OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Set In The Heart Of The Ouche Valley Just 20 Mins From Beaune

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more



Updated: 12-Jan-2017
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

3 Double Bedrooms, 2 Bathroom, With Large Bathroom

Painblanc Cottage is set in the traditional Burgundian village of Painblanc, in the heart of the Ouche valley, just 20 mins drive from Beaune & Pouilly en Auxois. Easily accessable for visiting Beaune, Dijon, Chablis & the Morvan National Park.

Walking through the door into the large farmhouse kitchen you will feel immediately at home in this warm & inviting ‘pied a terre’ of Allen & his family, Canadians living & working in Europe.


A Well equipped spacious kitchen & dining room boasting a wood burning stove for those cold nights. Leading through to the living room, an ideal and cosy space to repose after enjoying the delights that Burgundy has to offer. From the kitchen, through to downstairs WC & separate Shower room. Utility area with washing machine& storage.


Winding up the stairs to the 3 double bedrooms. 1 king, 1 double & 1 twin bedroom. Family bathroom with bath/shower& separate WC.


Accessed directly from the kitchen; large garden boasting sunlit terrace, BBQ & brook at the end of the garden for dipping your feet in the summer months.

More Details

About the Owner

Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 January, 2017

About Bourgognemaison

French Holiday home of Allen & Maria.

1 Reviews

1/5 -
(1 traveller reviews)


Gone to the Dogs

  • 1 of 5

What a disappointment!

Let's start with what the layout. It is described as three bedrooms and two baths. There are three bedrooms, all on the second floor. You can stand up in around half of each bedroom. The roof line requires you to stoop in other half is of each room. Regarding the bathrooms. Upstairs has a tub/shower and a sink with a counter adjacent to another room with a toilet and sink without a counter (so far so good). Downstairs is a room with a sink (no counter) and a toilet (and lots of spiders). Then if you go through the laundry room you can find a shower, with little space to change. We made this the men's shower because a male could rap a towel around his waist, walk through the laundry room (with an uncovered window to the outside), walk though the kitchen/dining room, and then up the stairs to a bedroom to get dressed.

We emailed the property manager to request actions on the leaking sink in the ground floor bathroom, the lights which were not working and the electrical outlets which didn't work, as well as what we thought was an infestation of ants. We later determined that it was termites when several hundred came out of a ceiling beam with wings. Fortunately, there were two spay cans of insecticide in the laundry room. I guess this is a regular issue. In any case, we got no response from our emails to the property manager.

A storm earlier in the year apparently resulted in the flooding of the ground floor. The wood floor in the living room has buckled. The floor corners still evidence the flood as they are dirty.

Stains on the living room wall and the damage to the laundry room ceiling indicate that there has been a leak in the upstairs bathroom that has not been repaired properly. We had a puddle form on the floor of the laundry which was either from this source or from another leak from under the washing machine.

With respect to the property, the garden in the back is primarily weeds. We were fortunate in that the grass/weeds were recently cut, but the piles of mowed greens indicated that the height at the time of the cutting, was probably the first mowing of the year. The brook to dip your feet in is nonexistent. The Pizza or Bread Oven shown in the floor plan is nonfunctional.

There is a "For Sale" sign on the front and it is obvious that the owner is trying maximize cash flow and is not maintaining the property.

Burgundy is beautiful, but avoid this place to get the enjoyment your deserve.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to read your review of this pretty cottage, a typical French country property, whose rental price reflects the location & facilities offered. It doesn’t appear that our house manager received any emails from you during your stay, but we are disappointed you didn’t contact our office directly so your concerns could have been addressed while you were there. We should point out that we haven’t been notified of any problems by other guests who have stayed there this summer. From the photos, you can clearly see the bedrooms are in the eaves & the to scale floorplan on our own website shows the space available. The main bathroom is also on the first floor, whilst the ground floor shower room is intended for occasional use only & we have also within the further details noted you have to pass through the Utility room to access the shower room. Whilst there is an uncovered window in the utility room, the property is not really overlooked, but of course take on board the idea of adding a curtain/blind for next season. The owner of this cottage has invested considerably in it, but a change in circumstances has resulted in it being put on the market. There is absolutely no suggestion of anyone attempting to maximise cash flow. To the contrary, a smart new kitchen & appliances were installed just 18 months ago and there are new sofas, linens & towels. Despite the property being on the market, the owner is continuing to invest in their French country home. This is a well-cared for property, inside and out. However, its country location means from time to time there are insects around (flying ants, rather than termites in this part of France) so pesticides are left for guests’ use if required. Due to the cottage’s construction, we do know the wooden floor to the living room occasionally expands as a result of moisture levels outside. Naturally, the water level in the brook depends on the weather and the old bread/pizza oven is simply a delightful feature (it is not marked as having a useful function on the floor plan). Burgundy is indeed beautiful and we suggest this cottage is the perfect country retreat for those wishing to experience all it has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
2017 Season
1 Apr 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £258
Pet Fee £9
Booking Fee £43

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 12-Jan-2017
Available arrival


Property Type

  • house


  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 120 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, Separate WC. Shower room via Laundry Room


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed, Bed can be kingsize/2 single beds
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed


  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot