OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Bakers Cottage - a beautiful, traditional Cotswold stone cottage

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet

Overview

About the property

Bakers Cottage - a cottage that sleeps 4 guests in 2 bedrooms

Welcome to Bakers Cottage, brought to you exclusively by Character Cottages, local specialists in stylish Cotswold holiday rentals.

Please click More Details to read about the House Rules.

Bakers Cottage is at the end of a row of traditional Cotswold stone cottages, on a narrow lane in the heart of the beautiful village of Minchinhampton. The village is located away from major roads and is surrounded by the stunning Cotswolds countryside, including Minchinhampton Common, where cows graze freely in summer, and Princess Anne's Gatcombe Estate, home of the famous horse trials. The village is also well placed for visiting the many beautiful towns and villages of the Cotswolds, as well as the famous spa towns of Bath and Cheltenham.

The cottage has been beautifully furnished and decorated by its owner, to create a contemporary yet cosy feel, whilst maintaining its traditional character features, including exposed Cotswold stone walls, stone mullion windows, oak beams and a wood burning stove. The character of the cottage is complemented by its modern facilities, including wireless internet access, a flatscreen TV and a well presented kitchen.

The cottage sleeps a maximum of four people, in two bedrooms, with one bathroom, and benefits from an enclosed back garden. Free on street parking is readily available. Bakers Cottage is an ideal retreat for friends, couples or a small family, looking for a peaceful getaway in a beautiful area.

House Rules

Booking and payment

Character Cottages is a marketing agency and we do not own or manage any of the cottages listed on our website. Bookings made via us form a legal agreement directly between you and the property owner.

For bookings commencing more than 10 weeks in advance, a 30% non-refundable deposit is required to confirm the booking. The balance payment is then due 10 weeks prior to arrival.

All payments are made subject to the cancellation policy set out in the standard Booking Conditions.

Security deposits

Security deposits are not required (please note that guests are still liable for any damage or additional cleaning required as a result of their actions).

Occupancy

The maximum occupancy of the property, is four guests, at any point during your stay. Unauthorised over occupancy is a breach of our terms and conditions and may result in the cancellation of your booking and additional charges. Please consult us prior to booking if you wish to discuss the possibility of having more than four guests at the property.

Infants who sleep in a cot do not count towards the occupancy figure, however, due to space restrictions, the occupancy figure may only be exceeded by up to two additional infants.

Pets

Regrettably, pets are not accepted.

Bed linen and towels

Bed linen and towels are provided for guests.

Arrival and departure times

Arrival time is after 4pm and departure time is by 10am. Access is via a key safe, therefore it does not matter if you are arriving late at night.

Bed sizes and configurations

Master bedroom: King size bed

Bedroom 2: Double bed

Bathrooms

Family bathroom: Bath with overhead shower, toilet and wash basin

Heating, fuel and logs

The property has a gas central heating system.

Electricity and gas are included in the rental price. An initial supply of logs is provided for the wood burning stove and further supplies can be purchased locally.

Services provided

The property has free wireless internet access and a Freeview TV with DVD player.

There is no telephone at the property. Mobile phone reception is variable, however, it is usually possible to get a signal inside the property.

Parking

Free on-street parking is readily available close to the property.

Housekeeping

Where a letting exceeds nine nights, a mid-stay clean, bed linen and towel change may be included in the price. Please check with us to confirm. Additional housekeeping services may be available on request.

Child friendly facilities

A travel cot (without linen) and a high chair are provided.

The garden is fully enclosed, however, young children need to be supervised in it, as it contains steep steps and a drop from the upper level to the lower courtyard level.

Initial consumables

A small quantity of initial consumables is provided for your convenience (eg. tea, coffee, sugar, washing up liquid, soap, washing powder, toilet rolls, etc), however, you should not expect the quantity of these provisions to be sufficient for the duration of your stay.

Accessibility, health and safety

This is an old, Grade II listed property and has many character features, including a low beam at the top of the stairs into the Master Bedroom and multiple floors, which could pose difficulty to guests with limited mobility, or carrying babies, both in terms of their general movement and their ability to quickly exit the house in the event of an emergency.

The smoke and CO detectors operate on a sound only basis and, therefore, those who have serious impairment of hearing may not be able to hear the alarm systems and could be at risk.

Smoking

No smoking is permitted throughout the property.

Photographs

In order to provide you with as much detail of our properties as possible, we sometimes use wide angle photography, which can make certain rooms, or spaces, appear larger than they actually are. Wherever possible, we try to include a floorplan, with detailed dimensions of rooms and areas. If you have any queries regarding the size of any rooms or spaces, please do not hesitate to contact us.

More Details

Property Manager
Enquiries
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Dear Sophie, I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our time at Bakers Cottage last weekend. It was every bit as beautiful as the photos suggested and it met our requirements perfectly. We had a very relaxing break and felt ‘at home’ in no time at all. Friends from Newport came and joined us on the Saturday night and we had wonderful circular walk in the Sapperton Valley finishing with a well-earned Sunday roast at The Bell. In fact, I wish I’d thought to mention it in your Guest Book so that future guests might enjoy the same. Apart from Sunday when we had glorious sunshine, the weather wasn’t great so it was lovely to use the woodburner.



All in all we couldn’t have enjoyed our weekend more and we would heartily recommend Bakers Cottage as a super base for a holiday in the Cotswolds. When holidaying we never usually go back to the same place, but I think Baker’s Cottage might just be the exception to our rule! Many thanks for offering your beautiful property as a perfect Character Cottage experience
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 4

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Minchinhampton in Minchinhampton

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • rural
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom #1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Family bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom #1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom #2 - 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Notes:
Please ensure you have read the Key Features section of the property here: https://www.character-cottages.co.uk/all-properties/cotswolds-all/bakers-cottage#key-features

Reviews

2/5 -
(1 traveller reviews)

0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
Bakers Cottage - a beautiful, traditional Cotswold stone cottage
average rating of 2.0 based on 5 reviews
2

Not as expected

  • 2 of 5

This cottage was not at all what we expected and a real disappointment. I will try to be balanced and give some positives first:

-good general area of the Cotswolds, not too touristy;

-attractive enough village;

-some nice decorative touches;

-pretty, if tiny, garden;

-utilities in working order.

However, if you are thinking of booking this be aware that:

-there is no parking outside the cottage but several hundred metres further along the street - no fun with suitcases in the rain;

-despite being in a fairly large village there is nowhere to eat out at night that doesn't involve a drive;

-the local cow population roam freely outside - so watch your shoes as you convey your suitcases and don't even think about wheeling them along the pavement;

-upper bedroom is far from enchanting and completely exposed to the first floor landing;

-bathroom is mouldy round the windows;

-living room window is draughty and a scarf is needed when sitting on the sofa on a windy day;

-the cottage is on a main road in and out of the village so if you're a light sleeper, take earplugs;

-smoke alarm was beeping on arrival due to low battery - training issue for housekeeping staff who must have been aware and chose to ignore it;

-furniture has been moved from room to room for the above pictures so you can't tell how terribly cramped the living areas are - it's impossible to seat 4 people at the table;

-kitchen is particularly tiny with only the most basic of equipment most of which has seen better days - we spent the week boiling water in a pot as the kettle was in such a state;

-DVD player supplied but no DVDs;

-no walk books;

-even though the company we booked through advertised 'initial consumables' as part of the package we had a packet of supermarket biscuits dumped in a basket with leaflets and not even a pint of milk was available to make a cup of tea on arrival;

-no hairdryer;

-the owner does not give the impression of caring what sort of holiday you have - we had communication from her not on a postcard to say 'welcome' as we've had in most cottages we've been to, or in the form of a polite knock on the door and offer of help / enquiry as to how we were getting on like we've had at some of the better cottages we've been to, but in the form of a simultaneous e-mail and text on the penultimate day demanding we put out the rubbish!

There is little care going into this rental - not recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The following is written by the owner of the cottage: I am sorry that you have found certain aspects unsatisfactory during your recent stay at Bakers Cottage, and I wanted to take the time to reply to your feedback. There is free on street parking available almost opposite the cottage as well as the free parking further along the street. Minchinhampton does have some evening eating options: ‘Sophie’s’, ‘Munchinhampton’, a fish & chip shop & a pop-up pizza takeaway. The website does make reference to the cows freely roaming but for us this is part of the charm of living here! We think the bedroom is ‘enchanting’ and the website does clearly state that it opens directly from the first floor. I am sorry if you found any evidence of mould. I will have this addressed immediately. Unfortunately some old Grade listed buildings do suffer from the occasional draft. Whilst there are no main roads in Minchinhampton the cottage is in the heart of the village and consequently there will be passing traffic. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I will have it addressed immediately. Bakers Cottage is a cosy cottage. The table is a drop leaf and needs to be set up correctly. Once done it can easily accommodate four people. I’m sorry to hear this and would have appreciated it if you had contacted me to let me know about the problems you were having with the kettle. On arrival a pack of luxury biscuits were provided. The website clearly states what is provided as ‘initial consumables’. I am sorry that you feel this way as my guests are of my foremost concern. As with all my guests I initially left you to enjoy your holiday in peace without intrusion. I provide a copy of the communication regarding the rubbish. I do not feel that the following is demanding at all: “I hope that you are having a wonderful stay at Bakers Cottage. As you may or may not have read in the welcome pack it is bin day tomorrow in Minchinhampton, so please may you put your black rubbish bags (and green recycling bin) outside the front door Thursday evening for Friday am collection. Please do not leave this until Friday morning as the bin men can come early! Many thanks for your cooperation.” As Character Cottages have discussed with you “Often guests don’t always see messages left at the property for them so on occasion owners do need to get in touch with direct messages.” I thank you for bringing all these points to my attention.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 5

Location

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Heathrow International Airport
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Local pub
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Stroud
Other Activities:

Minchinhampton is a very attractive, thriving hilltop town, situated on a tongue of high land between the Golden Valley and the Nailsworth Valley, 1.5 miles north east of Nailsworth. The town also sits on the eastern fringes of Minchinhampton Common, high above the valleys that were once prosperous with the production of cloth.

The centre of Minchinhampton is a picture-postcard image of what people expect of a small Cotswold town, but with the added advantage of having a good selection of shops and places to eat. The town is centred on its High Street and old Market Square, the main features of which are the late 17th century Market House, supported on stone columns, the handsome Crown Hotel, and the Post Office.

The interesting Holy Trinity Church dates from the 12th century and has a truncated spire looking over the Market Square. The church was given to Caen's Abbaye aux Dames by William the Conqueror and then in 1415 passed to Syon Abbey, in whose hands it remained until the Dissolution.

Minchinhampton Common is a large area of open grassland with spectacular views over the Stroud and Nailsworth valleys. The area is owned by National Trust and is an important archaeological landscape, with prehistoric field systems, burial mounds and the remains of a defensive earthwork, known as The Bulwarks. In the summer the Commons are grazed by local commoners' cattle. The area covers 635 acres and is renowned for its colourful array of wild flowers and butterflies.

Car: Bakers Cottage is easily accessed by car, being located approximately eight miles away from the M5 and approximately 17 miles away from the M4.

Train: The nearest railway station to Bakers Cottage is Stroud (approximately four miles away), which has regular, direct services to London Paddington, with a typical journey time of just over 90 minutes.

Plane: Birmingham International Airport: 76 miles, approximately 80 minute drive; Heathrow International Airport: 90 miles, approximately 90 minute drive; Bristol International Airport: 39 miles, approximately 60 minute drive.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Enquire Now

Notes

  • Contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent
Available
Unavailable