OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Monumental Palace II - Luxurious Home - Suit groups and couples alike

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Property

Updated: 19-Mar-2017
  • Sleeps 12
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

6 bed, Spacious Penthouse, Swimming Pool, Free Parking, Free Wifi

Situated in the heart of the fashionable Monumental/Lido area of Funchal, this stunning six-bedroom duplex penthouse apartment offers luxurious accommodation and outstanding facilities in a prime location. The building features beautifully-manicured gardens, a swimming pool, tennis courts and a children's playground. The elegant living room is comfortably furnished with a contemporary sofa and armchairs and provides luxurious details, including a 52” TV and DVD player. A chic dining area leads to a balcony where you can enjoy drinks overlooking the surrounding countryside. Spacious bedrooms include an en-suite master bedroom with a 52” TV, three additional double bedrooms and two single bedrooms, all equipped with TVs. There are a total of four bathrooms, a dressing room, a laundry room and a fully-equipped kitchen, where superior quality appliances include a large, American-style fridge.

Local attractions: Located in a prestigious residential area, this apartment building is situated just around the corner from the Forum Madeira shopping centre and very near the Monumental/Lido district, the Praia Formosa beach and the natural volcanic pools of Doca do Cavacas. The ground floor of the apartment building is home to a string of fashionable boutiques, including Cristiano Ronaldo's CR7 signature label boutique, as well as hairdressing salons, a newsagent's and numerous bars and restaurants. A 5-minute walk away, Forum Madeira, Funchal's newest shopping centre, provides numerous shops, bars and restaurants as well as a hypermarket, cinemas and a beautiful roof garden that affords stunning panoramic views of the ocean and surrounding countryside. Funchal's prime hotel, bar and restaurant area, the Lido, is a short walk along the scenic seafront promenade, providing plenty of opportunities for gourmet wining and dining with beautiful views of the sea and bay of Funchal.

Funchal attractions: Funchal's historic centre is a delight to wander around. Quaint cobbled streets and jacaranda-shaded pavements are lined with the impressive 15th and 16th Century architecture of churches, palatial homes and museums while the bustling stalls of Mercado dos Lavradores market are dazzling to behold. The adrenalin-pumping toboggan ride down the steep slopes of Monte, a walk through the exotic subtropical vegetation of the Botanical Gardens or a wine-tasting tour of the island's famous wine cellars are amongst the many activities that you can fill your day with before returning to the luxury of this apartment.

Leisure and sports in Madeira: Madeira's perfect climate, fabulous sea temperatures and beautiful landscapes open up a wealth of leisure and sporting opportunities. Walking the famous 'levada' trails along the irrigation channels that criss-cross the island is the best way of appreciating the beauty of the vertiginous landscape and the diversity of Madeira's lush vegetation. Or head for the dramatic Cabo Girão cliffs, situated about 7 km from the apartment, where you can enjoy breathtaking views of the cliffs as they plunge into the sea from a 590m height. Madeira's sea and rich marine life are equally powerful magnets, attracting dolphin and whale-watchers, scuba divers and big game fishermen. And if you want a relaxing holiday spent doing nothing much at all, sit back and enjoy the scenery with a drink of the local 'poncha' drink and a taste of the succulent black scabbard fish in nearby Câmara de Lobos, the picturesque bay and fishing town that was immortalised by Sir Winston Churchill in his paintings.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Mike
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
19 March, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time at this massive apartment. There were 8 of us so i was a little bit worried that it would feel cramped but there were lots of rooms and 4 bathrooms which worked out great for us as each couple had their own space. It was also in a lovely area of Funchal so it made it easy to walk around at night. There are so many restaurants in the area so its tough to pick any out but do try the local food "Espetad" (I think) It was wonderful....... Look forward to coming back,

Thanks J

Hi J,

Thank you for your review and im pleased you all enjoyed your stay at the Apartment. As you say its great for people sharing and has plenty of room, Also thanks for leaving the property so clean,

Best Regards M.
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 3

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time at this massive apartment. There were 8 of us so i was a little bit worried that it would feel cramped but there were lots of rooms and 4 bathrooms which worked out great for us as each couple had their own space. It was also in a lovely area of Funchal so it made it easy to walk around at night. There are so many restaurants in the area so its tough to pick any out but do try the local food "Espetad" (I think) It was wonderful....... Look forward to coming back,

Thanks J

Hi J,

Thank you for your review and im pleased you all enjoyed your stay at the Apartment. As you say its great for people sharing and has plenty of room, Also thanks for leaving the property so clean,

Best Regards M.
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 3

2 Reviews

4/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

3

Disappointing

  • 3 of 5

The description of a 6 bedroom penthouse raises expectations which this property didn't really meet. I cannot imagine how 12 people (max accommodation) would cope in the limited living space; the sofa could just about seat 4 but only in a straight line!

The apartment is incredibly dark and gloomy with very poor lighting, it was impossible to sit and read on the sofa after dark. On the plus side, the small balcony was a lovely sun trap albeit that it overlooks a reasonably busy road; again there is only seating for two.

On a couple of days it was really cold indoors (there is no heating) and we went out to warm up in a local café.

This is the first HomeAway property that we have been disappointed by and will not be returning. We did, however, love Madeira!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and my apologies that the property did not exceed your expectations. Unfortunately try as we might we cannot guarantee good weather on the island and its unfortunate that you booked to stay in the month that is usually on the chilly side. That being said we do have portable heaters available and would have been happy to provide them for you had you contacted us (via the numbers provided) and let us know that you were cold plus we have many extra lamps. As you only rented the property for 2 persons its surprising you feel there was not enough space. The property has 6 generous bedrooms, 4 bath/shower rooms, a large living area with ample seating around a table which families like to gather at. The outside space consists of tennis courts and swimming pool plus there is a little balcony off the property which lets in air as it does get very hot. A note to all guests - You may be surprised to learn that none of the properties / homes in Madeira have central heating because its simply not needed except for an odd week here and there. This is why we have portable heaters.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Stylish Apartment

  • 5 of 5

Stylish apartment in an excellent residential location that was clean and comfortable and fully equipped with everything you need for a great holiday. It really is as good as it looks on the website!

Although, the apartment doesn’t have a lot of balcony space, the complex does have a large pool area that’s shared with the other apartments in the building but we always managed to get a sun lounger even on the busiest day (Sunday) and several days we had the whole pool area to ourselves.

Within a 10 minute walk of the apartment there were lots of excellent bars, cafes, restaurants and local shops, including the Forum shopping centre. This open air shopping complex offers the usual array of clothes shops, cash machines, fast food outlets and a fairly well stocked supermarket (Pingo Doce) should you wish to do some self-catering.

Funchal town centre is about 45 minutes brisk walk from the apartment but there are several bus routes into Funchal town centre within a five minute walk of the apartment (routes 1, 2, 4 and 24). You can purchase a GIRO ticket for the buses which makes it slightly cheaper (1, 3 and 5 day) from kiosks in various places around Funchal. Taxi’s are also cheap and plentiful and there are always are few parked outside the Forum shopping centre. Care hire is cheap but be warned parking in the town centre is a nightmare. The apartment has 2 allocated parking bays in the basement.

Overall, a large, modern, well equipped apartment in an up and coming, trendy neighbourhood, that was close enough to Funchal town centre for nights out but relaxing enough to be away from the hustle and bustle through the day.

I found it to be the perfect mix and would recommend it, so much so I have rebooked!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1-2 of 2

Location

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
March 2017
1 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
4 night minimum stay
£240
for 4 nights
From
£60
From
£65
Fri,Sat,Sun
£350
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
1 Apr 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
£320
for 4 nights
From
£80
From
£85
Fri,Sat,Sun
£350
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: 19-Mar-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Family

Dining

  • Dining Area

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Bathroom 4

Bedrooms

  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Bedroom 6

Meals

  • Self-catering

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot