OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Grade II Listed Character Cottage



Updated: 01-Dec-2016

Bridge Street Cottage is a quaint 300 year old cottage, in the heart of Bideford. It has easy access to shops, cafés and local transport. It has one double and one single bedroom, both of which have many of the original features including beamed ceilings and lathe walls.

Outside there is an enclosed courtyard, perfect for having a cup of tea, barbecues or just sitting in the late evening sun.

Downstairs there is a well stocked kitchen with washing machine and fridge, which lead to the courtyard and also into the lounge diner which has a feature fireplace and a spiral staircase that leads you upstairs.

Upstairs there is a spacious corridor, two bedrooms and a good sized bathroom with shower.

Parking is free from 6pm until 8am in the conveniently located car park across the road. Bideford main High Street, shops and banks can be reached in just a few short minutes.

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I have been visiting North Devon and specifically Bideford and Appledore for thirty years and have finally been able to move here permanently. I love this area because of all the facilities it has to offer. Especially the beaches and water activities.

Call Owner
Speaks English, Hungarian

10 Reviews

based on 10 holidaymaker reviews


Quaint little cottage, ideal location for the town

  • 4 of 5

Were looking to buy a house in the area so stayed here - parking in the whole of Bideford is a major issue although all okay once used to the timings etc - in truth we stayed during a protracted cold snap which tested the heating in the house - however this did not detract from a very comfortable stay

  • Review Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Value for money in a good location

  • 3 of 5

No problems , enjoyable short stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Grade 2 listed property in very good position.

  • 3 of 5

Good base for exploring North Devon area. Very close to Tarka trail, great for cycling. Everything you needed was provided by the owners.Good weekly rates compared with a lot of similiar holiday lets. Would use it again if in the area and recommend it to others looking for no frills value for money accomodation.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would stay again when you next visit Bideford.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ideal location. Property is tired looking but could be great with a bit of TLC..

  • 3 of 5

The cottage is in a great location; close to the centre of Bideford, easily walkable to all local amenities. Bideford is a nice central location for North Devon, and was easy to get from here to Westward Ho, Woolacombe, Instow, Clovelly, etc..

Unfortunately the property did not live up to expectations. The whole place could just do with a bit of tidying up.. It wouldn't take much to replace the floorings and redecorate to make this look much smarter.

Also the washing machine was missing - apparently broken down and not replaced.

The bunk beds were fine for our kids, but the double bed was not great - the mattress was too small for the bed and made the stay rather uncomfortable for us.

Also the stairs are rather small and not so easy to get up and down with luggage.

All in all we enjoyed our stay in Bideford, and to be fair this was the cheapest property we could find so the price is probably indicative of the condition of the property.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. What you say is accurate and as this is the first full summer of holidaymakers using Bridge Street Cottage it is useful to know what is important to our clients. I hope that you received the reimbursement that we discussed with regard to the lack of a washing machine and that the local launderette was handy at the beginning of the week when the weather was stormy. Unfortunately these renovations and replacements had to be put on hold due to my having a double hip replacement on 30th June, with just two weeks notice. I am recovering really well but until I have seen my surgeon I am unable to drive. This has made organising replacement items and visiting shops and receiving goods at Bridge Street Cottage difficult and the improvements had to go on hold over the busiest period of the year. I hope that when the work is completed, over the following quiet months and new photos posted you may want to visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

mr mitchell

  • 1 of 5

I'm sorry to say we didn't enjoy the stair case was very bad we could not get the cases up plus it was very hard for us to get up we had to leave the cases down the metal bed frame was about 10 inches bigger than the mattress so every time we got out of bed we banged our legs on the metal frame I got bruises on my legs there was no lamps in bedrooms no where to hang anything in bedrooms. The tv was to small we had to hide everything when we went out because there was no lace curtains up. Plus there was only a fridge with no freezer in the kitchen . All parts of the flooring was missing. The backyard was a mess it was full of rubbish we had to clear it up before we could sit outside .There was no line to dry things we were very disappointed I think it was expensive for what it was bidiford is such a nice place we were so looking forward to the holiday very DISAPPOINTED Mr mitchell

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately I have been unable to rectify the problems that you have mentioned as I had a double hip replacement operation on 30th June and have yet to be able to drive. Sadly this has meant that I cannot at the moment visit shops and receive goods at Bridge Street Cottage. The good news is that most of the work will be completed over the coming quiet months and I am sure once you see the new photos you will want to visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The cottage was beautiful and well-maintained and the surroundings equally so.

  • 4 of 5

It was a very restful environment in which to spend a few days. The joining instructions were helpful and clear (although they might have to be updated to take into account revised local parking restrictions). The tea, coffee and milk, in addition to the complementary bottle of wine were an extremely welcome and thoughtful touch to a holiday which offered excellent value for money at the lower end of the rental scale. We would unhesitatingly recommend the cottage as a base to any friends who might looking to spend time in Devon or Cornwall.

The town itself is very pleasant to walk through, with plently of places ,both in Bideford itself and nearby, for people, with or without family, to visit. The Tourist Office, located within the Burton Art Gallery and Museum, is an excellent source of information and ideas

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review after your stay at Bridge Street Cottage. We are glad that you had a restful holiday and visited many local attractions. We do intend to ensure that we keep the costs down of our cottage to encourage people to stay and enjoy what North Devon has to offer. Look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Ildi McIndoe
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

Bridge Cottage has a certain charm about it and most people fall under its spell as soon as they walk in. It has many original features and this makes it unique. It is also in an easily accessible area near to the library, church, shops and local transport.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Exeter International at 116 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : The Kings Arms, Bideford at 0.5 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Bideford at 0.5 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Westward Ho! Royal Golf Course at 5 Kilometres Nearest Train : Barnstaple Railway Station at 16 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : M5 at 100 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Westward Ho! at 5 Kilometres Car: necessary

Burton Art Centre is near the park and has regular exhibitions.

RHS Rosemoor Gardens near Great Torrington are 20 minutes away in the car.

Pig on the Hill in Abbotsham is a pub and restaurant do excellent meals


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
30 Oct 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Christmas/New Year
24 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
7 Jan 2017 - 25 Mar 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Apr 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Spring
23 Apr 2017 - 20 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
May Bank Holiday
27 May 2017 - 3 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Summer
4 Jun 2017 - 15 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
16 Jul 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 01-Dec-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Original beams, very high ceilings, quirky spiral staircase and central location opposite car park.

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Family
  • Romantic


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • town


  • bay
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2


  • Self-catering

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot