OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Character Victorian House, Tunnel Beaches At End Of Road, Very Quite Location

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 10. 5 Bedrooms. 4 Baths.

Beautiful very Large Victorian Property, large hallway, Queen Anne staircase, with high ceilings and ceiling roses, open fire, uniquely quiet setting yet near to all amenities.

Comprising of a 25 ft Lounge Room with 12ft ceilings, Sky TV, Wifi, a 35 ft long Kitchen and Dinning Room, Range Cooker, Dishwasher and handmade kitchen with larder, a Laundry Room with Washing Machine, Dryer and Victorian Dryer. There are 5 Bedrooms, comprising of, 1 King Size with Double Shower En Suite with Sky TV , 1 King Size with Bath and Shower En Suite, 1 Double with Double Shower En Suite,1 Twin En Suite Bathroom, 1 Twin with Separate Toilet.

The house has a long Victorian driveway with room for 4 cars by the house and is set quietly with approximately half an acre garden with Wilder Brooke at the bottom, the garden has ample room for barbecues and playing room, with part level lawned, large trees and a very natural terraced garden setting leading to Brooke.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
12 December, 2017

About The Owner

A ceramic artist former trapeze artist , who has taught meditation for some 30 years, now a passionate disabled artist

Instagram rachwellbeing

The Owner purchased this house in 2008

Why The Owner chose Ilfracombe

This is a very calm and relaxed home, with all the comforts of home away from home, the house has character and charm especially suitable for those wanting to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle but close to all amenities and beaches, No pets so good for animal allergic people but still very natural and suited to nature lovers.

What makes this house unique

The house is very private but accessible, with a very calm feeling ideal for those wanting to get away and relax, it has a natural feel with wooden ground floor and very high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful staircase.

Location

Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Ilfracombe golf course, Saunton
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Barnstaple
Nearest Motorway
100 Miles
M5
Nearest Restaurant
Many quality restaurants
Nearest Beach
Woolycombe

Very close to some of the best beaches in Europe , Woolycombe , Saunton, croyde, great surfing and walking a unspoilt part of the U.K.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ilfracombe in North Devon District

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

37% Complete
37% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Character Victorian House, Tunnel Beaches At End Of Road, Very Quite Location
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
5

Spacious, peaceful and homely house

  • 5 of 5

We spent a weeks family holiday at Wellbring and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Grandparents, parents and children were all well catered for. The house was much larger than I expected and we had more space than we required. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and we were able to cook a full roast dinner with all the trimmings with more than enough pots/pans/serving dishes etc. The washing machine and tumble dryer seemed brand new and were so useful. The house was clean and quiet.

The location of the property is ideal for walking to tunnels beaches and the town. It's also ideally placed for short drives to other beaches such as Woolycombe and Croyde and to drive to beautiful Exmoor.

The owner Rachel was very responsive and it was reassuring to know she was at the end of a message/phone if needed. We loved our holiday and would stay at Wellbeing again and definitely recommend it to others looking for a great English Devonshire holiday. There are plenty of cream teas in walking distance.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Angela Always a joy to have good guests and really glad you enjoyed the house Thanks Rachael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A lovely spacious property in a good location

  • 4 of 5

Had a very nice holiday staying at Welbeing, Torrs Park Ilfracombe.

We were a family group of 8 ranging from toddlers to grandparents.

Everyone liked the house. The kitchen diner was very spacious and well equipped. The large lounge with Sky TV and a good selection of games, DVD’s and music was also very popular.

Four of the five bedrooms had ensuites and were both large and well appointed.

There was a well equipped laundry / untility room.

There was also a two tier garden with a stream at the bottom, although we were out too much to make much use of it.

We found Wellbeing to be very convenient for Ilfracombe ( 10 mins walk to Tunnels beaches at the west end and a further 10 mins to the quay at the East of the town. Ilfracombe has a wide choice of cafes, coffee bars, pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes. Lots of other interest nearby –among the things we enjoyed were the beaches and surfing at Woolacombe and Croyde Bay, a boat trip to Lundy Island, the dinosaur Park, RHS Rosemoor, which with its play areas is attractive to both adults and young children, and some beautiful walks right on the doorstep.

Rachael, the owner, was always very prompt and helpful with her responses to questions and requests for information

All in all we thought Wellbeing was a great base and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robert Thanks for great review , you were ideal guests of the similar type we usually have a few generations of family which I feel the house is most suited too. Kind regards Rachael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in Ilfracombe many times but this year we couldn't get our usual accommodation and tried Owners direct for the first time. We were very impressed with the property, loved all the period Victorian features and the kids really enjoyed the garden and stream. The house had a lovely feel to it , the large rooms gave a feel of grandeur yet homely, the kitchen diner is fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Christina I'm so glad youf family had a lovely stay at wellbeing as it reflects how my feedback usually is and thank you for being great guests after such a unpleasant experience with the previous guests,, it would always be a pleasure for your family to return. Many thanks Rachael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Spacious but Tired Property in need of Attention.

  • 2 of 5

The house felt in need of attention both in terms of general upkeep (the bannisters were unsafe and one broke when my toddler put out her hand to steady herself), and cleanliness. There was food debris in the sink when we arrived and on the dining room floor, plus it was just not very clean in the corners of the rooms. Outside there was broken furniture to the side of the house, and steps up to the street and to the garden were not well maintained. The house felt quite musty and had damp on the walls in one room. The BBQ didn’t appear to be working and there was no gas supplied for it. The showers in the house seemed to be freezing cold or boiling hot and one ensuite had no shower curtain supplied and was unusable.

We were woken at 3am by a faulty shower pump making a noise which was not resolved.

One of the bedrooms was very cold, despite it being high summer, and although the heating was turned on after we mentioned it, it made no difference as the radiators still didn’t seem to work. Given that this had previously been raised in reviews, I was surprised that there was no electric heater provided.

Rachael, the owner, did at first communicate well and tried to resolve problems quickly (such as the kettle ceasing to work). However, although having shown her goodwill and minimal fuss in the light of several issues, we discovered that she was intending to withhold (and now has) a sizeable chunk of our deposit to cover the cost of the unsafe broken bannister (which we felt should fall to her given it was unsafe and could have resulted in a nasty accident), a misplaced key which we left as we found it, and scratches to the floor, which we were unaware that we had caused. She failed to provide any evidence that the damaged floor occurred during our stay and we certainly had not done anything out of the ordinary to cause scratches beyond reasonable wear and tear. She then failed to return our calls or take any initiative to communicate with us about it.

There were good things about the house which we enjoyed. The house is large and feels spacious and the kitchen and dining room are big and well equipped as is the utility room. Rachael was also flexible in allowing us to have three babies on top of the normal numbers for the house. There is a stream at the bottom of the garden which the children enjoyed.

I don’t feel that I could recommend this property and having never lost a holiday deposit before, this was a very unfortunate episode.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to hear but not surprised at the poor review from this party as they left it the most damaged my property has been in years of letting it out. I only took half the minimum costs of repairing the damage they caused from their deposit, which will in fact cost far more to repair. I only had one complaint about a noise at night with a shower, and promptly I sent a plumber to repair. He could not find a issue at all!? The shower works fine and the 3 sets of guests that stayed since, have not had any complaints at all. The complaint that the heating is failing, referred too is from new year in winter and plumbers have been in and bleed the radiators and the family never had any complaints untill they left and I presented photos of damage to to property and lost house keys which they were informed of with in hours of leaving after the house had been thoroughly searched. I believe this review is in retaliation to my holding of a small amount of their deposit for breakages and isn't a true representation, as you can garner from my other reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

It was the house I was looking for, and hoped for, easily accomodating nine adults and two children

  • 4 of 5

It was a pleasant an happy stay for my wife and me, three grown up children and two granddaughters. The house is generously proportioned and well appointed. Could do with a few more cereal bowls perhaps, but really our only complaint was the owner not following through, or perhaps not noticing that I had not responded to the directions she says she emailed me before we departed our home in Adelaide, Australia. I don't doubt her word, but surely it is incumbent on

Owners to ensure that their tenants have been briefed before they leave home. I feel sure most people would respond with a thanks or even OK at the very least. Even if there is no response, it only takes a couple of minutes to follow up with the appropriate querie -that directions and key location have been received. Because of that absence of follow up, I managed to clock up nearly £100 in mobile international roaming charges in trying to contact the owner and three sons who were reluctant to leave their respective homes without reasonable prospect that they would have a roof over their heads!

Fortunately the agency was very helpful in tracking down the owner, who fortunately was not herself away on holiday and we received a very timely phone call and all was well.

It may seem fussy, but aside from the telephony charges, we were subjucted the unnecessary levels of stress, following an early but complicated departure from Seville earlier in the day.

As well as liking the house, we enjoyed Ilfracombe and surrounding area and the family holiday was adjudged the success we had hoped for.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Timothy As I already said snd apologied the site already has all details and sends an automatic e mail with all my details I give permission for , I gave the permission some 2 weeks before and had no idea you did not receive, I also thought you had my phone details as I put in my e mails, and can only again apologise for you lack of mail and have no idea why this failed even after asking Ownersdirect and sorry for your extra costs. I often get no responses from mails I send. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

An interesting and attractive house, although in need of some TLC in places.

  • 3 of 5

The house was clean and well maintained, and as described in the details. The owner and her housekeeper were friendly and helpful when we had queries. We had problems with the heating on arrival, but this was quickly resolved by Kaz, although some radiators remained temperamental throughout our stay. One twin room didn't warm up at all, and the children ended up sleeping in their parents' room instead, as it was far too cold for them. The kitchen / dining room provided a good social space, and making a fire in the lounge created cosy evenings.

It was a shame that garden was locked, as the children would have benefited from somewhere outdoors to let off steam, and it looked lovely on the website. We weren't informed that it wasn't accessible.

We loved being able to walk to the beach and the town; the beach was great for scrambling over rocks.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sad to hear now that the family were cold still as I offered a plumber to come out and look at heating and see if needed anything, I was told it was not needed and the guests were happy after Kaz had been and not a problem any more. Since the guests left I did get the plumbing checked and it was found that a radiator had been turned off on the pipping by a previous guest possible. I am bewildered that you had an issue with what you call the garden and were you seemed to think the garden was is not intact the garden but a courtyard not for guest use as there is a half acre garden at the front of the property which cannot be locked and has a steam in as show. In the pictures on the site? I have no idea why this was not mentioned to myself or Kaz as I could have explained the garden is at front of the property and delightful for. Gold ten to play in and can be used fir ball games etc. I am happy to help with any guest issue but do need to know if any to help especially with directions or services. I am perplexed Steph did not ask and has written a negative report about these two pionts whenboth could have been avoided easily especially not seeing where the garden was. Regards Rachael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ilfracombe, Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Break
23 Oct 2017 - 16 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 4 nights
From
£300
£1,200
 
 
Christmas
17 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,600
for 4 nights
From
£400
£2,200
 
 
Nightly Rate
27 Jul 2018 - 28 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 7 nights
From
£250
 
 
Nightly Rate
31 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 7 nights
From
£250
 
 
Nightly Rate
11 Aug 2018 - 12 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 7 nights
From
£250
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 7 nights
From
£250
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £1,000

10 % Discount is offered now for early bookings before May

A cleaner can be arranged daily or at request of guest at a rate £15 per hr

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable