OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Picturesque 300 year old cottage in pretty farming village

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

6 Bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, Sleeps 10, Pets & Families Welcome

ASK US ABOUT OUR CURRENT OFFER OF £100 OFF ALL WINTER 2017 HOLIDAYS!!!

Our cozy cottage looks over the village green and is nestled between the small wildlife garden and fields of cows and sheep. A gate from the garden leads directly onto a footpath and a gentle walk along a country lane will bring you to 12th Century Fountains Abbey.

Our handmade country kitchen boasts a traditional stove and a large farmhouse table. French doors take you out onto our flagged terrace which overlooks the large garden. The snug lounge has a large stone fireplace, cozy wood burner and big comfy sofas. Our 3 bathrooms are beautiful with limestone walls and floors and in one, a luxurious roll top bath.

The cottage has a unique layout which seems to create the perfect setting for special occasions. There is plenty of social space, but also room to find somewhere quiet and escape the bustle. The large garden and village green means there's plenty of space for children and dogs to run wild and let off steam which helps the adult to relax and enjoy themselves too. Perhaps this is why we have had so many events at Fountains Abbey Cottage; birthdays (from 4 to 90!), hen parties, and reunions. We know that it's difficult to get everyone together for a whole week which is why we offer weekend breaks bookable as far in advance as you like. Prices begin from £750.

We know how difficult it can be to travel with pets or children which is why we provide the essentials (highchair; cot; dog bed etc.) to make life easy.

We sleep up to 10 in 4 comfortable bedrooms upstairs, a den with hideaway bed downstairs, and a detached guest room in the garden - snug and secluded, ideal for grandparents or romantic couples. Fine Egyptian linen, decadent silk bedspreads and enormous fluffy towels all encourage a sense of indulgence.

More Details

Owner
Justine Hey
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
11 December, 2017

About Justine Hey

Originally a Southerner I moved to Yorkshire nearly twenty years ago and I haven't looked back! Fountains Abbey Cottage is where I raised my children. It provided the perfect backdrop to an idyllic childhood of climbing trees, catching butterflies and sleeping under the stars. It gives us all great pleasure to know that the cottage can provide peace, beauty and joy to so many others as a holiday cottage.

Justine Hey purchased this cottage in 2002

Why Justine Hey chose Ripon

The cottage has a great location, walking distance from North Yorkshires top two destinations, (Fountains Abbey and Brimham Rocks) yet untouched by tourism. It was originally built as part of the village school for 'the poor boys of Sawley' in 1703 and has a priviliged place in the village overlooking the green but with no immediate neighbours. Central yet secluded.

What makes this cottage unique

Secluded yet not isolated, there is plenty of space for children to free range without the worries of traffic. An adventure playground for bigger kids and an enclosed playground with swings and slide for little ones all within seconds of the front door. Fun and games with no effort. The configuration of bedrooms means it can be adapted to suit and has been very popular for multiple families to share. The private garden suite with it's own bathroom, sitting area and garden is a great retreat and perfect for grandparents or teenagers who need their own space sometimes! The Sawley Arms is just a one minute walk and provides tasty restaurant food (as well as take away fish and chips on Friday nights!)

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thankyou for letting us stay in the cottage- it was the best idea having this to go to after the wedding in the hall. We were able to use the back entrance to the hall into the cottage area when we needed to cook/get away. It was lovely to have all my girls together the night before relaxing in the cottage and Also have the garden room with my (now) husband on the Saturday evening.



We got a little bit confused with the heating but otherwise we felt the cottage was perfect. It's definately dream house material!



We had all the essentials we needed and loved the wicker baskets that had extras in when we left things.



Thankyou again for letting us stay!
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 3

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Ripon in Borough of Harrogate

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master en suite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Limestone clad wetroom with huge shower head
    Family bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Beautiful roll top bath and limestone walls
    Garden suite bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Bathroom with corner bath in Garden Suite
  • Luxurious fluffy white towels provided
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , The large Master Bedroom has a King size bed and en suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Double or twin. With pretty fireplace
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed , Pretty single bedroom with iron bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed , Pretty single bedroom with iron bed.
    Ground Floor Bedroom - 1 Double Bed , The double bed downstairs can easily hideaway for more space
    Garden Suite - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Detached suite. Dbl or twin en suite with sofa and patio
  • Our beds are made with pure Egyptian cotton linen and luxurious throws. Cots available on request.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • caving
  • swimming
Notes:
Cot and highchair available on request (no charge). Dog bed, bowls and towels available on request (no charge). Award winning caterers available to provide fully catered dinner parties.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
14% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Picturesque 300 year old cottage in pretty farming village
average rating of 4.5510206 based on 52 reviews
5

A beautiful character cottage

  • 5 of 5

When we arrive at the cottage we were struck by the character & warm welcome. It was clean and comfortable for the whole family. Justine, the owner made sure we had all we needed and was happy to answer our questions. The cottage is in a ideal location for the amazing Fountains Abbey, Ripon & Harrogate - a must for Bettys tea shop. The cottage is situated on the edge of the village green with a play area and the children had a lot of fun there. We all had a wonderful time and will certainly come back next year. The cottage is perfect for a family or friends getting together. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cottage, a real retreat

  • 5 of 5

This place is amazing! We felt at home as soon as we walked through the door, made even better by the cosy sitting room with log fire. The aga is also to die for and we enjoyed cooking anything and everything during our stay. All the rooms are incredibly clean, tidy and beautifully decorated, obviously very recently. You get the impression the owners really care about your break and cater for your needs, with handy boxes of things to use that you may have forgotten. The location itself is real Postman Pat territory, with beautiful country lanes and views as far as the eye can see. There was a really cute park just outside the cottage that my little girls spent hours in and all of us really found it the perfect place to switch off. On our last night there my husband and I sat on the sofa with wine and the Rightmove app, wondering if it'd be possible for us to live there- if that isn't a ringing endorsement, I don't know what is! Absolutely stellar!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with is; it really is an idyllic setting isn't it? You are right about the recent decor. The cottage has seen so many visitors that it was showing signs of wear and tear as we got to the end of the summer. We've worked really hard to bring it back to its sparkling best, I'm glad you could all enjoy the results.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Gorgeous Cottage in a lovely area

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time as a family. The cottage is different, a little bit quirky at times so definitely read the owners handbook for how to use the arga, upstairs shower

  • Review Submitted: 02-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We caught a last minute break at the cottage and found Richard the owner extremely friendly and helpful. The cottage was fresh and clean with everything we needed for a great stay.

We visited Fountains Abbey before which was stunning...a must visit!

Thanks again,

Sharon

  • Review Submitted: 22-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Gorgeous cottage in serious need of refurbishment

  • 2 of 5

Ostensibly an attractive cottage with a well-maintained garden let down by very poor maintenance: showers leaked; strong stale smell permeated the house; looked and felt unclean downstairs; AGA timer meant that it could not heat up long enough before it turned itself off; pullout double bedroom and ancient creaking beds not acceptable for the price. Very poor value for money. Owners did not respond to calls.

Otherwise perfectly placed to visit North Yorkshire's sites.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. The aga will switch off when in timer mode rather than simply "on". I have checked that our instructions make this clear so that other guests aren't confused. We have two mobile numbers available for guests to contact us, I'm sorry you had difficulty in using these as we would have been happy to help if you had called. The cottage has become a little tired due to so many visitors, we have taken this onboard and in September we gave it a thorough overhaul and it is now back to its former glory.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

IN NEED OF A GREAT DEAL OF TLC!

  • 1 of 5

The property is in a lovely location and has obviously been a nice home at one time, but now it is in need of repair work, deep cleaning and refurbishing.

On arrival I had to give the kitchen surfaces a good clean. The whole house needs a good deep clean. Cobwebs everywhere and where dust has fallen it remains, on skirting boards, pipes, shelves etc..

There was plenty of hot water, but the plumbing requires an overhaul, joints were leaking and water was dripping from ceilings and running down walls!

I was unable to spend time in the sitting room as the carpet was smelly and filthy. The furniture had seen better days. It just didn't feel clean.

The bathrooms were clean with plenty of towels.

The bedding was clean and fresh.

The kitchen benches were unsteady as the feet were wearing away with use. When they toppled we were lucky no one was hurt.

The garden would have been a lovely family garden at one time, but all of the children's climbing area was green and slimy. The barbecue needs to be replaced, it is unusable.

As a family we were all very disappointed. I would say upset, but we made the most of our week together and enjoyed going out and about as there are many things to do in easy reach of this property.

We would not recommend this property to anyone as it stands. We would have expected better for half the amount we paid.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that you shared our love for the location of the cottage which is private but convenient for so many local attractions. We are always available to help our guests with any difficulties and if you had felt able to call during stay we could have made good all of your concerns there and then, including the blocked shower which was simply and easily fixed. Unfortunately when we hear about things two weeks later (along with a demand for a full refund) we are unable to ensure your comfort. The cottage has recently been redecorated inside and out and is now in tip-top condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Leeds/Bradford
Nearest Barpub
75 Metres
Sawley Arms
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Harrogate
Nearest Restaurant
75 Metres
Sawley Arms
Car: recommended

Our quiet location makes it easy to stay put and enjoy the clean air and beautiful landscape but for the more adventurous there is plenty to see and do; 900 year old ruins; stunning rock formations; epic scenery; adventure play parks; Medieval markets; Edwardian follies.

Top of the list is world heritage site Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal: the ruins of a 12th Century Cistercian Abbey (the largest in Europe) alongside a beautiful Georgian Water Garden and peaceful Deer Park. Our lovely cottage is a peaceful half hour stroll from this stunning attraction.

Less than 3 miles away is Brimham Rocks a remarkable collection of weathered rocks that have formed magnificent sculptures.

For walkers we have the circular Ripon Rowel Walk, literally on the door step and many other beautiful places to explore from open farmland to craggy lakes and bluebell woods; all within two miles!

For historians there is a wealth of ancient buildings; Ripon's Cathedral which dates from 672AD, over 1300 years old! Fountain's Abbey is on our doorstep and Rivaulx and Jervaulx Abbey are within a comfortable drive.

For families there is an enviable choice. Tree climbing, pond dipping, and river jumping are all to be had within minutes! For more formal activities there are any number of attractions: Light water Valley is a 15 minute drive away and offers roller-coaster thrills and spills; How Stean Gorge is the site of a Highwayman's hideout and now offers abseiling, gorge-walking and kayaking. The Forbidden Corner is a wonderful folly and defies description but I heartily recommend it for the strangest day out!

And that's just the tip of the iceberg!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Ripon, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas & New Year
22 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,250
for 7 nights
£2,250
 
 
February Half Term
9 Feb 2018 - 19 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£712
for 3 nights
From
£238
From
£317
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Easter
29 Mar 2018 - 16 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£870
for 3 nights
From
£290
From
£385
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Spring
17 Apr 2018 - 3 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£712
for 3 nights
From
£238
From
£317
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
May Day
4 May 2018 - 7 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,155
for 3 nights
From
£385
 
 
Late Spring
8 May 2018 - 24 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£712
for 3 nights
From
£238
From
£317
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
May Half Term
25 May 2018 - 4 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£870
for 3 nights
From
£290
From
£385
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Early Summer
5 Jun 2018 - 19 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£712
for 3 nights
From
£238
From
£317
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Summer
20 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,750
for 7 nights
£1,750
 
 
Christmas & New Year
21 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£2,250
for 7 nights
£2,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£562
for 3 nights
From
£188
From
£250
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,100
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0

We are happy to book weekend breaks in advance. Prices from £675 for the weekend rising to £875.

Mid-week breaks are also available (but are not accurately quoted on the HomeAway site). Prices from £675 please ask for an up to date quote.

DOGS WELCOME at no extra charge.

Discounts always offered to returning guests, please ask :)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable