OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

7 Bedroom, 7 bathroom house, 5 on the ground floor. Sauna, Hot Tub, Wifi, Sky



Updated: 13-Jun-2017
  • Sleeps 16
  • 7 Bedrooms
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

5 ground floor bed & bathrooms + 2 triple bedrooms.

Foldyard House has recently been converted from a small cottage and outhouses into a bright and airy house that sleeps up to 16 guests.

There are 5 ground floor bedrooms and 2 bedrooms located on the first floor. The house offers plenty of entertaining space. Both the sitting room and dining room are large, the sitting room has patio doors leading to the garden and the dining room has bio folding doors also opening into the courtyard garden and patio.

Ground Floor: -

Spacious Kitchen with a double oven and 6 ring ceramic hob, large fridge and freezer and dishwasher. There is also kitchen table which seats 6.

The utility room is located next to the kitchen and has a washing machine and tumble dryer.

A shower room with w.c is located next to the utility room.

The dining room has large table and chairs to seat 16. Internal patio doors between the dining room and games room can be opened up to create a large entertaining space.

Leading from the games room is the sitting room; both rooms share the fireplace with a wood-burning stove. and courtyard garden, ideal for summer entertaining.

A large double bedroom with king-size bed is located at the end of the sitting room, it also has patio doors onto the garden.

There are a further 4 en-suite bedrooms on the ground floor as follows: -

2 Double rooms both with en-suite shower rooms and king sized beds overlooking the courtyard garden.

I king sized double or twin bedroom with en-suite shower room.

1 king sized double or twin with en-suite bathroom with bath and overhead shower. This room has an external door. Both these rooms overlook the front of the house.

First Floor: -

I triple bedroom with 3 single beds and en-suite bathroom with shower over bath.

1 triple room with 3 single beds and an en-suite shower room.

Outside: -

There is an enclosed courtyard garden to the rear of the house with patio tables and chair and Charcoal BBQ .

There is a 6 seater hot tub and outdoor sauna.

Please note the driveway is not gated.

2 pets welcome

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Manager

Helen Thomas
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
13 June, 2017

10 Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

Malton, United Kingdom

Could do better

  • 3 of 5

The house itself is lovely and we enjoyed the space and facilities such as the hot tub and games room. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious, the kitchen well-equipped. We also appreciated the gesture of the complimentary Prosecco.

However I have scored 'OK' rather than good or excellent on account of a number of niggles, as follows:

Firstly the bathrooms were only patchily equipped with toilet rolls and soap so upon arrival we had to go out and purchase these items - which we had anticipated would be provided as standard in a property of this calibre - ourselves. Overall the cleanliness and condition were good, however when we arrived we found that the dishwasher hadn't been emptied and the items in it hadn't washed well; we found broken glass and lumps of pasta in the bottom of the dishwasher too. We also had to contact the owners on account of odours in the bathrooms - seemingly emanating from drains due an issue with the pump to the septic tank.

Two elderly members of our party experienced challenges going up and down the steps on the ground floor; a handrail might have helped. Likewise grab rails in the showers would be a good addition. Presently the house is definitely not disabled-friendly.

I would recommend this property conditional upon those issues being resolved as it is great for a large party and has many attractive elements.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: House Parties
Owner's Response: Dear Ann, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the dishwasher and lack of loo rolls and soap, we have informed the caret king staff. A plumber is also going in to look at the problem with the drains. We do not advertise Foldyard house as a disabled friendly house, merely that it has many ground floor bedrooms, therefore it is not necessary to put up grab rails and handrails. Kind regards Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Driffield, United Kingdom

Lovely weekend at Foldyard Cottage

  • 4 of 5

16 of us stayed for the weekend and we didn't want to leave!! Luxurious and spacious yet with a homely feel, the cottage has everything you need for a great stay and we couldn't fault it. Many thanks. We may well return!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Halifax, United Kingdom

Family birthday celebration weekend

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay at Foldyard house. All the bedrooms and living rooms we all felt were comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Farnworth, United Kingdom

Lovely break with friends

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything about this house. We found there was everything we needed. Hot tub was fantastic and even our dog enjoyed the stay. There was a slight problem with flys that we put down to the brook at the front of the house, maybe some plug in's might be helpful, Especially in kitchen.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Was expecting better

  • 4 of 5

In general the property was good with quality fixtures and fittings and nicely decorated. However, on arrival we were greeted by approx 200 flies in the dining room and although a can of fly spray had been left out for us the flies continued to be a problem the whole weekend, - we literally killed hundreds but there were always more with at least 20 in the kitchen at any one time which made food preparation difficult and many, many more in the dining area. The other main issue was the water pressure, so low only half of us could have a shower in the mornings! Rinsing hair took forever as it was little more than a trickle in some bathrooms. The bedroom that had no en-suite and used a bathroom by the kitchen was particularly badly affected. It smelt of drains and the shower didn't work. On the plus side, we had lovely weather and it was easy to get to Beverley and Bridlington, both of which we enjoyed.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Very good and as advertised. Unfortunately the property was severely infested by flys, apart from that, everything was clean

and all amenities that could be wished for, except for the barbecue which was too small and inadequate for the amount of people staying

at the property. We experienced great difficulty cooking and eating due to the amount of flys in the kitchen and dining areas.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Prices and Availability


  • Contractual booking deposit: 33.00% rent
Enquire Now
Updated: 13-Jun-2017


Property Type

  • house


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Room


  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna

Location Type

  • near the sea
  • rural


  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • freshwater fishing
  • golf

Floor Area

  • 0 m²


  • Triple Bed 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Triple Bed 2 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • House Shower - Shower Enclosure
  • Ground Floor Twin / Double 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Ground Floor Double / Twin 2 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Courtyard Bedroom - Shower Enclosure
  • Courtyard Bedroom 2 - Shower Enclosure


  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • First Floor Bedroom 1
  • First Floor Bedroom 2
  • Double Bedroom
  • Ground Floor Double or Twin - Or twins
  • Ground Floor Double or Twin 2 - or twins
  • Ground Floor Double Courtyard Facing
  • Ground Floor Double Courtyard facing


  • Barbecue

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered
  • children welcome