OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

'Yellow Bird' - One Bedroom Luxurious Penthouse Apartment With Rooftop Terrace

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 14 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Exclusive Sugar Hill Apartment. Gated community. Beach Club Membership.

Enjoy the warm sun and relaxation of Barbados from Yellow Bird, this beautiful newly refurbished apartment based in Sugar Hill.

Named after the famous Yellow Bird of Barbados, the apartment overlooks lush tropical gardens and one of the two swimming pools with distant views of the Caribbean. As well as enjoying stunning views from both the dining and secluded rooftop terrace, you will be able to relax and unwind with privacy in this peaceful haven.

Very near to the fine dining restaurants of Barbados' West Coast, as well as more local bars and restaurants where you can sample some of the delicious Bajan dishes. Or why not enjoy alfresco wining and dining in Yellow Bird beneath the stars. Take your pick between the dining terrace or the rooftop terrace where you can sip your cocktails or even enjoy a BBQ.

Yellow Bird is very close to the amenities of upmarket Holetown as well as some of the most stunning beaches in Barbados. It comes with complimentary membership of the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club and Sugar Hill Club.

In the apartment you will find all the mod cons you would expect and there is air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge/kitchen. It has had a complete refurbishment with significant input from the famous Coral Island Interiors who has won 4 'Best Interior Design' Awards in the International Property Awards. Maid service twice weekly (more at extra charge) and if you require a welcome pack this can be arranged.

Please note this is a no smoking apartment throughout.

More Details

Owner
Kate
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 December, 2017

About Kate

Although I am British, I was lucky enough to spend my early childhood years in the Caribbean, particularly Barbados. My husband and I have been going out to Barbados for many years for our holidays and we know the island very well. We live in Cambridge in the UK.

Kate purchased this apartment in 2015

Why Kate chose Mount Standfast

Obviously Barbados has a very special significance for me because of my time there as a child but putting that aside I love everything about the island. The people are so friendly and always make you feel welcome where ever you go. It is a very safe place and we love to just hire a car and get lost on the island! I like the laid back culture and I particularly enjoy the local food and the rum shacks as well as the upmarket international restaurants on the West Coast. I like the contrast between the sophisticated West Coast with its calm Caribbean waters and the unspoilt, often deserted coast of the rougher Atlantic East side.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mount Standfast in Saint James

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18 ...
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Third party bookings not accepted. Bookings only accepted by the person who will be staying in Yellow Bird.
  • Fairmont Beach Club passes are not included as part of the rental. They are a complimentary extra. Compensation is not due if facilities are shut.
  • The on site restaurant is outside the control of Yellow Bird. Compensation is not due if facilities are shut.
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Double sink and shower. All towels provided including beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - King size bed
  • One kingsize bed, wardrobe space, safe and dressing table. Air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge. All linen provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
The concierge at the Sugar Hill Club House can arrange restaurant bookings, taxis, car hire, tours and provide all kinds of information. The Property Manager of Yellow Bird can provide taxis for airport pickups, a welcome grocery pack, extra maid cleaning and even the service of a private chef.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
'Yellow Bird' - One Bedroom Luxurious Penthouse Apartment With Rooftop Terrace
average rating of 4.4583335 based on 24 reviews
5

Yellow Bird is a beautiful apartment set in lovely surroundings

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Yellow Bird - it was the perfect place for a relaxing two week vacation. The apartment itself is very tastefully furnished, extremely well equipped, even down to a cooler bag for taking drinks to the beach! We were very well looked after by Sasha the property manager from Sothebys and Phil the housekeeper who keeps the apartment spotlessly clean. The sun terrace has views across the Sugar Hill estate to the sea and was a lovely setting for our sundowners and barbecues! Sugar Hill is a very well kept, quiet and well maintained development.The two pools (one of which is just a few steps from the apartment) are excellently maintained and for the most part we had them to ourselves! We hired a car and so had quick and easy access to the Fairmont beach and bar/cafe - the staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was very good - we ate there on several occasions. We also visited a few places on the island that we hadn't been to before: St.Nicholas Abbey (and old sugar plantation house that has been beautifully restored and where we purchased some of the rum that they now produce) and Bottom Bay, were two of the highlights. All in all we had a very relaxing and memorable vacation and will certainly be going back to Yellow Bird in the not too distant future.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your glowing review. I am very pleased that you both had such a lovely stay. I will pass on your compliments to both Sasha and Phil - they both do such an excellent job of looking after my guests. I'm glad you saw Bottom Bay which is one of our favourite beaches! I look forward to welcoming you again to Yellow Bird.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A lovely quiet week on Sugar Hill

  • 4 of 5

The apartment sits on top of a small block mid way up the west coast of Barbados. Although we hired a car, really the cost of taxis being so reasonable, and the excellent "Carlos" at our disposal, it worked out about the same and saves the aggro of driving.

The apartment was clean and tidy and had a roof terrace. Perfect for two people, but below us a family of 5 were staying in the same size unit! The apartment was well equipped, even a line of ice cold beer waiting for us on arrival, thanks!

Sugar Hill is a safe, gated community with a couple of lovely pools, the main one being adjacent to the restaurant which we enjoyed on three occasions. Owned by an English lady "Carizma on the Hill" is a real find and the community are really lucky to have it on site!

All resort staff were friendly, use of a small gym was also included.

We were really unlucky with the weather. having been in Barbados for the last 8 years at this time of year...and we have never had so much rain! It poured down and we spent a bit more time in the apartment than we would of liked to, not exploring the wonderful beaches and scenery. This would leave me to my only feedback that we found the sitting room furniture a little bit uncomfortable, and perhaps an upgrade should be on the cards.

Having said that, if it had been sunny we would not of noticed, and the communication, ease of booking and general facilities were lovely, good value and a very pleasant holiday.

Thanks for everything, Kind Regards Rob and Mel.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review Rob and Mel. I'm so glad that you enjoyed staying at the apartment and found it to have everything that you needed. I agree with you that we are very lucky to have the wonderful "Carizma on the Hill" restaurant and I'm glad that you made the most of all the other lovely facilities that Sugar Hill offers. I'm glad you found Carlos to be helpful with your taxi service - he is definitely one of our favourites! Your comments about the settee in the lounge have been noted and we will monitor this. You are welcome to come and stay at Yellow Bird again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Stay at Yellow Bird

  • 5 of 5

My Husband and I stayed at Yellow Bird for 11 nights. On arrival we were met by the housekeeper who was extremely helpful and friendly. She kept the apartment beautifully clean throughout our stay.The apartment had everything we could have hoped for. It is perfect for 2 people with a great location on the Sugar Hill development, close to the pools and the main reception area with a lovely restaurant and bar. We also used the gym facilities at Sugar Hill almost every day and it is well equipped and very clean. The apartment itself has a nice outdoor dining area and an upper terrace which was fabulous for sunset drinks and barbecuing. We have visited Barbados before but this is the first time we stayed in an apartment rather than an hotel. We chose to dine at several restaurants but also wanted to be able to eat in the apartment. The kitchen is fully equipped and we had everything at hand to make any meals ourselves. The nearest super market is very close in Holetown (although closed for renovations during our stay). We shopped elsewhere but it was not a problem at all. We would definitely recommend a car to stay here as most places are close but too far to walk. We were very pleased to be in this location as all the best restaurants and shopping are a short ride away. The additional use of the facilities at The Fairmont Beach Club was a real bonus as we went to the beach most days and the Beach club restaurant was very good. The fact that you can use the beach facilities without an extra charge is great and the beach is very safe with a friendly security lady, who assured us we could swim and not have to be concerned about valuables on the beach. Our favorite restaurants are Lone Star, Cin Cin and Carizma on the hill (right in Sugar Hill itself). We also visited the Barbados wildlife reserve on our only rainy day and that was fun. We only needed to call the management company once during our stay for a slight issue and they responded quickly and sent a maintenance person right away. The only thing we wish we had done was to book for longer!! We would certainly stay at Yellow Bird again and would definitely recommend it to our friends. Thank you Kate for a wonderful stay we will be back.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It is very rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you would choose to come again to Yellow Bird. I agree with you about Sugar Hill being such a good location for the best restaurants on the West coast and also the great shops in Holetown. It's great that you made the most of the Fairmont Beach Club and enjoyed their facilities as well as all the amenities in Sugar Hill itself. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Yellow Bird.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, even better service.

  • 5 of 5

Yellow bird was a great choice for our trip to Barbados. The home itself was lovely, very nicely decorated, equipped with extras like a cooler bag and plenty of nice beach towels. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked great. We were greeted by a caretaker on our arrival who walked us through how the appliances worked and clearly explained when she'd be back to clean during the week.

We chose to visit during an especially active hurricane season and our flight out was cancelled. I contacted the property manager, Sasha, who kept in close contact with us while arranging with the owner for us to stay until our flight was rescheduled. The owner, Kate also personally reached out to us about staying until it was clear to fly. I was very impressed with the manner both Kate and Sasha treated us. The hurricane could have caused major stress for us, but amazingly it didn't! I highly recommend the Yellow Bird to anyone visiting Barbados!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review. I'm glad you had a few days to enjoy Yellow Bird before the hurricane passed close by to Barbados on your last day. Luckily for Barbados, it is not actually in the official hurricane path (the last hurricane hit the island in 1954 I believe) but this one certainly got up quite close! I'm glad you felt supported by both Sasha and myself - it was no problem at all to let you stay an extra night so that you could reschedule your flight. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and hope that you will return for another visit to Yellow Bird.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Luxury penthouse apartment this is not

  • 1 of 5

Our stay at Yellowbird was cut short as our initial impression was disappointing and did not improve materially over the five days we stayed out of the 17 we booked.

We didn't get a 'meet and greet' service from Sotheby's, instead an email at 2:59, the time our BA flight landed, asking us to pickup the keys from reception. We found this when we logged into the apartments wi-fi. We were told at the gate at Sugar Hill that the keys were at reception, so we let ourselves in to be 'greeted' by a large puddle of water on the kitchen floor which came from the laundry cupboard. We called Sotheby's who said someone would come the next day - we said someone should come sooner as we had no idea what was causing the leak. A repair man did arrive later and said it was 'residual' from a recent repair. This was not the case as we turned the machine on the next day and another puddle ensued! Two technicians arrived during the course of the day and repaired it.

Our first night in the apartment on what subsequently proved to be 2 x "Orthopedic Extra Firm" mattresses, not a king size bed as described but two singles pushed together, which together with polycotton sheets and synthetic fibre filled pillows meant a singularly uncomfortable night. We don't have a medical condition of the back, like many people have 'problematic' backs and therefore prior to booking asked the owner 'how would you describe the mattress tension on the bed, hard, soft etc? She replied 'It's neither soft or hard - or I would have been the first to notice'. If we had been told the correct mattress tension we would not have made the booking.

Sasha from Sotheby's made a brief appearance with 2 feather pillows the following day but didn't linger. 2 remedies for the bed suggested by Sotheby's were a thick sponge foam mattress topper which we endured for four nights ~ far too hot, or revert to sleeping on the sofa-bed as an alternative ~ ridiculous!, neither of which solved the mattress problem.

As we were unable to change the mattress we were forced to find alternative accommodation, incurring additional costs to ourselves, was extremely inconvenient and very disappointing we checked out of Yellowbird 12 days early, advising Sotheby's who simply told us to leave the keys at reception. We received no apology from them or the owner, who told us if we left on or before 9th July she would refund 7 days rent.

Phil was very good

FYI - no convenient local supermarket until Nov!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mrs Swinton When you initially made the booking, perhaps my alarm bells should have started ringing when you mentioned that you have only ever stayed in upmarket hotels, which of course have the capacity to offer a range of bedding, pillows and mattresses, and have never booked a self catering private rental accommodation before. However, I will now deal with the points you have raised. We have all (Sotheby's, Phil and myself) apologised to you profusely for the fact that Phil was called away on a family emergency and was unable to meet you. The meet and greet service I offer is an unofficial arrangement that I have with Phil, not Sotheby's, and she is good enough to try and be there to meet every guest on my behalf. You will find that a lot of the apartments in the block do not offer this service at all and that it is the norm for guests to pick up keys from Reception. However, once again. I do apologise for this. The leak - the repair man had been called out before your arrival to mend a small leak in the washing machine. Obviously in the rush to get this mended before you arrived, he didn't repair this satisfactorily and, again, I apologise for this. Sasha, my property manager, gave you a list of time options including the next morning when the technician could return. You told her that it wasn't convenient for a certain time in the evening as you were "resting" but in the end he called around at 6.30 pm which must have been an hour or so after your arrival. Very shortly after you arrived, you requested that my property manager went out and bought some new feather pillows for you. This was turned down on account that I have to cater for the majority of guests and that some actually might be allergic to feathers. Sasha was good enough though to borrow some for you. You then turned your attention to the mattress. Out of 84 guests so far, a lot of them repeats, only you have complained about this. You asked what my personal opinion was of the mattress which I gave as comfortable, not hard, not soft. This I still stand by and obvously most of my guests agree. Again, we put forward several options including a topper and use of the sofa bed. You turned them down. At my suggestion, after no pleasing you, you moved out. I even offered you a week's refund even though I have a no refund cancellation policy. I note the one star review. I too have given you a Guest one star review. Other property owners need to be aware.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 3
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
4

The property was very nice. The location was outstanding.

  • 4 of 5

Yellow Bird was absolutely perfect for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We found it to be very comfortable and loved the location. We spent much of our time during the day out exploring and very much looked forward to coming back to the apartment and relaxing by the pool. The membership card for the Fairmount is definitely an added bonus.

We found the owner recommendations to be be very helpful and went to many of the ones listed. Our personal favourites were "The SeaCat" and "De Outback". We also really love Mullins Beach.

We having been raving about our stay at Yellow Bird and about the island of Barbados. We will definitely be going back. I'm quite confident the owners will be hearing from us again in the future as to the availability of the Yellow Bird.

Sincerely,

Jason

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jason Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much for this. I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our recommendations helpful. I have to agree with you about Sea Cat restaurant. It is probably our favourite and is only two minutes drive away from Yellow Bird. I'm glad you took advantage of the Royal Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club passes. It's set on one of the nicest beaches on the West Coast and I hear from my Property Manager that the beachside restaurant/cafe now offers 10% off their excellent food and drink. I hope to welcome you back to Yellow Bird in the future. Thank you for recommending it to your friends.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Grantley Adams Airport 40 minutes drive
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Fairmont Pavilion Beach club 5 minutes drive
Car: necessary

Yellow Bird is within 5 minutes drive of pretty Holetown where you will find all essential amenities. It has a large supermarket, a post office, a patisserie, banks, garage, medical centre and a hardware store. You will also find duty free shopping, boutique shops as well as famous fashion shops such as Ralph Lauren, Cartier and Louis Vuitton in upmarket Lime Grove with its modern cinema. Holetown also offers a big choice of restaurants and bars.

Also within 5 minutes drive is the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club to which you have complimentary membership. This offers water sports, loungers, a bar and outside café/restaurant and is set on one of the island's prettiest beaches.

Sugar Hill Estate itself has a clubhouse which offers an infinity swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, another large swimming pool, gym and a restaurant. This is all 2 minutes walk from the apartment.

Further afield but still within easy car driving distance are numerous attractions such as Sunbury Plantation House, Harrisons Cave, The Flower Forest, the Mount Gay Rum Factory (lunch and tour) and Earthworks Pottery. A trip to the unspoilt and often deserted beaches such as Bottom Bay on the South-East Coast will take about an hour and of course a trip into the historical capital Bridgetown should not be missed. There you will find lots of duty free shopping, good quality restaurants, a museum and an attractive harbour where you can pick up a catamaran cruise for the day.

There is so much to do and see on this beautiful island that we would be very pleased to send out an information pack with our own personal recommendations in it when you book the property.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Mount Standfast, Barbados

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
December 2017
1 Dec 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£1,020
 
 
Christmas 2017
20 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
14 night minimum stay
£3,260
for 14 nights
£1,630
 
 
High Season 2018
4 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£570
for 3 nights
From
£190
£1,300
 
 
Low 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
£900
 
 
September rates
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
£700
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£165
for 1 night
From
£165
£1,150
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £300

Please note that the owner only accepts online payments through the Owners Direct website. Cash, cheques or bank transfers are not accepted. A £300 security deposit is taken when the balance of the holiday is paid. This is held by Owners Direct, not the owner, and authorisation for it to be returned will be given after the inventory on the property has been completed by Sotheby's. It will be returned within two weeks of the end of the holiday and put on the same card that was used to pay for the holiday with. Please also note that the free complimentary passes to the Fairmont Royal Pavilion Beach Club are a bonus to the rental of the apartment and should not be viewed as part of the package. Like the onsite restaurant in Sugar Hill, the Beach Club is offered as an EXTRA and therefore compensation should not be expected if either of these facilities are not available for part of or all of the duration of the holiday maker's stay.

Third party bookings are not accepted. The owner only accepts direct bookings from people who are going to be guests staying in the property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable