OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Family and Pet Friendly 4 Star Lakeside Luxury Accommodation with Wifi

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

3 bedroom,2 bathroom Lakeside House within walking distance to all ammenities

This house has a great balcony views of the Lake. Perfect for BBQ. This house has an open plan layout with stylish design features. It has living room, kitchen and balcony upstairs with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms downstairs. It has gas fired central heating, on-suite bathrooms and private decking areas for watching the sun set while sipping a glass of wine.It also has it's own private jetty.......

Property Manager
Lakeside Holidays Ireland
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
19 March, 2018

Why Lakeside Holidays Ireland chose Mountshannon

Mountshannon is a beautiful and scenic village with its foundation in the 18th century. It is located on the shores of Lough Derg, one of Ireland's biggest lakes, in East County Clare, in the west of Ireland.

The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the population is made up of many different cultures and nationalities. The village itself is elevated on a hill overlooking a beautiful harbour with an exceptional vista of the lake.

What makes this house unique

The properties at Lakeside Holidays are beautifully located to take advantage of this idyllic setting, offering high quality self-catering properties for the discerning holiday maker.Each property has it's own berth for a boat on our own private Jetty located on site with CCTV for security and piece of mind. With lots to do, from fishing, cycling, boating, horse riding to golf and much more, make Lakeside Holidays one of your first ports of call when looking for a special holiday experience. With cable TV and now High speed Wifi available (at a fee) in each property , your communications needs are taken care of, but most of our residents just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and relax on the shore of Lough Derg or explore the surrounding countryside


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Mountshannon in North Tipperary

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village
  • waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Holiday Complex
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Main bathroom with shower and En Suite
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 En Suite - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 Twin - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 Twin - 2 Single Bed , This bedroom has a pullout full size single bed
  • 3 bedroomed, 1 Double En Suite,1 twin Room and 1 Single Room with optional full size sinle bed.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Please click on this link for attractions around our house. http://www.lakesideholidays.ie/local-area-guide.asp


3.7/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

27% Complete
36% Complete
18% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
Family and Pet Friendly 4 Star Lakeside Luxury Accommodation with Wifi
average rating of 3.7272727 based on 11 reviews

A little bit needed

  • 2 of 5

Mountshannon is a cute town in Lough Derg (a lake). There is a small main Street and beautifully maintained park! It was nice to find a place where we can stay for a week and we appreciate the opportunity.

This house is a little tired. The kitchen was missing some conveniences like a coffee maker or french press, dish soap, sponge, dish towels, dish drying rack (because the dishwasher was not working). The master bathroom shower was iffy (burning hot or cold, no in between). No vacuum cleaner, hand soap, or extra toilet paper. John was very nice and helpful before we reached the location. Be prepared to pay extensively for utilities- 5 days was €60, without proof of bill.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay!

  • 4 of 5

We chose Mountshannon as a midpoint to visit multiple places in southern and western Ireland. We loved it. The house was perfect for our purposes & was very nice. Check in & check out was easy & any questions we had were addressed immediately. After a chilly day, we enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the living room. We did have to travel a bit to find food, but that let us experience a new town almost every night. There is a pub within walking distance that my friends enjoyed. We were sad to leave.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A spacious, clean abode in a lovely setting.

  • 4 of 5

Our unit had a great parking spot right in front, which made life easy! All inside was clean and fresh, although perhaps the mattress on the double bed could've been thicker. Wifi worked well; hot, lovely flowing shower, good amount of utensils, with an outdoor relaxing area. Had lovely meals, and a night of pub music. John was great, supplying us with any help or information.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Where do you live?

Amazing Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We flew into Shannon airport, Mount Shannon was a breathtaking area to stay in...we stayed for 3 nights. The condo, was much larger than 2 people needed - next time we need to bring friends! But it had every comfort of home, the village and surrounding one's are beautiful, the people were wonderful & being so near the water is always a huge bonus!

John who is the caretaker, is a wonderful man! We enjoyed our conversations with him thoroughly! He helped us figure out our phone/sim card issue that we were having & made some amazing recommendations to us on places to see/visit. We loved him as much as our stay! Thank you so much for everything!

  • Review Submitted: 07-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property needs a bit tlc

  • 3 of 5

The single bedroom downstairs had a smell of urine, the tv only has two channels that work and the kitchen light didn't work. The toaster only toasts one side and there were only one pillow on each of the single beds.

Very basic accommodation for a property that looks so lovely from the outside.

Apart from that Mountshannon has been a perfect base for a lovely holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We will take on board your comments with regards to the bedroom. As regards tv , toaster ect we have maintenance on site to deal with these issues. If previous guests don't let us know we can't fix them. You should have called us and John would have dealt with them immediately. However thanks for letting us know and I am glad ye still had a nice stay with us. Regards Lakeside Management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very impressed

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed by both the house and the location. The house was much bigger than we expected, next time we may bring more people! Huge bedrooms and bathrooms as well as the upstairs living area.

Alongside the house is the breathtaking location. Looking out onto the lake made for a relaxing breakfast on the balcony.

For the price and quality we will definitely be returning sooner rather than later.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad you had such a wonderful time and will be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future. Many Thanks Lakeside Holidays ireland.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Aistear Park mountshannon
Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Shannon Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
200 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
East Clare Golf resort
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
25 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
The Snug
Nearest Beach
60 Kilometres
Car: recommended

Please visit the following Link for all attractions.


Things to do

There are so many things to do in Clare and probably you will find the best yourself but here are some suggestions:

Cruise on Lough Derg

Have a game of Golf

Health & Beauty Treatments

Shop for Arts & Crafts

Dining & Wining

Musical Entertainment

Explore the wonderful heritage of East Clare

Go Fishing

Visit the Aistear Park in Mountshannon

Take a boat trip to Holy Island

Go Pony Trekking

Walk some or all of the East Clare Way

Go canoeing at www.lakesideireland.com

Holy Island

Holy Island derives its name from 'Inis Cealtra', meaning the 'island of the burial ground; or island of monastic cells'. The island lies about 1km from the mainland and 2km from Mountshannon.

An historic island with its roots in Christianity and Pre-Christian times. Pilgrims travelled here for hundreds of years right up to the mid 19th century. Inis Cealtra is associated with several Irish saints of the sixth and seventh centuries most notably St Caimin who founded a monastery here in the 7th century.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Mountshannon, Ireland

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
1 Jul 2018 - 26 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
27 Aug 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £88.86
Pet Fee £22.22
Tax Rate 9.0%

Terms and Conditions

Notice of cancellation must be in writing. The following charges will then apply:-
Over 8 weeks before date of arrival Booking Deposit
8 - 4 weeks before date of arrival 50%
4 - 2 weeks before date of arrival 75%
Less than 2 weeks 100%
It is strongly advised that clients take out holiday insurance to cover the possibility of cancelation charges.

3. Electricity and gas used for heating and light is an extra charge payable by the client to the Supervisor before departure.The rates for these can fluctuate due to price increase/decrease from the providers. Water is also chargeable at a rate of €1.00 per day. The charge is based on the individual meter reading and it is recommended that the cost per unit be checked at the outset.

4. The Property must be left as it is found and the cost of repairs to or the replacement of property will be the responsibility of the client.

5. A security deposit from €100 per week of rental must be given to the Supervisor on arrival. This will be returned provided the supervisor is satisfied that the terms and conditions of rental have been complied with. In the event that the supervisor is unable to check the Property at the clients departure, the security deposit will be forwarded within 7 days. Clients are expected to leave the Property clean and tidy otherwise a charge of €35 will be made.

6. Rental of Property may be terminated with no refund at the discretion of the Supervisor or any officer of the company if clients/occupiers behave in a disruptive manner, cause a nuisance or disturbance, cause damage to the property or in any other circumstance deemed reasonable by the Sup

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question