OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

A small house for 3-5 people, exceptional

Overview

Property

Updated: 21-Jun-2017
  • Sleeps 5
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Detached house with wonderful views. very quiet place, perfect for resting.

Vacation Rental Home in an exceptional setting. Magnificent panorama that will delight lovers of nature.

Located on the border between Berry and Limousin (30km from Gueret, 30km from La Chatre), this detached house has:

- 1 living / dining room with a sofa bed 2 people,

- 1 equipped kitchen (electric stove, microwave, oven, coffee maker, kettle).

- 1 bedroom: double bed (130) + single bed, wardrobe and desk (duvets and blankets provided). Sheets to hire on request.

- Bathroom (shower), W. C. independent.

Land around the house.

Baby crib loan / high chair.

Nearby: water (Châtelus-Malvaleix), Lac du Bourg d'Hem, hiking and biking trails, fishing, painters valley (Fresselines, Crozant, Gargilesse), castles and tourist attractions.

For the youngest: Castle of Perrault's tales (Tercillat), Fishing School of the Petite Creuse at Mill Fréteix (Bétête), Hooked-branch and Laser exterior Game (Toulx-Sainte-Croix), Giant Maze (Gueret) wolf park (Chabrières forest).

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2017

3 Reviews

3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

1

Certainly not exceptional! Do not stay here!

  • 1 of 5

Arrived after check in time to find the owner still mopping the floors. The first thing that hit me was the strong musty smell and as I looked around I began too see the real state of this accommodation. It was certainly old and not the cleanest of places, in fact it's one of the worst I have ever stayed in. I decided to make a cup of tea and discovered the dirty old kettle didn't work. I asked the owner and she gave me another one even older and dirtier than the broken one. The toilet was like I had never seen before with a white small box attached behind it. When flushed it made the strangest sound like a brrrr noise. The light fitting hanging from the ceiling had no bulb so I asked the owner if she had one. I was told it didn't work and to use the wall lights. Kitchen very basic and old it did at least have a microwave. The shower wasnt fitted to the wall you had to hold it whilst you showered. The mats on the floor in bathroom and toilet were old and filthy. The small living area had an old dusty piano, and all the crockery were in an old cupboard. When I looked inside everything needed washing. In the bedroom the old double bed had an ancient mattress, it looked like it had material stuffed inside and was very lumpy. None of the bedding was put on the bed, I was shown where it was when I asked and I had to put it on. Even the quilt cover was too small for the quilt. Suffering with a chronic back problem the bed was so uncomfortable I decided to sleep on the old sofa bed in the living room. I stayed one night, the whole place made me feel dirty and I didn't want to touch anything, I hardly slept and didn't even use the shower. When I closed the door the musty smell was so overpowering to the point it made me feel ill.

The owner didn't speak hardly any English and I didn't speak much French so I decided to just leave early the next day. There were so many things to complain about I knew she would never understand. On the plus side it was surrounded by fields and was very quiet and peaceful but everything else made the stay miserable.

I definitely will never stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear tenant, First, you arrived before checking time (at 12am instead of 4pm as indicated in the location agreement). We tried to contact you to know your arrival time without success. Then, this is not correct to leave earlier from a place without informing the landowner (you should, at least, write a few words if you do not want to disturb), and even WORST ... this is not correct at all to leave your dishes dirty, the sofa-bed open and the house dirty. Maybe you thought this is an hotel, this is not the case: this is a vacation rental that should be left tidy and cleaned when leaving. To answer you on several specific points: 1) the kettle, we are sorry about that, apparently the previous tenants broke it. As soon as you told us, we provided you a new one and you said in French: thank you very much, but this is yours, how are you going to do ? 2) then I don't understand why you complain about everything whereas you was saying all the time in French "this is OK, no problem". 3) in the toilets, the box you saw that was making noise is called a Saniflo. 4) the bedding are not provided and this is indicated in the rental ad. You can rent bed linen if you ask us before. Last: you should have seen from the pictures that the house was not a newly-built house and you cannot except everything to be "new". If you did not like, this is your point of view, but we had some excellent reviews from people who rented before.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Dépaysement serein

  • 4 of 5

J'ai passé une semaine inoubliable dans un endroit magnifique qui a traversé les siècles. La paix et la beauté de l'environnement permettent une coupure fabuleuse et réparatrice et la Creuse est un département aux panoramas très variés. Et pour que tout soit parfait, la propriétaire, Yvonne, est une dame adorable et d'excellence humeur qui veille et pare à tous éventuels manquements. J'espère y retourner cet automne, les couleurs seront assurément magnifiques.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

idéal pour se reposer et ressourcer

  • 4 of 5

Situé en pleine nature le gite est idéal pour se reposer et randonner, l'absence de télévision permet de se couper quelques jours du monde.L'accueil de l'hôtesse est chaleureux et elle nous a bien guidés pour des randonnées.Seul bémol:le lit 2 places convient à des personnes ne dépassant pas 1,80m.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1-3 of 3

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Barpub : Genouillac at 5 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Golf de la Jonchère, Gouzon at 36 Kilometres Nearest Train : La Souterraine or Chateauroux at 60 Kilometres Nearest Motorway : A20 et A71 at 65 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Auberge de la Tour, La Cellette at 5 Kilometres Nearest Beach : water body at Chatelus-Malvaleix at 8 Kilometres Car: necessary

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Haute saison
8 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£106
for 4 nights
£185
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£96
for 4 nights
£168
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £67.38

Nous demandons un supplément de 5€/jour si la réservation est pour plus de 3 personnes (en raison des charges supplémentaires engendrées). A régler le jour de l'arrivée, en même temps que la caution.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Avg/night
Enquire Now
Updated: 21-Jun-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic

General

  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television

Suitability

  • limited accessibility

Location Type

  • rural

Attractions

  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • pond
  • ruins

Leisure Activities

  • horse riding
  • Hydrotherapy
  • paddle boating
  • Thalassotherapy
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 49 m²

Bathrooms

  • Shower / sink / shelf.

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Double bed (130) + single bed. Wardrobe, safe storage, office.

Outside

  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed