OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Central Christchurch, beautiful grade II listed cottage

People3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet

Overview

About the property

End of terrace grade II listed cottage in the heart of the historic market town of Christchurch which sleeps 3 people. The cottage is within a minutes walk to Christchurch Quay, shops, cafes and restaurants. The property is tastefully decorated and comprises of a lounge/dining room with television. The kitchen has a double oven, hob, fridge freezer and microwave. There is a utility room with washing machine and bathroom off the utility room. The double bedroom has a kingsize bed and there is a single bedroom. There is a secluded south facing courtyard garden with bbq. Wick Lane car park is a few meters from the property.


Owner
Sarah Breen
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
10 December, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

A really nice cottage in a very central location....a real home from home
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 9

Location

Hengistbury Head
Studland Beach and Nature Reserve
Car: not necessary

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Christchurch in Christchurch District

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Max. adults: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • You are responsible for the property during your stay and it should be left in a clean and tidy condition at the end of your holiday.
  • You agree not to exceed the total number of guests in the property. Use of the facilities are only for the agreed guests in the booking contract.
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Central Christchurch, beautiful grade II listed cottage
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
5

Great holiday

  • 5 of 5

A delightful cottage . Very peaceful but still close to shops, restaurants and public transport

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best regards Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful cosy cottage in the heart of Christchurch perfect location for shops river walks ,quayside and the stunning priory. We were welcomed with fresh milk flowers,jam ,clotted cream and scones very thoughtful. Amazingly large bed in the main bedroom which was extreamly comfortable.very well equipped and homely we had a super holiday and will definitely return .

  • Review Submitted: 04-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Spotlessly clean and comfortable in a great location but disappointing for many reasons.

  • 3 of 5

This is obviously a well loved family holiday home in a great location for exploring Christchurch and the surrounding area. It is small, recently decorated, immaculately clean and comfortable; just a short walk away from shops, pubs, restaurants, takeaways, the quay and the priory.

We were very fortunate to be able to book this cottage with a Sunday changeover, which better suited our travel plans. The booking process was simple and messages were answered quickly. On arrival, we were greeted with fresh flowers, milk and cream in the fridge, scones and jam. The mobile phone signal (O2) was not brilliant, but the WiFi worked well.

We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the last 20 years and I must admit this was the most expensive and rather disappointing for the following reasons:

Despite previous reviews, the kitchen was NOT well equipped. Yes, it had a large fridge freezer, washing machine, microwave, toaster, new oven, electric hob and toaster, BUT if you actually want to prepare food yourself rather than just re-heat ready meals then I recommend you take the following with you:

Sharp knife and/or Bread knife

Wooden spoon and/or table spoon

Vegetable peeler

Small sauce pans (there was only 1 large saucepan, I large skillet and 3 frying pans)

Chopping board (although there is a wooden bread board)

The extractor fan didn't work.

In the main bedroom, the bed, although comfortable, was so large that there was only room for 1 bedside table and in the single room the rug slipped dangerously on the painted floor. Despite large fitted wardrobes in both rooms, there were only 4 coat hangers, in total - not nearly enough for a week's clothes for 2 people!

The carpark was not 'adjacent' as advised, but it was only a very short walk away. At £6 per day plus £2 overnight (24/7 charging) this mounts up over a week. I put the Ringo app on my phone, (cash only in the machine!) but still managed to miss a payment and get a fine (it wouldn't let me just pay for the week like I wanted to!) Roadside free parking was almost non-existent and always full. There may have been a cheaper carpark further away. We didn't use the car most days anyway.

We were advised to take our rubbish to the bin in the car park, which I felt very uncomfortable doing!

The DVD didn't work.

The hot water could be switched on only when we wanted it - it took half an hour to heat up.

Overall, despite the minor disappointments, we had a good holiday; enjoying exploring the area

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We have taken all your comments on board. I am delighted that overall, you found our cottage in good order and you enjoyed your holiday. However, I am sorry to hear that you did not have the utensils you mentioned, you were unable to locate the coat hangers (they are kept in the mirrored wardrobe in the main bedroom) and that you received a parking fine in one of the car parks. Christchurch is a busy town, so it is sometimes necessary to park in one of the car parks (the nearest one is a few metres from the cottage), and the council’s traffic wardens are vigilant. We do ask our guests to contact us if they need anything or have any concerns during their stay and we would always endeavour to assist where possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Lovely short stay

  • 4 of 5

what a lovely time we had at the cottage. It was so cosy and well looked after. The beds were lovely and comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. The jam and scones on arrival were delicious and a lovely touch.

We enjoyed trips to lymington and mudeford on the ferry and our one year old loved the splash park at the end of the road as we were pretty lucky with the weather!

Hopefully we will come back soon possibly with out the baby to enjoy the restaurants and bars in Christchurch more. Sarah was always on hand if we had any queries and was very quick with all responses during the booking process

  • Review Submitted: 14-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Well loved little cottage

  • 5 of 5

The house is a two-up two-down little workers cottage which has been well looked after by its owners. It was very clean and tidy. We found it to be well suited to our needs in terms of good cooking facilities, a nice lounge area and a good sized main bedroom.

We found Sarah to be a great hostess, she was very kind with the arrangements in advance and we did find that the transaction went smoothly. We had had a negative experience through another renting site over the summer so were extremely cautious about our next step, but like I say it all really worked out well with Sarah.

The cottage is on two turnings just off the high street which gives it an amazing location. It means that you can get something on the high street and take it home,and go back out again! If you have a reason to be in the centre, this is a great place to stay.

Some practical points: The staircase has no bannister which is a consideration for small children. You cannot park on the street outside at all. You can load briefly but that is it, and it is a one way system. Parking is restricted nearby between approx 10-5 so you need to take the car to a car park about 5 minutes walk away (the streets where you can park for free get very busy, you might get lucky).The cottage has no wifi and Christchurch is known for being rubbish for phone and 3G reception, so you may well end up feeling a bit cut off. The library on the high street has free wifi when you need, and is actually a nice place to hang out (especially for kids)!

If you need a little hideaway in Christchurch I do recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lillian, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of having wifi installed at the cottage and this should be up and running shortly. We hope you will return to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Enchanting

  • 5 of 5

When we arrived at the beautiful cottage, located very conveniently to enjoy all of Christchurch's shops, restaurants and harbour, we were greeted by the kind and thoughtful owner. She made us very welcome and we enjoyed our stay in the tastefully presented accommodation. We will be back! Thank you. James and Sarah

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sarah and James, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Best regards Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Christchurch, Hampshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
MID
30 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£600
 
 
Holiday Period
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£550
for 5 nights
From
£110
£750
 
 
Low
3 Jan 2018 - 9 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
£565
 
 
Holiday
10 Feb 2018 - 19 Feb 2018
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£650
 
 
MID
20 Feb 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
£590
 
 
Holiday
30 Mar 2018 - 25 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
£440
for 4 nights
From
£110
£700
 
 
MID
26 Apr 2018 - 3 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£580
 
 
MID
4 May 2018 - 14 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£440
for 4 nights
From
£110
£640
 
 
MID
15 May 2018 - 24 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£620
 
 
Holiday
25 May 2018 - 4 Jun 2018
4 night minimum stay
£440
for 4 nights
From
£110
£670
 
 
MID
5 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£650
 
 
Holiday
7 Jul 2018 - 3 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
£550
for 5 nights
From
£110
£750
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
From
£110
Fri,Sat,Sun
£700
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable