OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

'Yellow Bird' - One Bedroom Luxurious Penthouse Apartment With Rooftop Terrace

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 14 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Exclusive Sugar Hill Apartment. Gated community. Beach Club Membership.

Enjoy the warm sun and relaxation of Barbados from Yellow Bird, this beautiful newly refurbished apartment based in Sugar Hill.

Named after the famous Yellow Bird of Barbados, the apartment overlooks lush tropical gardens and one of the two swimming pools with distant views of the Caribbean. As well as enjoying stunning views from both the dining and secluded rooftop terrace, you will be able to relax and unwind with privacy in this peaceful haven.

Very near to the fine dining restaurants of Barbados' West Coast, as well as more local bars and restaurants where you can sample some of the delicious Bajan dishes. Or why not enjoy alfresco wining and dining in Yellow Bird beneath the stars. Take your pick between the dining terrace or the rooftop terrace where you can sip your cocktails or even enjoy a BBQ.

Yellow Bird is very close to the amenities of upmarket Holetown as well as some of the most stunning beaches in Barbados. It comes with complimentary membership of the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club and Sugar Hill Club.

In the apartment you will find all the mod cons you would expect and there is air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge/kitchen. It has had a complete refurbishment with significant input from the famous Coral Island Interiors who has won 4 'Best Interior Design' Awards in the International Property Awards. Maid service twice weekly (more at extra charge) and if you require a welcome pack this can be arranged.

Please note this is a no smoking apartment throughout.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
25 September, 2017

About Kate

Although I am British, I was lucky enough to spend my early childhood years in the Caribbean, particularly Barbados. My husband and I have been going out to Barbados for many years for our holidays and we know the island very well. We live in Cambridge in the UK.

Kate purchased this apartment in 2015

Why Kate chose St. James

Obviously Barbados has a very special significance for me because of my time there as a child but putting that aside I love everything about the island. The people are so friendly and always make you feel welcome where ever you go. It is a very safe place and we love to just hire a car and get lost on the island! I like the laid back culture and I particularly enjoy the local food and the rum shacks as well as the upmarket international restaurants on the West Coast. I like the contrast between the sophisticated West Coast with its calm Caribbean waters and the unspoilt, often deserted coast of the rougher Atlantic East side.


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Grantley Adams Airport 40 minutes drive
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Fairmont Pavilion Beach club 5 minutes drive
Car: necessary

Yellow Bird is within 5 minutes drive of pretty Holetown where you will find all essential amenities. It has a large supermarket, a post office, a patisserie, banks, garage, medical centre and a hardware store. You will also find duty free shopping, boutique shops as well as famous fashion shops such as Ralph Lauren, Cartier and Louis Vuitton in upmarket Lime Grove with its modern cinema. Holetown also offers a big choice of restaurants and bars.

Also within 5 minutes drive is the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club to which you have complimentary membership. This offers water sports, loungers, a bar and outside café/restaurant and is set on one of the island's prettiest beaches.

Sugar Hill Estate itself has a clubhouse which offers an infinity swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, another large swimming pool, gym and a restaurant. This is all 2 minutes walk from the apartment.

Further afield but still within easy car driving distance are numerous attractions such as Sunbury Plantation House, Harrisons Cave, The Flower Forest, the Mount Gay Rum Factory (lunch and tour) and Earthworks Pottery. A trip to the unspoilt and often deserted beaches such as Bottom Bay on the South-East Coast will take about an hour and of course a trip into the historical capital Bridgetown should not be missed. There you will find lots of duty free shopping, good quality restaurants, a museum and an attractive harbour where you can pick up a catamaran cruise for the day.

There is so much to do and see on this beautiful island that we would be very pleased to send out an information pack with our own personal recommendations in it when you book the property.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mount Standfast in Saint James

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Double sink and shower. All towels provided including beach towels.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - King size bed
  • One kingsize bed, wardrobe space, safe and dressing table. Air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge. All linen provided.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
The concierge at the Sugar Hill Club House can arrange restaurant bookings, taxis, car hire, tours and provide all kinds of information. The Property Manager of Yellow Bird can provide taxis for airport pickups, a welcome grocery pack, extra maid cleaning and even the service of a private chef.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
'Yellow Bird' - One Bedroom Luxurious Penthouse Apartment With Rooftop Terrace
average rating of 4.4 based on 20 reviews

Superb Apartment, Great Location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our first stay at Yellow Bird. The apartment was excellent and perfect for my husband and I in every way. Very clean, well equipped and exactly like the photos. We arrived at the Sugar Hill estate early evening on our first day, picked up the keys from the club house and Phil the housekeeper was waiting for us. Phil was excellent, very friendly, helpful and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.

The grounds and facilities of the Sugar Hill estate were excellent. The communal pools were also never too busy which was ideal for us and we also dined at the newly opened restaurant in the clubhouse 'Carizma on the Hill' where the food was very good and there was also live music on which made it extra nice.

With the apartment you also get access to the Beach Club at the Fairmont Hotel which is 5 minutes drive away which was an added bonus for us. Again not too busy and you can easily get a comfy lounger and brolly a few steps away from the sea.

All in all a fabulous holiday, great apartment, great location and communication with Kate (the owner) and Phil was excellent.

We highly recommend this apartment and we have booked to go back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your lovely review! I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and loved your stay in Yellow Bird. I agree that Carizma on the Hill restaurant is an excellent addition to Sugar Hill - Mark and I were staying in Yellow Bird a couple of weeks before you arrived and enjoyed many evenings dining there, sampling their cocktails and enjoying the live but not intrusive music! I'm glad that you made good use of your free pass to the Fairmont Royal Pavilion Beach Club - we love it there. Thank you for your compliments about Phil. She is wonderful and I will pass your comments onto her. I look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Luxury penthouse apartment this is not

  • 1 of 5

Our stay at Yellowbird was cut short as our initial impression was disappointing and did not improve materially over the five days we stayed out of the 17 we booked.

We didn't get a 'meet and greet' service from Sotheby's, instead an email at 2:59, the time our BA flight landed, asking us to pickup the keys from reception. We found this when we logged into the apartments wi-fi. We were told at the gate at Sugar Hill that the keys were at reception, so we let ourselves in to be 'greeted' by a large puddle of water on the kitchen floor which came from the laundry cupboard. We called Sotheby's who said someone would come the next day - we said someone should come sooner as we had no idea what was causing the leak. A repair man did arrive later and said it was 'residual' from a recent repair. This was not the case as we turned the machine on the next day and another puddle ensued! Two technicians arrived during the course of the day and repaired it.

Our first night in the apartment on what subsequently proved to be 2 x "Orthopedic Extra Firm" mattresses, not a king size bed as described but two singles pushed together, which together with polycotton sheets and synthetic fibre filled pillows meant a singularly uncomfortable night. We don't have a medical condition of the back, like many people have 'problematic' backs and therefore prior to booking asked the owner 'how would you describe the mattress tension on the bed, hard, soft etc? She replied 'It's neither soft or hard - or I would have been the first to notice'. If we had been told the correct mattress tension we would not have made the booking.

Sasha from Sotheby's made a brief appearance with 2 feather pillows the following day but didn't linger. 2 remedies for the bed suggested by Sotheby's were a thick sponge foam mattress topper which we endured for four nights ~ far too hot, or revert to sleeping on the sofa-bed as an alternative ~ ridiculous!, neither of which solved the mattress problem.

As we were unable to change the mattress we were forced to find alternative accommodation, incurring additional costs to ourselves, was extremely inconvenient and very disappointing we checked out of Yellowbird 12 days early, advising Sotheby's who simply told us to leave the keys at reception. We received no apology from them or the owner, who told us if we left on or before 9th July she would refund 7 days rent.

Phil was very good

FYI - no convenient local supermarket until Nov!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mrs Swinton When you initially made the booking, perhaps my alarm bells should have started ringing when you mentioned that you have only ever stayed in upmarket hotels, which of course have the capacity to offer a range of bedding, pillows and mattresses, and have never booked a self catering private rental accommodation before. However, I will now deal with the points you have raised. We have all (Sotheby's, Phil and myself) apologised to you profusely for the fact that Phil was called away on a family emergency and was unable to meet you. The meet and greet service I offer is an unofficial arrangement that I have with Phil, not Sotheby's, and she is good enough to try and be there to meet every guest on my behalf. You will find that a lot of the apartments in the block do not offer this service at all and that it is the norm for guests to pick up keys from Reception. However, once again. I do apologise for this. The leak - the repair man had been called out before your arrival to mend a small leak in the washing machine. Obviously in the rush to get this mended before you arrived, he didn't repair this satisfactorily and, again, I apologise for this. Sasha, my property manager, gave you a list of time options including the next morning when the technician could return. You told her that it wasn't convenient for a certain time in the evening as you were "resting" but in the end he called around at 6.30 pm which must have been an hour or so after your arrival. Very shortly after you arrived, you requested that my property manager went out and bought some new feather pillows for you. This was turned down on account that I have to cater for the majority of guests and that some actually might be allergic to feathers. Sasha was good enough though to borrow some for you. You then turned your attention to the mattress. Out of 84 guests so far, a lot of them repeats, only you have complained about this. You asked what my personal opinion was of the mattress which I gave as comfortable, not hard, not soft. This I still stand by and obvously most of my guests agree. Again, we put forward several options including a topper and use of the sofa bed. You turned them down. At my suggestion, after no pleasing you, you moved out. I even offered you a week's refund even though I have a no refund cancellation policy. I note the one star review. I too have given you a Guest one star review. Other property owners need to be aware.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada

The property was very nice. The location was outstanding.

  • 4 of 5

Yellow Bird was absolutely perfect for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We found it to be very comfortable and loved the location. We spent much of our time during the day out exploring and very much looked forward to coming back to the apartment and relaxing by the pool. The membership card for the Fairmount is definitely an added bonus.

We found the owner recommendations to be be very helpful and went to many of the ones listed. Our personal favourites were "The SeaCat" and "De Outback". We also really love Mullins Beach.

We having been raving about our stay at Yellow Bird and about the island of Barbados. We will definitely be going back. I'm quite confident the owners will be hearing from us again in the future as to the availability of the Yellow Bird.



  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jason Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much for this. I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our recommendations helpful. I have to agree with you about Sea Cat restaurant. It is probably our favourite and is only two minutes drive away from Yellow Bird. I'm glad you took advantage of the Royal Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club passes. It's set on one of the nicest beaches on the West Coast and I hear from my Property Manager that the beachside restaurant/cafe now offers 10% off their excellent food and drink. I hope to welcome you back to Yellow Bird in the future. Thank you for recommending it to your friends.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Sugar Hill is one of the best places to stay on the island.

  • 5 of 5

Overall the apartment is excellent. The one thing that lets it down is the air conditioning set up. The sitting room works fine, but the bedroom another matter!

For the air con to stay on the windows and doors must be closed and the motion sensors must be kept active, which is all very well during the day but as soon as you lie down in bed the inactivity of the motion sensors switches the unit off.

This means that in practice there is no air con at night in the bedroom.

With nighttime temperatures of 80 degrees it was stifling and very uncomfortable.

Not everyone wants to sleep with both the bedroom door and patio doors open at night whilst sleeping, to minimise the stifling heat, as there are rats mice monkeys and bats as potential bedroom visitors.

Keeping the doors and curtains closed all day helps to keep the temperature down but the air is rather stale as a result.

I do appreciate that the sensors are in place to save electricity costs, but this is a "luxury" apartment and a properly functioning air con is a must in my opinion.

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear that you found the apartment to be excellent. I am sorry to hear that the air conditioning unit in the bedroom wasn't working properly. The motion sensor should be sensitive enough to detect movement when you are sleeping and should remain on while you are asleep. I will let Sasha, my Property Manager, know and she will look into this for me. Just to put your mind at ease, I have yet to see any mice, bats, rats and green monkeys in the apartment!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Yellow Bird

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at Yellow Bird and it was perfect for our needs - two adults and one child who slept on the sofa bed. We arrived almost two hours late following our delayed flight on a Sunday evening and yet Phil was still there to meet us. The apartment had everything we needed to eat in, a lovely terrace with BBQ and a light breeze. There was a cooler bag with ice packs in the freezer and Tupperware so being able to make a packed lunch some days was really helpful (we thought prices had risen dramatically since our last visit so this was a great option for us). The two pool areas at the complex were clean and well kept; we especially loved the main pool so we could have an early evening cocktail watching my son swim; although we spent most of our day at the beaches. All in all a fantastic holiday. My only query is how long it takes to get our deposit returned? We have now been back almost 2 weeks and I haven't heard anything about it and can't find any information on the Owners Direct site.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad to hear that everything went well for you and that Phil, my lovely housekeeper, was there to welcome you in spite of the delay in your arrival. Just to answer your query about the security deposit - it is in my rental rules that you agree to before signing up to the holiday. There is a paragraph under the heading Security Deposit which explains that the money is refunded to you 14 days after your return providing there is no loss or damage. The Security Deposit is always held by Owners Direct and not myself and it is returned by them onto the same card which is used by you to pay online for the holiday. I hope to welcome you back again to Yellow Bird in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic stay at Yellowbird

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay recently at Yellowbird. The apartment is lovely and very well equipped. The roof terrace is brilliant and we also loved the pool area which is about a 1 minute walk away. Sugar Hill itself is lovely and the Carizma on the Hill restaurant is thoroughly recommended. Holetown is only a 5 minute drive away but we would recommend hiring a car as Taxi fares are very expensive. We are planning on returning as soon as we possibly can.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay in Yellow Bird and made good use of the roof terrace. All my guests love the extra space and privacy up there and it's my own favourite spot to watch the sun go down with a drink in hand! I agree with you about renting a car which can easily be arranged by my property manager prior to arriving in Barbados. Carizma on the Hill restaurant is a fantastic bonus to the club house in Sugar Hill - I am getting a lot of positive feedback from guests on it. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Mount Standfast, Barbados

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
September special 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Low 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
December 2017
1 Dec 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas 2017
20 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
14 night minimum stay
for 14 nights
High Season 2018
4 Jan 2018 - 22 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Low 2018
23 Apr 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
September rates
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Oct 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
December 2018
1 Dec 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
14 night minimum stay
for 14 nights
High Season 2019
5 Jan 2019 - 22 Apr 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £300

Please note that the owner only accepts online payments through the Owners Direct website. Cash, cheques or bank transfers are not accepted. A £300 security deposit is taken when the balance of the holiday is paid. This is held by Owners Direct, not the owner, and authorisation for it to be returned will be given after the inventory on the property has been completed by Sotheby's. It will be returned within two weeks of the end of the holiday and put on the same card that was used to pay for the holiday with.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question