OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

2 Bed apartment with mountain views in heart of charming historic Ceret

Overview

Property

Updated: 11-Oct-2016

Super 2 bedroom (2 double beds) apartment situated in the heart of Ceret. The apartment has an open plan kitchen/dining room/lounge giving it a light and airy feel. It is also air-conditioned for those very hot days. It has been decorated to give a relaxed atmosphere. Two Juliet balconies give views of the town and the mountains beyond. There are two bathrooms, one with a bath and the other with a walk-in shower. A large walk- in wardrobe is available for both bedrooms. Hopefully, everything has been provided to give an enjoyable experience from crisp white cotton sheets and fluffy towels to an expresso coffee machine. Wifi and television is also provided

Electricity is included in the price of the rental.

The apartment is on the third floor and there is a lift.

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I am English and now live in the hills some 45 minutes from Ceret.

Call Owner
Speaks English

9 Reviews

4.8
based on 9 holidaymaker reviews

Tucson, AZ, USA
4

Great Location in Ceret

  • 4 of 5

A few words about Ceret: We stayed here for about 10 days, which was probably a bit long for a town of this size. There are a number of restaurants and cafes ... most of which have nice but very similar menus; as long as you like Catalan food you're in heaven. Great wine options at reasonable prices. We paid a visit to "Fred's" -- just a few steps from the apartment and had a great meal -- but you'll probably need reservations. All the restaurants and cafes were full of friendly staff. The famous art museum is just around the corner from the apartment and well worth a long visit. Most of the other museums had spotty hours and we never did manage to find one open when it was supposed to be. The Saturday market is crowded but great; we squeezed two of them in during our stay. There's a lot of beautiful scenery in all directions, including the mountains to the north and west, and the Med. to the south. Driving was not a problem but for the normal French habit of tailgating, and some narrow roads and streets which is all part of the adventure.

A few words about the apartment: The location is just a few steps from the main ring road around "old" Ceret. It is clean and modern (see the owners pics). The kitchen/dining/lounge area is one big space and quite large. The two bedrooms are big enough for a bed and nothing else; no place for clothes or anything. There's a shared closet in the hallway. Master bath has a heated towel rack, but it's too high for anyone of normal height to use, and there are no hooks for bath towels anywhere else, so they end up hanging on a door. There were no handtowels or wash cloths supplied. We had some trouble with the washer/dryer ... seemed only to want to run a full cycle and didn't dry fully unless you ran it for 2-3 hours. Counter space in the master bath is nearly 100% consumed by a huge sink that splashes water all over if you turn the water on beyond a trickle. Free parking is nearby, but it is sometimes difficult to find an available spot, requiring some lurking while waiting for someone to leave their spot.

We paid the rental and damage deposit in pounds and should have been refunded for the same amount in pounds. Instead the owner did her own calculation using the wrong rate and short-changed us by about $11. Not a big deal, but tacky.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in Ceret, the food, my apartment or even the brand new washer/dryer. Everyone has difficult visitors from time to time but most international travellers at least know the difference between buying and selling currencies. This visitor was not short changed by the refund through PayPal which was the route he required us to use, rather than our usual bank transfer system.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely apartment in Ceret

  • 4 of 5

This is a lovely comfortable apartment, spotlessly clean and well maintained. The location close to the centre of Ceret was ideal for us. We enjoyed strolling to the shops, around the market on Saturday and generally getting to know the town. There is no parking at the apartment but the free car parks around the town are very convenient, only a few minutes stroll away. The Museum is well worth a visit and there are numerous towns and villages of interest in the area. We enjoyed a visit to the Cork Museum in Maureillas and the small village of Elne is lovely.as are the coastal resorts. Villefranche de Conflent is a lovely medieval village and from there we managed to fit in a trip on the yellow train up the mountains to Font Romeu. There are still many things we want to do and see so we hope to go back again. Many thanks to Maggie, the arrangements were trouble-free.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely apartment and really well located

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was lovely. Great size, great location, with a little very handy casino (spar) and a boulangerie opposite. There was everything we needed in the apartment including the all important corkscrew, and Maggie had left a really nice welcome basket with everything we needed on our first evening in Ceret, including the all important bottle of wine!

The apartment was clean when we arrived, and has been really cleverly put together so that it was really easy to keep clean - so the kitchen is all smooth surfaces, induction hob and flat fronted drawers. Simple. Couple of fantastic proper double beds as well.

Ceret was lovely, with a lively craft night market (Tuesday) that our two children loved, and a great weekly market (Saturday) that provided us with lots of local cheese, honey, bread and wine made by local producers. Fantastic. The apartment is also well placed for access to the mountains and the coast - which is where we spent most of our time.

A lovely apartment, great communication with Maggie, who checked in once by email to make sure that everything was ok , and a really easy no hassle transaction exactly the way a holiday should be.

Thank you Maggie!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

First Class

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week in Ceret in June. The apartment was amazing - very spacious, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds and good quality furniture. The welcome pack was lovely, thank you Maggie. Everything was so close to hand. You couldn't wish for better. I would not hesitate to recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Apartment with WOW! factor in great location

  • 5 of 5

10/10 location, supermarket, shops, cafes, town centre everything within 5 min walk. - 10/10 Apartment has WOW factor, super kitchen,shower room and comfortable beds have your breakfast with amazing views of Mount Canigou. Apartment is very quiet and relaxing and immaculate. Cannot fault anything! Have recommended to family and friends. Thank you Maggie for a magical stay!

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

buy far it the best holiday apartment we have stay

  • 5 of 5

From the time we arrived the hoist we fantastic told us where to visit the nice restaurant and bars.the apartment was lovely and clean and very well equipped I have told all my friends and I no 2families will be booking latter this year and we hope to go back next year

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

I wanted a base to explore the area as there are so many places of interest in the area and Ceret seemed ideal. Having seen many apartments, this one was the first one that impressed and was located within Ceret's lively energetic centre with all the facilities very close at hand.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Perpignan at 35 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : Ceret at 50 Metres Nearest Golf : Falgos at 7 Kilometres Nearest Train : Perpignan International at 30 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : A9 Motorway at 6 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Ceret at 10 Metres Nearest Ski : Cerdagne at 20 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Argeles-sur-Mer at 20 Kilometres Car: recommended

Ceret is the centre of the Vallespir area. A friendly relaxed town with its plane tree lined boulevards, it has a famous museum of modern art, numerous restaurants, shops, cafes and bars and has many events taking place throughout the year, including its Cherry Festival in May, Sardanes in July and every Saturday morning it hosts one of the largest street markets in the area. The beaches are 30 minutes away, including the fishing village of Collioure, Argeles-sur-Mer, Canet and Port-Vendres.

In the other direction are the beautiful Pyrenees mountains giving opportunities for ski-ing, mountaineering, cycling and walking. Thermal spas - both inside and outdoor - are also available ( about 39 degrees).

The area is famous for the artists who have lived and worked here - Picasso, Dali, Dufy, Braque, Charles Rennie Mackintosh to name just a few.

The charming city of Perpignan is a good place to explore with its shops, cafes and restaurants. It also has numerous exhibitions and festivals throughout the year.

In between the sea and mountains are pretty villages, vineyards, historic buildings and wonderful scenery to discover. For the more adventurous, canoeing, windsurfing, adventure parks, horse-riding and bungee-jumping are just a few of the activities available.

Spain is only ten minutes drive away giving access to the Costa Brava with its many beaches (Roses) and coves. Further afield, the city of Barcelona is only two hours drive away - and even less on the TGV train from Perpignan. Within two hours drive in the other direction is the magnificent ancient city of Carcassonne and the more modern cities of Toulouse or Montpellier.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter season
19 Nov 2016 - 10 Mar 2017
4 night minimum stay
£257
for 4 nights
£450
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

The security deposit will be returned within 10 days subject to no losses, breakages or damage. However, small breakages will not be charged for , although please do notify us so that they can be replaced. The price of the apartment includes all linens (including towels and beach towels), cleaning, taxes and electricity. A welcome pack is also provided for the date of arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 11-Oct-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • town

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Floor Area

  • 60 m²

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 2 - Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 1 has large walk-in shower, washbasin and toilet. It also contains the washing-machine/dryer. Bathroom 2 has a full length bath and washbasin.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed, Access to large walk-in wardrobe
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed, Access to large walk-in wardrobe
  • Two bedrooms both with double beds two bedside tables and lamps. Both also have large dressing mirrors. Both bedrooms have access to a walk-in wardrobe.

Meals

  • Self-catering

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot