OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Luxury Family Holiday Home



Updated: 26-Sep-2016
Sleeps 8/10, Suitable for Families, Fully Equipped, Close to the Beach

Welcome to Reef Point. This is a much loved family holiday home in the superb holiday town of Salcombe. We have been holidaying in Salcombe for over 15 years and we have recently bought and renovated Reef Point so that we can continue to do so for many years to come.

We would be delighted to share Reef Point with you and wish you a very sunny Salcombe holiday! If you have any queries about the facilities at Reef Point, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We have used the finest materials and excellent quality furniture, fixtures and fittings to create the perfect holiday home. We hope that you love it as much as we do.

The house SLEEPS 8/10 (Max. Occupancy 10 guests - weekly rate for 8 guests, £200 surcharge for further 2 guests using the sofa bed) and comprises of:

An entrance hall with a WC and wash basin and storage cupboard for coats and boots. There is a stunning open plan Kitchen/Dining Room with newly fitted contemporary Shaker-style units with granite worktops. The kitchen includes an Integrated 70/30 Fridge/Freezer, 5 ring induction hob, two electric ovens, dishwasher, microwave, breakfast bar with stools, oak extending oval table seats up to 10 guests comfortably. There are superb views out to sea with double doors to outside. The Sitting Room is bright, airy and furnished with feature fireplace, 40" Plasma Smart TV with Sky (including sports package), Bluetooth iPod speaker, spectacular views with double doors leading to outside from both the dinning and sitting room.

Playroom: There is an additional sitting room which we use as a playroom for our children. It has a 40" Plasma Smart TV, DVD, Blue Ray, Sky (including sports package). This room can also be used as a 5th bedroom and has a king size sofabed (*use at extra charge), en-suite shower wet room.

Stairs to First Floor Master/Bedroom 1: This is a superb triple aspect spacious feature room up to the eaves with spectacular floor to ceiling views out to sea. It has a super king bed (6’), TV, dressing table, and fitted wardrobes. There is an equally spectacular en-suite bathroom with feature bath (and shower head), separate shower cubicle, twin basins, WC, heated towel rail, tiled with limestone.

From entrance hall stairs to lower Ground Floor you will find Bedroom 2 with Ziplock Super king bed (6’)/twin beds (3’) and Bedroom 3 with Ziplock Super king bed (6’)/twin beds (3’), both rooms have fitted wardrobes and a dressing table and take in superb views. Bedroom 4 has twin beds (3’). There is also a Family Bathroom on this level containing a bath with shower over washbasin and WC.

The Utility room is accessed through Lower Ground Floor or through an external side door. It contains newly fitted units (the same as can be found in the kitchen), washing machine, tumble dryer, American style fridge/freezer. There is also a Belfast sink and grey granite worktops.

Outside: On the ground floor there is a timber decked balcony accessed from the sitting room and dining room which enjoys stunning views to the open sea and countryside. Outdoor dining furniture with solid timber rectangular table and all weather wicker chairs to seat 10 guests. There is also a BBQ. There is a fully enclosed lawned garden accessed from the side of the house or from the further decked area on the lower ground floor. This deck area also has comfortable outdoor sofas and sun loungers.

Parking: There is ample parking for several cars.

Duvets, pillows and all linen and towels provided . However, guests will need to bring there own beach towels.

Telephone: incoming and local calls.

WiFi and Sky TV with Sports package.

Gas central heating and hot water.

Baby equipment available on request - Highchair, cutlery, steriliser, stair gates.

No smoking allowed.

No pets allowed.

No stag or hen parties.

* The sofa-bed in the Playroom is available for an additional cost of £200.00 per week.

Reef Point is very special to us and we expect that all of our guests will look after our home as if it were their own. A £500 security deposit is payable upon booking this property.

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Owned by a brother and sister, this is a genuine family holiday home. Salcombe has been a second home for the last 15 years.

Speaks English, French

12 Reviews

based on 12 holidaymaker reviews


Lovely feel to holiday home

  • 3 of 5

Lovely homely house, well equipped kitchen. Open plan living space worked well for us. Outside areas beautiful, with great views out to sea. Groundfloor bedroom very disappointing, when sofa bed is up you can't use the draws as bed goes right up to them.

Can't get to the window to open, close blinds without climbing over bed!! Ground floor toilet is a long way from above bedroom and is so small you have to almost straddle the toilet to shut the door. Not at all suitable for elderly or less abled. Sorry to say these issues spoilt our holiday as my dad found it hard to deal with.

This was especially annoying after the shock of paying the extra to use the fifth bedroom.

The house was clean and well looked after, and all the other rooms were lovely.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Traveller, We very much appreciate your review and I thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with the Playroom/Bedroom 5 and the size of the cloakroom. Whilst there is nothing we can do with regards the size of the cloakroom, which is small but accessible to all but the least mobile, I am disappointed that you did not highlight the issues you experienced with the storage in the Playroom/Bedroom 5. We are committed to ensuring all our guests have the best possible experience and our caretaker would have been delighted to try and work out a solution during your stay. Having been alerted to this inconvenience, we will take a look at the layout of the room to see if we can make this more convenient. Thank you again for helping us to improve our guest experience. Kind regards, Alex Mills (Owner)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really Impresive

  • 5 of 5

We thought it was a really impressive place to stay. It made for a perfect holiday for a family like ours ( My Husband and myself, My two sons and their wives and a 12month old baby.

We all seemed to have the space we needed. The Open plan living/dining/kitchen meant we could be together most of the time, but having another room with TV and DVD player was perfect for people wanting to watch different things in the evenings.

The kitchen and all its equipment was pristine.

Outside space too was lovely and we managed some meals out on the deck with its lovely views.

I would recommend Reef Point to any of my friends

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely house with a stunning view. Very nicely equipped and super decor

  • 4 of 5

We rented Reefpoint for a family holiday with grandparents and children. We were thrilled with the general living space, the kitchen was well equipped and the dining areas inside and on the balcony were lovely and very well used thanks to the Salcombe sunshine! All the bedrooms were fresh and clean with comfy beds, lovely linen and nautical finishing touches. The only drawback was that my elderly parents needed a ground floor bedroom due to a lack of mobility as they couldn't use the stairs and the facilities were too small for their needs and the main toilet was very restrictive. Wheelchair access is limited because there isn't a flat threshold into the house. So far as local amenities, there is a nice open air swimming pool close by as well as a playground but the walk up from the beach most people would find hard as is the walk up from the town - we would use the long stay car park available if you wanted to spend time in main Salcombe. If you've got kids, crabbing in Dartmouth is great fun as it's really easy to catch lots of them!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Reef Point

  • 4 of 5

Reefpoint is beautifully appointed, comfortable and well situated; an easier walk down into town then when laden with shopping!

It is well managed by Kevin who kindly popped up with some tea towels on request and even returned our son's bank card very efficiently the following day when it was left behind.

The dining balcony is quite exposed so it is not easy to eat there on a windy day but the almost uninterrupted 180 degree coastal and Devonshire countryside views are breathtaking. The lower balcony does not have the same views sadly but is a comfortable place to sit.

The beds were exceedingly comfortable.

It could perhaps do with one more bathroom/loo and it was a shame that our dogs were not able to stay!

A lovely family holiday home.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing house with fantastic views over the sea and the hills. Everything you could possibly want.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great holiday, the house was immaculate, modern and had everything you could possibly need. The views were amazing and the outside areas superb.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Reef Point was absolutely perfect for our party of 6 adults and 4 young children all under 3. The house is vey family friendly but without compromising on quality and comfort.

The kitchen was amazingly well stocked and the views of the coast were even better in real life than on the website photos.

The house was beautifully presented and everything was in excellent condition. The beds, sofas etc. were all very comfortable and spacious.

The location is vey convienient for walking into Salcombe albeit that it is quite a steep walk back to the house - but this is a small price to pay for the views from the top.

We look forward to staying at Reef Point again on our next trip to Salcombe.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

This is a unique property with spectacular views over the mouth of the estuary to the rear and across the fields to Dartmoor to the front of the property. The location is raised above the town on a Private Road, so its peaceful even at high season. There is a recreational ground and brand new playground with short walk of the property, making it an excellent place for a family holiday. The outdoor seating and dining areas allow you to enjoy the weather with stunning views out to sea. The gardens are well maintained and provide a safe place for kids to play. Parking can be hard to come by in Salcombe, however at Reef Point there is space for unto 3 vehicles.

Activity and Interests

Car: necessary


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
23 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
New Year
30 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
24 Mar 2017 - 20 Apr 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
High Season 2017
16 Jun 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 26-Sep-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • house


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities


  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • town


  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 2440 sq. ft.


  • Master Bathroom - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure
  • Family Bathroom - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Shower Room - Shower Enclosure
  • Cloakroom - Toilet


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, Zip & Link Bed - 6ft double or 2 x 3ft singles
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, Zip & Link Bed - 6ft double or 2 x 3ft singles
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed, Can be pulled together with mattress protector for a double
  • Bedroom 5/Playroom - 1 Sofa bed/Futon, Bedroom 5 doubles as a Playroom
  • Bedroom 5/Playroom - use of this room as a bedroom using the sofa bed is charged at an additional fee of £200.00 per week.


  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot