OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxurious Waters Edge Property, Sea Views, Private Access to Beach. Sleeps 8

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

Luxurious & Unique Waters Edge property, direct Sea Views,Gardens and Beach

Accommodating 8 people very comfortably.

Perfect for Family Holidays, Honeymoons, Romantic Weekends, Short Stays, Weekend Breaks, Walking Holidays, Water Sports Adventures and Groups of Friends looking to get away from it all.....

Castle Keep sits proud in a spectacular Watersedge position guarding the mouth of the Fowey Estuary.

An incredibly rare opportunity to holiday in such a unique, stunning property. Places like this just don't exist for holiday lets!

Boats & Yachts zig-zag in the water at her feet and with far reaching and uninterrupted views of the sea and the cliff faces of Fowey, you could not want for a more perfect place to be.

Sleeping and catering for 8 people very comfortably it has 4 large double ensuite bedrooms 3 of which boast direct views of the sea, balconies and walk-in dressing rooms.

It is a perfect holiday home for families, groups of friends or couples as is large enough for groups but very homely for couples or smaller families.

The extensively equipped and vast kitchen diner also provides one of the best views on the South coast - your dinner is definitely going to go cold sat here!

The huge living room runs the length of the house, with a 56” Flatscreen TV and large L Shaped sofa at one end and further sofas and seating at the other end giving spectacular views of the sea and cliff faces of Fowey. The open-planned space is brilliantly divided by a giant glass log burner - giving an eye-catching centrepiece when not in use and doubling up to provide a stunning fire display to warm you during the Autumn and Winter months .

More Details

Property Manager
Louise Roberts
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
6 February, 2017

About Louise Roberts

Louise is the Property Manager and provides a very personal concierge type of Customer Service for her guests. She also understands the importance of discretion.

She lives locally, having extensive knowledge of the South Coast of Cornwall and widespread knowledge of the rest of Cornwall and all that the County has to offer its visitors.

She is contactable at any time giving guests peace of mind should they have any queries or require any information.

Having a previous career in large scale IT Sales projects and as a Wedding & Events Manager, both in London, she understands what Customer Service and true Quality really means and how a superior level of both is vital.

Louise Roberts purchased this house in 2015

Why Louise Roberts chose South East Cornwall

Polruan and Fowey and the surrounding areas on the South Coast of Cornwall are truly magical. The South Coast is not as commercialised as some areas on the North Coast, however all areas of Cornwall are very different in their own ways, giving any visitor to the County a very special, unique and diverse experience..... come rain or shine!

What makes this house unique

Castle Keep is a real Jewel in the Crown. It is very rare to find such a superior property and in such a remarkable and enviable location as a holiday home.

When people think of Cornwall, they immediately imagine themselves by the sea and spending their time on a sandy beach or basking in the sunshine, and they want to get as close to that as possible.

Castle Keep gives you all of that and you don't even have to leave the property! You can pop down to the beach in your pyjamas if you wish to and the far reaching and uninterrupted views of the sea is a true tonic.

You really will not want to leave...

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a fabulous weekend celebrating my 26th birthday. The location of the properly and superb spa facilities meant we were either walking along the beautiful coastline or in the hot tub overlooking the sea. The evenings were spent with a refreshing glass of wine and game of monopoly. We hope to be booking again soon!
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

5

Fantastic views and an amazing house

  • 5 of 5

We live reasonably local and had dreamed of spending a holiday in this house. We were not disappointed! The quality of the fittings and furnishings were beyond what we had hoped for. The views were mesmerising and we spent most of the days either sitting in the house or garden or exploring the private beach and rock pools. There are many great walks along the cliffs or along the Hall Walk. We went into Fowey via the ferry which runs every 10/15 minutes. However, because we went in October, the last ferry was at 7 pm and we could therefore not go into Fowey for an evening out. We were always glad to return to the quiet streets of Polruan. Food at the Lugger was very good and worth a visit. There is complimentary use of the Fowey Hall Hotel swimming pool which proved a success with the children in the group. In summary it is a beautiful house, fabulous views, great beach and well worth the money, you will not be disappointed............. I would love to return.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your fantastic review. So appreciated. It really is a very special house. I shall pass on your comments to the Landlord of the Lugger Inn, they will be delighted. Getting over to Fowey is very easy but during the Autumn & Winter months their timetable is shortened due to early darkness. We would be delighted to welcome you back. Best wishes, Lou
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Views, Quality Finishes, Perfect Get Away

  • 5 of 5

Castle Keep totally exceeded our expectations. The size and quality of this fully equipped house was perfect for our group of six (6) adults utilizing all four (4) bedrooms/4.1 bathrooms (3 En-Suite).

Three of our group were in their mid 80's, two of which have some mobility issues, and despite tricky access in getting a vehicle close to house, they had no issues. In fact they were totally content to sit and watch the boat activity in and out of the Fowey/Polruan harbor. We loved our stay so much we extended an extra day.

Be aware the roads/alleys of Polruan, Fowey and many of these Cornish villages were never built to take vehicular traffic, so be skilled at reversing, and leave your large cars at home - They simply won't fit.

In regard to booking the house and coordinating our arrival/departure from the USA, Lou was the consummate professional, yet easy going, flexible and super helpful. The whole process was very easy.

Simply put, this was a wonderful five days that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind words. We are thrilled you all had a great break at Castle Keep. The location and view are very special and there is always some kind of water activity taking place.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5

The house is amazing! Both internally and the location, there's no better way to wake up or round the day off than be looking out over the water. Everything is finished off to the highest spec and the kids thought they had joined the cast of Keeping up with the Kardashians when they saw the walk in wardrobes! Everything you could possible need is here and Polruan is a great place to stay, with 2 very good pubs and lots of friendly faces.

Great stay, great service. Will be back.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your Review and we are delighted you have had a great holiday. Polruan is a very special place and the two pubs are fantastic and the village is quirky and remote enough to get away from it all but very easy to get to all other areas of Cornwall! Fowey, located on the other side of the river has a variety of great quality pubs, restaurants, shops and art galleries giving you everything you need and more for a holiday to remember.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sad to leave!

  • 5 of 5

No place like home, right? Not so with this property. Normally, after staying in rented holiday accommodation for a few days, we look forward to returning home. This house is so spacious, superbly furnished, well equipped and with the most mesmerising sea views that we were really sorry to leave. We can't wait to stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you here again. Best wishes, Lou
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week in spite of the weather

  • 5 of 5

The house was excellent. Our group has stayed in a number of houses over the years, and this was the best.

The views are wonderful, on the promontary, overlooking Fowey, and the yachts saiing in and out of the harbour.

Everything in the house was well designed, well planned and excellent quality. The place was spotless, beds comfortable.

We were a bit worried to begin with, over the access...not easy, especially since we brought 4 cars. We would recommend you bring the smallest car you have as the lanes to Polruan are single track and the roads in Polruan itself are too narrow for a car.

But that was what makes the village so special...the peace and quiet, strolling down the middle of the road back from the pub.

Loved it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Views

  • 5 of 5

This property is fabulous. Very spacious including kitchen with Aga, (that has an electric cooker too) with all the equipment you would ever need. Beds v comfortable and bedding good quality. All decorated beautifully and very clean. The views are wonderful and we enjoyed watching the boats coming and going from the harbour. It is a very relaxing place to be. The drawbacks...you cannot park outside the house so there is an element of carrying cases etc. There is good parking for two cars a few hundred yards away and you can back down nearer to the house to unpack. We had to drive up to the nearby car park to get our online shopping as Sainsbury's couldn't get down nearer to us, as the lanes are narrow and steep. Despite these drawbacks, we have still given 5 stars, as the house is so lovely. You can get to Fowey easily on a little ferry that runs from Polruan that takes just a few minutes. The Lugger pub in Polruan provides great food too. We all agreed that this was the nicest property we have ever stayed in and we had a wonderful time.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
February Half Term 2017
11 Feb 2017 - 24 Feb 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,089
for 7 nights
£2,089
 
 
March 2017
25 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£930
for 3 nights
From
£310
£1,500
 
 
Easter 2017
1 Apr 2017 - 14 Apr 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,639
for 7 nights
£2,639
 
 
April 2017
15 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,125
for 3 nights
From
£375
£2,269
 
 
May 2017
6 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 3 nights
From
£450
From
£500
Fri,Sat
£2,429
 
 
May Half Term 2017
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,189
for 7 nights
£3,189
 
 
June 2017
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,639
for 7 nights
£2,639
 
 
July 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,289
for 7 nights
£3,289
 
 
Summer Holidays 2017
15 Jul 2017 - 4 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,689
for 7 nights
£3,689
 
 
Summer Holidays 2017
5 Aug 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,249
for 7 nights
£4,249
 
 
Fowey Royal Regatta 2017
12 Aug 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,489
for 7 nights
£4,489
 
 
Summer Holidays 2017
19 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,249
for 7 nights
£4,249
 
 
September 2017
2 Sep 2017 - 6 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,639
for 7 nights
£2,639
 
 
October 2017
7 Oct 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 3 nights
From
£350
From
£400
Fri,Sat
£1,900
 
 
October Half Term 2017
14 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,469
for 7 nights
£2,469
 
 
November 2017
28 Oct 2017 - 1 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 3 nights
From
£350
From
£400
Fri,Sat
£1,500
 
 
December 2017
2 Dec 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 3 nights
From
£350
From
£400
Fri,Sat
£1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£2,200
for 7 nights
£2,200
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £500

Should you need to alter your holiday in any way, where possible we will be happy to do this for you however this would be subject to a £25.00 administration charge. We will endeavour to meet any request you may have however we cannot guarantee that we will be able to meet it and if this is the case we will inform you immediately. If you decide to cancel your holiday as a result, cancellation charges will apply.
Should your holiday be booked over Christmas, the New Year or during school holidays any amendment to dates will come under our Cancellation terms.

Sometimes, due to circumstances beyond our control we may need to alter the terms of your booking. If this happens we will inform you immediately. Wherever possible we will provide a cottage of similar standard if the one booked becomes unavailable.


If you need to cancel your holiday, please advise in writing as soon as possible. We will do all we can to re-let the cottage and if successful we will refund all monies paid but if this is not possible the following charges will apply:

• 12 + weeks to commencement of holiday - refund of deposit and no obligation to settle final balance
• 12-10 weeks to commencement of holiday – forfeit deposit
• 10-8 weeks to commencement of holiday – 75% total cost of holiday
• 8-4 weeks to commencement of holiday – 90% total cost of holiday
• 4 weeks or less to commencement of holiday – 100% total cost of holiday

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Polruan in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • rural
  • town
  • village
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master Suite Ensuite - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Master Suite has ensuite with bath and large walk-in shower
    Bathroom 2 Ensuite - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bedroom 2 has ensuite with bath and large walk-in shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Cloakroom - Toilet , Downstairs by front door
    2nd Floor - Toilet , Bath with Shower , On 2nd floor
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Ensuite & walk-in Dressing Room. French Doors onto terrace
    Master Suite - 1 Large Double Bed , Ensuite & walk-in Dressing Room. French doors onto Terrace
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Can be twinned or Superking. With ensuite
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We provide a Meet & Greet for your arrival. This is a quick and discreet service to ensure you arrive safely and settle in quickly and we can answer any questions you may initially have. Louise and her staff are on-call for you 24/7 for all your holiday needs or requirements.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot