OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Spectacular Dales Views, Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty Close To Harrogate



Updated: 23-Oct-2016
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms On Suites Very Large Barn for Large Families and Groups

We were previously with letting agent but not happy so have moved, great reviews everyone loves it.

6 bedrooms, 4 double beds, 2x2 single beds, 3 on suites 1 house bathroom and downstairs toilet. large garden barbecue large tables outside. All fitting used are oak. lovely oak kitchen 4 oven AGA with kitchen table seating 12.

An outstanding house in a spectacular situation with breath taking views over the Dallowgill Moors.

Inn brief the property comprises of six bedrooms, four bathrooms, four reception rooms,

Finished with beautiful oak windows, oak doors, floors and beams and many other attractive features including original fireplaces.

The barn is extensive with the kitchen (28'3 x 14'3) boasting an exceptional hand crafted oak kitchen with ample units, a four aga oven and a stone floor. The large drawing room (35'0 x 18'3) has views either side through french doors and is kept warm in the winter by a log burning stove.

The inner hallway with glass doors gives access to a reception hall and to the snug. The front porch adjoins the cloakroom, these rooms have the original stone flag floors,

There are 3 steps down to a spacious sitting room (20'10 x 15'8), adjoining study and laundry room with sink and small kitchen/ utility room.

An original stone staircase rises to separate first floor accommodation which includes a fabulous master suite (master bedroom 19'0 x 17'4) and a luxurious en-suite bathroom with a original jacuzzi bath. On this floor there are two further double bedrooms and a well equipped house bathroom.

An outstanding oak staircase rises from the drawing room to further upstairs accommodation including a wonderful galleried landing with access to two further double bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms.

Broadband wifi installed.

The property is approached over a long driveway to parking at the front and rear of the house. The parking area at the rear with stone setts leads to a flagged terrace at the side of the house and access to the kitchen, principal hallway and the lawned garden.

This outstanding property is on the edge of the hamlet of Dallowgill and situated in a wonderful position overlooking the Dallowgill Moors about eight miles from the Cathedral City of Ripon, 17 miles (30 mins) from Harrogate and approximately 32 miles from the financial centre of Leeds.

Pateley Bridge is six miles, A1 motorway is 10 miles away and there are good local facilities in Kirkby Malzeard about three miles away, including a general store, butcher, fish and chip shop, two public houses and games field association. St Andrew’s Church and The Mechanics Institute. The popular public house the Grantley arms is two miles away

Good local schools and the bus picks up at the end of the lane, for Ripon,

Situated in the golden triangle and near Harrogate makes this a highly desirable holiday property.

Large living room with wood burning stove logs supplied, games room, snug room, 2nd large living room, downstairs toilet, 2 staircases one separate with 2 doubles and on suites for separate family members accessed from main living room ....

More Details
  • Sleeps 13
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Lived here for 10 years but offspring now flown and has stables where used to have 6 horses, 3 dogs, goats, chickens sheep, and hundreds of rabbits that are still here...

Call Owner
Speaks English

10 Reviews

based on 10 holidaymaker reviews


Excellent property for family of group stay.

  • 4 of 5

Outstanding position and locality. We had a family reunion and the property was ideal, only thing were minor maintenance matters which require attention, such as dishwasher trays broken making it difficult to stack crockery etc.

Listing is accurate, property in very clean condition and the welcome pack was much appreciated - thank you. Response to emails could have been a bit better, but we managed to sort out that in time. We'd certainly recommend to others to stay here.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

The actual accommodation was excellent lots of room for the families to spread out, however there a number of issues which were not resolved. we only discovered that the fridge was not working on the second day of our holiday, We then had to dispose of packs of mince and chicken. We informed the owners however they could not get a new fridge to us until after the holiday. The grass had not been cut for some time and made playing football with a 4 year old very difficult. My daughter in law and my daughter had green hair after waking it three times. this was a bit concerning as the family were drinking the water. All in all we did enjoy the holiday however we were disappointed that we had paid a substantial amount of money for the week and there were a number of faults.

I did email the owners when I got home but have not had a reply.

Maggie W

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful barn let down by poor contact & access

  • 2 of 5

The property itself was wonderful - spacious, beautiful, secluded, delightful.

What would have been an ideal holiday was let down by two major factors. 1) the owners were very slow to respond to my messages, phonecalls, and text messages. I have even tried to contact them before writing this review to get issues resolved and these have sadly been ignore. When we arrived the fridge was not working and the electricity had tripped. The owners had left their contact details with me in case of these circumstances, but they did not respond. The had ignored the messages and phonecalls I have made about the property which was quite upsetting for us as first-time HomeAway travelers.

2) There were planned road resurfacing works to the only road leading to the property. This meant that we could not get ours cars to the property and were delayed on arriving by several hours, and were told to leave the house at 10am on our second day, if we didn't want to be stranded in the house until 5pm. We were very appreciative that there was little the owners could have done about this, however, as notice was given to them we did not think it was right to have let us stay at the property without forewarning so we could adjust our holidays plans in advance. We resorted to walking 1.5miles across fields to get to the closest accessible road. After our holiday, I tried to fill in the owners about the road by sending a few messages and photos, but sadly these have been ignore and not responded to. Unfortunately, we are not in a position to recommend this property to any other travelers .

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In Response to the above, we had not had notice that a section of the lane was being resurfaced, the first I heard of it was when the guests started complaining about it, which of course they had every right to. My neighbours didn't seem to have had notice either. There was nothing I could have done to either, prevent, or alleviate the situation, as unfortunately it was completely out of my hands, due to Harrogate council, firstly not giving us notice, and it being completely unpreventable. In response to the fridge, we had been aware, that the fridge was not working as well as it should be. So had installed a second temporary fridge for our guests to use. We have now had a brand new American style fridge freezer installed. I think these guests are also resentful towards me for withholding some of their deposit because of their dog disgustingly doing its business in my beautiful house, and they failed to clean it up, leaving my poor housekeeper to do it. But future guests please rest assured there is now a lovely new section of the lane to travel down.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A wonderful house in a wonderful location.

  • 5 of 5

Our group of ten ladies descended upon this house determined to enjoy every minute and we did! The instructions for all appliances are clear and make using another kitchen really simple. We had plenty of space and even enough bathrooms! Our weekend included trips to Harrogate and to York both of which are easily accessible. However there is really no need to go far as the surrounding countryside is stunning and we would have been happy with the local gastro pubs and long walks.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Boltonions

  • 5 of 5

Had a lovely time at the Barn, we were 3 families with children, the house was big enough for everyone to have their own space and also come together too. Had a great time the location is lovely and the children had room to play without anyone hearing them !!! We will be back thanks again for a wonderful experience.

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic property with stunning views of the Dales.

  • 5 of 5

This place certainly has the wow factor. It was easy enough to find after turning off the mapped roads, set on a hill with uninterrupted views of the Dales from all sides and barely another house in sight. The kitchen is huge with an Aga, large dining table, big US-style fridge, etc. There are 3 lounge areas and a games room with pool table that converts to mini-table tennis and a table football. The bedrooms are all good sizes and I'm glad I called Champs privilege to get the master bedroom with the jacuzzi ensuite! We played some local golf courses, Pannal, Knaresborough, Rudding Park, would recommend all of them and you should allow 45mins drive.

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

This took us years to find and years to do up, its a very special Barn and everyone loves it, magical place with fine walks and glorious countryside.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Leeds/ Bradford at 25 Miles Nearest Barpub : Grantley arms at 2 Miles Nearest Ferry : Newcastle at 70 Miles Nearest Golf : Masham also Ripon, Harrogate at 8 Miles Nearest Train : Harrogate 17 miles,Thirsk,Northallerton main line at 17 Miles Nearest Motorway : A1M 12 miles that leads to A1 OR M1 at 12 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Grantley Arms, plenty around this area at 2 Miles Nearest Beach : Whitby at 60 Miles Car: necessary

www.nidderdaleaonb.org.uk/.../Walks/CrackpotsMosaicTrail_web.pdf details of walk we are down the lane from this walk.

http://where2walk.co.uk/yorkshire_dales/walks_through_history/lost-world-of-dallowgill/?pid=1275 The lost world of Dallowgill if you like walking.

In a area of outstanding natural beauty ANOB spectacular setting and views, 10 mins away from world heritage site Fountains Abbey and Light Water Valley theme park world longest roller coaster is 15 mins away, so much to see and do see Yorkshire activities on google, spectacular walking on the mosaic walk Dallowgill 300 meters away check google, near to Masham, Ripon, Harrogate, Pateley Bridge.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add £50 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £200
Pet Fee £30

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 23-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Spectacular setting, peaceful quiet and wildlife you never get to see Grouse, red and black, Canadian geese, curlews, red kites owls and Buzzardsbirds of prey... more to be added

Property Type

  • barn


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • MP3 Dock
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys


  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • rural


  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 4000 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 5 - Toilet
  • main bathroom, 3 on suites and toilet downstairs


  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed
  • 6 bedrooms, 4 doubles, 2x2 singles


  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Yard


  • Self-catering

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot