OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Mar da Luz two bedroom apartment with private roof terrace, hot tub and sea view



Updated: 27-Apr-2017
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

On a 5* resort with indoor and outdoor pools, spa, gym & free wifi in apartment

A two bedroom apartment with balcony with sea view and a roof terrace with a private hot tub and panoramic sea and mountain view. The apartment has an open plan living room with modern furnishings and a well equipped kitchen. Stairs lead to a mezzanine which makes a further living area and doors open onto the private roof terrace. The master bedroom has a double bed and ensuite with large walk in rainwater shower. The second bedroom has twin beds and a separate shower room.

There is free wifi in the apartment and communal spa and reception areas.

This stunning apartment is located in the prestigious 5 star complex of Mar da Luz in Porto Dona Maria. Situated between Luz and Burgau, both are within a few minutes drive or a scenic walk along a costal footpath. The facilities include a communal pool, children's pool, spa with indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, turkish bath and gym. The nearby villages of Burgau and Luz have beautiful sandy beaches and numerous bars and restaurants. Luz also has supermarkets, banks and a chemist. There is a wider choice of everything in the nearby town of Lagos, which also offers historic buildings within the cobbled streets of the old town and a lively marina.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Property Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
27 April, 2017

7 Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)


Good for short term rental

  • 3 of 5

The resort is in an excellent location for exploring the Western Algarve. The facilities are well maintained by courteous and efficient staff. However, the apartment is not equipped for long term renters such as us. The kitchen is lacking many items such as casseroles, microwave safe dishes, oven mitts, whisks, sieves, tongs, sharp knives, reasonably sized teapot or coffee maker and other items that enable cooking of meals rather than reheating take out food. We supplemented the kitchen items by buying a teapot and a knife sharpener.

The lighting throughout the apartment is inadequate especially in the dining area. There were no spare bedsheets and towels available without engaging the resort maid services. We bought sheets and towels locally for a few euros and made good use of the washing machine and drying rack.

As Canadian snowbirds we have rented apartments in many places every winter since 1999 but few as poorly equipped as this one. Great place to stay if all you want to do is swim, sleep and cook fry-ups or reheat take-aways.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you liked the area but disappointed you didn't contact us during your stay to discuss any of the issue you mention. If you had, we could have looked into getting a few more items for you. We have never had a complaint before about this and guests have been happy with the equipment for self catering but we do appreciate a long let may have different requirements and we could have certainly helped if we had been contacted. We could also have helped with the lighting if this had been bought to our attention. With regards to cleaning and laundry, we explained at the time of booking that we can offer a discounted rate for a long let but this would only include arrival and departure clean. Any additional cleaning and laundry could be paid for directly at the resort to keep costs down. Our normal weekly rates do include weekly maid and laundry service. Again if you had contacted us we could have asked the resort to provide some extra towels and sheets. We always strive to provide the best possible service to our guests and it's a shame you didn't contact us to give us the opportunity to help make your stay perfect.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome vacation apartment with wonderful ocean views!!!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved this vacation apartment. It had everything you could ever need and was immaculately clean. It had great views from each of the terraces and you could see the Atlantic ocean. During the winter months, the hot tub was awesome to have. The Mar da Luz complex is really nice with great amenities. We recommend you have a car as there are so many great places to see within a short driving distance.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very high standard in beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing holiday rental we stumbled upon here!! Super luxurious, and relaxing. Amazing private jacuzzi and stunning view. The gated complex is secure and very well maintained. The location is tranquil and relaxing, but just a five minute drive from the beach and from Luz centre. We just loved it. Can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

The most gorgeous, relaxing luxurious place I have ever stayed in With amazing facilities , helpful friendly staff and beautiful beaches within easy reach

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

comfortable, bright and nicely decorated apartment

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this apartment for three months. The decor is pleasant and bright. Very comfortable layout. No clutter. Kitchen is well equipped with enough space to cook meals. We loved the loft TV room and the rooftop hot tub. The patio off the living room was used often as well to sit and look at the ocean or read books and enjoy a glass of wine. The place is contained in a complex between Luz and Burgau. We walked often along the cliffside trails to Luz (a half hour) and sometimes to Burgau. We would definitely recommend this apartment to others.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful 5* apartment

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful apartment with a stunning view and close to some of the most beautiful beaches in Portugal. Being able to sit in a jacuzzi on a private roof terrace and look out to the sea with a cold glass of wine made our holiday so perfect.

There is nothing we can fault about our stay at all.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Faro at 60 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Porto Dona Maria at 400 Metres Nearest Golf : Boa Vista at 2 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Porto Dona Maria at 400 Metres Nearest Beach : Praia da Luz at 1 Kilometres Car: recommended

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Jun 2017 - 3 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
4 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
22 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Wednesday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
2 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Nov 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

A cot can be provided for an additional £35 per week.
Beach towels can be hired from 2,50€ each
Peel come food packs are available on request

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Updated: 27-Apr-2017


Property Type

  • apartment


  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities


  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna

Onsite Services

  • Massage


  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • town
  • village


  • bay
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo

Local Services & Businesses

  • fitness centre
  • massage therapist

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, 1 Cot, Cot can be provided for £35 per week


  • Balcony
  • Terrace


  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot