favourite is going down at the end of a summer day and swimming around the sheltered waters of the cove. There's good snorkelling around the edges of the cove. On the way home stop at Lansallos Church and look for the gravestone of the unfortunate chap who had his head knocked off by a cannon ball, by 'persons unknown'.

Lantic Bay - Walk down the steep path to get Great Lantic beach, featured in local author Daphne du Maurier's Frenchman's Creek. More exposed than Lansallos Cove.

Polperro Tidal Pool - A tidal pool cut into the rock for swimming at low tide. Walk all the way down through Polperro village, to the beach, cross the beach, and climb over the hill to find the tidal pool hidden behind.

GARDENS

There are many fantastic gardens to visit in Cornwall. These are our favourites, starting with the closest to the barn.

Boconnoc - A private estate that's well worth a visit when there's an event or open day.

Lanhydrock - National Trust house set in a wooded estate. Walk the beautiful parkland and woods, or hire bikes and cycle the family friendly cycle trails.

Cotehele - National Trust Gardens overlooking the Tamar Valley. Great walks along the valley - walk up to the riverside village of Calstock for lunch in the pub.

Lost Gardens of Heligan - Beautiful gardens with a great story. A 19th Century garden which fell in to decay and way 'lost'. The gardens were rediscovered in 1990 by Tim Smit (Eden Project) and John Willis, and restored.

National Garden Scheme - NGS opens outstanding garden, not normally accessible, for charity. Check the dates local gardens are open on the NGS website.

CASTLES

Restormel Castle - This castle is really hidden away, close to Lostwithiel.

Castle Dore - An Iron Age hill fort close to Fowey. Seat of the legendary King Mark of Cornwall in the 6th Century, possibly linked to the tragic love story of Tristan and Iseult, and featuring in the Daphne du Maurier novel Castle Dor.

LOCAL FOOD AND DRINK

Hayle Farm Cider - The cider is sold in shops, but it's far more fun to take the 5 minute drive over to the farm and buy from the cider makers themselves. See the ancient press where the apples are pressed through straw, in the same way it's been done since the 13th century. Taste the cider before you buy.

Lesquite Farm Organic Beef - Take the 5 minute walk over to the farm to pick up some meat for the BBQ. Organic Aberdeen Angus.

St Winnow Farm Meat - Buy beef and pork from the farm in beautiful St Winnow, next to the river Fowey.

Lostwithiel Farmers Market - Producers from within 35 miles of Lostwithiel selling their goods. Every other Friday 10:00-14:00.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday barn in Looe, Cornwall

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nov-Dec 2017
28 Oct 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£800
for 5 nights
From
£160
£800
£2,400
 
 
Christmas 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,100
for 5 nights
From
£220
£1,100
£3,300
 
 
Jan-Feb 2018
6 Jan 2018 - 9 Feb 2018
5 night minimum stay
£800
for 5 nights
From
£160
£800
£2,400
 
 
Feb Half Term 2018
10 Feb 2018 - 23 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 5 nights
From
£200
£1,000
£3,000
 
 
Feb-Mar 2018
24 Feb 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£800
for 5 nights
From
£160
£800
£2,400
 
 
Easter 2018
24 Mar 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 5 nights
From
£200
£1,000
£3,000
 
 
April-May 2018
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£950
for 5 nights
From
£190
£950
£2,700
 
 
May Half Term 2018
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,680
for 5 nights
From
£336
£1,680
£5,040
 
 
June-July 2018
2 Jun 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,250
for 5 nights
From
£250
£1,250
£3,750
 
 
Summer Start 2018
14 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 5 nights
From
£350
£1,750
£5,250
 
 
Summer Mid 2018
4 Aug 2018 - 17 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,680
for 5 nights
From
£336
£1,680
£5,040
 
 
End Summer 2018
18 Aug 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,540
for 5 nights
From
£308
£1,540
£4,620
 
 
Sept-Aug 2018
8 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 5 nights
From
£200
£1,000
£3,000
 
 
Oct Half Term 2018
20 Oct 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,250
for 5 nights
From
£250
£1,250
£3,750
 
 
Nov-Dec 2018
3 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 5 nights
From
£200
£1,000
£3,000
 
 
Christmas 2018
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,250
for 5 nights
From
£250
£1,250
£3,750
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 5 nights
From
£350
£1,750
£5,250
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

1) Bookings can not be accepted that exceed the maximum guest numbers - 6 Adults, and 4 Children sharing rooms with their parents (sleeping on fold out beds)
2) The property may not be used for events or parties
3) Smoking is not allowed in any of the buildings
4) Pets are not allowed on the property
5) Outdoor shoes should not be worn inside the house
6) Heating controls, other than room thermostats, should not be adjusted

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable