OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Period Cottage, panoramic views, real fire,dog friendly, village property!



Updated: 10-Oct-2016
Read our reviews.

1 Half Moon Cottages, a 2 storey cottage, located right on the village green in Reeth, described itself as a natural amphitheatre, surrounded by spectacular scenery and stunning panoramas, Reeth was championed by Ella Pontefract, one of the Yorkshire Dale's most esteemed authors as "a little country in itself." 1 Half Moon Cottages is part of an 18th Century old coaching inn sleeping four and overlooking the Dales and the Village green with panoramic views on three sides of the building from the lounge, kitchen and bedrooms. Located nextdoor to one of the three pubs, up the stone steps to the front door you will find a porch for those muddy walking boots, a fully equipped kitchen with fridge, freezer, oven, microwave, toaster etc, one double and one twin bedroom both with views, why not relax and enjoy you morning cuppa in bed overlooking the hills and dales, a crisp white bathroom suite with shower, open plan sociable lounge/kitchen with real fire for those cosy nights in with logs/coal provided. TV, DVD, games, books etc. Welcome basket on arrival, dogs and children welcome ! Special occasions catered for with a personal, friendly service, we live locally and don't use a management company because we pride ourselves on a personal touch and want to ensure our guests are looked after and will return. If you want your fridge filled for your arrival or a table booking or collecting from a train/bus station/airport then we can help with that. "Old Cherry Cottages Ltd... Your Home Away from Home".

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Pets considered
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the manager

Amazing place home from home. Forgot to write in the visitors book sorry Jo .Loads to do in the area , fantastic views .Excellent accommodation so cosy , only complaint it was not cold enough to light the fire ! Hubby don't want to go abroad anymore , he didn't want to come home! Anyone who visits will not be disappointed . We will be back !
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1

19 Reviews

based on 19 holidaymaker reviews


We left after one night!

  • 1 of 5

The property was not particularly clean or well maintained.Our daughter awoke after one night with flee bites.We decided to leave and managed to book a lovely place not too far away.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sad to receive such a review however in order for the reader to make their own judgement, the points raised by the guest must be made clear and the FULL circumstances explained. As soon as we were made aware that the guest had left after only one night we contacted her. We we were NOT told that she had left until two weeks after the event and she could offer no reason as to why she hadn't rang us at the time. To clarify this review: "not clean" - the guest found a piece of cutlery in the drawer which had allegedly not been washed and "was grubby". "not well maintained" - was a dimmer switch in the small bedroom where the little knob had come off the switch and the bathroom door was stiff to close. "Flea Bites" - the daughter had a rash on her neck. The guest admittedly said she assumed and couldn't say whether they were definitely flea bites but having seen them before assumed that they were. The laundry is changed after each guest or during the stay if longer than a week, it is laundered in the village by a professional company who service most of the holiday lets in Reeth, the beds all have a mattress cover and pillow protectors. We were so concerned that someone had left after one night that we rang the other guests that stayed before and after this one and we have had nothing but excellent feedback and no issues with any flea bites or cleanliness. Prior to receiving this review we have spoken to this guest and subsequently twice tried to contact the her again with the findings of her complaint (we conducted an investigation after we learned of the "problems" with her stay and her reasons for leaving). The final problem that this guest mentioned to us but which is not listed is that we advertise a cottage for four however we only supply two kitchen stools and no table. In the folder which is left with the welcome basket (which this guest "did not touch") there is a list of "where to find it" in which, it clearly states that the table with the vase and cloth in the window opens out into a table to seat four and has the chairs stored inside it. We find it very unusual that a guest would leave after one night having booked three and fail to report it or make any contact until two weeks later. Disappointingly we have had to respond to this review, our regulars & future guests must make up their own minds given the full story, should anyone wish to speak to any of our previous guests(or us) please contact us. Kind regards Jo & Neale
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect cottage in a perfect setting.

  • 5 of 5

Half moon cottage was the perfect place for our 4 night stay in Reeth. Ideally located next to the Black bull pub, overlooking the village green and views over the Dale. Jo and Neale were extremely accommodating of our black lab and made us feel very welcome, topped off by a lovely welcome basket. The cottage provided us with a fantastic base for the holiday and had all the facilities required for an enjoyable break to the dales.

We would definitely recommend half moon cottage and will be returning ourselves.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jack and Molly, Thank you for those kind words ! We are so pleased you enjoyed Reeth and thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. You and Jess are all welcome back any time and of course we always do a discount for our repeat and regular visitors. Jo and Neale.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet and welcoming

  • 5 of 5

Lovely welcome, big on the special touches made us very welcome

Great for walks and quiet time

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was our pleasure to welcome you all and thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you all again and make sure you bring Ellie the Labrador along with you next time. Hopefully see you soon. Kind regards Jo and Neale
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent property - Ideal location!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our week at Half Moon Cottage. Clean, well equipped with a lovely welcome from Jo and Neale. All in all very much as described on the tin! Perfect location in the lovely village of Reeth and always something going on across the green to watch from the lounge window. The dog spent many a happy hour sitting there watching the world (and all the other dogs) going by.

Good walks nearby and an excellent centre for touring the area. Plenty of places to eat and drink in walking distance and the ice cream parlour is definitely worth a visit.

Would be happy to recommend a stay at Half Moon and we are already thinking about when our next visit might be.

Tony & Carol

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved our break away!

  • 5 of 5

An amazing little gem of a getaway. Perfect for myself and my husband along with our 2 four legged family members. Welcome basket was a lovely touch!!

Cottage is within a fantastic location within Reeth. Weather held up for our walks (rained in the eve, but its England, we packed for all occasions!), of which there are many that can be started straight from the front door.

Thank you for a lovely weekend!!

Steph & Steve (including Winston and Nala)

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Family break with dog

  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous cottage well maintained BUT the little touches like a welcome basket with a toy for the dog and message on the blackboard, one word BRILLIANT!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the very kind words, it was our pleasure to welcome you both and Storm ! Thank you for leaving the cottage in such good order, we could hardly tell you'd been it was that clean !! We look forward to seeing you both back along with that lovely black lab (who has now mastered the stairs) ! Keep in touch ! Kind regards Jo and Neale
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Activity and Interests

Car: necessary


Unbelievable sights

If exploring is your thing, then you've come to the right place. Reeth has a variety of beautiful yet challenging hill walks and an abundance of wildlife on offer, guaranteed to satisfy even the most seasoned of sightseers. There's large numbers of curlew, lapwing, oystercatcher, wild hare...and if you're lucky even the rare black grouse. Visit in April or May and you'll catch the new-born baby lambs too.

Natural Beauty

Reeth was also the birthplace of popular fiction novelist Ruby Ferguson, whose stories were enjoyed so much by The Queen Mother that she was invited to Buckingham Palace for dinner. Ferguson's atmospheric inspiration arguably came from Reeth's mysterious yet picturesque landscape of wild flower meadows and stunning heather, which is concealed between the hills.

Saddle up

If you prefer a slightly less strenuous form of travel, Reeth's moors provide the perfect terrain for pony trekking, a firm favourite method of transport among visitors. Alternatively adrenaline junkies can take it up a gear on our range of fast paced mountain biking trails, bike hire and courses are available from the nearbyDales Bike Centre.

Swaledale & Wensleydale Arts & Crafts Trail

Many Arts and craftpeople live and work in Swaledale and Wensleydale, finding inspiration in a unique country side of pastoral riverside villages, tumbling waterfalls, sweeping fells and moorland. There are a diverse band of artists working in and with a wide variety of materials wood and wools, metaland glass, clay and candle wax, rope, felt and copper. All of them are dedicated to creating high quality beautifully crafted products for the market both at home and overseas.

Visit them in their own workshops and take home a piece of the artistic Dales. The villages where the workshops can be found are Reeth and Muker in Swaledale and Hawes, Hardraw, West Burton, Wensley and Garriston, in Wensleydale.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
October Half Term
21 Oct 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter November
1 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
23 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
2017 bookings in 2016
3 Jan 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

Old Cherry Cottages - the following terms apply: "Owner" shall mean OCC "Customer" shall mean the individual who made the booking "Tenants" shall mean the Customer's party FEES 1) Deposit. A deposit of 50% of the total cost will be payable on booking. The balance is payable not less than 28 days (4 weeks) before the arrival date. If the balance of payment is not received by the stated date, the dates will be marketed again and the deposit forfeited. 2) Cancellation: The deposit is non-refundable if cancelled within 28 days (4 weeks) or less of arrival date. 3) Disclaimer: The Owners have taken every care to ensure the accuracy of property descriptions on their web site, and all information is provided in good faith and is believed to be correct. GENERAL TERMS 1) The Customer warrants that the properties let are to be used for the purposes of a holiday and so accepts that the letting is a holiday let to which Section 12 (2) and paragraph 8 of Schedule 4 of the Housing (Scotland) Act 1988 apply, namely, "a tenancy the purpose of which is to confer on the tenant the right to occupy the house for a holiday."

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 10-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • cottage


  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural
  • village


  • arboretum
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • caving
  • swimming


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot