OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Noddfa - A romantic Snowdonia country cottage.

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Noddfa is a traditional 1843 built Welsh country cottage in the heart of Snowdonia close to Betsw-y-Coed in the beautiful Machno Valley. Noddfa means sanctuary or haven and this is exactly what our lovely cottage offers. It is a well equipped and very comfortably furnished property. It has a large, cosy sitting room with traditional wood burner; large Welsh slate floored dining kitchen with dishwasher, microwave and delightful open fire; downstairs toilet; south facing private sun trap garden; double master bedroom with exposed beams and oak stripped floorboards; small second bedroom with three foot adult sized bunks; modern bathroom with walk in shower cubicle. Noddfa is very well equipped with traditional Portmeirion crockery and high quality fixtures and fittings. It is fully centrally heated. The cottage also has wi-fi. It is in the peaceful Welsh village of Penmachno, very close to the friendly local pub serving food at weekends. It is ideally placed for walking, cycling or simply relaxing. Bus to Betsw-y-Coed stops in the village, although a four mile walk through beautiful countryside and ancient forests make the trip all the better.


Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
23 April, 2017

Why The Owner chose Conwy

We have enjoyed 5 happy years at our Welsh retreat. It is a real home from home. Noddfa is a characterful stone country cottage built in 1843. Within 40 minutes of the cottage is the seaside towns of Llandudno and Conway, Bodnant Garden National Trust property, the picturesque village of Portmeirion and the wonderful beaches of Borth y Gest, Porthmadog and Criccieth. The cottage itself is in the quiet village of Penmachno, close to Betsw-y-Coed but away from the tourists and ideally placed for country walks. We would love our guests to enjoy the tranquility and beauty of the Welsh countryside as much as we do.

What makes this cottage unique

Check in time is 3pm and guests must vacate the cottage by 10am to allow time for cleaning.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Penmachno in Wales

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Wash basin, toilet and walk in shower. There is also a down stairs toilet and wash basin.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • One double bedroom with exposed beam and a second bedroom with 3 foot bunks. Please note the bunk bedroom is a small room with the bunks and a shelving unit.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

5

Brilliant.... A Real Home From Home!

  • 5 of 5

A lovely, warm and inviting cottage. We only stayed for a couple of nights but we wanted for nothing. We'll definitely be back and have recommended to family and friends!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cottage

  • 5 of 5

Cottage was as it states in the description will be back thank you

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful retreat to enjoy the surrounding area of Snowdonia

  • 4 of 5

Noddfa is a delightful place to stay , fully equipped to make life easy. Best for couples or young families as 2nd bedroom has bunk beds .

We would be very happy to use again .

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect little Home

  • 4 of 5

Exactly as expected, no problems (working internet would have saved me some time) All I needed for the weekend

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We were not aware of your problems with the internet during your stay. I have contacted BT who have sent a new modem which has now been installed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A comfortable retreat

  • 5 of 5

It's always nice to walk into a well kept, clean and comfortable self-catering cottage. We spent an enjoyable few days in the quiet relaxing village of Penmacho that provides good access to many interesting places. If you want to check your fitness take a stroll up to Ty Mawr it's worth a look at this National Trust property. Would we go there again? Certainly.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Could have been a perfect 10, but not quite there.

  • 4 of 5

This was a simply beautiful cottage, located in an out of the way village in Snowdonia. We stayed here for 4 nights and could have stayed much longer such were the comforts of accommodation in this 1840s terrace. Not the average rental, that's for sure.

Major bonus - an upstairs and downstairs loo!

Upstairs consists of two bedrooms and washroom.

Master bedroom has one window looking over the street and another to the side to let in plenty of light. Bed was comfy, although a bit too close to the wall on one side but was easily moved.

Second bedroom has two bunks - we didn't use this room, so can't comment on its comfort.

Washroom has shower, toilet and handbasin. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

Downstairs consists of large living room, big kitchen, utility room and a separate toilet with handbasin.

Well appointed kitchen had pretty much everything one could want to cook up a sumptuous feast, although lighting could be a bit better. Lots of good quality crockery and cutlery, pots and pans. I think I even spied some cake tins!

Living area very comfy. Sofa, arm chair and a couple of other chairs provide enough seating for at least 5 people. We didn't use it, but there's a TV with DVD player as well as some other gizmos, none of which we used - we're not TV fans. Lovely range of DVDs, CDs, numerous books as well as a range of maps and books on walks in the area.

When we arrived the weather was dreadful, even though it's supposed to be summer. Wet and miserable, so we were very glad of the kindling, lots and coal which enabled us to light the fire. Soon had the place cosy. Central heating is also available at the touch of a switch.

Free Wifi provided.

So, why not a perfect 10?

For some reason, the washing machine and dryer are not permitted to be used by guests. For a stay of more than a couple of days , this would be a problem, especially if guests included children. To ensure guests don't use it, the plug is padlocked! No mention of where to get laundry done provided in the guest notes.

There is a dishwasher in the kitchen which has a note in it - "Not In Use". Whether this means it is broken or being treated similarly to the washing machine, I can't say.

To be fair, those facilities are not listed as being included in any of the blurb about the cottage, but I'd come to expect them as standard.

Provide those facilities and this would be a perfect 10 in my book.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thorough review. We're very happy you have judged our cottage to be not your average rental. We have tried to make it a special place to be. We take on board your comments about the washing machine and dishwasher. Unfortunately both have been damaged by previous guests and so we have been reluctant to leave them available again. However it is clear they are desired by guests so will make the washing machine available immediately and look to replace the dishwasher as soon as possible. Hopefully then our cherished cottage will be the perfect 10!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High
31 Mar 2017 - 27 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
Medium
28 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£150
for 2 nights
From
£75
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
High
26 May 2017 - 10 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
High
11 Jun 2017 - 1 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£160
for 2 nights
From
£80
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
High
2 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
Medium
3 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£150
for 2 nights
From
£75
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
High
20 Oct 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
Low
29 Oct 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£140
for 2 nights
From
£70
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
High
15 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
Low
7 Jan 2018 - 8 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£140
for 2 nights
From
£70
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
High
9 Feb 2018 - 17 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£150
for 2 nights
From
£75
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Check in time is 3pm and guests must vacate the cottage by 10am to allow time for cleaning.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals