OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Dales 2 Bed Period Cottage, panoramic views, real fire,dog friendly, village!

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 6 nights

About the property

Read our reviews.

1 Half Moon Cottages, a 2 storey cottage, located right on the village green in Reeth, described itself as a natural amphitheatre, surrounded by spectacular scenery and stunning panoramas, Reeth was championed by Ella Pontefract, one of the Yorkshire Dale's most esteemed authors as "a little country in itself." 1 Half Moon Cottages is part of an 18th Century old coaching inn sleeping four and overlooking the Dales and the Village green with panoramic views on three sides of the building from the lounge, kitchen and bedrooms. Located nextdoor to one of the three pubs, up the stone steps to the front door you will find a porch for those muddy walking boots, a fully equipped kitchen with fridge, hob oven, microwave, toaster etc, 2 double bedrooms both with views and tvs, why not relax and enjoy you morning cuppa in bed overlooking the hills and dales, a crisp white bathroom suite with shower, open plan sociable lounge/kitchen with real fire for those cosy nights in with logs/coal provided. TV, games, books etc. Welcome basket on arrival, dogs and children welcome ! Special occasions catered for with a personal, friendly service, we live locally and don't use a management company because we pride ourselves on a personal touch and want to ensure our guests are looked after and will return. If you want your fridge filled for your arrival or a table booking or collecting from a train/bus station/airport then we can help with that. "Old Cherry Cottages Ltd... Your Home Away from Home".


Property Manager
Jo or Neale
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
17 February, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Amazing place home from home. Forgot to write in the visitors book sorry Jo .Loads to do in the area , fantastic views .Excellent accommodation so cosy , only complaint it was not cold enough to light the fire ! Hubby don't want to go abroad anymore , he didn't want to come home! Anyone who visits will not be disappointed . We will be back !
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

5

A wonderful relaxing retreat

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

The location of this property is excellent surrounded by stunning scenery. Everything that we needed was a stones throw away. The welcome basket was lovely and the cottage felt like a home from home. All the rooms were decorated well and the open fire was bliss especially with a glass of prosecco as a reward after a long walk. Wonderful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Katherine, Apologies for the delay in responding to your wonderful review of Half Moon. Thank you ! It helps others in selecting the right accommodation and assists them in deciding. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break in the dales. Once again a perfect family who left our little cottage sparkly clean and we pass on that time saved to the next guests who can then check in early. Half Moon is currently having a new kitchen fitted and some decorating done with new carpets ! Remember we do a discount for repeat guests and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Little Barn will also be ready soon. Watch this space. Thank you ! Jo and Neale.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage, central village location.

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful little cottage. We stayed there for 2 nights and were not disappointed in the slightest!

The central village location is superb, the views are stunning & the cottage was lovely & clean & the rooms very comfortable.

The welcome pack when we arrived was one of the best welcome packs we've ever had.

The cottage is also Dog Friendly which is a bonus.

We can't wait to return in the spring.

Highly recommended.

I noticed negative feedback from a previous traveller, don't let this put you off as I believe the feedback was very unfair.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kim and Tony for your review. We see that you have just booked for Spring 2017 and we will be glad to welcome you both back to little Half Moon. Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy it means we can pass on that time to the next guest and they get an early check in (just as you did). We look forward to seeing both again !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

We left after one night!

  • 1 of 5
Verified Stay

The property was not particularly clean or well maintained.Our daughter awoke after one night with flee bites.We decided to leave and managed to book a lovely place not too far away.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sad to receive such a review however in order for the reader to make their own judgement, the points raised by the guest must be made clear and the FULL circumstances explained. As soon as we were made aware that the guest had left after only one night we contacted her. We we were NOT told that she had left until two weeks after the event and she could offer no reason as to why she hadn't rang us at the time. To clarify this review: "not clean" - the guest found a piece of cutlery in the drawer which had allegedly not been washed and "was grubby". "not well maintained" - was a dimmer switch in the small bedroom where the little knob had come off the switch and the bathroom door was stiff to close. "Flea Bites" - the daughter had a rash on her neck. The guest admittedly said she assumed and couldn't say whether they were definitely flea bites but having seen them before assumed that they were. The laundry is changed after each guest or during the stay if longer than a week, it is laundered in the village by a professional company who service most of the holiday lets in Reeth, the beds all have a mattress cover and pillow protectors. We were so concerned that someone had left after one night that we rang the other guests that stayed before and after this one and we have had nothing but excellent feedback and no issues with any flea bites or cleanliness. Prior to receiving this review we have spoken to this guest and subsequently twice tried to contact the her again with the findings of her complaint (we conducted an investigation after we learned of the "problems" with her stay and her reasons for leaving). The final problem that this guest mentioned to us but which is not listed is that we advertise a cottage for four however we only supply two kitchen stools and no table. In the folder which is left with the welcome basket (which this guest "did not touch") there is a list of "where to find it" in which, it clearly states that the table with the vase and cloth in the window opens out into a table to seat four and has the chairs stored inside it. We find it very unusual that a guest would leave after one night having booked three and fail to report it or make any contact until two weeks later. Disappointingly we have had to respond to this review, our regulars & future guests must make up their own minds given the full story, should anyone wish to speak to any of our previous guests(or us) please contact us. Kind regards Jo & Neale
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect cottage in a perfect setting.

  • 5 of 5

Half moon cottage was the perfect place for our 4 night stay in Reeth. Ideally located next to the Black bull pub, overlooking the village green and views over the Dale. Jo and Neale were extremely accommodating of our black lab and made us feel very welcome, topped off by a lovely welcome basket. The cottage provided us with a fantastic base for the holiday and had all the facilities required for an enjoyable break to the dales.

We would definitely recommend half moon cottage and will be returning ourselves.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jack and Molly, Thank you for those kind words ! We are so pleased you enjoyed Reeth and thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. You and Jess are all welcome back any time and of course we always do a discount for our repeat and regular visitors. Jo and Neale.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quiet and welcoming

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

Lovely welcome, big on the special touches made us very welcome

Great for walks and quiet time

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was our pleasure to welcome you all and thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you all again and make sure you bring Ellie the Labrador along with you next time. Hopefully see you soon. Kind regards Jo and Neale
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent property - Ideal location!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our week at Half Moon Cottage. Clean, well equipped with a lovely welcome from Jo and Neale. All in all very much as described on the tin! Perfect location in the lovely village of Reeth and always something going on across the green to watch from the lounge window. The dog spent many a happy hour sitting there watching the world (and all the other dogs) going by.

Good walks nearby and an excellent centre for touring the area. Plenty of places to eat and drink in walking distance and the ice cream parlour is definitely worth a visit.

Would be happy to recommend a stay at Half Moon and we are already thinking about when our next visit might be.

Tony & Carol

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Easter
31 Mar 2017 - 23 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
early may bank holiday
28 Apr 2017 - 1 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
late may Bank holiday
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
Swaledale Marathon
9 Jun 2017 - 12 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
bike weekend
4 Aug 2017 - 6 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
Glorious 12th
11 Aug 2017 - 13 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
REETH SHOW August Bank Hol
25 Aug 2017 - 28 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
October Half Term
13 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
6 night minimum stay
£600
for 6 nights
From
£100
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£285
for 3 nights
From
£95
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

Old Cherry Cottages - the following terms apply: "Owner" shall mean OCC "Customer" shall mean the individual who made the booking "Tenants" shall mean the Customer's party FEES 1) Deposit. A deposit of 50% of the total cost will be payable on booking. The balance is payable not less than 28 days (4 weeks) before the arrival date. If the balance of payment is not received by the stated date, the dates will be marketed again and the deposit forfeited. 2) Cancellation: The deposit is non-refundable if cancelled within 28 days (4 weeks) or less of arrival date. 3) Disclaimer: The Owners have taken every care to ensure the accuracy of property descriptions on their web site, and all information is provided in good faith and is believed to be correct. GENERAL TERMS 1) The Customer warrants that the properties let are to be used for the purposes of a holiday and so accepts that the letting is a holiday let to which Section 12 (2) and paragraph 8 of Schedule 4 of the Housing (Scotland) Act 1988 apply, namely, "a tenancy the purpose of which is to confer on the tenant the right to occupy the house for a holiday."
Minimum booking 3 nights. Where dogs are accepted it is the owner of the dogs responsibilty to ensure that the dog is not left alone at the property at any time. Failure to comply to this gives the owners of the cottage the right to terminate the contract and the booking without discussion or refund. Any damage caused by pets must be paid for in full.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Reeth in North Yorkshire

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , TV
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , TV
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • caving
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot