Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Stay in the heart of Old Istanbul for a authentic experience of Turkish life

Bedrooms 1
Space 538 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking


About the property

Beautiful Greek home restored in a tasteful way attracting discerning travelers

Stay in a recently renovated apartment in a Historical building that sleeps 4 people

Originally a Greek Family shop, now a tastefully decorated comfortable visit with all the old features remaining (Coved brick and wooden ceilings) but with modern facilities.

1 bedroom, double bed, fully equipped kitchen, 1 good sized bathroom and a large lounge with dining area and LCD TV, DVD and Convertible sofa bed..

Come and stay in Balat Fener for an authentic experience of Turkish life.

On the Shores of the Golden Horn, it's only a 5 minute walk down the hill to the water and original Byzantine walls.

In the heart of Istanbul's old districts and one of the 7 hills of the Old city, the area is changing as its ancient homes, churches, mosques and synagogues go through gentrification, guided by UNESCO and EU programs..

The right choice for the discerning traveller

More Details

Member since: 2012
Speaks English, Arabic, Turkish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 March, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Fatih in Fatih

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 538 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • village
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • The air conditioned apartment sleeps a maximum of 4 people. 2 in the bedroom and 2 on the sofa bed in the lounge.
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • bay fishing
Children are welcome.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
12% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stay in the heart of Old Istanbul for a authentic experience of Turkish life
average rating of 4.8292685 based on 41 reviews

No TV?

  • 3 of 5

Neither Peter nor Ozkan were available to meet me when I arrived and to walk me through the apartment to explain how things worked and where shops/restaurants are located. Instead their housekeeper Nana met me; she speaks only Georgian and broken Turkish.

The professional photos on the website look much better than the reality. At least the bed was comfortable. And the shower worked nicely. Plenty of kitchen supplies and utensils if you want to cook for yourself.

However, no TV existed “because most of our guests spend time outside the room or watch their smartphones.” Hey, I prefer my sports, news and movies on a TV. There are no taxi stands nearby. No breakfast included in the price. No paper napkins or paper towels or Kleenex or trash basket on the premises. Street cats and rubbish populate the area. Electricity and the internet went down once. My front door was just feet from the busy and noisy street where rumbling trucks, honking taxis and shouting children passed regularly. I didn’t sign up for this. If you are an older person, as I am, and want some conveniences and easy sightseeing, this is not the place for you.

... Wait, why is there a TV shown here in this picture?

... And wait again, I paid for 6 nights but stayed only 5. How do I get a refund? I asked Ozkan but he did not reply.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Roger, So sorry you did not enjoy your time in Istanbul and we were unable to able to accommodate your many needs. I should point out, however, we are not a hotel, which is probably the best place for you to stay the next time you visit our wonderful city. We have welcomed discerning travelers from all over the world, the vast majority who have enjoyed the apartment and its location immensely; a fact supported by the many positive comments we have received from our guests over the past five years – many of whom we now consider friends. This is a special historical corner of Istanbul and while it might not be to your liking, we call it home. Best Regards, Ozkan and Peter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Absolutely fabulous apartment. Well stocked with a dream of a bed! Best night sleep you will have in Turkey! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, characterful and relaxing apartment.

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was excellent and is located in a friendly and historic neighbourhood. After the second day several locals recognised us and made us feel welcome. The flat was comfortable and well appointed. The facilities were excellent and there was enough space to cook at home if you chose to. The local markets and shops are full of delicious produce to experiment with. The property is clean and well maintained.

Ozkan was an excellent host and we would recommend his walking tour of Balat and Fener. He is knowledgeable and shows you things you might otherwise miss.

The flat is well placed to see the main attractions. There is a regular bus service or a pleasant 20 minute walk along the riverbank to Eminonu, where you can catch ferries or walk through the Spice market to the main attractions, such as the Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar.

There are plenty of cafes and restaurants in Balat and Fener for evening meals. Most don't serve alcohol, but that wasn't a problem. Agora, Forno's and a newer Fanaraki were all delicious.

Don't be put off by the recent attacks reported in the media. Once in Istanbul you feel safe and especially in a local areas like Balat. it is advisable to avoid large crowds in the main tourist spots, but there is so much more to the city. You will be charmed.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A perfect place to escape from Christmas in the UK

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is tastefully and comfortably furnished, clean and just the right size for 2 adults for a week. In addition to that it is an a excellent location, right in the old town but within easy walking distance of shops markets, buses, restaurants (there are some properly good restaurants in the area!) and everything you need. The area is facinating, you can see how the area must have looked 100 plus years ago and how it will look like in a few years when the regeration is complete. Everyone in the area is very friendly and we felt completely safe all the time we were there. Ozkem was at the apartment to let us in before we even had a chance to call him and even dashed off to get us some milk so that we could make tea! After that Ozkem and Peter looked in on us every few days to suggest places to go, things to do etc and to make sure we were comfortable. They even arranged a cab to take us back to the airport at the end of our break. I don't think we could have asked for more.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Sunnyvale, calif.

A great place in a wonderful neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

What a GREAT experience! Everything from our inquiry and reservation many months ahead, to our arrival in the rain, and our 5-day stay was wonderful. Peter and Ozkan created a clean, well-equipped "home" that was perfect for the two of us. The magic of Balat is the slow emergence of rehabilitated homes in one of the older areas of Istanbul. It was alive with friendly people, lots of children playing in the streets, etc. Yet, with a 5-minute walk down the hill, and a 10-minute bus ride, we were in the heart of "tourist" Istanbul.

Ozkan spent time with us to better understand the area, and all it has to offer. Information that is not in any guide book. With a small shop across the street we could buy water (2TL for 5 liters), snacks, and other necessities. If you want to avoid the crowds and noise of central Istanbul, at a fraction of the cost of the major hotels, this is where you want to be.

One caution. Istanbul, and especially Balat, are NOT easy for those who are lesser-abled. Many cobbled street, and very few places with access to wheelchairs, etc. are a simple reality. But for the independent traveler with just a little taste of adventure, this place is where you want to be!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

a true discovery

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay! Our first experience with HomeAway, this lovely flat in Balat, hit the mark, a true discovery. The place was exactly what we expected from the pictures and the description. Everything was comfortable, clean, well equipped, and beautifully decorated. We didn't want to leave after a 4 weeks stay! Peter and Ozkan were very helpful, from arranging airport transfer, sharing info about the neighbourhood and their favorite spots in town, to simply being there for all our questions.

Balat is a very interesting quickly developing neighbourhood, dynamic, vibrant and exotic. We didn't feel like touristst at all but above all as one of the neighbours. we always felt safe to wander around. Most of our shopping we did at Vodina street, down the hill, where we quickly had a personal contact with the shopkeepers (also thanks to the few Turkish words we learned at home). But also shopping in the Carsamba area, up the hill, the more conservative part, was great. Everybody was very helpful. Don't forget the Wednesday market (Carsamba market) near Fatih Mosque. We bought wonderfull veg and fruit, cheese, olives, and other stuff.

Balat is a very central location and you can easily reach Istanbul's highlights and hidden gems within minutes by bus, tram, metro, ferry (use Istanbulkart, and even use it for public toilets!). Down the hill you also find the Golden Horn, always good for a walk with a view. We'll be back!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Ataturk International
Nearest Beach
20 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

On the edge of the more busy tourist area stay in a authentic neighborhood and immerse yourself in the local culture,yet still have easy access by foot, or a 10 minute ride on local transportation to Aya Sofia, The Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, the Grand Bazaar, Beyoglu Taxsim etc, and all of Istanbul's major tourist attractions.

On hilly cobbled streets, the twin neighbourhoods of Balat Fener were once the home of Istanbul's minorities. Here you'll see old Greek, Jewish, and Armenian homes, and some of the cities oldest Synagogues and Churches.

The area, because of so many national treasures, was recently declared a world heritage sight by UNESCO and so now has a mixture of older more conservative residents and more modern new comers living in their restored houses.

Your host's are local British/Turkish residents on hand to give any information or help if required.

The area is loved by photographers and film makers so don't be suprised to come across film crews as you wander around. The street were you will stay was featured in the last Bond movie 'Skyfall'.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Fatih, Istanbul & Marmara

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £25

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question