OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Top Located Amsterdam Canal House

Overview

Property

Updated: 02-Dec-2016
THE BEST SUNSETTING VIEWS from Amsterdam canal area! Ideally located canalhouse in one of the best Canals: Herengracht

THE BEST SUNSETTING VIEWS from Amsterdam canal area! Ideally located apartment in one of the best Canals: Herengracht, whose romantic atmosphere will captive you undoubtedly.

This house is set in a XVII century beautiful canal house located in the heart of the historical city centre of Amsterdam. Split in three floors, it offers high standard features, a lot of comfort with two double bedrooms, with two living rooms, one dining with open kitchen and amazing views from both sides of the building, directly to one of the famous canal, with their boats and bridges on the front and sides of the house. The house is protected Monument, so you can expect the original features of an authentic canalhouse, among them wooden beans and steep stairs. Not recommended for persons with disabilities.

All attractions are within walking distance, all canals are to be walked only minutes from your historic house. Restaurants, shops, the famous 'Flower's Market”, right at the archi-famous 'nine little streets', Laideseplain, the infamous Red Light District, coffee shops, theaters, night clubs. Should you decide to escape into nearby breathtaking villages, the central train station is a hop away: A UNIQUE PLACE.

IMPORTANT: please consider the price is higher in special periods, such us King's Day, Easter, IBC fair, Gay parade, ADE, New Year Eve.

We provide excellent discounts if your dates are flexible. Please, do not hesitate to ask, 24 hours response warranted.

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Towels provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Hello ! We are Elena and Fernando from Spain living in Amsterdam for years. Currently we have offices in Spain and Holland and speak three languages, English, German and Spanish.

We have selected the best locations, carefully designed the interiors and look after the service so you can feel as at you own home.

We believe that staying in our places, in opposite from the hotel, is about persons and human relationships instead of the standard hotel stiffness . Therefore, we try to provide the same, or better, service as we would like to be provided when we travel.

Welcome to our fantastic places

Call Manager
Speaks English, German, Spanish

4 Reviews

4.3
based on 4 holidaymaker reviews

Flagstaff, Arizona
2

Noisy, loud side street, atrocious staircases, ancient linens - overall shabby

  • 2 of 5

IF you like having drunken rowdy voices outside your screen less windows until 4:00 in the morning - every single night - this is the place for you. IF you can easily climb straight up - imagine a ship's ladder - 3 flights of stairs day in and day out this is the place for you. IF you like small, threadbare towels, sheets and pillows from someone's old garage sale this is the place for you. We felt pictures were misleading. Walls and wood molding have coffee spills, dings, and lots of chipped paint. Most window coverings do not work. Only some windows open and none have screens. Weather was extremely warm first few nights and had to leave windows open. Luckily, they provided some fans but mosquitos were rampant. Nice to have a washer but the drying portion of the machine is broken. Overall we were very disappointed. Wish we had spent more money for nicer accommodations.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jean-Pitre, thank you for the testimonial that we consider, indeed, very very very harsh especially if you had not issued any complain during your stay. We feel really disturbed about it and promise doing our best to improve all the details. However, IF you could have made a simple mention about the towels, sheet or pillows we would have changed it all immediately. IF you would have mentioned about your disagreement with possible spills somewhere, we would have trying to compensate somehow your feeling (we will make sure to paint any possible damage right away for next tenants). IF you would have pointed out in any form that any of the windows covering does not work we would have made our best to replace them. We would have appreciated IF, before placing this really harsh testimonial, you would have considered several factual details: living in the center of Amsterdam, right in front of the main canals, in a canalhouse of XVIII century in corner with windows at two streets implies adapting to certain inconveniences. It is very UNREASONABLE to pretend not having mosquitos in front of a canal in unusually warm September, also not having any noise right in the center (it is the Jordaan area one of the most quiet and far from Red Light District), or not having steep staircase in a typical Amsterdam canalhouse (all center of Amsterdam canalhouse are like that, because can't be modified as being Protected Monuments). In addition, in the advert we mention the stairs, discourage persons with disabilities, and inform only about washer, not drier. It is not fair to complain for issues that are inherent to Amsterdam, or could have been solved quickly or are detailed in the advert. In any case, we take note of your comments and will do our best to improve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Charming, a Beautiful & Spacious Dutch apartment!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment has everything you need & beautiful energy. The bedrooms are separated by the middle floor containing the kitchen and living room. Providing total privacy for guests. Beautiful views from two sides of the apartment. Comfortable beds & bathrooms. Located in the nicest neighborhood Amsterdam has to offer. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Al is a great guest! everything has been smooth and nice with him, we would recommend him to any guest. BEst regards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

House with character in the nicest part of town

  • 5 of 5

The central location of this house was just unbeatable. Directly on the Herengracht, the nicest of the canals with its superb houses, and at the edge of the 9 Straatjes district, which has a lot of its own character.

The meet and greet / check-in and out arrangements worked perfectly. N. was very friendly and helpful, showing us around the house on arrival and explaining how everything works.

The view out of the windows on all 3 floors was wonderful. The canal houses on the opposite side, the bridge with never-ending cyclists and pedestrians, tourists and locals alike, and lots of lovely green trees to add an air of freshness.

The house itself was very comfortable, with lots of places for us to sit and spread ourselves out. The bright kitchen/dining room with living area was a great room, but I also really loved the downstairs bedroom with the amazing view straight out from the bed!

We spent a whole week here, visited all the main sights, and had the luxury of being able to do everything on foot. Of course there is public transport – lots of trams – very nearby, but if you stay here, you don’t need them.

We absolutely recommend the Canal Museum, which was interactive, as a good starting point for discovering the rest of Amsterdam. It is just the other side of the canal from the house, 2 mins walk away.

There were two good supermarkets just a couple of blocks away, the Albert Heijn and The Marqt (organic supermarket, we recommend it), both open late, so we were easily able to do daily shopping on the way home in the evenings. This enabled us to eat in – which was perfect, as the house was relaxing to be in and there was so much to watch through the windows!

It is worth mentioning that all this being fantastically central with lots going on does mean that the noise of passers-by does not quieten down until very late at night, particularly at the weekend.

This is a great place to stay and we really recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

House with character in the nicest part of town

  • 5 of 5

The central location of this house was just unbeatable. Directly on the Herengracht, the nicest of the canals with its superb houses, and at the edge of the 9 Straatjes district, which has a lot of its own character.

The meet and greet / check-in and out arrangements worked perfectly. N. was very friendly and helpful, showing us around the house on arrival and explaining how everything works.

The view out of the windows on all 3 floors was wonderful. The canal houses on the opposite side, the bridge with never-ending cyclists and pedestrians, tourists and locals alike, and lots of lovely green trees to add an air of freshness.

The house itself was very comfortable, with lots of places for us to sit and spread ourselves out. The bright kitchen/dining room with living area was a great room, but I also really loved the downstairs bedroom with the amazing view straight out from the bed!

We spent a whole week here, visited all the main sights, and had the luxury of being able to do everything on foot. Of course there is public transport – lots of trams – very nearby, but if you stay here, you don’t need them.

We absolutely recommend the Canal Museum, which was interactive, as a good starting point for discovering the rest of Amsterdam. It is just the other side of the canal from the house, 2 mins walk away.

There were two good supermarkets just a couple of blocks away, the Albert Heijn and The Marqt (organic supermarket, we recommend it), both open late, so we were easily able to do daily shopping on the way home in the evenings. This enabled us to eat in – which was perfect, as the house was relaxing to be in and there was so much to watch through the windows!

It is worth mentioning that all this being fantastically central with lots going on does mean that the noise of passers-by does not quieten down until very late at night, particularly at the weekend.

This is a great place to stay and we really recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

The house is loacted in the Jordan, one of the trendiest neighbourhood, particulary in a cherming area calle 'the nine littel streets', one of the most delightfull shooping areas, just 2 minutes from the Royal Palace, in the Dam Square. This picturesque streets straddle from the XVII century canals rom the Singelgracht to the Prinsengracht. Spend a marvelous day just wandering around.

Availability

Notes

  • PRICE:

    Base Price: € 280,- per night up to 5 persons, max. 7 adults.

    Extra person: € 40. - per night.

    There are special period surcharges as IBC fair, Queens Day, New Year Eve, Easter, Gay Parade and ADE.

    DISCOUNTS:

    The weekly price 15% discount, for 6 nights 5% discount.

    Last minute discounts: up to 15%.

    Flexible dates: If your dates are flexible, you might award a discount up to 15%

    Price decreasing with length of the stay
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 02-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • house

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster

Suitability

  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Floor Area

  • 100 m²

Bathrooms

  • Main bedroom in suite - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • first floor - Toilet, Shower Enclosure

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • first floor - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • main - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Master bedroom located in the third floor, equipped with queen size bed, it has a bathroom in suite with bath tube and shower. An extra single bed can be placed in the bedroom for larger groups. The second bedroom is located in the first floor, equipped with bathroom in suite and shower. Also in the first floor there is a lving room equipped with a comfortable sofa bed for two persons.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot