OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Penthouse balcony apartment with panoramic sea views.

Overview

Property

Updated: 02-Dec-2016
3 double bedroom balcony flat with large kitchen diner

Fantastic apartment with dramatic views of The Leas promenade and across the English channel to France. Relax out on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful setting or get out and about and explore this underrated and special location.

Well connected to visit London with the High Speed train service. Kings Cross / St Pancras in under 1 hour!

Accommodation is split over two floors with the master bedroom, lounge, kitchen/diner and bathroom on the first floor and two further bedrooms upstairs. Two of the three bedrooms have sea views. All bedrooms have double beds and there is a full size cot and optional travel cot available for children.

The kitchen has loads of workspace, a gas fired oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher and dining table that easily seats 6. Also included are a high chair and a booster seat for kids, in fact the flat has many extras good for children including toys, baby monitors, push chair and baby bath, changing mat etc. There is also a utility room with washing machine.

Clifton Crescent is a Grade II classic Victorian stucco terrace that fronts on to The Leas, a magnificent promenade lining the edge of the cliff with multiple paths down to the beach and coastal park below. Within easy reach are the Leas Cliff Hall, bandstand, amphitheatre and funicular railway. The area is often used for activities such as the classic car rally in August bank holiday, mini marathons, Triennial art installations and faires. The air show has recently returned and this flat has one of the best views to see the planes.

The town centre is only a short walk away with it's bars, cafes and galleries down the old High Street and creative quarter.

Further afield you could visit Dover for its enormous castle or even catch a ferry for a day trip to France. If you have a car you can get the channel tunnel from Folkestone or perhaps take a drive around St Margarets bay through Sandgate and Hythe and out to Rye. There's also the Dymchurch & Hythe railway through the marshes.

Inland there is the beautiful Kent countryside to explore and a visit to Canterbury with it's major cathedral, ancient buildings and excellent shopping facilities could be worthwhile.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Garden
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our stay at Clifton Views, and in fact I wish it were this time last week so that we could do it all over again...
May 2013
  • 1 of 6

20 Reviews

4.2
based on 20 holidaymaker reviews

4

the property corresponded well to the description given, including location and inside amenities

  • 4 of 5

Magnificent view from lounge and given the exceptional hot weather, breakfast was always eaten with the sea view and seagulls in the background. Linen excellent(although lack of tea towels). property clean. slight problems - impossible to lock apartment from inside(worry on safety) and also downstairs front door lock not functioning(safety issue again), key box very difficult to open.

Property well situated for shops, cafés, walking, beach - all within 5/10 minutes.

I would definitely recommend this property and will have no hesitation in coming back.

Many thanks.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write. Regarding your points about the door locks, we were not aware of these issues and they have both now been remedied.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago
4

Cute, abeit quirky, place; great location

  • 4 of 5

Cute but very quirky place. I guess this adds to the charm, but some people might be put off by all the personal belongings of the owner ( or owner's grandmother?) that are in the apartment. We only stayed for 2 days, but would've liked to stay longer to explore Folkestone. This apartment is perfectly suited for families - lots of space, 2 baths, and spacious kitchen. Grocery and shops are a 10 minute walk away.

The sink in one of the baths needs to have the drain cleaned. Not a big deal as we were only there 2 days but would've been annoying if we were staying longer.

The flat is indeed on the top floor, and there are lots of stairs, with no elevator. We had our teenagers haul our bags up :) In the past, at other Homeaway locations we've stayed in, the manager/owner had a person meet us at the apartment who could help with bags. Might be a good idea at this apartment, too.

However, balcony and sea views are lovely, you can see the coast of France at night!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Dated

  • 2 of 5

Location is ok, parking was hit and miss never in the same place twice. Dryer wasn't working which was an issue for a family of four staying for 10 days. The windows rattled in the bedrooms and the main bedroom window wouldn't shut, the glass on the balcony rattled so much we couldn't sleep and had to wedge cardboard in the side to stop the noise. The sink the bathroom wouldn't drain and took forever to empty, we were told the landlord was aware of these issues but it was still rented out. The other issue was the personal effects left in every drawer and wardrobe we didn't find it quirky we found it a bit dirty and musky. Other than all of that ...............

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The washing machine had developed a fault and was replaced immediately back in January 16. The bathroom sink has been an issue on and off for some time due to difficulties with old pipework in this 200+ year old property and has now been remedied. As the apartment is located on top of a cliff overlooking the English channel and you were there in December the winds can be very strong at that time of year and so this would have affected the roof and balcony adversely. There are some remedial works being undertaken now. Unfortunately both the weather and parking are beyond our control but we are striving to improve anything that might be of annoyance so thank you for your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location and view

  • 5 of 5

The flat is on the outskirts of the main centre (5-10 min walk so not far) and right in front of the water, which was perfect for us. The view from the balcony is unbeatable and the kitchen is great for family with little kids. The smarttv and fast wifi connections were a added plus. The owner notes the flight of stairs without lift on the description so as long as you are ok with this then this property is a perfect place to book.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Farnborough
4

Superb location and view

  • 4 of 5

The property is huge and would easily sleep 6 + a baby.

It looks out onto a view of the English Channel and the edge of France can be seen on a clear day. It's a lot of stairs to the top but the view makes it worth while. It was lovely sitting out on the balcony listening to the brass band playing with the sun shining.

Location is also very good. It's a 10 - 15 mins walk into the town centre with it's restaurants and shops.

2 supermarkets and cash machines are just over 5 mins walk away.

We really enjoyed our stay and used the apartment as a base to visit Dover, Margate, Romney, Dungeness, Howletts Animal Park, Canterbury and Folkestone.

Parking was never an issue and we were always able to park for free within a few yards of the apartment block.

I would definitely recommend the apartment. It had all the things we needed

- King-Size bed

- reliable WiFi

- central location

The local agent was also really helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely clean and cosy home with a perfect view

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a lovely stay in this apartment. Our boys, 5 and 9 years old, felt directly at home. Fully equipped and clean.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : London Gatwick at 50 Miles Nearest Barpub : Leas Cliff Hall at 300 Metres Nearest Ferry : Dover at 15 Miles Nearest Golf : Etchinghill Golf Club at 5 Miles Nearest Train : Folkestone Central at 1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : The Grand at 200 Metres Nearest Beach : Folkestone at 200 Metres Car: not necessary

Enjoy a stroll along The Leas promenade right outside with its sea views across to France, admire the wonderful architecture of the crescent itself and the Metropol building before taking a cream tea in the conservatory of The Grand. Then descend to the beach on the funicular railway and ramble into the Coastal Park with it's adventure playground for the kids. Visit Folkestone harbour and sample the local seafood before climbing back to the town centre via the Creative Quarter galleries in the old High Street and the Bayle. Maybe there's a concert in the Leas Cliff Hall or look out for other events like the Triennial, classic cars Old Timer rally, air show or local theatre and children's activities.

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Autumn / Winter 16
7 Oct 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£300
for 2 nights
From
£150
£550
 
 
Xmas NY 16/7
16 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£525
for 3 nights
From
£175
£895
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£300
for 2 nights
From
£150
From
£175
Thu,Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

A 50% deposit is required on booking with the balance due 6 weeks before occupation. If booking within less than 6 weeks then full amount due.

A security (breakages) deposit of £100 is also required with the booking.

The minimum charge for any rental is £250. This may work out to be more than stated by the automatic rate calculator in the winter months but this isdue to the level of fixed costs.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 02-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Family
  • Romantic

General

  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • town

Attractions

  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Shower Enclosure

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • 3 double beds sleep 6 with ease + 2 infants, one in cot and there is a travel cot available too.

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Garden ...
  • 4 garden chairs

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot