OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Beautiful Family House In The Heart Of Old Lyme Minutes Walk From Seafront



Updated: 17-Apr-2017
  • Sleeps 10
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

About the property

5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and lovely sunny garden

Anchor House is exceptionally well-positioned in the heart of old Lyme and restored to a high standard. Facing south towards the sea, it looks out on the garden of St George's Square and is just three minute's level walk from the beach, with Lyme's excellent Town Mill Bakery close by for morning croissants.

Anchor House features a large, well-equipped, family sized kitchen with an open fire-place, a smart sitting room and a secluded, sunny garden.

There are five bedrooms, one with an en-suite bathroom, and two shower rooms. A fine old spiral staircase leads to the upstairs rooms, all of which look out over charming rooftops to the sea and the Cobb.

The interior has been thoughtfully designed by Caroline Conran to create an enchanting seaside home.

Accommodation consists of the following:

Ground floor:

Large kitchen/dining room with open fireplace.

Double bedroom with TV and shower room - suitable for children, grandparents or seniors.

1st Floor:

Sitting room with TV

Double bedroom

Bunk bedroom for 2 with washbasin

Shower room

2nd Floor:

Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom

Double bedroom (separate staircase)

Sunny garden with barbecue.

More Details

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Sammie Steepe
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish
Calendar last updated:
17 April, 2017

6 Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)


Quaint house in prime location, but overpriced.

  • 3 of 5

We (8 adults and a 7 month old baby) stayed at Anchor House for 5 nights in September 2016. We enjoyed our stay, and overall the house was generally well equipped and you can't fault the location. However, there are a few things we'd like to point out to others interested in the property.

1. My main complaint is that the property is very over priced for the overall standard of the interior (it is described as a luxury property - it really isn't). I have stayed in many self catering cottages all over the UK and so feel justified in saying this.

2. There is free parking for 3 cars which is quite unusual for Lyme properties - although it is a good 5 minutes walk from the property (up a hill).

3. Most of the doors didn't shut properly.

4. There are only two showers in the property - one in the main bathroom (which oddly has a door opening into the garden) and the other is a rather unappealing wet room with a saniflow toilet. We had problems with the wet room as the plughole blocked very easily (within a couple of days) which resulted in water seeping into the downstairs bedroom.

Overall, it is a nice property, it was clean, the rooms are large, the beds were comfy and it was pretty quiet. Unfortunately, given the price we paid, the house did not meet expectations.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Chrissy We are glad you enjoyed the house, had a comfortable stay and appreciated the prime location. We do not in fact describe the property as luxury however it is very well-appointed and we feel presents good value for money when compared to other centrally located 5 bedroom properties in the area, with allocated parking for at least 3 cars. It is a pity that the issues regarding the wet room and the door not shutting properly were not reported during your stay as we would have made efforts to resolve them for you immediately. With regard to the parking, whilst Anchor House is fortunate to have its own parking, due to the natural topography of Lyme Regis, access is via hilly terrain. The fact that there are 2 showers, is clearly indicated with our description reading: 2 shower rooms and one ensuite bathroom. We very much appreciate your feedback and once again are delighted to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one! Many thanks Penny & Sinclair
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Lovely House Good Location

  • 4 of 5

Anchor House is a great house for a family holiday Located close to the beach and town centre it is spacious and very clean. Parking also comes with the house which is a bonus in Lyme Regis. Sarah the houskeeper is friendly, helpful and very welcoming. We would recommend this property

I would also like to recommend Antonios Italian Restaurant just two minutes away

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Practically perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

This house is as lovely as the description and pictures show. Fantastic location with excellent parking facilities. Great reception from House Manager. Clean, tidy and well maintained. Lots of extras; tea, coffee, milk, toilet rolls etc to ensure that the holiday started straight away. Will definitely book again. Many thanks

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely house in a wonderful location

  • 4 of 5

Three bedrooms have views of the channel, the house is in a perfect location, with two restaurants and a pub less than a 100 yards away. Two minutes from the Water Mill and five minutes from the beach and high street. Checking in and out was so easy, house was in great condition and Sarah gave us such a friendly welcome.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Fantastic Spacious Accommodation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week staying in Anchor House, right in the centre of Lyme Regis. The accommodation had lots of character and was ample for our three families including four children. Car parking was a bonus in this busy little place too. Everything was catered for in the property with a delightful garden equipped with BBQ, table and chairs. Location couldn't be better with lots of eateries within walking distance. We intend on coming back again and wouldn't hesitate in booking Anchor House again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Fantastic house and location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at Anchor House in Lyme Regis. The house was beautiful, clean and very well equipped. It slept 10 of us very comfortably. We spent most of our time in the lovely kitchen on the ground floor with big open fire. The house is very conveniently located to stroll down to the beach / sea front and local shops. The house keeper was very friendly and helpful and even made us some brownies for our arrival. I would highly recommend this property and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Exeter at 21 Kilometres Nearest Ferry : Weymouth at 46 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Lyme Regis Golf Club at 1.5 Kilometres Nearest Train : Axminster at 27 Kilometres Nearest Beach : Lyme Regis at 0.2 Kilometres Car: not necessary

Perfect for cuddling up by the wood burner (even more lovely watching the French Lieutenant's women) and exploring the stunning Jurassic coastline, which has been awarded world heritage status. As well as walking there is surfing, sailing & for more land locked tastes, local galleries & independent shops to look round. Sample all of the delicious restaurants a stone's throw away - this town and its environs is seriously foodie. (Amongst the varied restaurants are: famed Mark Hix's Oyster & Fish House, The Mill Tea & Dining Room which is in the Michelin Guide and is the Good Food Guide Regional Winner 2012, one of our favourites the fabulous Millside Restaurant, the River Cottage is near by with its cookery school and the River Cottage Canteen is in Axminster. All of these gastro delights have an emphasis on food that is sustainable, local and organic.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Winter 2017
7 Jan 2017 - 25 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Summer 2017
26 May 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Christmas/NYE 2017
15 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £600
booking fee £45

Deposit amount will very depending on length of booking and numberof people staying in the property.
Payments received via credit/ debit card (2.5% surcharge for credit/overseas debit cards) bank transfer, cash or cheque.

A small fee will be charged for check ins or check outs outside of office hours, bank holidays and Sundays.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 17-Apr-2017


Property Type

  • house


  • Family
  • Luxury


  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Television

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • town


  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Bath (no shower)


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed


  • Terrace
  • Garden


  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot