OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Holiday Rental (Incl. Heated Pools, Tennis, Gym, 28 Acres)

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 764 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Outdoor and indoor heated pools, fishing lake, gym, tennis court. Sleeps 4 + Cot

Lake View is set in the centre of the idyllic South Hams of Devon, surrounded by 28 acres of grounds, which vary from landscaped lawns and walled gardens to wild woodland and meadows. Add to this indoor and outdoor swimming pools, gym, tennis court, fishing lake and children’s play areas and you have the ingredients that create the perfect holiday.

Lake View commands the centre and left of Colmer House, an 18th Century Georgian building, lovingly renovated and restored to its former glory and now comprising a number of elegant, individual units. There are lovely views from its windows across the grounds to the lake; patio doors lead from the living room to a large patio with a balustrade wall.

Converted into a privately owned luxury apartment, Lake View offers the highest standards in comfort and practicality. The property offers two large double/twin bedrooms, a large well appointed bathroom complete with Jacuzzi bath, power shower and body jets and a well equipped kitchen/living room. The patio is private, south-west facing, sheltered and is furnished with an alfresco dining table, parasol, portable BBQ and sun loungers.

Accommodation: Ground Floor: Open Plan Lounge/Kitchen/Diner. First Floor: Master Bedroom with twin beds, which zip together to make a 6ft Super king bed (please specify requirements on booking). Bedroom 2 with double bed. Bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, power shower (with body jets), WC and washbasin.

Facilities: Electric Cooker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Dishwasher, Automatic Washing Machine & Tumble Dryer on site, BBQ on site, Parking, Colour Television with DVD Player, (Master Bedroom also has TV with DVD), Full Fixed Heating. Payphone on site. Shop: (1/4mile). Inn/Pub: (1/4mile). Electricity & Heating inclusive. Duvets provided. Bed Linen & Towels inclusive (except linen for cot).

More Details

Owner
Elaine Gosling
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
28 May, 2017

About Elaine Gosling

I bought Lakeview in 2003 to escape from London. An idyllic retreat away from it all. I spent 7 blissful years living there before I moved back to London with my wife.

Elaine Gosling purchased this apartment in 2003

Why Elaine Gosling chose Modbury

Not a whisper of traffic noise, not another building in sight; just idyllic grounds, a lovely sunny terrace overlooking the gardens and first class facilities.

What makes this apartment unique

The magic and peacefulness of the place together with the amazing grounds, heated pools and other facilities.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Modbury in South Hams

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 764 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Jacuzzi bath. Power shower with body jets.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Superking OR twin beds
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot , Cot optional (please request when booking)
  • TV with built-in DVD in main bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Tennis
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The excellent facilities of the Colmer estate are all free of charge and exclusively for the use of the Colmer guests. These include swimming pools, a tennis court, fishing lake, fitness suite and a walled garden with adventure playground and games room. The outdoor dolphin-shaped swimming pool is heated and maintained from the May spring bank holiday through the summer months and the indoor pool is heated all the year round. The fitness suite is equipped with rowing, walking and cycling machines, a sit up frame and a bench press with weights. 28 acres of private grounds include a mixture of grass lawns, woodland, wild flower meadows, a walled garden equipped with children’s play equipment and boules pitch. Coarse fishing is available on the private lake, which is stocked with large carp and golden rudd. Discounted temporary membership is available at the nearby Dartmouth Golf and Country Club including green fees and all their leisure facilities. Beach and pool towels not provided

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

5

Lovely quiet place to unwind

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time using lake view as our base for exploring south Devon. We couldn't have needed more. Everything was provided, clean and comfortable. We got woken each morning by birds singing rather than traffic. All facilities on site were also great, pool was clean and good temperature although the outdoor would have been rather chilly! We would def come back as there is more to see and we wouldn't find a nicer place than Colver. Just remember to look in the draw of the coffee table for some information books! Thank you Elaine.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Karen, for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again and thanks for taking such good care of the place. Best wishes, Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent holiday home.

  • 5 of 5

Quiet, beautiful setting. Well equipped, comfortable apartment. Lots to do and see. No doubt about it, we will return!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay. We look forward to seeing you back again. Best wishes Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic holiday cottage

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was much bigger than I was expecting, the prosecco and cream tea left for us was a nice treat. Normally stay with family but was nice to stay nearby for a change and the kids loved the tennis, swimming and playground, thanks for a lovely stay and we will come back

  • Review Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Helen, for taking the time to sing our praises. We're so glad you all enjoyed your time at Lakeview and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Lakeside was a good size and had everything we needed for our stay, including an OS map of the area. It was lovely to arrive to complimentary scones, clotted cream, jam and wine, too!

The location is easy to find - near enough to civilisation that a pub, Spar, petrol station and an honesty stand of local produce was easily within walking distance, but far enough away to feel we were nestled in the countryside.

As we visited in January, we were lucky to have the site (almost) to ourselves, so the swimming pool etc was even more of a luxury. And there were no kids to turf us off the table football! The house has a plentiful supply of heaters and is very cosy.

Lakeside overlooks a lawn and small woodland fishing lake. There's a boardwalk through the brook and marshy bits, but definitely take wellies or waterproofed walking boots if you want to explore that area. Some excellent bird-action for ornithologists too, although I'm not sure the fisherman would approve of the heron we spotted on day one! Disappointed we didn't see the horseshoe bats but we were out of season.

If you go in the winter months, we suggest a torch as although the site has good lighting, there are inevitably some dark bits.

This is a good location, within easy driving distance of Bigbury Bay, Slapton Sands, Hope Bay, Salcombe and Dartmoor.

The agent was easily contactable and helpful when we needed a light fixed too.

All in all a very nice Wintry stay. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had such an enjoyable time and hope to welcome you back. Best wishes Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely property on beautiful estate

  • 5 of 5

We booked several months in advance as we loved the look of this property. We weren't disappointed. Our booking was handled very professionally by Ms Gosling. Very clean and comfortable inside and loved the jacuzzi bath! The swimming pool was great and very quiet when we went (May).

We would like to return although school holiday periods are expensive.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much taking the time to comment on our property. We really hope to welcome you back again and thank you for caring for it so well during your stay. With best wishes to you, Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Super holiday cottage, cosy, comfy, delightful!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a week during the April holidays , a family of 4 , including two boys aged 12 and 15. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated,it's cosy and v well laid out. When the sun shone the patio with the table and chairs were a lovely spot.

On arriving we found scones and Prosecco left for us, a lovely touch. This holiday home is literally one minute from the main road, which is a real bonus in Devons narrow roads. The California cross petrol station stocked a good selection of emergency fodder. We would recommend Church House Inn in church stow for Sunday lunch (a carvery) but you must book.

Recommend bringing wellies if you want to explore the lovely grounds.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Spring/Summer Half-Term
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
£620
for 4 nights
From
£155
From
£200
Fri,Sat,Sun
£790
£2,065
 
 
Early Summer
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£540
for 7 nights
£540
£1,890
 
 
Mid-Summer
1 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£720
for 7 nights
£720
 
 
Early Summer Holidays
15 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Summer Holidays
29 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 7 nights
£1,350
 
 
Late Summer
2 Sep 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
From
£130
Fri,Sat
£450
£1,575
 
 
Autumn
9 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£210
for 3 nights
From
£70
From
£105
Fri,Sat
£360
£1,120
 
 
Late Autumn
30 Sep 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
From
£95
Fri,Sat
£330
£1,100
 
 
Autumn Half Term
14 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£480
for 7 nights
£480
£1,240
 
 
Winter
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
From
£80
Fri,Sat
£295
£975
 
 
Christmas & New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£510
for 3 nights
From
£170
From
£210
Fri,Sat,Sun
£850
£1,235
 
 
Winter
2 Jan 2018 - 9 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
From
£80
Fri,Sat
£295
£975
 
 
February Half-Term
10 Feb 2018 - 23 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£330
for 7 nights
£330
£1,010
 
 
Late Winter / Early Spring
24 Feb 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
From
£80
Fri,Sat
£295
£975
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Late payment (14 days+) may result in cancellation.

Cancellations received 90 days or more before the start of the rental will be issued with a full refund of any fees paid, less a £50 administration charge. For cancellations received between 90 and 60 days, a full refund of any fees paid, less a £50 administration charge, will be issued only once the property is re-let for that same period; in the event that the property is not re-let for that same period, no refund will be issued. For cancellations received with less than 60 days’ notice, any fees paid are then forfeited and the hirer remains liable for the full balance; however, should the cottage be re-let, any sums paid will then be refunded less a charge to cover any shortfall and a £50 administration charge.

The security deposit may be forfeited in the event of damage, stains, breakages, missing items or significant additional cleaning.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot