OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Country house with heated indoor pool

People22
Bedrooms 11
Bathrooms6
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Ideal for family and/or friends get togethers, Ardgour House is a Georgian mansion and accommodates larger groups.

The house is set in its own private grounds with generous garden space. The area is perfect for those wishing to explore the outdoors and is close to local fishing lochs and popular hill climbs and country walks.

The house benefits from indoor heated swimming pool and sauna, as well as billiards room.

Please note that we do not take bookings of single-sex parties.


Owner
Graeme Cox
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
17 April, 2018

Why Graeme Cox chose Fort William

Ardgour House is a basic but very attractive property in a stunning setting.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

A lovely house with plenty of space.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for the great stay Graeme! We loved to stay at this classic castle in the highlands of scotland. There is a lot to do in the surroundings of the castle, and the castle is perfectly suited and outfitted for large groups.
May 2017
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Fort William in Highland

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 22 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Ground Floor
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , Ground Floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Four Poster
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Four Poster
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Four Poster
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 7 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 9 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 10 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 11 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

3/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

25% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Country house with heated indoor pool
average rating of 3.0 based on 9 reviews
5

Excellent value for money + awesome house

  • 5 of 5

House owner Graeme was very accommodating with sporadic updates about weather and facilities before our stay.

The house is underrepresented in the pictures - its massive and you really get a sense of the history and people who have lived here in past times.

Although the house is tired and a little worse for wear in some places the over all condition is good for its age and the price you pay.

The upstairs living room is extremely well looked after and furnished, our party of 13 spent most evenings relaxing in here with & all bedrooms were kitted out and guests had all the expected and working amenities split across floors to cater for individual bedrooms.

Everything was in working order, clean and tidy for our arrival and the pool was a decent temperature for swimming in immediatly.

The location is sublime, access via ferry is super easy (10mins from boarding on the other side to departing and then arriving at house) and the surrounding area is stunning looking out of the many big windows :)

Thank you for a perfect stay

Ben

  • Review Submitted: 13-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

A lovely house in its day but requires a major overhaul and a cleaning program

  • 1 of 5

We had visited Ardgour house a number of years ago and enjoyed a stay in a tired but comfortable house that was a little dated. Seven years later I recommended it and returned with a family group and were shocked to find that not a penny had been spent on the upkeep of the property. Every room had an issue of some sort, most have wallpaper hanging off the walls, dampness, missing cornicing, carpets or bits of carpets that are threadbare, window frames that are rotting. The majority of the sockets don’t seem safe and are so randomly placed that it requires joins in the wiring that I wouldn’t trust. No PAT test stickers on any appliances, no smoke or heat detectors anywhere and only 3 fire extinguishers in the entire building.

Our bathroom was hanging with cobwebs and all the lamp and light shades were thick with dust. None of our party dared to have a bath. After enthusiastically showing the family the swimming pool I was completely deflated when it too looked as if it had not been cleaned for a while. You could scrape the dirt off the light switch in the swimming pool with your fingernail. I avoided the pool and after discovering broken glass in the sauna, that too was off limits. If they can’t clean a bathroom, what are the chances of the pool filters being cleaned?

I understand the difficulties and expense of maintaining a large old building but cleaning should be standard.

We were told that we couldn’t bring more than 2 dogs and I’m glad we didn’t bring any, the kennels they stayed at were cleaner.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is not easy to respond to what is not actually a review but an attack on our business and integrity but here goes. This guest says they stayed at Ardgour House 7 years ago and found it "tired and dated", yet booked it again this year. Prior to arrival we had to refuse permission to their request to bring 5 dogs and had reason to re-iterate our maximum occupancy policy of 22 persons, both of which the client was not happy about. Following departure the house was left in an unsatisfactory condition, including damaged furniture, poor state of cleanliness and many glasses had been broken, with broken glass strewn about the house, including in the sauna/pool area. The 'review' misrepresents the property, and includes gross exaggerations. Contrary to the claims made: - we do re-invest substantially in the property each and every year. -the property is cleaned by 4 cleaners before/after each let. -Our carpets are not remotely threadbare. -sockets and wiring are not unsafe. (Self catering houses do not require PAT testing, however we check all appliances regularly.) -We have a very thorough fire risk assessment, carried out by a professional body. Clear fire safety information is in our visitor book, including the location of the 14 interlinked smoke and heat detectors.To suggest otherwise is appalling. -The pool is cleaned and dosed between lets. -no broken glass was in the sauna / pool area when the property was handed over —There are no light switches in the swimming pool. That would clearly be dangerous. In such a very large, very old property, there can be items needing attention but they are generally minor and do not impact on the comfort of our guests. It is factually accurate that the client was refused permission to bring more than 2 dogs (and more than 22 guests ). To receive such a shocking 'review' to cover up damage and mess caused by the clients themselves and to 'punish' us for enforcing occupancy policy is shocking. This should not be the place for such abuse to be published but thus seems to be the world we live in. Please look at other reviews on here and on other sites about Ardgour House and make your own mind up about us. Many thanks. Graeme and Grace
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
3

Beautiful in its own way.

  • 3 of 5

We stayed with our family over the Christmas period had an absolutly amazing time all 22 of us. This house is in need of love in many places but for us this just added to the character of the place. The walks and outside views are phenominal.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, really glad your group enjoyed your stay over Christmas. We agree it takes a lot of love (and resources!) , and we do our very best to keep this very special house as comfortable as we can for groups to enjoy family breaks at a reasonable rate, so that lots of people can enjoy the lovely house and fabulous location. Graeme & Grace Cox
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Stunning old house in need of some TLC

  • 3 of 5

This is a fab old house in a good location for exploring the area.

It is old and is in need of some good tender loving care and some money spent on basic maintenance.

WIFI would also be welcome in this day and age and very poor phone signal.

Bedding and towels clean but any of the dishes in the kitchen needed washed before using.

Front lawn lovely and deer seen there every day, back of the house a bit of a mess. Sauna not working at full capacity.

Would love to come back but to be honest it would need some basis Care first and then might be worth what we paid.

  • Review Submitted: 22-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Evelyn, Thank you for your feedback. I take on board your comments but do have to counter some of the sweeping statements made. The House is not "desperately in need of some basic tender loving care". It is a very old, very large and pretty basic, self catering property aimed at larger groups. Each year a lot of money is spent maintaining this listed property. I find it a bit unlikely that every dish was not clean. I was in the house when you arrived over an hour early and indeed my wife showed you in. Five staff had just spent the last five hours cleaning the property. If a few of the approximately 170 items of crockery were found to be not clean, I apologise. Guests don't really have access to the rear of the house, there is nothing there for them, however it is in need of a clear out. Getting rid of broken items is not very easy in remote areas and we hire a skip a few times a year. Sorry if you had problems with the sauna. I check it between each use and did not find any fault with it. There is a timer switch on the heater itself. Instruction for this is in the visitor book and we are contactable 24/7 for any problems guest experience. Most mobile networks offer good reception at Ardgour House, although sometimes, as the walls are so thick it requires stepping out to the porch to get a good signal. I get very good 3G on the Three network. We do not advertise wifi at the house, nor is it currently possible to get wifi, much as we would like to. The local shop/tea room have wifi for customers, as do the local hotel. We did note that a few of the bedrooms were not used by your group. This in effect made your rental per head much more expensive than other groups. We charge the equivalent of £28 per person per night for short breaks. Commensurate with the rentals charged for accommodation in 'glamping pods' in the area. This drops to as low as £14.90 per person per night at maximum occupancy for off peak weeks. We are always sorry if guests are not happy with the accommodation we provide. We try to accurately represent Ardgour House as basic but comfortable accommodation, with very good leisure facilities and suitable for large groups. In light of your comments we will review our descriptions to ensure guests expectations are not unreasonable high. Graeme"
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1

Location

Nearest Airport
95 Miles
Glasgow
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Inn at Ardgour
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Ardgour
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Dragons Tooth
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Fort William
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Inn at Ardgour
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Nevis Range
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Salachan
Car: necessary

Within Lochaber there is canyoning, white water rafting, paintball, quad biking, skiing, mountain climbing, hill walking, museums, sailing, pony trekking and many other activities available. Around Ardgour, there are many lovely walks, fishing and a lovely beach.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Fort William, Scottish Highlands & Islands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring
9 Apr 2018 - 18 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,895
 
 
Whitsun
19 May 2018 - 26 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,095
for 7 nights
£3,095
 
 
June
28 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,895
 
 
July and August
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,395
for 7 nights
£3,395
 
 
September and October
1 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,895
 
 
November and December
1 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,395
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2018 - 28 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,395
for 7 nights
£3,395
 
 
New Year
29 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£3,595
for 7 nights
£3,595
 
 
January, February and March
6 Jan 2019 - 31 Mar 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,450
 
 
April
1 Apr 2019 - 12 Apr 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,895
 
 
Easter
13 Apr 2019 - 27 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
£3,095
for 7 nights
£3,095
 
 
April and May
28 Apr 2019 - 24 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,895
 
 
Whitsun
25 May 2019 - 1 Jun 2019
7 night minimum stay
£3,095
for 7 nights
£3,095
 
 
June
2 Jun 2019 - 30 Jun 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,895
 
 
July and August
1 Jul 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
£3,450
for 7 nights
£3,450
 
 
November and December
1 Nov 2019 - 20 Dec 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,450
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2019 - 27 Dec 2019
7 night minimum stay
£3,395
for 7 nights
£3,395
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2019 - 4 Jan 2020
7 night minimum stay
£3,595
for 7 nights
£3,595
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£2,395
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0

Booking deposit of £650. Balance of rental due 12 weeks prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable