OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rustic Cabin in Tranquil Forest Location, minutes walk from Loch Rannoch



Updated: 19-Oct-2016
Peaceful 2 bedroom cabin (sleeps 5) in woodland setting, close to Loch Rannoch

*** Scotland's Premier Sound & Light Show ... The Enchanted Forest ... is on in Pitlochry from 29th Sept through to 30th Oct; a great time to book The Log Cabin and visit this wonderful show! ***

The Log Cabin nestles on the edge of the Blackwood of Rannoch in the tiny hamlet of Dall, and it's ideally suited for outdoor enthusiasts, families, couples, and those seeking a tranquil getaway. We're 'Dog Friendly' and will accept a maximum of two well behaved pets by prior arrangement.

With trails for mountain biking, an abundance of walks, red squirrel, pine martin, capercaillie and herds of stag practically on the doorstep .... it's a nature lovers paradise. Our free-range hens will not only give you a warm welcome, but also provide delicious eggs for breakfast! A five minute walk takes you to the shores of Loch Rannoch where water sports and fishing (in season) are readily available.

This property can accommodate a maximum of four adults and an additional fold-down guest-bed can be made available for children under 10 years of age.

Accommodation consists of one double and one twin bedroom, well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge with wood-burning stove, and bathroom with bath and over-head shower.

Guests should note that the Cabin has a private spring water supply which is not treated with chemicals and, due to the peat content, the water is naturally tainted brown. Bottled water is required for drinking ~ a complimentary bottle is provided upon arrival and additional bottles may be purchased from the village shop.

Towels, bedding, linen and unlimited Wi-Fi are included in the rental price. We also provide a complimentary starter-pack of tea, coffee, sugar, milk, toilet roll, washing-up liquid etc. to keep you going on arrival day until you get an opportunity to visit the shop. One complimentary basket of logs is also provided upon arrival; additional baskets are available for a charge. For those who do not wish to purchase logs, oil central heating is free.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English

16 Reviews

based on 16 holidaymaker reviews


Cosy log cabin

  • 5 of 5

The whole process of booking was smooth and efficient, the directions clear to get to this lovely cabin. Davy was there straight away to meet us and show us around, nothing was too much trouble. He has a good knowledge of the area and gave us some pointers as where we may see the deer, and he was right! The cabin is basic, clean and tidy and comfortable with everything you need, if we had wanted anything I am sure it would have been found for us. We love the simple life so this cabin was perfect for us and the dog. It was not a problem for us not being able to drink the tap water, the locals have to deal with it all time and the well stocked local shop sells 5 litre bottles, along with local produce and a good range of other products.

Walks straight from the door, varying lengths but always stunning scenery, an abundance of bird life, unusual mushroom/toadstools and the chance to catch a glimpse of red deer or a scurrying squirrel.

There are many wonderful places to visit but Rannoch Station Tea room is not be missed, the carrot cake is deeeeelicious. The drive there is magnificent in all weathers and I drove my husband mad wanting to stop frequently and absorb the beauty of the area. Pitlochry has a good range of shops including a butcher whose range of locally sourced meats was impressive, including Stornoway Black Pudding.

I would recommend this accommodation to friends but there are those who would not enjoy the solitude and remoteness, whereas we love it!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the log cabin and we will go back. Thanks to Davy and Amanda.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for The Log Cabin. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay and we'd also like to extend our sincere gratitude to you both for leaving the accommodation in such spotless condition ... there was practically nothing left for us to do at change-over!! We hope to see you back at some point in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fab holiday in truly rustic & relaxing cabin

  • 3 of 5

We booked our stay in a somewhat hurried manner due to leaving it late, and subsequently didn't read the info very thoroughly. This was not to our holidays overall detriment, but it certainly made for an interesting few days! We stayed with our 6yr old and a 5 month old baby, we had ''overlooked' the fact you can't drink the tap water...and in my head the cabin was equipped with a microwave (for sterilisng baby bottles) and travel cot. It wasn't.

FORTUNATELY!! we were just in time at the local shop to grab some food for that evening on the way to the cabin, although we didn't get any water... (again...we hadn't really appreciated how remote we would be!). On our arrival Davie was very welcoming and showed us the cabin and had provided fresh eggs, bottled water and a lovely Victoria sponge cake.

We figured out our sleeping arrangements and on the second day went to find some sterilising tablets for our babies bottles in Pitlochry. So we were all sorted again!

Although our lack of information gathering made for an interesting 24hrs... it was our own fault and if anything it only added to our rustic holiday. The woodlands the cabin is located in is beautiful and we felt safe enough to allow our 6 year old to explore outside without us until dusk - something she absolutely loved.

The time away from it all was just what we needed, no phone signal, shops too far away to wander to and a rustic log cabin to lounge in of the evening. We found ourselves playing board games late into the night and enjoying the challenge of keeping the log burner going!

In the day we enjoyed trips out to Mallaig on the train, we had lunch at the remote Rannoch Station, tried to visit a distillery (NB - you can't take children in a distillery! :-( ), stopped and enjoyed numerous viewing points in the Tay Forest, visited the local cafe and studio shop and went on lots of woodland walks / paddled in the Loch.

Our ONLY comment about the cabin, is that it is in need of some refurbishment, which, I am sure Davie and Amanda are aware of and plan to undetake at a suitable time.

We would definitely go back to the cabin, however, we will be using the supermarket home delivery service suggested on the info so that we do not spend our first day frantically looking for shops!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for The Log Cabin and sincere apologies that the system would not let you leave the 5 stars that you wanted to. Upon receipt of your email I contacted Owners Direct but sadly they say that there is nothing they can do to rectify the situation and you'd have to retract the original review before submitting a new one. Seemingly this fault occurred because there was a 'glitch' in their system that day! Regardless of 'number of stars' we're just delighted that you had such a good time & very impressed that you met the first days challenges with such positivity. If only you'd spoken to us about the babies bottles on arrival night then we'd have taken a microwave over to you. Many visitors do not realise just how rural Rannoch is, so we especially loved the fact that you all appeared to embrace the location and it was so nice to see your little girl enjoying the outside space. We have actually now refurbished the bathroom and double bedroom (pictures on our Facebook page) and the lounge is next on our list. It's just a case of trying to fit a programme of renovation in between bookings ... unfortunately we don't get many gaps between bookings which is why it's all taking a little longer than we'd like. Thanks again for your wonderful review and hope to see you back at some point in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

In need of renovation

  • 2 of 5

Hard to find. Take your own drinking water. Dark inside. Problems with condensation. Wouldn't go back. Left early.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Log Cabin; I have read your comments with interest and am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. It's true to say that our location is rural (as clearly stated in our advert) and it's not for everyone ... but we do provide very precise directions which, if followed, make the property very easy to find. We also state in our advert that the cabin is on a private spring water supply so surely you knew this when you booked? All our guests are supplied with complimentary bottled drinking water upon arrival and purchase any required top-up when required ... after all, this is the agreement prior to booking! Unfortunately I was in Vietnam when you visited and did not have the pleasure of meeting you but I've spoken to my husband and he informs me that it rained every day of your visit, which of course would make for little natural light. Additionally, you had the central heating going full blast to dry all your clothes over the radiators, with all windows shut, I surmise that the lack of airflow will have contributed to any condensation you experienced. I'm sorry that you chose to cut your holiday short by a few hours but given the circumstances I can fully understand; The Log Cabin and rural way of life are clearly not for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A little haven

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at The Lodge - wonderful to have such lovely woods on the door-step. Would love to return and explore some more.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your time at The Log Cabin. We are indeed spoilt with all the ancient woodland and wildlife on our doorstep; it's a nature lovers paradise. We'd love to welcome you back again at some point in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Authentic and homely!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the cabin and we were spoiled with fabulous weather too.

Great size cabin with all that we needed for our short break.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted that you all had an enjoyable stay and that the weather was glorious. We'd love to welcome you back to The Log Cabin again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Lovely place, lovely people. We had a great time in Scotland and the Log Cabin. Amanda and Davie are such wonderful hosts. Thank you for everything and a time we always remember with joy. We will come back :o)

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

The Log Cabin affords guests the opportunity to experience real rustic charm. Whether it be cosy winter evenings spent lounging on the large chesterfield sofa's with a roaring fire in the log-burner or summer days dining alfresco in the picturesque woodland setting, it's a haven of tranquillity which will leave you feeling relaxed and renewed!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Glasgow Airport at 83 Miles Nearest Barpub : Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel at 6 Miles Nearest Golf : Pitlochry at 20 Miles Nearest Train : Rannoch Station at 12 Miles Nearest Motorway : A9 Pitlochry at 20 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel at 6 Miles Nearest Ski : Glenshee ski Centre at 60 Miles Car: recommended


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Christmas & New Year
23 Dec 2016 - 3 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £100
Pet Fee £20

Rates are subject to change until bookings are confirmed. 50% of the total price is payable upon booking and the remaining 50% is payable 60 days prior to arrival.
This property is on a private water supply and the water is naturally tainted brown by the peat. We recommend bottled water is used for drinking ~ a complimentary 5 litre bottle is provided upon arrival and additional bottles may be purchased from the village shop.
All guests are provided with a complimentary basket of logs upon arrival. Additional logs are available at £10 per basket if required. The property has oil central heating for guests who do not wish to use the log burner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 19-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • cabin


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural


  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming


  • Bathroom 1
  • Bath with overhead shower.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, Large single beds requiring double-bed sized linen
  • One double bedroom and one twin bedroom.


  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot