OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

'Yellow Bird' - One Bedroom Luxurious Penthouse Apartment With Rooftop Terrace

Overview

Property

Updated: 22-May-2017
  • Sleeps 3
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Exclusive Sugar Hill Apartment. Gated community. Beach Club Membership.

Enjoy the warm sun and relaxation of Barbados from Yellow Bird, this beautiful newly refurbished apartment based in Sugar Hill.

Named after the famous Yellow Bird of Barbados, the apartment overlooks lush tropical gardens and one of the two swimming pools with distant views of the Caribbean. As well as enjoying stunning views from both the dining and secluded rooftop terrace, you will be able to relax and unwind with privacy in this peaceful haven.

Very near to the fine dining restaurants of Barbados' West Coast, as well as more local bars and restaurants where you can sample some of the delicious Bajan dishes. Or why not enjoy alfresco wining and dining in Yellow Bird beneath the stars. Take your pick between the dining terrace or the rooftop terrace where you can sip your cocktails or even enjoy a BBQ.

Yellow Bird is very close to the amenities of upmarket Holetown as well as some of the most stunning beaches in Barbados. It comes with complimentary membership of the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club and Sugar Hill Club.

In the apartment you will find all the mod cons you would expect and there is air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge/kitchen. It has had a complete refurbishment with significant input from the famous Coral Island Interiors who has won 4 'Best Interior Design' Awards in the International Property Awards. Maid service twice weekly (more at extra charge) and if you require a welcome pack this can be arranged.

Please note this is a no smoking apartment throughout.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Kate
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2017

About Kate

Although I am British, I was lucky enough to spend my early childhood years in the Caribbean, particularly Barbados. My husband and I have been going out to Barbados for many years for our holidays and we know the island very well. We live in Cambridge in the UK.

Kate purchased this apartment in 2015

Why Kate chose St. James

Obviously Barbados has a very special significance for me because of my time there as a child but putting that aside I love everything about the island. The people are so friendly and always make you feel welcome where ever you go. It is a very safe place and we love to just hire a car and get lost on the island! I like the laid back culture and I particularly enjoy the local food and the rum shacks as well as the upmarket international restaurants on the West Coast. I like the contrast between the sophisticated West Coast with its calm Caribbean waters and the unspoilt, often deserted coast of the rougher Atlantic East side.

17 Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

5

Superb Apartment, Great Location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our first stay at Yellow Bird. The apartment was excellent and perfect for my husband and I in every way. Very clean, well equipped and exactly like the photos. We arrived at the Sugar Hill estate early evening on our first day, picked up the keys from the club house and Phil the housekeeper was waiting for us. Phil was excellent, very friendly, helpful and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.

The grounds and facilities of the Sugar Hill estate were excellent. The communal pools were also never too busy which was ideal for us and we also dined at the newly opened restaurant in the clubhouse 'Carizma on the Hill' where the food was very good and there was also live music on which made it extra nice.

With the apartment you also get access to the Beach Club at the Fairmont Hotel which is 5 minutes drive away which was an added bonus for us. Again not too busy and you can easily get a comfy lounger and brolly a few steps away from the sea.

All in all a fabulous holiday, great apartment, great location and communication with Kate (the owner) and Phil was excellent.

We highly recommend this apartment and we have booked to go back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your lovely review! I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and loved your stay in Yellow Bird. I agree that Carizma on the Hill restaurant is an excellent addition to Sugar Hill - Mark and I were staying in Yellow Bird a couple of weeks before you arrived and enjoyed many evenings dining there, sampling their cocktails and enjoying the live but not intrusive music! I'm glad that you made good use of your free pass to the Fairmont Royal Pavilion Beach Club - we love it there. Thank you for your compliments about Phil. She is wonderful and I will pass your comments onto her. I look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Yellow Bird

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at Yellow Bird and it was perfect for our needs - two adults and one child who slept on the sofa bed. We arrived almost two hours late following our delayed flight on a Sunday evening and yet Phil was still there to meet us. The apartment had everything we needed to eat in, a lovely terrace with BBQ and a light breeze. There was a cooler bag with ice packs in the freezer and Tupperware so being able to make a packed lunch some days was really helpful (we thought prices had risen dramatically since our last visit so this was a great option for us). The two pool areas at the complex were clean and well kept; we especially loved the main pool so we could have an early evening cocktail watching my son swim; although we spent most of our day at the beaches. All in all a fantastic holiday. My only query is how long it takes to get our deposit returned? We have now been back almost 2 weeks and I haven't heard anything about it and can't find any information on the Owners Direct site.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad to hear that everything went well for you and that Phil, my lovely housekeeper, was there to welcome you in spite of the delay in your arrival. Just to answer your query about the security deposit - it is in my rental rules that you agree to before signing up to the holiday. There is a paragraph under the heading Security Deposit which explains that the money is refunded to you 14 days after your return providing there is no loss or damage. The Security Deposit is always held by Owners Direct and not myself and it is returned by them onto the same card which is used by you to pay online for the holiday. I hope to welcome you back again to Yellow Bird in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic stay at Yellowbird

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay recently at Yellowbird. The apartment is lovely and very well equipped. The roof terrace is brilliant and we also loved the pool area which is about a 1 minute walk away. Sugar Hill itself is lovely and the Carizma on the Hill restaurant is thoroughly recommended. Holetown is only a 5 minute drive away but we would recommend hiring a car as Taxi fares are very expensive. We are planning on returning as soon as we possibly can.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay in Yellow Bird and made good use of the roof terrace. All my guests love the extra space and privacy up there and it's my own favourite spot to watch the sun go down with a drink in hand! I agree with you about renting a car which can easily be arranged by my property manager prior to arriving in Barbados. Carizma on the Hill restaurant is a fantastic bonus to the club house in Sugar Hill - I am getting a lot of positive feedback from guests on it. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

YellowBird - Sugar Hill, Holetown

  • 5 of 5

Second stay this year at this five star condo - the sun deck/barbeque area makes this condo unit great for those who want to dine at the condo; the access to the nearby beach club as well as the proximity to the stores in Holetown has again given us a great vacation - highly recommended

  • Review Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for once again choosing Yellow Bird for your stay in Barbados. It was a pleasure to welcome you back again! Great to hear that you made full use of the BBQ on the sun deck and took advantage of the guest passes to the beach club. I agree that it's very useful to be so close to Holetown with all its stores, boutique shops and the pretty chattel village. Thanks for your lovely review and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Not worth it - Much better options around the island - Be careful

  • 1 of 5

Sugar Hills suppose to be a luxury condo, but during our 3 nights stay there were several water cuts, last one for 6 hours the day we were departing, what means a +10 hours way back home with no possibility to have a shower before depart.

The apartment was not as good as it looks at the pictures. Place is plenty of mosquitos.

There is no option to have lunch, dinner or buy food inside Sugar Hills or nearby, so rent a car is mandatory, or you will be stacked in a place with nothing to do and 3-5km to the beach.

Regarding the beach Club at Fairmont is not a proper access to the Hotel facilities, but only allow you to use a 100m beach front on the left side, full of stones, where is not possible to swim. Hotel staff look that they don't really like people that are not guests staying there.

Best beaches of the island are at the other side (1 hour away) and the west coast is only popular because of its super expensive resorts, but with average beaches that you can find anywhere else. Better to stay close to Bottom Bay / The Crane on that are the real amazing spots.

Huge amount (equivalent to three nights stay) is charged for deposit in your credit card (not only as guarantee but deduced), after almost one month I have not received it back (not even partially), and if it's not solve urgently I would have to claim in all posibles ways.

As we had so much inconveniences the day we departed for the water cut, we forgot to leave the paper cards membership of the Fairmont at the apartment and the housekepper was not there to verify everything at the check out. The day after, owner contacted us asking for the passes and we proceed to send them back immediately by postal service, but obviously it takes some days for them to arrive as we come from far and Barbados is also a remote place.

The owner took the unilateral decision of deduce equivalent to one night stay of the deposit for the replacement of the cards (USD5-10 would have been reasonable), even when she was advised not to do it under any circumstance, cause I disagreed, but the worst of all is that cards are under way and she would have both the originals and replacements in a few days. That makes me think that is only a strategy to gather more passes taking advantage of the clients.

I'm very disappointed, and for all this reasons I wouldn't recommend anyone to visit the place or be involved in any way with the owner!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr Gonzalez Sanchez I am sorry that you feel that you have had to write such a bitter and inaccurate review. I have now waited 3 weeks for the return of the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club passes but my property manager has still not received them. For this reason I have had to deduct the price to have these replaced from your security deposit. They are needed for future guests. Just to make it clear at this point, that it is the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club who set and charge the amount that is required to issue replacement cards. The rest of the security deposit is now being returned to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Yellow Bird is a fantastic property within the lovely Sugar Hill Community. Spotlessly clean and has everything that you could possibly need, plus the benefit of access to the Fairmont Pavillion Beach club which is great. Very tranquil but only 5 minutes drive to Holetown. There is also access to a great clubhouse with a lovely new bar/restaurant called Carizma on the Hill, definitely worth a visit. Can't wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Yellow Bird and enjoyed Sugar Hill with all its amenities. I will pass your compliments about the cleanliness to Phil, my wonderful housekeeper. I'm very happy to your comments about the new restaurant in the clubhouse - Carizma on the Hill. I'm looking forward to trying it myself! I hope to welcome you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

Obviously Barbados has a very special significance for me because of my time there as a child but putting that aside I love everything about the island. The people are so friendly and always make you feel welcome where ever you go. It is a very safe place and we love to just hire a car and get lost on the island! I like the laid back culture and I particularly enjoy the local food and the rum shacks as well as the upmarket international restaurants on the West Coast. I like the contrast between the sophisticated West Coast with its calm Caribbean waters and the unspoilt, often deserted coast of the rougher Atlantic East side.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Grantley Adams Airport 40 minutes drive at 20 Miles Nearest Barpub : Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House at 200 Metres Nearest Restaurant : Carizma on the Hill, Sugar Hill Club House at 200 Metres Nearest Beach : Fairmont Pavilion Beach club 5 minutes drive at 1.5 Miles Car: necessary

Yellow Bird is within 5 minutes drive of pretty Holetown where you will find all essential amenities. It has a large supermarket, a post office, a patisserie, banks, garage, medical centre and a hardware store. You will also find duty free shopping, boutique shops as well as famous fashion shops such as Ralph Lauren, Cartier and Louis Vuitton in upmarket Lime Grove with its modern cinema. Holetown also offers a big choice of restaurants and bars.

Also within 5 minutes drive is the Fairmont Pavilion Beach Club to which you have complimentary membership. This offers water sports, loungers, a bar and outside café/restaurant and is set on one of the island's prettiest beaches.

Sugar Hill Estate itself has a clubhouse which offers an infinity swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, another large swimming pool, gym and a restaurant. This is all 2 minutes walk from the apartment.

Further afield but still within easy car driving distance are numerous attractions such as Sunbury Plantation House, Harrisons Cave, The Flower Forest, the Mount Gay Rum Factory (lunch and tour) and Earthworks Pottery. A trip to the unspoilt and often deserted beaches such as Bottom Bay on the South-East Coast will take about an hour and of course a trip into the historical capital Bridgetown should not be missed. There you will find lots of duty free shopping, good quality restaurants, a museum and an attractive harbour where you can pick up a catamaran cruise for the day.

There is so much to do and see on this beautiful island that we would be very pleased to send out an information pack with our own personal recommendations in it when you book the property.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low 2017
2 Apr 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£840
 
 
September special 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£500
 
 
Low 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£840
 
 
December 2017
1 Dec 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£1,020
 
 
Christmas 2017
20 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
14 night minimum stay
£3,260
for 14 nights
£1,630
 
 
High Season 2018
4 Jan 2018 - 22 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£570
for 3 nights
From
£190
£1,300
 
 
Low 2018
23 Apr 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
£900
 
 
September special
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
£600
 
 
Low
1 Oct 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
£900
 
 
December 2018
1 Dec 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£510
for 3 nights
From
£170
£1,125
 
 
Christmas 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
14 night minimum stay
£3,500
for 14 nights
£1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£165
for 1 night
From
£165
£1,150
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £300

Please note that the owner only accepts online payments through the Owners Direct website. Cash, cheques or bank transfers are not accepted. A £300 security deposit is taken when the balance of the holiday is paid. This is held by Owners Direct, not the owner, and authorisation for it to be returned will be given after the inventory on the property has been completed by Sotheby's. It will be returned within two weeks of the end of the holiday and put on the same card that was used to pay for the holiday with.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 22-May-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...

Onsite Services

  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff

Suitability

  • wheelchair inaccessible ...

Location Type

  • near the sea
  • rural

Attractions

  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Double sink and shower. All towels provided including beach towels.

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - King size bed
  • One kingsize bed, wardrobe space, safe and dressing table. There is an additional pull out sofa bed in the lounge. Air conditioning in both the bedroom and lounge. All linen provided.

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for children ...

Notes:

  • The concierge at the Sugar Hill Club House can arrange restaurant bookings, taxis, car hire, tours and provide all kinds of information. The Property Manager of Yellow Bird can provide taxis for airport pickups, a welcome grocery pack, extra maid cleaning and even the service of a private chef.

Special Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot