OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Honey Pot Cottage. Broad Oak Estate circa 1565. Lake District National Park

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more



Updated: 17-Jan-2017
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Located on Broad Oak Estate circa 1565. Beautiful, peaceful tranquil retreat.

You are currently viewing Honey Pot Cottage: NOTE: PLEASE VIEW: Nanny Goat HomeAway Reference: 1887603 & Broad Oak Estate Circa 1565, HomeAway Reference number: 1887602. THESE PROPERTIES are ALL properties located on the Broad Oak Estate, that sits on 60 acres of private land, comprising of two small lakes, woodland. The driveway that leads from the main road ensures a secure location for your families retreat. .

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Roger Smith
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 January, 2017

About Roger Smith


Roger Smith purchased this cottage in 1990

Why Roger Smith chose Kendal & South Lakes

Fabulous location, and amenities.

What makes this cottage unique

The Lake District.

16 Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)


Very comfortable and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay in this beautiful cottage over Christmas and New Year. Its very comfortable, the beds allow you a perfect nights sleep and you sink happily into the sofas. Well equiped with everything we needed, even a small freezer which was a lovely surprise as its not mentioned on the details. We happily cooked our Christmas dinner.

The cottage is on a private estate which gave us plenty of space to walk the dog in the mornings before going out to explore the area.

If you have any difficulties the house keeper is easily contacted and is keen to ensure your stay is a happy one.

If its important to you then please note that the mobile signal is weak in this area (and most of the Lake District rural areas) the WiFi is very slow. If you dont need WiFi and mobiles then its no problem and you can relax with the wood burner and the lovely views. There is a payphone for emergencies.

The Black Labrador pub is within walking distance and serves excellent food.

Highly recommended for a relaxing stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Very unclean, I have pictures to proove this however not able to put them on the site.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Hidden Gem

  • 4 of 5


We stayed at Honeypot Cottage for a week in October and had a great time. The cottage is in a beautiful setting and very comforatable,clean and well equipped. Leanne was on hand to sort any queries and gave great advice on local pubs and places to eat --- we were spoilt for choice.

A lovely restful week and would recommend this property


  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greatly appreciated for choosing our estate... See you again soon ...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Another great stay at the Broadoak Estate. Honey was great, we stayed with a guest so

This cottage was perfect size. We had an issue but it was sorted straight away. Everything is there that you need like home from home. Log burner was great too!! Leanne again was a great host, a very warm welcome and a great asset to the cottages and the big house, she works really hard and always available to help. Definately coming back again!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Deposit not repaid yet

  • 1 of 5

Owners are ignoring my correspondence about non repayment of my deposit of £150 since my return from the stay on Sunday 4 September 2016. I've had to insert one star, to be able to submit this review, but sadly if the owner is not going to refund a deposit, is this property worth one star?

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shairon the client was very rude to our manger, and made excessive noise, and the deposit was refunded per our agreement within 14 days, yet she demanded the deposit back the day she vacated. The 1 star is an attack, as you can see all the other reviews are excellent.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well located but cottage not clean .

  • 3 of 5

Great location in a quiet and tranquil setting but very disappointed in the standards of cleanliness of the cottage particularly in the kitchen where food debris was found on top of the fridge and in the freezer .

It appeared that housekeeping standards were inadequate and at best only a surface clean had been carried out before we arrived .

Another example of standards slipping was the filthy condition of the Barbeque containing ash and other remnants of a previous Barbeque . We were looking forward to having a Barbeque as the weather was very good but it was unusable . This should be thoroughly cleaned between guests staying .

We will not be staying again .

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr. Mackrell (client) originally sent this email below stating he was writing a nice review see details: Hi Lyn and Roger, Please can you respond to my last email in respect of the return of the refundable damage deposit ? I will be putting a positive review on the website about our stay but not until I receive the £150 deposit back. Kind regards Pamela and Paul Ss you can see, this is very unethical, and we have to completely disagree with this client, since he was very happy, and NO complaints had been made, it states in our agreement, that if the client is unhappy with the property upon arrival, or during the course of the rental that we should be informed, and we can make good of any bad, or complaint within 24 hours, unfortunately this client did not make any remarks or complaints during their stay, even after visiting personally, and asking if they were happy. We have a very strong rating and apologies for this misleading information. This person was rude to my manager and no pictures or proof was provided per her false remarks, that are truly insulting, and incorrect. Our best, Roger & Lyn .
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


From the Owner

Fabulous location, and amenities.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Manchester at 82 Miles Nearest Barpub : Punch Bowl Pub, Underbarrow at 0.4 Miles Nearest Golf : Kendal Gold Club at 3.3 Miles Nearest Train : Oxenholme Lake District at 5.6 Miles Nearest Motorway : M6 Junction 36 at 9.7 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Punch Bowl Inn, Crosthwaite at 1.7 Miles Car: recommended

This unique cottage circa 1565 lies within a small Cumbrian Estate.

The extensive grounds also include two tarns, and sixty acres of private woodland which guest can use at their leisure the old country gardens are a pleasure all the year round. Furnishing are in keeping with a luxurious country cottage which holds a 5 Star Gold Star Award.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Low Winter Season
6 Jan 2017 - 2 Feb 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Low 2 Winter Season
3 Feb 2017 - 16 Mar 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Easter Start Week
17 Mar 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
After Easter Holiday
31 Mar 2017 - 27 Apr 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Early May Bank Holiday
28 Apr 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
30 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Autumn Winter
1 Sep 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

See "NOTES" on Fees £0
Pet Fee £20
1 ben use cleaning fee £45
2 bed use cleaning fee £75

Full weekend Friday to Monday or Monday to Friday, or Full Weeks: "No Cleaning Fee" OTHERWISE Cleaning Fees are charged.
1. Payments: We accept full payment upon securing your dates.
2. Damage Deposit: We dont take a damage deposit but we ask that if any damage is done, that you report the damage and pay for it.
3. Logs: Starter pack:12GBP Bag of logs 9GBP.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 17-Jan-2017
Available arrival


From the Owner

The Lake District.

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural
  • village


  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 200 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Bidet
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • All very well maintained, and kept very clean.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, Bedroom with en-suit bathroom
  • Both bedrooms are individually styled one having a king size bed, with an extremely comfortable mattress, beautiful hand made curtains and bed drapes. The TV in the bedroom has a DVD player and a seperate CD player, this room has a bath with a contained shower and bidet, shower, wash basin, and toilet, the French country furniture lends this room to a very relaxed atmosphere. The second bedroom Has a genuine half tester victorian bed again with beautiful drapes and hand painted walls with nice antique furniture to match and again TV with DVD player, and seperate CD player.the ensuite is also recently replaced.


  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Honey Pot Cottage nestles in Broad Oaks Circa 1565 country estate in the Lake District National Park.The private Gardens and grounds are for the use of Guests. There are two Beautiful Lakes, which are nice to picnic by, and lots of woodland. The surrounding area has a wealth of good places to eat out, ( for all Tastes ). Lake Windermere is 7mile drive through nice country lanes passing many nice country Inns.The historic town of Kendal is but a short drive away where there are local markets and museums. Lots of lovely walks and drives out even to go along the coast and visit Barrow or Ulverston. This area remains an unspoilt part of the National Park, come along and see for yourselves.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot