OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Two bedroom holiday cottage in a quiet rural location.

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Holiday cottage within easy reach of Lansallos, Looe and Polperro.

The self-catering cottage constructed of local Cornish stone has two bedrooms, one with double bed, the other with two single beds. The cottage is located within a rural setting with valley views across towards Bodmin.

The cottage has a lounge/diner with patio doors leading to an extensive garden, a fully fitted kitchen (washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle) and a fully fitted walk in shower. The cottage also has storage facilities, TV (included within bedrooms and living room), extensive car parking and full central heating. Bedding and Linen are also provided.

Please note: The wood burning stove is no longer functional, so simply for cosmetic purposes.

Lansallos beach is approximately 0.75 miles away accessed by a footpath from the village of Lansallos. The fishing villages of Polperro (2 miles) and Looe (7 miles) are nearby while the popular town of Fowey is just four miles away across the Bodinnick Ferry and all easily accessible by car . The cottage is an excellent base to explore southern Cornwall and beyond by road and rail - with mainline railway stations at Liskeard (10 miles) and Lostwithiel (5 miles) being nearby.The rental week is from Saturday to Saturday arrivals from 3pm and departures are by 10.30am.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
19 July, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Looe in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Pull out single bed, stairgate and cot also available. Please note: For the cot you must bring your own bedding.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Two bedroom holiday cottage in a quiet rural location.
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
5

A cottage suitable for small families who appreciate a rural surrounding and a good standard.

  • 5 of 5

It was a very lovely clean cottage situated in a lonely surrounding and yet within walking distance of Polperro {only 2 miles}. There was a beautiful garden and many sheep on the meadow next to it, which was very much appreciated by our daughter. There was a little beach nearby, too. The kitchen was apart from the living room which I like very much and it was well equipped even though it was small. The living room was really spacious and nice. We spent a very nice holiday there and the owners could not have been more helpful. They even arranged a date at the dentist's and gave me a lift to him when I got a terrible toothache. So I would very much recommend this cottage.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic cottage, lovely location and friendly helpful owners.

  • 5 of 5

Had a great week at Higher Polgassic Cottage. The owners were there to meet us and showed us round,they also brought fresh towels midweek. The cottage has everything you could need for the stay and was really clean. It is in a great location, really quiet and peaceful with well kept gardens and fantastic views. It's a great base for exploring Cornwall or just chilling out in the gardens. We have nothing negative to say about our stay and we're already thinking about going back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cottage, simply lovely

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from our week away at Higher Polgassic and on arrival were pleasantly surprised, the cottage was presented to a high standard very cosy and immaculate.

I can not fault the cottage it was perfect the kitchen was small but had everything you needed and dining table in the lounge so you didnt need anymore room, the ceillings were not low at all except in the upstairs bedroom but that would be for kids so it was not a problem.

I had children and I loved how safe they were and that they could run around the garden and the large field adjoining the garden it was lovely. I loved the rural location it was so quiet and peaceful and the views were stunning. Although you are rural its a good location to get around Cornwall and not so far from Polperro or Looe.

We had a fantastic week so thank you to the Gilham family who made us very welcome and were a very nice family. We will definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was in a beautiful setting with views to Bodmin Moor. It was very clean and well equipped. It was far better than we had imagined it would be. The owners were very helpful and friendly. It had central heating and a very well equipped kitchen. Our towels were changed mid week which was appreciated. Although it was in the country it was within easy reach of Looe, Polperro and Fowey.

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautifully positioned cottage near the coast

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our week in Higher Polgassic. It is in a lovely rural position but close to the SW Coast Path along the stunning south Cornish coast, and in easy reach of Looe, Polperro and Fowey as well as some of the county's major attractions such as the amazing but rather expensive Eden Project.

The cottage is generally well-presented and well-equipped. The upstairs bedroom has lovely views but very low ceilings (beware!). Downstairs has a comfortable bedroom, good shower room/toilet, rather narrow kitchen including small refrigerator and dishwasher, and a generous sitting/dining room. In short, perhaps not the perfect country cottage but with a great many good points and no major negatives, so it represents good value for money especially for early spring and late autumn.

We had a problem with the central heating and hot water during our stay, which our hosts the Gilham family could not have foreseen. They supplied electric heaters in the short term and worked hard to resolve the problem as soon as possible.

Our only disappointment was that the wood-burning stove visible in the photographs is not actually in use and we were told never has been. There might be good reasons but I doubt we are the only visitors to have been surprised by this, and it is the main reason I award four rather than five stars.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your visit,but the log fire did control the water and heating (which we thought wasn't working to the standard we like for the cottage),we had full oil central heating installed and was advised that we could not have both working so we left the fire there for a show piece.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Tunbridge Wells
5

A Great Holiday

  • 5 of 5

Sorry for the late, late review George!

We had a fabulous time at the cottage. Initially told it was available earlier than expected - sadly we had car trouble on A303 which made us very late.

Friendly welcome by George and family who couldn't have been more helpful in giving us information about the house and local area. Much to our delight, the field at the back had been extended to make a cricket and football pitch which pleased our two 10 year olds!!

The house itself was clean and fresh towels provided mid week are an added bonus. Having read the other reviews - there are a few flies (the house is in the countryside after all) but certainly not an issue and fly spray was provided. The only slight issue we had (this is very slight) was that after long days out in the glorious weather we had - the sofa wasnt the most comfortable. But as I said this is the only negative. The garden is secure for those who have younger children and it really is very peaceful - apart from the odd nosey sheep! Great for dinner outside at lunch or in the evening. And the shower is absolutely amazing!!

The nearest beach at Lansallos is a must for a visit, with crystal clear water and beautiful waterfall. NB the walk back up is tough so limited beach gear is my recommendation! We all loved the nearby village of Polperro - picture postcard scenery and giant, swimming lagoons which all children and adults will like. Local zoo is small but good value and for dodgy weather days there is a huge kids park with crazy golf, indoor play, dodgems and more 40 min drive away.

We had a great holiday - made better by the fabulous weather and the treatment received by the owners. They looked after our boys (and us) really well and they made their first proper holiday friend - something that we can all recall when we went on our family trips as kids.

Would 100% go back. Thanks for great summer holiday in 2016!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
polperro
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
bodinnck
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
looe
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Lostwithiel
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
polperro
Nearest Beach
0.75 Miles
Lansallos
Car: necessary

The holiday cotttage is located on the south Cornish coast close to Looe, Polperro, Polruan, Fowey and within a short drive of the Eden project, many National Trust properties including Landhydrock and the National Parks of Dartmoor and Bodmin Moor. The cottage is within close walking distance of Lansallos, a delightful Cornish hamlet located in Lantivet Bay boasting a splendid 14th Century Church of great architectural interest and lies on the Cornish Coastal path with spectacular coastal views. Par, St Austell and Liskeard main railway stations are also located within easy reach.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Looe, Cornwall

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
julytoaug
22 Jul 2017 - 26 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£520
for 7 nights
£520
 
 
septosep
2 Sep 2017 - 23 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£380
for 7 nights
£380
 
 
septodec
30 Sep 2017 - 16 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£290
for 7 nights
£290
 
 
dectojan
23 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

The prices vary throughout the year. The prices cover the whole week and the price you are charged is determined by the week you arrive. A week is between Saturday to Saturday. Minimum stay: 1 week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable